Expedition Exclusive Reviews

4.36 Rating 25 Reviews
92% of reviewers recommend Expedition Exclusive

About Expedition Exclusive: Expedition Exclusive offers travel packages to China and Mongolia and assists with flights and hotels booking to different places. We provide varies packages to customers to choose from and flexibility in the sceneries arrangement, for customers to experience the culture and tradition of China and Mongolia.

Visit Website

Phone:
1300 738 196

Email:
customers@expeditionexclusive.com.au

Location:
Level 2, 818 Whitehorse Road, Prospect St, Box Hill VIC 3128 (Entrance via Prospect St)

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
communication channels
Email
"For the price the trip was good value. The guides were good especially David. The only negative really was that if you didn"t do the optional tours you had to find your own way back to your accomodation."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Visit Website
"I was very please with the service provided. Special mention to the excellent performance of Leo, our tour manager in the south part of the trip. Any areas for improvement: was a breakfast with too many people at once, over the capacity of the hotel to handle in Suzhou"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The people who work here where great with communications and clearing up any confusion that occurred during my booking with prompt replies and service. While there were parts of the tour that were frustrating, such as a lot of the free tours seeming to be promotions and money grabs. Also, I only really loved the guide I had in the final three days of the tour, but the experience itself was great fun and great value for money."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Very good tour guides. David Cheng was exceptional. He had thought of everything & gave so much information about each place we visited. Leo also very good. Hotels good although sometimes a long way from the city. Panda visit disappointing as we only had 15 minutes before closing. Too much planned that day & local guide slow. Overall I really enjoyed the trip & would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit China."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Terrific holiday package, with really good tour leaders. Some of the experiences were amazing however I thought too much emphasis was placed on the hard sell when visiting outlets like jade, pearls, herbal medicine etc."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Excellent trip and tours and hotels were exceptional. First tour guide Alice was exceptional, Tony poor and Kevin good. Tight timeline with connecting flights both ways which was very stressful . Overall a wonderful trip and I would recommend to family and friends."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The tour was very well organised. The tour guide was very informative and treated us like we were family. I would highly recommend travelling with Expedition Exclusive to anyone who wants to travel in a group"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"So if it looks too good to be true, can it still work??? We have just finished the 10 day $800 pp sunday paper special to China and of course, tours, accom, some meals and airfares for 10 days works. Here are a couple of tips for young players... Expedition Exclusive.. Limited communication with the tour company, however nothing was missed. A bit disappointing that there were no travel packs such as backpacks, travel wallets etc like most other companies give to their travelers. Internet... the great firewall of China works good ask no fb or Google unless you have a good sim. Sims direct worked for me but the tour guides often sell them too . 5gb data only for $40. Planes...the tour is sponsored by the government so they pay for smaller airlines to be used such as China eastern and Sichuan in our case. Planes are fine, but meal choice, entertainment and connections are not so great. No beer either. Hotels... again not bad but you may not get a fridge or a great air con. Every room we were in was a smoking room too. None were in the city centre so a good taxi ride to get in if you want Laundry... biggest hurdle for a big group. No self serve laundry facilities in any hotel s o do a rinse every few days or take heaps of clothes... Tours... there are included tours every day with additional tours after them.. then in c lured hit the points, the wall, the square, etc. However if you don't do the additional tour, you may be waiting a couple of hours to get back to the hotel because they don't take you back and you can either fend for yourself or wait for the additional tours to complete to get home. Remember they show you what they are told to. Security... police and cameras everywhere in big cities, not as visible in the smaller ones. A Uniformed air Marshall will film your flight . Remember big brother can beat your VPN and if you speak I'll of them, they shut you down. Included meals... Brekky every day but u usually asian a nd not western. Coffee not readily seen, and no bacon. Enjoy the rice and noodles. A few lunches are also in cckuded sand are 10 plate share tables, they are fine Dinners... always fend for yourself and get adventurous. Point to the picture and see what you get. Great flavours and very cheap. Warehouse factories... the tours are also sponsored by the big factories so you will get the hard sell at the jade, tea, pearl factory a nd a traditional medical clinic. Toilets... western toilets in all motel rooms but they are few and far between in the street. Always take toilet paper or wipes with you. Guides.. They are more escorts. You hear a lot about their families and nothing about the really interesting building you just passed. Having said that they are invaluable to sort out motel issues. Google translate..an absolute necessity for you to communicate at shops and restaurants . It still works over there and off line is data entry, on line is voice recognition. These were my observations only and the others may agree or disagree. But at the end of the day, you will rarely have a cheaper holiday that is as good as it looks so just book it and see how much your local Chinese restaurant rips you off..."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Hello, Yes we did think that the China trip was very good and well worth the money, but there were a couple of things that could be improved. 