Shire Doors Ltd Reviews

4.62 Rating 225 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Shire Doors Ltd
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
On-time Delivery
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Read Shire Doors Ltd Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01274 888180

Email:

info@shiredoors.com

Location:

3-5 Wharf Street

Write Your review

Tell us how Shire Doors Ltd made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
My problems started as soon as the fitting started. Fitters were not "in-house employed" as stated, the 7-10 day job dragged on for 5 weeks as they came and went. When fitters "resigned" I had not a single window/door of my £38k order finished and what they had done was shoddy and not to a good standard. I sent a very long list of issues to Shire at this point, including damage that had been caused whilst fitting, missing pieces. Second fitters came for a day and half then told me my the remaining concerns were "production issues" which would have to be addressed by Origin. Shire then demanded the final payment from me, even though they hadn't finished, hadn't taken old windows, repaired damage etc etc. Then the liquidation letter came. Origin have now been to asses the situation, no production issues, all down to poor fitting. Nothing fitted to the Origin standard, unlikely the fitters were trained to put in Origin products. I have no CERTASS certificate, no guarantee, poorly finished and damaged products and I have clearly been "misinformed" a lot along the way. This isn't a Covid issue, this is due to the way these people have behaved towards staff and customers . They do have another company, same address, same people, would you want to go through 11 weeks of this and not even have what you paid for at the end of it? Another general word of warning, if you spend over £30k your credit card wont protect you. The misconception is your ok if you paid any amount on a credit card, not if its over £30k. Origin have been great, thank god.
Posted 1 month ago
The worst company ever. We thought they were a reputable company as we saw them at the home building and renovation exhibition in Harrogate.
Well what a big mistake that was. To cut a long story short we ordered over £32,000 with of doors and windows paid our deposit 50% in January come March I am still chasing them to see when they are coming finally they came on a Monday replaced 5 window frames only, no glass, and it was lockdown from that evening. We had gaping holes everywhere with rain and howling wind. We rang them on several occasions they are very good at not answering your calls and when they do they would say "we are following guidelines" I know all construction company's and other double glazing companies were still working.
Finally after 7 weeks we got a call to say fitters will be coming to fit the glass and phase 2 has also turned into phase 3.
The worst fitters came every single window has had a fault, left a mess everywhere and didn't take the old windows as promised. emailed pics still waiting for action to be taken. Finally we receive phase 2 and phase 3 Windows but they have no fitters a big compact like that only has 2 fitters who left what a joke. So we have had to find out own fitters and now realised the large slider has the locking mechanism missing. Emailed them and rang them several times this week no reply then we got a letter this morning ⁴4th August 2020 to say they have gone into LIQUIDATION . 8 months of stress worry and anxiety caused by these rip-off merchants. Shires if you have a back bone get in touch. I know you have opened up again under a new name. If I don't hear from you I will be putting the name of your new company on here for other unsatisfied customers.
Posted 1 month ago
If I could leave zero stars I would. It is a long and woeful story but ShireDoors cancelled our order for sliding doors, which we had been led to believe were in production, at the eleventh hour, leaving us high and dry. They said they would give us a refund. Over three weeks later and having called almost daily (and emailed) we still haven't had an update or response. I am using this review in the hope that someone from ShireDoors will respond to us. Everyday I call and I am told by the same person that they are not responsible for refunds but they will 'pass the message on'. We have also emailed. There is no other way of contacting them. No-one else seems to answer the phone. The 'message' does not seem to be getting through. Is this how you treat customers ShireDoors? You owe us a considerable amount of money. Please pay us back as we need to pay someone else for our sliding doors that you failed to deliver. At the very least get in touch with us and give us the courtesy of a response.
Posted 2 months ago
The veranda is well constructed and fitted. No problems in the high winds. It also looks attractive.
Posted 7 months ago
Honest and professional service. You ask for windows. They provide windows that work, to expectation and to specification. Thank you.
Posted 10 months ago
We had bi-folding doors and a picture window and are extremely happy with them, the two men who came out were pleasant, easy to talk to and were very tidy and conscientious . We would definitely recommend Shire Doors.
Posted 10 months ago
Very poor service and after care. First delivery of windows and doors included one wrong door, a few missing panels for bifolds and two wrong windows. Fitting was riddled with errors including scratches to frames and sills, faulty glass panes, missing door seals - the list goes on. Martin even got abusive when I asked for the list of over 30 problems after installation to be resolved! Since installation parts have fallen off doors and Shire refuse to honour the warranty and repair. Tried mediation, tried to get it resolved and we're getting nowhere. Would never use again. Read the other reviews and Shire's pitiful response... seems there's a pattern and you don't take any responsibility for problems you cause. Shame
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Angela, We installed your doors and windows 2 years ago, In very difficult circumstances due to the poor standards on site.

In answer to your review. We always treat customer service and complaints very seriously This is proven by in excess of 200 genuine 4 and 5 star reviews online. We attended quickly to replace any seals that had been damaged by your builders who thought it ok trampling over them with rubble, replace drip caps that had been knocked off by those on site, and where necessary we replaced glass if it did not fall within the industry standards as set down in the glass and glazing federation standards. we did this without any fuss or additional charges to you.

I understand you are not happy and wish to vent online by way of a 1 star review. However you are not telling the whole story. We had a contract, you visited our showroom and you negotiated a good price, you tried to be clever and cancel the final product which was where all our profit for your contract was. You chose to cancel and buy elsewhere even though you had signed a contract to buy it from us, thus starving us of any profit. You did this and yet you are surprised when we refuse to offer service as a result. As you defaulted on the contract the mediation services were not available to help you. If you wish to fulfil your contract take delivery of your final door and pay your bill we will be happy to reinstate your service.

