Expedition Exclusive Reviews

4.38 Rating 56 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend Expedition Exclusive
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Email
Read Expedition Exclusive Reviews

About Expedition Exclusive:

Expedition Exclusive offers travel packages to China and Mongolia and assists with flights and hotels booking to different places. We provide varies packages to customers to choose from and flexibility in the sceneries arrangement, for customers to experience the culture and tradition of China and Mongolia.

Visit Website

Phone:

1300 738 196

Email:

customers@expeditionexclusive.com.au

Location:

Level 2, 818 Whitehorse Road, Prospect St, Box Hill VIC 3128 (Entrance via Prospect St)

Firstly, after landing in Beijing we missed our connecting flight to Chongqing as there was not enough time between landing and making the connection. The hotel in Chongqing was tucked away in a back street. Our tour guide did not give us information on the hotels ammenities (wifi, hotel restaurants, where breakfast was served). We asked the guide if the hotel had a restaurant so we could have dinner. He gave us directions however the hotel restaurant does not serve dinner. None of the staff spoke English. The guide did not give us any information as to where we could eat outside the hotel. The guide talked about himself too much. The Chongqing local tour was okay, the night lights tour was great. The room in the ship was good although the room had not been cleaned properly, hair on the bathroom floor and in the bath, smear marks on the cabin mirror and bench tops. The food was okay but not enough western style food choices. The crews service was very good. The Tribe of the Three Gorges tour was great. The Feng Du Ghost City tour was disappointing...did not realise it was just going to be a temple. The Expedition Exclusive Australian office staff were very good. Information leading up to the tour in regards to tour preparation was very good. Information in regard to the shore excursions was different from different staff so was somewhat confusing. Thank you for the tour, my Mum (she’s 86) finally got to see the Yangtze and she enjoyed viewing the Gorges.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Our trip to China was very busy and enjoyable. We saw so much in so little time and the travel guides were brilliant, especially Toby to took us for 5 days around Shanghai. Hotels great and coaches and train travel also great.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Really enjoyed this experience of China .Accommodation, transport , both included and optional tours , were for the most part very well organised and of high standard. I understand that visits to factory outlets are sales oriented and can impact on sightseeing. ( i would have enjoyed more than 40 minutes at the Lingering Garden) also, I believe transport could be provided between residence and cemetry on the Confucius tour ( 2 km walk). These comments in no way should stop anyone from taking this wonderful opportunity to tour and explore China. Make sure you get out from the hotels to walk around , shop and dine. I enjoyed the trip and the dealings with Expedition Exclusive.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
The whole trip was wonderful. The sites & tours were great, our guides & bus drivers were excellent with lots of information & tips while visiting China. All the accommodation was good or above expectations. My husband has mobility issues, they were very accommodating for us. Thanks for a great holiday.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Great tour. Absolutely loved China - it exceeded all of our expectations. It was clean, friendly people, beautiful. The food was delicious. I liked the fact that we were able to do our own adventures and not always have to be stuck with the tour guide too. This allowed us to get our own perspective and have our own adventure which was wonderful. This isn't to say we didn't enjoy our tour guide, especially Lulu, she was fantastic. She led us from Wuxi > Suzhou > Hangzhou > Shanghai and was very accommodating. I would definitely recommend this tour and have done so to everyone that I know.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
47 people on the tour. For $800 it was good value for money. Saw all the main tourist attractions. Climbed the wall. Saw Tianamen Square and Forbidden city. The tour guide in Beijing was exceptional. Good English language skills and excellent at keeping the group together. Tour guide in Shanghai was great too.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Our guides Kevin, Jeffrey and Julie were excellent which made our trip most enjoyable. Would like a firmer policy requesting smokers to keep well clear of the bus and venue entrances as it was unpleasant having to walk through their smoke.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Great value for money given our travel experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
It was very good. Every thing was nicely organized. Me and my wife thoroughly enjoyed travelling with Expedition Exclusive.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I had a great time. Hotels were amazing and the tour guides were really good. I would highly recommend to others.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Motel room not clean mouldy and dirty towels ripped sheets mended, No resteraunt suitable for westerners locally,guide was more interested in selling himself and food rather than show highlights.Guide at yinchang station was poor left us for long time couldn’t organise a bus to boat we were left there for an hour plus.Boat was good very enjoyable but more western food would have been appreciated. Finally on last tour around Chongching we had seen all the same parts both day and night previously so seeing them for a third time was a waste of a day.the old town was interesting and a new site to see rushed through to foods stalls where we could have spent more time browsing.in all a rating of 5 out of ten would be genereous
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hotels, condition of the accommodation and breakfast was good. However, tour guide we got in Beijing named Maggie was horrible. Forcing to buy optional tours, cannot talk with her, when we what to ask something always say no time to talk, without giving our passports asked us to go on our own in forbidden city area, forced to buy a double priced massage (outside it's RMB 100 we had to pay RMB200 for poor quality massage done in our own hotel room, without informing trying to enter our room. She does not know to talk to people, inhuman. Finally, she asked for tips for her and driver and collected. Did not provide any information about shopping or going about nearby areas, no maps provided. Tour guide Marco we got for the rest of the days was a blessing. He treated us with respect. Gave fairly information all the time when visiting places. cared for us. But did not provide any additional information other than the scheduled tours. When asked he pretended, he doesn't know. When we do not take optional tours, we were not let to use our time on our own in the area. Instead drop us to hotel in far remote area we cannot reach anything. Tour was like going on prison ride with jail guards. Tour guides are not ready to help people instead they wanted people to forcefully buy the stuff from the places they are showing for example jade, pearl, silk, herbal medicine etc. Air travel was very poor. Both ways flights got delayed by 3 hours staying in Shenzhen airport. Good price and poor quality. Overall not happy.