1) Instead of flying at 6 am out of Melbourne to Sydney (which meant getting up at around 3 am to park the car and make it to the airport in time) and catching a 9 am flight out of Sydney then arriving at Shanghai airport at around 6 pm. By the time all persons in your group clear customs, assemble and get in the bus and transported to the hotel makes it for a very long day's travel. The next day a lot were still very tired and jet lagged. One suggestion I would recommend if it was possible would be to fly out the previous evening out of Melbourne or Sydney, which would mean that you would arrive in Shanghai the next morning, by the time you clear customs, assemble and the bus trip to that hotel it would be around 12 pm or 1 pm. This should not cost the operator any extra for the hotel as this is part of day 1 and is already paid for, if anything it may even be cheaper to fly at that time as generally late night /overnight flights are often cheaper than daytime flights. This would allow the travellers to have the rest of that day to recover/rest from any jet lag. The only part of the trip which we didn't enjoy was the visit to the Silk factory. We felt that we were truly ripped off. We bought a queen size silk doona, which at the time of demonstration, we were advised ans shown that these units had cross stitching so that it would be fully machine washable, and also it was of hotel quality, well the unit we got was neither. It is not machine washable as there is no cross stitching and as per the tag, and also a lot thinner (less silk) than the units that we experienced in various hotels we stayed at. This has left a bad taste, and a lot of our friends have asked us about our trip, and we have recommended Webjet Exclusive/Expedition Exclusive but we have told them not to purchase Doonas from the silk factory as you don't get what you have paid for. I shall now hand over to my wife - Mrs Kim Arlove who travelled with me on this trip for her over view of the trip. My only comment is that the staff at the Pearl factory were way over the top with their sales techniques, at all times I was literally nagged and nagged."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Hi team We went to China recently on one of your tours , our rating is only affected by a few concerns which we thought could have been very dangerous in one case and a threat to our health in another. Point one , the tour guide , Jean , in Beijing , walked at an excessive speed and didnt take the time to see if her clients were anywhere near her to the point that she lost half of us when we left the Forbidden City heading for the bus .She had to be told that half the people were missing from when she crossed a road that we were none the wiser that she had done . She returned to the spot where we were to cross the road and started to say she hasn`nt enough time to look for the other people and get to the theatre in time ' it was left to me and my wife to find them and get back to the hotel , missing the show . Very dissapointed! secondly , the hotel in Beijing provided the worst breakfast I have ever come accross , no coffee , the food was cold and appeared to be leftover from some previous event , not satisfactory at all . thirdly , Sishuan Airlines allowed a person on the plane that was obviously very ill and they infected nearly all on our tour with very bad colds , if not the flu which we are still suffering from ! there should also be some sort of system put in place for people who don`t wish to go on the paid excursions as at present they are left to their own devices to get back to the hotel ! You need to have two guides in Beijing ! Lulu , our guide from Wuxi to Shanghai was very well organised ,had everything planned and asked for our input and wanted us happy at all times ,both her and Forrest were great !"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Just to make people aware, if you don’t purchase optional in the tour, you are left on your own and tour guide didn’t give a damn. My husband had a back problem and was using a stick, we are ask to leave the bus as we didn’t purchase the optional tour and we have to find the subway as not even any taxi available around. It took us 1 1/2 hour to get back to hotel and it was a long walk and in stairs up and down in subway. My husband back got worse and has to take more pain killers than he use too. So not very happy. Foot massage says on itinerary is free, but the tour guide said to give tips with specific amount of equivalent of you pay when you get it done somewhere so it’s not really free. When we asked the tour guide she said why complaint our package is cheap but that’s not the point, we were left on the middle of we don’t know how to get back to hotel and language barrier is the biggest problem as no one speaks English, very frustrating."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Very happy with our 14 day Tour of China. An amazing price for a wonderful tour. We had wonderful tour guides who spoke good English and were very knowledgeable. Our accommodation was more than satisfactory and the 4 night Yangtze river cruise was amazing. Very well organized tour. Thank you."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Very disappointed with the hotel in Beijing (Fuyong Yulong), very dirty . All the other hotels were great albeit a long way out from the cities which made the days with the tours very long. Also, if you did not do the optional tours we had to wait for those that were on the tours to get our transport back, or get a taxi. (1 1/2 hr drive) !! Which we did on occasions! Also no mention of a refund for cancelled optional tour through no fault of our own. The tours that we did, we found that there was a lot of pressure on to buy the goods that were being promoted. i.e Silk, Pearls, Jade, Tea and also the Chinese Medicine Dr. All the guides were excellent, especially Lulu. The Yangtze river cruise was excellent. Glad it was at the end of our trip so we could relax a little as the tours were full, long days. Would definitely recommend the tour to China."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Very good tours. Tour guides spoke well, were informative and mindful of our welfare."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Definitely, it was an eye opening experience, however: Coach tours were long and tiring. Accommodation and facilities were below standard. Panda Zoo tour was very disappointing..., other than that, it is worth recommending"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The trip was organised better than we expected. I highly recommend Expedition Exclusive for my future trips."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Had a great time! China Southern airline FANTASTIC. Great accommodations. The Itinerary was full on but manageable. Didn't like the continual UPSELL to the optional activities especially from Wuxi to Shanghai guide. One of our paid options was cancelled but haven't received refund."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Christopher,

Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in the tour and liked the accommodation and itinerary arrangements. We apologise for the cancellation of one of the optional activity. The customer service team is currently looking into the refund and will be contacting you as soon as possible. Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 738 196 if there is any further concern.
Posted 1 month ago
"The tour was fantastic, very well organised, beautiful hotels, and experienced tour guides. I would like to visit and see more places in the cities we visited rather than going to tourisitic factories, also, would love more free time so we can explore in our own. Hotels were fantastic, but prefer to be in the centre of town to allow easy access to restaurants and shops. In general loved the tour."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Inas,

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you loved the tour especially with the hotel arrangements and our tour guides. Thank you for your feedback on the itinerary. Our product team revise the itineray planning. Please feel free to check out our website https://www.expeditionexclusive.com.au for other China and Mongolia tours.
Posted 1 month ago
"very professionally organised and we had a fantastic time. I would recommend this holiday to everyone."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Gary,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you are happy with our tour and had a great time with us. Looking forward to have you joining our next tour.
Posted 2 months ago
"Lulu was the highlight of our trip. She was very helpful. Went over the board to help us with any difficulties. Helped a lot. Truly appreciate her efforts. Terry was rude and very unfriendly. Would anytime recommend trip to China."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Pankaj,

Thank you for your review. Thank you for your kind words for Lulu. We will let her know your appreciation. We value your feedback on Terry's service and sorry to hear that his service is underperforming. We will keep this in mind and give him further training.
Posted 2 months ago
Expedition Exclusive is rated 4.36 based on 25 reviews