I do not understand what pattern you speak of, people who work within their contractual obligations have a great experience.
Posted 11 months ago
High standard of workmanship and good customer service. We've used them for our front door and for redoing an upstairs balcony door - very pleased with both.
Posted 11 months ago
Gorgeous doors!
From start to finish helpful, knowledgable, reliable staff,
Would highly recommend!
Posted 1 year ago
After searching high and low for a reputable company to fit bifolds to our bay windows we contacted shire doors and visited their showroom in Shipley. Instantly we felt in save hands, and knew what we were purchasing was quality. We were not disappointed, installation, aftercare and most or all final product fantastic.

Before and after pictures attached.

A* - 10 out 10, would highly recommend. Andrew and Jody.
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 15th July 2019 Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 15th July 2019 Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 15th July 2019
Posted 1 year ago
Great Before and after pics - enjoy the summer!! Thanks for the reviews
Posted 1 year ago
Purchased bi-fold doors and they were fit in April. Absolutely delighted with our doors. From the start of the process Martin was incredibly helpful, to the two fitters, who were very professional and did an excellent job. Would have no hesitation in recommending Shire Doors.
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 1st July 2019
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, cant wait to see the finished kitchen
Posted 1 year ago
I would just like to say that the fitters at Shire Doors were second to none.
Neil and Andy did an absolutely fantastic job and we are so pleased with the items that we picked.
A composite door and a set of bi-fold windows.
I would definitely use them again.
Posted 1 year ago
We are sure you will have some great evenings on your balcony with your new Bifolds. Thanks for the review
Posted 1 year ago
Really pleased with the overall service from Shire Doors. Russ was extremely helpful at the initial visit and the doors were delivered and fitted quicker than anticipated. The bi-folds are top quality and have really transformed our living space. We would definitely recommend Shire Doors.
Shire Doors Ltd 4 star review on 19th June 2019 Shire Doors Ltd 4 star review on 19th June 2019 Shire Doors Ltd 4 star review on 19th June 2019
Posted 1 year ago
Wow, looks amazing - thanks for the positive review.
Posted 1 year ago
Oustanding work by the installation team, leaving the place in good order and with a set of windows exactly like we'd hoped. Many thanks.
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for your review Gerard, we hope the church has many years good use of the windows - it should make a huge difference to the noise and thermal efficiency.
Posted 1 year ago
When the three men arrived to install my corner bifold doors and two additional windows I was absolutely thrilled. They did a great job installing everything and I am delighted with the quality and appearance of the doors and windows in my new Corner Cabin.
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 5th June 2019
Posted 1 year ago
We love this Garden Room - pushing the boundaries and creating something special. - Thanks for the positive review
Posted 1 year ago
Fitters turned up on time, very polite, informative and seemed very efficient. Job completed in 2 hours, no complaints.
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 23rd May 2019
Posted 1 year ago
Initially things looked good, however while doing some internal renovation work we discovered that the windows fitted by Shire Doors hadn’t been insulated and sealed at all. In fact we could see daylight around the edges. The door fitted by Shire Doors was not securely fixed and the frame moved if pushed against. A bow window fitted by Shire Doors has not been fitted correctly. They had to return to put some insulation in and add a support underneath. Also, the lead work on the roof of the bow window has not been sealed against the existing building fabric and leaks. Shire Doors have refused to rectify this, leaving me to foot the bill for this repair...!
Shire Doors Ltd 1 star review on 15th May 2019 Shire Doors Ltd 1 star review on 15th May 2019
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mr Wood

I am sorry you have felt it necessary to write such a review. I have investigated your complaint and although it is almost 3 years since we installed your windows, when you called us with a problem at 4pm we pulled out all the stops and had a fitting team at your property at 9am the next morning.

When we checked the level of insulation installed we agreed to increase it to ensure you were happy. We did this immediately. During this process it was necessary to adjust the lead trim above, due to the poor condition of your rotten lathes under your tiled cladding above we advised that there was a risk it would not be possible to push the lead further up the back without the tiled cladding failing, collapsing and causing injury. We agreed with you that we would happily return when you chose to repair the existing rotten cladding and we would extend the trim. However you never called - You just chose to write a review instead. We really don't understand why as we feel we addressed any issues raised without delay.

Putting this aside we re-attended and removed your new cladding, we completely replaced lead with new and we then replaced the cladding - our fitters mentioned you said we had done a better job with the cladding than those you paid initially - which is great news.

We hope you are happy, we understand that you don't want to adjust your review however we want people to be sure we are a company that values its customers and the 200 plus 4 and 5 star reviews as can be seen on this site prove this, and we always try our best to get customer satisfaction.
Posted 1 year ago
Origin bifolds and korniche roof lights all v good quality and look great. Fitters very competent and pleasant, leaving site clean and tidy. Would recommend without reservation
Shire Doors Ltd 5 star review on 13th May 2019
Posted 1 year ago
We ordered 2 doors, 1 a composite and the other a UPVC.
From start to finish we were provided with friendly and professional service, the fitters were brilliant, they left everything spotless, and the price we paid was very competitive.
A great local company, thank you Simon and team.
Phil. K. Hannam.
Posted 1 year ago
Very reliable and very professional! Trustworthy!
Great door ! Simply loving the Aluminium front door !
Well done to the team!
Posted 1 year ago
Shire Doors Ltd is rated 4.62 based on 225 reviews