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Fantastic our guide Toby was excellent! He made us feel safe and secure. He also made us fall in love with China. We had the best time and would recommend to anyone. The Great Wall was magical. The accommodation superb. Will defiantly use again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The overall trip was fantastic, we really loved it. The receipt of information prior to the trip was received well in advance and kept us informed on what we needed to do. Overall accommodation was good, some issues in the first Motel whilst in Beijing, but our Guide sorted this out. All set tours were very good, along with the additional tours, however we felt pressured sometimes to do tours that we had not booked. Stephen our guide in Beijing did a good job and was very friendly and helpful. Lou Lou our guide from Wuxi to Shanghai was fantastic in sometimes what was some trying times, due to a family group that was part of the Tour Group. This family had a child that was just over 2 years old and was the only negative part of the tour. The Child constantly screamed whilst on the bus and the mother and father were always late whether first thing in the morning or throughout the day and they did not care. When you have a tour group of 49 people, with some over the age of 70 they and us, do not want to go on a tour with a 2 year old, especially when you spend a lot of time travelling on a bus. You should have a policy that no child under the age of 5 should be allowed to travel. If we were to book another trip we would be asking the details of the group and would not go if there was a young child travelling.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
It was an well organized tour package. Every body was happy to see all those places in china.The tour guide was excellent.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
A great tour and we really enjoyed the time spent in China and would recommend it to others. We missed Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City which was a shame and we felt we should have received a refund even though it was beyond your ability to provide. One hotel had mould in the bathroom - not as expected and not good. Our tour guide Joe was fantastic, the lady on the last 2 days was terrible so much we skipped her tour and went off on our own for the day, on subway and down to Shamian Island - there was no need for her to be so heavy about China and dismiss people on the tour asking questions. Expedition Exclusive were very good and well organised before we left, it had easy to follow instructions. Do you have any tours to UK vis Italy and France - that's our next holiday
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The things we seen were very interesting but the whole trip was very rushed, we were leaving the hotel early in the mornings and not getting back until late at night, very exhausted, the guides were great but besides myself there were a few other people that used walking sticks and we were constantly asking the guides to slow down as we could not keep up, too much crammed into one day, the hotels seem to be in the middle of nowhere, if you did not go on any of the optional tours you could not go anywhere as there was nowhere to go, not even a small grocery store (I think 1 hotel had a store next to it). Also if you did not go on an optional tour you were left at the last included tour and told to make your own way back to the hotel (which was miles away) or you had to hang around and wait for the optional tour to end and still not get back until late. Not sure I would use Expedition Exclusive again, last year I went to Vietnam and Cambodia and used Kogan Travel, we seen a lot of places and hotels were very close to the main downtown cities we stayed in and we were not rushed also the group was a lot smaller, the group on this China tour was way too big, I believe I am not the only person who has come to this conclusion as I have read many other reviews with very similar comments.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We thought our China tour was fantastic ,and found our tour guides and drivers both knowledgeable and friendly .We flew Singapore airlines , so no complaints there .Our first hotel needed ah bit of a refurbishment but not to the point of being unbearable . The next 3 hotels were great , and the last one was good except for the smell of cigarette smoke ......Which our guide Lulu sorted for us . On more than one occasion Lulu was always there to help when needed , and she was a delight .....(She even had us singing on the bus on the last night LOL) The add-on tours are well worth doing ,and you will need to be a bit thick skinned if you aren't used to the hard sell treatment at the organised factory tours . We found the Chinese people to be both friendly and helpful and it was a very safe environment to be in , The Govt is obviously heading down the tourist path , and making a lot of headway . One point to be aware of , is that the stated all inclusive paid tips is not always the case with the tour guides & drivers , and our first guide Steven went to some lengths to explain what he thought we should pay .......this is not obligatory and we paid what we could . Lulu our next guide made no mention of tips, and it seemed people were quite happy to give one to her .All in all a great value for money well organised holiday packed with things to do , and some time to do your own thing if you wanted to .
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
My husband and I really enjoyed the whole trip, both the tour guides Steven and Lulu were brilliant. Felt the would have been better without a 2 yr old screaming on the bus all the time. This trip is not suitable for young children. Loved Beijing, Wuxi and Shanghai, the other places were a waste of time as not much to see. Overall a very good experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
From booking our China trip through to completion of our tour we are very satisfied. All accommodation was top notch!! We did upgrade our cabin on the Yanghtze River Cruise as felt the aloccated cabin was not of the same standard as the hotels we had been staying in on the tour. The tour was well organised and included everything and more, exceeding our expectations. We loved the fact that our group was only 20 people, made it so much easier to stay together as a group. All tour guides were friendly, helpful and very knowlegable, we learnt so much about the places we visited. We would definately use Expedition Exclusive again and would not hesitate to reconnend to family and friends. Thank you and well done Expedition!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Expedition Exclusive is rated 4.38 based on 56 reviews