Fat Llama Reviews

4.63 Rating 271 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Fat Llama

Write Your review

Tell us how Fat Llama made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (Optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Recently I had to ask for help from Fat Llama Resolutions Centre. It was a minor issue, but I had troubles with resolving the matter with the borrower directly. My case manager has connected with me via email and guided through the process. As on outcome, I have received the funds to repair my electric scooter. Painless, quick and efficient. I felt that I have received service on a personal level and feel secure that should anything like this happen again ( small or big) I am covered and Fat Llama has my back. Thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
After agreeing a rental term and price with a kind renter, I was asked to verify my ID by Fat Llama. Which is completely fair, as it's expensive kit and I'm a first time renter. I was prompted to do a full KYC check, where I uploaded my ID, proof of employment, proof of address, video selfie verification, access to my private instagram AND bank statement. Despite feeling slightly violated, I assured myself, this was all to prove I was a legit customer and I wasn't going to steal the kit. So I uploaded all this sensitive info. Bear in mind this is enough info to open bank accounts, conduct credit checks and rent anything from a car to whole house, so surely a couple of cameras is no big deal... I then had a message from support saying that my request had been denied, as the kit was too expensive and I'd need to rent cheaper equipment. Obviously, the whole reason I'd come to Fat Llama in the first place was to rent that specific kit, so telling me to rent something else is not an option and also just a massive failure in understanding your customer. I messaged support querying their decision, and explained that we were only interested renting that specific bit of kit. To which I had various conflicting responses from different support staff. Despite all this I was assured that they'd give me a call tomorrow to confirm a couple of things and all would be ok. The next day I had to chase up support to get a call. When someone did eventually call, I was interrogated about how the kit would be used, where it would be stored, business information and even asked for the talent we'd be shooting's contact information. I obliged to all, despite the latter as this is a violation of GDPR. 2 mins after the call get another email from Fat Llama saying I had failed verification. You can imagine, after wasting a couple of days getting verified jumping through hoops and chasing ever changing support, this was incredibly frustrating. In the end all I got was an email saying the kit was too expensive to rent out, and that I should use their rental partner (and tried directing me to camera rental company.) Pretty laughable considering the whole point of Fat Llama is to rent gear from other people. Considering Fat Llama shouts about "Convenient access to any item" I can wholly say this has been FAR from what I experienced. I risked using Fat Llama for a cheaper price, got messed about, and ended up having to scrabble around last min to find an alternative. I learnt my lesson. I'll never touch the platform again for any rental. Anyone who's interested in using this on a professional level, stay clear, go to a traditional kit shop, who won't mess you about and ask for your first born son to get verified...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Awful experience with this platform. Beware any one renting or lending camera equipment should avoid Fat Llama at all costs! They ruined my plans and cost me in excess of £3000 in model fees and I will be suing them for amongst other things, breach of contract and a number of other. All parties involved both borrower and lenders were inconvenienced and incurred financial loses. Fat Llama representatives are completely unprofessional and dishonest in my honest experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Unfortunately, my recent dealings with Fat Llama have been anything but good service. I had a lot of items that were not returned by the borrower. Despite providing the evidence they requested and CCTV footage of the person in question, they have denied my claim. They told me they sent my personal information to the thief and when I raised my concern about that I was told to 'change my phone number'. For my personal safety, fearing the thief can easily discover me online if/when the police catch him, I now feel compelled to change my number. In the past, Fat Llama has been a great way to make money for a platform that promotes trust in others. But when it comes down to it, they do not practice what they preach. It's a very sad moment for me to lose trust the way I have through dealing with this company.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Great platform for making money of your equipment when you're not using it. I lent my camera for a first time recently to a person living in my area and everything went well; easy pick up point, got paid within 3days and nothing bad happened to my camera. Use my link for 20off when you rent: fatllama.com /r/jago-2c9b8
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Such a great idea, but really let down by dreadful arrogant customer services. On a number of occasions they haven’t replied to issues raised. I’ve now stopped lending items on Fat Llama as my items are expensive and if there was an issue, I don’t have confidence (based on my previous lending experience) that Fat Llama would even reply, let alone sort the issue out.
3 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
They never pay out insurance claims. Can't trust this company. Shady business practices. Scam.
