Shire Doors Ltd Reviews

4.62 Rating 225 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Shire Doors Ltd
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
On-time Delivery
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Read Shire Doors Ltd Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01274 888180

Email:

info@shiredoors.com

Location:

3-5 Wharf Street

Write Your review

Tell us how Shire Doors Ltd made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 15th July 2019
Andrew and Jody
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 15th July 2019
Andrew and Jody
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 15th July 2019
Andrew and Jody
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 1st July 2019
Gibson M.
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 5th June 2019
Simon S.
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 23rd May 2019
Allon D.
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 13th May 2019
Ensor G.
21
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We have just had 10 windows and a new door fitted, work was completed to a very high standard in two days The two fitters were excellent,left inside and out spotlesss, the windows look great as does the door even fit a new catflap i would not hesitate to reccomend Shire doors 1st class service from start to finish and all at a very reasonable price.
Posted 1 year ago
Very pleased with my new doors complete with cat flap. The fitters were very efficient and coped well with everything an old house comes up with. The only problem I think was the length of screws that came with the cat flap but in true fitter style they had some in their box and sorted the problem. I'm left with a lovely clean looking finish and feel the benefit of my new doors already.
Posted 1 year ago
Very pleased with our new composite door! Happy with whole process from initial conversations, booking the installation, and the installation itself.
Posted 1 year ago
Had upvc windows and a composite door installed. Superb quality materials fitted by a highly professional and very friendly team.
Posted 1 year ago
Very professional first class job! Highly recommended.
Posted 1 year ago
A very slick joined up operation from start to finish. Sales process very reassuring and the bi-fold doors are an excellent product. Every person involved throughout the process was professional and a pleasure to deal with. The men who fitted the doors worked hard and produced an excellent finish. They were very friendly and cheerful and returned promptly to complete one small snag - a replacement handle for a set supplied by Origin that was the wrong hand. The office staff were very pleasant and efficient and were keen to ensure the job was satisfactorily completed before asking for the final payment. Overall, a great company to deal with.
Posted 1 year ago
Great door. Great service from the fitting team good attention to detail very tidy love my purchase would recommend shire doors to every one thanks very much.
Posted 1 year ago
From start to finish, the process was remarkable. The product is outstanding and the communication along the way to get it installed is stellar. Everyone was friendly and helpful -- from reception, booking, to installers. We had 2 or 3 minor hiccups along the way, as is expected on any construction project, but nothing was a problem for the team and everything ended up going to plan.

Really happy with the knowledgeable install team who really focussed on ensuring our after work on the floor and thresholds was going to end up as we desired. And the top tips from them to avoid problems during the rest of our construction project were super helpful.

We are thrilled with our new bifold doors and happy to say Shire Doors have made the entire experience stress free. We'll be getting our doors for Phase 2 of our project from them.
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 3rd April 2019
Posted 1 year ago
An excellent work
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 3rd April 2019
Posted 1 year ago
Would highly recommend shire doors very helpful polite staff amazing fitters and all round great doors!
Posted 1 year ago
We paid almost £4k for bi-fold doors, the fitters scratched both the frame and the glass
we informed them immediately
their customer service response is terrible
they now want to charge us to put their damage right
would never recommend this company
should have checked their reviews as they are not good
be warned stay away from this company use some one reputable who cares about their customers
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mr Taylor - We are sorry to read your review.

I have investigated your claims and found the following;

We installed your doors and as per our installation process, you thoroughly checked them and signed the satisfaction form to confirm you were happy, you then paid your balance.

At the time of installation you still had an active building site and your doors which you signed for as perfect could have been scratched by any of your builders after we left.

That said we did agree to return and inspect your doors and we also agreed to replace the scratched glass. We agreed we would credit you subject to confirmation after inspection by quality control that it was a internal scratch.

You mentioned to our Operations Manager that you would be happy to live with the scratch if we gave you a discount, we refused to do this and hey presto you then write your negative review. Thank you.

I feel your review is one sided and untrue.
Posted 1 year ago
Speedy turn around once door was chosen helpful advice given, survey and fitters friendly and informative. Date of fitting changed twice but that was okay for us. The door looks great very pleased thank you.
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your great review - We look forward to helping you again in the future.
Posted 1 year ago
We were looking for large 2-panel sliding doors and a large fixed pane for a new extension, and enquired with Shire Doors. They were very good in the pre-sales period, after we'd made an enquiry but before we;d placed an order. They called every couple of weeks to see if we'd chosen a supplier yet, and to offer help & advice. They were also really good at explaining why their product was better than other similar ones in the local area. And, they opened a showroom for us to visit on a Sunday which was excellent; the person we saw in there was really helpful, non-pressuring and informative. We chose to go with Shire Doors because, whilst their price for a quality product was comparable to other competitors, their customer service and attentiveness had been excellent to that point, where their competitors had left us to it. Shire Doors also made a big deal of their 5-star customer feedback which they said "we work very hard to maintain". A compelling point, we thought...

That changed after we'd made an order though (and at around £5,000 it wasn't a small amount). They were slow to respond to my queries, on one occasion taking 11 days to get one new design drawing done, despite me chasing every few days - this delay nearly threw our whole building schedule off-track. I also ended up dealing with 3 different people - the original salesperson, a guy who was 'managing my order end-to-end' (we had 2 conversations before he dropped out of the picture totally), and a lady in the office - none of whom seemed to really 'own' my queries or my order, or to know fully what the others had said.

