Bank of Scotland Reviews

2.6 Rating 55 Reviews
40 %
of reviewers recommend Bank of Scotland
2.6
Based on 55 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Bank of Scotland made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Have been trying for two weeks to get my current ISA updated! Thee bank have reduced my interest rate by 3% and although I have confirmed both by mail and internet banking that I am prepared to continue to invest with BOS they have not updated my account and I just cannot get through to the by telephone I am going to move my money to a bank who appreciates there customers BOS are rubbish?!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Excellent disputes payment service. Initial resolution within minutes and rapid follow up. Very impressed.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
BOS at the Forge Glasgow to be avoided at all times,I’ve been trying to send money to my daughter Since Saturday to no avail,this is the best bit the times that I got to the final stage and they will send me a four digit code, and what they do is send it to voicemail circumnavigate phone and text.this is now Tuesday and I went to bank and was interagated for about half an hour,called a liar and generally treated very badly,despite having all the necessary information they told me that the sort code was, wrong (no it wasn’t) and basically the assistant branch manageress told that they were not going to serve, however I stuck to my guns and showed them what they were doing wrong. The employees are uneducated with a negative attitude towards the customer.As soon as I sort my direct debits I am changing banks the sooner the better.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
This is the worst bank to open your account. In the name of security they just want to keep your money and not let you use it. Employees in the bank has no idea about anything.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Deceitful incompetent bullying typifies their activities. Representatives are liars
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Have recently taken out Car Insurance with the Bank of Scotland and have saved a considerable amount of money by doing so, as the Insurer I was with wanted over £600 more than I had paid for previous year for no reason.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
This is the second time that my pension money has been stolen out of my bank account, I would like it back please, I did not go out working to have my pension stolen of me, I live on my own and no one else has access to my bank account?
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I do not recommend using Bank of Scotland car insurance let me tell you about my experience I started the process and insured my car I provided all the documents that they requested three months later apparently I was meant to have a letter asking for proof of my driving licence, proof of my V5, proof of my no claims and also proof of my utility bill unfortunately I did not get this letter and when I came back from holiday three weeks apparently after the letter was sent. I had a letter saying we are cancelling your policy. There was no communication before that, no rmeinder letter, like saying we are still waiting for the document, nothing just a cancellation letter. Absolutely disgraceful and the staff that I've spoken to absolutely agree with me and I feel embarrassed for them that they have to listen to me complain. What if I was in the armed services abroad, what if I was in hospital recovering from a massive operation and I was in a coma for three months,what if I was on holiday or travelling the world for six months what kind of business will not contact you but send you a letter to say oh we're cancelling it instead of sending you a reminder stay clear.. BIG TIME
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
They ripped off my disabled son by misselling an insurance plan and then hid behind time limits to deny him justice. The FSO, being bought and paid for by the BoS and others, was just another waste of time. Having already ripped off the taxpayers they should have their licence to rob taken off them. Justice denied is just another brick out of the wall that protects civil society. Corruption is so widespread today that it is going to take a civil war to restore any honesty in our lives.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hello everyone, I'm Matt Claiborne from Dallas Texas, usa. I'm here to tell you about my experience about recovery companys. I was scammed by Watermine company! They shut their website down after they took all my money. I was furious, I desperatly needed to get my funds back. Due to the situation I was in I was much more careful in finding a company that could help me get my funds back. I heard about recovery services. I talked several companies. But most of them request front payment. Some of them doesnt but they have bad reviews, and it may be lost of time to go on with them. CP-INVESTIGATION.C0M (Payback, Moneyback same.) has the best reviews between the companies i chacked and shared my problem. Cp Investigation have been an amazing positive help for me, having being scammed out of a substantial amount of money they have successfully assisted in retrieving approx. 70% of my loses so far, with no stone being left unturned I am confident they will obtain a refund for me in due course. They are helpful, professional and compassionate at all times fully understanding my position and always available to assist and answer questions. I can only recommend the company and staff working there, they have all been first class!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I can attest to the good works of RECOVERYCOINGROUP@GMAIL.COM. I almost went into depression until a friend of mine linked me to this amazing group. I lost my life savings to what appeared to be a life changing investment. But I am glad Recovery Coin Group got all my money back. It wasn't 72 hours after I contacted and paid to get back my money, 379k I lost to a fake trader that promised to double my money in less than a week was recovered and I am happy to have contacted this honest hacker. This is the best way I feel I can appreciate them.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Not possible to give less than 1 star, otherwise it would be zero! Terrible customer service phone lines still ringing at 1 hour 45mins and counting !!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The Bank of Scotland located in Garrowhill, Glasgow closes at 3pm and only opens on weekdays, which is not ideal for those whose employment hours are 9 to 4 in a place of work. After being a loyal customer for over forty years, I expected a little sympathy from the cashier when experiencing difficulties and required to speak to someone outwith my working day. No solution such as a telephone conversation was offered so I stood in disbelief, holding the relevant photocopied documentation in my hand and tears falling down my cheeks. Evidently, The Bank of Scotland has no need to consider the customer at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
On holiday in Scotland and staying in Golspie. Needed some pound coins and the only bank with a branch locally is the Bank of Scotland. Asked the bank cashier if she could give me some change for £10. She refused. Completely unhelpful. The cashier told me to ask a local shop instead because I wasn’t a bank customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Appalling customer service Impenetrable automated phone system Unhelpful or actively misleading when eventually connected to an advisor Minor issues take literally weeks to reduce All issues could be avoided by basic communication which seems beyond this company to provide Complaints are treated in a perfunctory manner - usually with a ‘we are very sorry’ letter If switching banks wasn’t so disruptive to my business I would have done so years ago They really are terrible- giving them one star is far too generous Avoid like the plague
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolute joke look elsewhere
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Just dreadful. Was flooded from a burst pipe and have been shunted from pillar to post for 5 days, still no running water, using carrier bags for toilet. Unbelievably disorganised and unhelpful, needless to say they cannot cope with helping paying customers in a cold snap. Definitely never renewing with Bank of Scotland/Lloyds/Allianz again. AVOID!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Took out insurance with them. Easy, and straightforward, all documents easily accessible online. Service is top rate.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Won’t even let me withdraw my OWN MONEY. Missed the sale for an engine for my work van. 3rd time this bank has let me down (lost 2hrs on phone today also). Will be changing banks after I close account in branch at (Irvine) tomorrow.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
A couple of weeks ago, I obtained a copy of my scores from the 3 credit bureaus; they were in the 579 range, how pathetic. He says there was no way I could be granted a loan with such a score so he rather introduced me to a credit specialist. In a few weeks, the specialist deleted all items on my report and raised my score to a whopping 791 across all 3 bureaus and I got my loan after 4 days, very excited. Contact: fixmycredit at writeme dot com.
Bank of Scotland 5 star review on 9th July 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Bank of Scotland is rated 2.6 based on 55 reviews