3 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Fat Llama are clearly the cheapest option for purchasing a GoPro 7 Black camera but the automatic payment system refuses to accept either of my debit cards from two different banks. The online chat assistant told me to contact my bank. What, both of them? So, I bought the camera from Amazon instead and was happy to pay the extra £20 for the piece of mind.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I've been using Fat llama since May, 2019. Two of my friends recommended me this. I then started recoommended to friends to use it. one of my friends came up with loads of negative feedback about fat llama and advised me not to use it as this is not reliable platform to lend someone your expensive equipment in case borrower refuse to return, fat llama will not take responsibility. He even said, its a dodgy company they just make commission but do not take responsibility of lenders expensive equipment. I immediatly emailed to fat llama and they replied me and posted links to read terms ans conditions and policies of rental. Well, I kept on renting my equipment. In August, one borrower who rented my camera and lens did not return couple of accessories (battery, data cable and lens cap). I communcated and managed to retrieve battery and data cable but he failed to return lens cap. I waited couple of days for his reply when he stopped responding I reported him to Fat llama. After sending a duly filled fat llama form I received an email from Resolution Manager, Samiya Mosdiq where she said Fat llama can not take any action apparently I have reported late, needed to be report within 24 hours of missing item. I explained them that borrower was communicating with me and there was no need to report him unnecesarliy. Reporting borrower means no business with borrower in future because borrower gonna remember you and will not rent in future. But she came up with same excuse of company's policy and even declined to look into case because I reported it late and she told me that Im not priority for fat llama as there is high volume of cases already in que. During my communcation with resolution manager, I received an email from Product Manager, Ziv Reichert askkng me to book a slot to talk on telephone about my recent rental experience and in returm as thanks I would get £25. I thought, it sounds great, its ok, if they do not accept my claim of £21.99. I never received a call from product manager I got very annoyed I dropped an email: info@fatllma.com and right after that i received a reply from resolution manager but her reply was same i.e. NO. I got another email from customer service team member, Zayne, apologising me about situation and informed me that Product Manager is away for holidays its better to book another slot once he comes back. it means clients/ customers are not important for fat llama. Seriously ? I booked slot and they were not even bother to update me. I was more surprised when I got another email from Georgio telling me not to disrespect fat llama team members when I post reviews online. Email from Georgio: "I am very sorry to hear that Khurram. But please do keep in mind when making your review if you mention names these are real people so please do be respectful. We have many cases our resolutions team deal with everyday, they follow a tried and tested process to come to a fair result for both sides." So they care about care about their employees but they do not care about their clients. I'm thinking, they have treated me pretty unfair on a claim of £21.99 what if claim was of big value. My reviews are not going resolve my case. However, I think, its good to share my experince with fat llama which is not great so far.
3 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Worse customer service experienced ever! Not only my listed items did not show in the search, but when I emailed them to report the problem the Shelley girl at customers service was only able to say she would have failed a report to send to their tech. After that I carry on emailing them to have news regarding my issue, none of them came back to me for over a week, until today when I told them I would have cancel my account, a dude came back to me apologising for the late response told me he would had look into my problem and came back to me ASAP (that was 5 hours ago) since then I haven’t heard nothing again. I have then decided to delete my FatLlama account for the simple reason that if they are not so active as customer service for such a small issue, I can’t imagine how can they be if something goes wrong between you and your borrower. I have read many bad reviews, and is really not worth the pain. Friends have got their item stolen and they have done nothing in repaying the back, God knows if they even have an insurance. Do yourself a favour and DO NOT rent on this site!
2 Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Worked well, fairly straightforward, useful
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Purchase arrived on time. Haven't rented on there yet but am interested to try.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I had a Fat Llama rental in Bristol and the lender was the best person i have ever met!! she was so kind and very funny. Rachel from Bristol idk if you will ever see this but seriously, you're the bomb.com
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thanks Fat Llama, I appreciate the good customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Bought a rice cooker for my mum. nice and easy :)
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Always there, whenever I need.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Way easier than it used to be, product has really come along
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Buyed my mum a bday present on ere. It arrived on time and was cheap. What more culd you want innit.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Excellent customer support. Had an issue with a delivery but their support team helped me out :)
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Good service
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Fat Llama is rated 4.63 based on 271 reviews