When we'd finalised the details of our order, the delivery date given was later than originally quoted and would have been after our other building work had finished. To be fair, they did bring that back in by a week to get it closer to the end of our build.

I was also chased for payment quite robustly, especially for the final payment during the week of install; when I said I would only pay that amount once install had started, there was quite a bit of pressure to pay up or not have the job done at all - which was a poor experience given the other issues we'd had before that.
The install was ok, though the guys built the doors the wrong way round at first so had to dismantle it and start again - which delayed it a bit. And there were some missing parts, which Shire Doors sorted within a week - after which I paid the final settlement amount.

Also, despite them taking measurements on-site and lots of emails to confirm what we were after, Shire Doors managed to build the fixed pane at a different thickness than ordered, and than the sliding doors (24mm rather than 28mm). They fixed that not by replacing the whole pane as I asked, but by installing a wider gasket - they said the 24mm worked just as well as 28mm, and it wasn't economical to remake the whole window. They didn't offer any reduction in the final bill for that...

One last thing - once the bill was paid I've had no more follow up from them at all to check if all is still ok, or to ask about how we're finding them. The install was on 17th December and we didn't get the guarantee until 30th January.

So in summary, a great customer experience before we bought; a confused, lacklustre and frustrating experience once we'd ordered; and a total lack of follow up once the job was done. The windows are great and look brilliant in our space, but I simply couldn't recommend Shire Doors to anyone based on our experience. A real shame, as it was their 5-star rating of which they were very proud that swayed us to them in the first place. We saw very little evidence of that once the money was handed over.
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Andrew, a 3 star review was a surprise as we felt we had gone above and beyond to keep you happy. Apologies you too did not feel we did, I have addressed your review below

We opened on a Sunday for you because you could not do any other day - a day normally strictly reserved for our families to ensure we could serve you.

We came to survey 3 times - (we normally charge £150/survey) the first 2 times you had not built the walls even though you advised you were ready for a measure, in the interests of good relations and service we did not charge you as we could have.

We do not offer a free CAD service - you did not want to pay for CAD drawings - It was a simple sliding door, usually clients only need section drawings which we provided promptly - rarely would such an installation require CAD drawings but in the end we paid for and supplied some at no cost to you to keep you happy.

It is a shame you could not recommend us - We work mainly on referrals and recommendations - Often we deal with people who have had terrible experiences with others in the construction industry and we always recommend they talk directly to the parties before making rash decisions, have disputes and write poor reviews which may effect others ability to service their clients in the future.

We hope you are happy with the doors it is easy for someone to write negative reviews as we all know we want to end and concentrate on the positive - I am sure your doors will provide a lifetime of service and just in case you have an issue you can call us and our in house installation team will be on hand to come and help you.
Posted 1 year ago
my husband and I are more than satisfied with service both with the workmen who both fitted and measured the window. Also your office staff have been extremely helpful to us whenever we have needed help or advice. Thankyou.
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your great review helping others make good decisions. We really appreciate it.
Posted 1 year ago
A pleasure to deal with from when we went into the showroom through to our installation date - 2 sets of bi-folds installed with minimum disruption by a great team .... all in all Shire Doors did exactly as promised on the day they said they would
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you - I will pass on to our fitting teams.
Posted 1 year ago
Good quality windows fitted. Fitting guys were excellent. And any questions from ordering to fitting were answered promptly and comprehensively at the main office. Very pleased.
Posted 2 years ago
Our in house fitting teams are fully trained and experts in their field. Thanks for the great review.
Posted 1 year ago
Just had some lovely patio doors installed. The service throughout was excellent and the installation professionally and expertly completed.
Highly recommend these doors and the Company and its employees
Very helpful throughout
Posted 2 years ago
I am more than happy to take part in your review. However and for the sake of clarity my I simply mention that the last time I was addressed as Hannah M., was when I attended junior school. Having advanced somewhat in years my prefence would to be addressed as, M. W. Hannah.

Moving onto the review I cannot speak to highly of Tony and Nick's skill, expertise and dedication. Whilst not forgetting that they both continued the installation in absolutely atrocious weather conditions, including gusts of potentially dangerous high winds and virtually continuous driving rain.

Continuing, the Origin Windows, French and Bi-Fold doors are unquestionably superbly engineered and even better than I was led to believe. Added to which opening and closing the Windows, French and Bi-Fold Doors are a delight, easy are wonderfully smooth.

With reference to the Atlas Lantern Light one can only unashamedly say that both the design, construction and functionality have indeed been well thought out and executed. Thus providing a very pleasing internal and external appearence together with exciting experiences for star gazers.

In conclusion, I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Shire Doors. Moreover my experience has been that the few questions or queries raised were answered both quickly and accurately.
Please therefore accept my most gratefull thanks to all at Shire Doors who have been involved, more especially Russel, Tony and Nick.

Many and grateful thanks.

M.W.Hannah
Posted 2 years ago
We are trying to change the way people buy windows and doors - we work with high end factories with audited production lines to ensure the product is great every time - combined with our trained and employed fitting teams we feel we can offer the best overall service around - Thank you for the review we really appreciate it.
Posted 1 year ago
Customer service from start to finish has been exceptional from all involved. As for the doors, the quality is spot on and they look the part. Top marks Shire Doors!!
Posted 2 years ago
Our new front door is of the highest quality. We had a spitfire door installed, which looks amazing, the workmen were friendly, thorough and did an excellent job on the day. Couldn’t recommend enough!
Posted 2 years ago
Shire Doors Ltd is rated 4.62 based on 225 reviews