Bank of Scotland Reviews

2.9 Rating 36 Reviews
47 %
of reviewers recommend Bank of Scotland
2.9
Based on 36 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Bank of Scotland made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
A couple of weeks ago, I obtained a copy of my scores from the 3 credit bureaus; they were in the 579 range, how pathetic. He says there was no way I could be granted a loan with such a score so he rather introduced me to a credit specialist. In a few weeks, the specialist deleted all items on my report and raised my score to a whopping 791 across all 3 bureaus and I got my loan after 4 days, very excited. Contact: fixmycredit at writeme dot com.
Bank of Scotland 5 star review on 9th July 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Terribly poor service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
There is nobody to speak to and when you actually get an adviser they don't answer your concerns
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I can certainly recommend BoS Dingwall Branch for its highly efficient and watchful service. In particular I would like to commend Claire at the branch for retrieving my dropped bank card outside the branch and returning it so swiftly. Many thanks! Martin
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Husband died suddenly 5 weeks ago. Still waiting for bank to release savings balance to me. Quick to grab what they are owed but not to release savings to bereaved wife and children. Disgusted.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Applied for a new account filling out all details online, account was created and received card, pin and security code in post took 1 week. Tried to set up online banking. Security code doesn't work so applied for another took 1 week to arrive. Try again on the app and get to a step to enter memorable data, nothing telling you what format this should be in. Log on via PC eventually get past this step. Then the service tries to call you for security but apparently no phone number is linked to the account, I'm looking at it on the copy of the application form! Call customer services 20:00 Friday night, wait over 25 mins. Told to add a phone number to the account I need to be at a higher level of security and they will send out another code taking 5 days. The only positive was that the member of staff was really efficient at closing my account presumably because they have so many unhappy customers they have to do it so often.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Bank of Scotland held a charge on my home but for various reasons have withdrawn the charge allowing me to refinance. Thank you most sincerely for being most understanding.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I can’t praise your colleague Brian from the fraud department enough for being so patient and understanding on Tuesday 12th Oct . He went over and above delivering great customer service . Thank you so much Brian .
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Great result in the comparison website and I got the exact same car insurance cover with additional features for less than half the price of my previous insurer all set up instantly
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Shocking organisation - couldn't organise a kitty in the pub. The BoS App didn't recognise my current account details despite having the account open since 1996. Nuff said......well not quite. High Street branch also completely clueless with continued use of the old chestnut "you can't withdraw your cash because it needs to be verified for at least 24 hrs". In 2021? Really? Please explain? Total nonsense. Soon to be left in the dark ages. Will be closing my accounts ASAP ......bet that's NOT easy either.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I am an international student from Malaysia. Yesterday (7July 2021) I called the hotline 0345 129 9784 at 12.16pm and I was in contact with a guy who named Hamed from this customer service (CS) hotline regarding my bank account to be closed due to no positive cash flow in the account since September 2020 (is it very long?). Hamed's speech was very fast and illiterate and I requested him to repeat. However in his attempt to repeat explanation to me, he burst into frustration and anger and reprimanded me for my non-wrongdoings. I find this offensive as a customer for I only requested for further clarification. I still feel very uncomfortable with his attitude until now. I believe the conversation between me and Hamed was recorded, you could play back for your reference/if you not believe me. Please take this matter seriously and take action for this dismeanour. Thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Trying to log into your account from overseas is an absolute nightmare & obtaining any assistance from the contact numbers even worse, on hold for long periods of time and if the call drops out your back waiting another 45 minutes to try and speak with someone. One of the worst banks Ive ever dealt with absolutely useless.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had very bad experience in Argyle Street Glasgow.I was depositing money in Payin Machine when it broke down and I was assured that the remaining money would be paid into my account next day..Anyway it wasn't..I contacted the branch and Kirsty Russell called myself back..Kirsty said she couldn't hear me and hung up not returning the call.I contacted the Complaints Team and Nic Reilly did the investigation in a morning.I thought the Bank of Scotland mission statement was (by your side). Kirsty and Nic never were..I thought it very suspicious that they never introduced the Bank of Scotland Fraudlent Team.to investigate.I have had Major Brain Surgery and this has caused extreme Stress and Anxiety..I have just started Chemo..Hopefully Kirsty Russell and Nic Reilly have training in that not all Disabilities are Visable..Its better to be Assertive and not Aggressive..Kirsty and Nic are not good Ambassadors Representing Bank of Scotland..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was made Redundant and had problems paying my loan monthly payments. I contacted loan department and got transferred to an advisor. This Gentleman was absolutely fantastic. Understood my circumstances and helped me come to an agreement. The weight was lifted of my shoulders. He even returned my charges on my overdraft. He is an asset to Bank of Scotland. Thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good packet insurance, werry good team, i wish you all the best!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
A real shame, I know people will fire on a review when they're not happy with service, but this one is so so disappointing. I run a taxi business and one of my customers is an elderly lady of 88 and I take her to the BOS to do her banking. Now I'm sure she has a few quid deposited in the bank and a healthy pension. She is fairly pc savvy, and fills in tax forms etc herself. Anyway here comes the cracker. She does not have a printer and does need some financial documents duplicated, so as she is a loyal, long term customer, she naturally assumed that her supportive bank would do some copies for her, seven to be exact. Bank of Scotland refused saying "if they did it for her, they would have to do it for everyone" unbelievable, eighty eight for gods sake. How low can this bank go... Just dreadful
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Absolute scum!! Preying on the vurnable yet claim to be helping them during covid. Blocking everyday transactions as fraud so you get charged extra because payments bounce!!.. making them more money! Withholding payments because of lack of staff! Disgrace of a bank! Refusing to pay back unauthorised transactions.. you are the fraudulent ones who rip people off!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
They dont have enough call centre staffs n always hang up- weekend?? No service at all. In store rude staff as well!! Terrible!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Natwest closed acc, didnt answer phones fir 10 days. All my savings licked. No reply. Pathetic.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Bank of Scotland is rated 2.9 based on 36 reviews