Bank of Scotland Reviews

2.78 Rating 27 Reviews
44 %
of reviewers recommend Bank of Scotland
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Bank of Scotland made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Shocking organisation - couldn't organise a kitty in the pub. The BoS App didn't recognise my current account details despite having the account open since 1996. Nuff said......well not quite. High Street branch also completely clueless with continued use of the old chestnut "you can't withdraw your cash because it needs to be verified for at least 24 hrs". In 2021? Really? Please explain? Total nonsense. Soon to be left in the dark ages. Will be closing my accounts ASAP ......bet that's NOT easy either.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I am an international student from Malaysia. Yesterday (7July 2021) I called the hotline 0345 129 9784 at 12.16pm and I was in contact with a guy who named Hamed from this customer service (CS) hotline regarding my bank account to be closed due to no positive cash flow in the account since September 2020 (is it very long?). Hamed's speech was very fast and illiterate and I requested him to repeat. However in his attempt to repeat explanation to me, he burst into frustration and anger and reprimanded me for my non-wrongdoings. I find this offensive as a customer for I only requested for further clarification. I still feel very uncomfortable with his attitude until now. I believe the conversation between me and Hamed was recorded, you could play back for your reference/if you not believe me. Please take this matter seriously and take action for this dismeanour. Thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Trying to log into your account from overseas is an absolute nightmare & obtaining any assistance from the contact numbers even worse, on hold for long periods of time and if the call drops out your back waiting another 45 minutes to try and speak with someone. One of the worst banks Ive ever dealt with absolutely useless.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I had very bad experience in Argyle Street Glasgow.I was depositing money in Payin Machine when it broke down and I was assured that the remaining money would be paid into my account next day..Anyway it wasn't..I contacted the branch and Kirsty Russell called myself back..Kirsty said she couldn't hear me and hung up not returning the call.I contacted the Complaints Team and Nic Reilly did the investigation in a morning.I thought the Bank of Scotland mission statement was (by your side). Kirsty and Nic never were..I thought it very suspicious that they never introduced the Bank of Scotland Fraudlent Team.to investigate.I have had Major Brain Surgery and this has caused extreme Stress and Anxiety..I have just started Chemo..Hopefully Kirsty Russell and Nic Reilly have training in that not all Disabilities are Visable..Its better to be Assertive and not Aggressive..Kirsty and Nic are not good Ambassadors Representing Bank of Scotland..
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I was made Redundant and had problems paying my loan monthly payments. I contacted loan department and got transferred to an advisor. This Gentleman was absolutely fantastic. Understood my circumstances and helped me come to an agreement. The weight was lifted of my shoulders. He even returned my charges on my overdraft. He is an asset to Bank of Scotland. Thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Good packet insurance, werry good team, i wish you all the best!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
A real shame, I know people will fire on a review when they're not happy with service, but this one is so so disappointing. I run a taxi business and one of my customers is an elderly lady of 88 and I take her to the BOS to do her banking. Now I'm sure she has a few quid deposited in the bank and a healthy pension. She is fairly pc savvy, and fills in tax forms etc herself. Anyway here comes the cracker. She does not have a printer and does need some financial documents duplicated, so as she is a loyal, long term customer, she naturally assumed that her supportive bank would do some copies for her, seven to be exact. Bank of Scotland refused saying "if they did it for her, they would have to do it for everyone" unbelievable, eighty eight for gods sake. How low can this bank go... Just dreadful
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolute scum!! Preying on the vurnable yet claim to be helping them during covid. Blocking everyday transactions as fraud so you get charged extra because payments bounce!!.. making them more money! Withholding payments because of lack of staff! Disgrace of a bank! Refusing to pay back unauthorised transactions.. you are the fraudulent ones who rip people off!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They dont have enough call centre staffs n always hang up- weekend?? No service at all. In store rude staff as well!! Terrible!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Natwest closed acc, didnt answer phones fir 10 days. All my savings licked. No reply. Pathetic.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Glasgow/Anniesland branch business banking was rude I went to Anniesland branch for putting check from backdated payment from Bank of Scotland Mortgage and l decided withdraw money because l started decorating my house and building driveway.Older lady behind business side clearly wasn’t happy What she’s doing and started questioning me why l want English notes,where lm going to spend it,my account not business?I asked why you asking so much question?She said they need to ask money laundering purposes.l said clearly you can see my wages coming in from my legal employment and it’s legal money.The way She’s speaking and questioning me Was undermining Disrespectful.She judge me from my dirty clothing.If she said from start “l need to ask you some security questions if you don’t mind” or been polite l don’t mind it but not this way. I won’t go back this branch agin.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
na
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 1 year ago
I opened a BOS account last year thinking my monies was safe something they don’t tell you is that if the governments wants monies off you they can just go in and steal your monies legally, I pay my ex wife the correct amount of child maintenance every month for over 5 years but she won’t show her statements but I do so the government can take monies out with no explanation only that your not paying, if a bank can do that to someone who is not a criminal the government are saying now that we all are!! be carful with BOS , TSB , Santander they just give your monies away time to stop this legal crime by anyone,
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Closing Auchterarder branch, so much for customer service ! Elderly people don't all have the internet. That is the last bank in Auchterarder. There is always a queue outside on the three days it is open and a queue inside ! Keeping Crieff branch but there are 3 banks in Crieff ( not their concern I know)Taking away theATM too, I have an account that charges me for taking money from any other ATM! My elderly parent does not have the internet, too deaf for phone banking and has been a BOS customer 60 years !! even has your expensive home insurance. loyal customer but disloyal bank .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible service! The worst I’ve ever had anywhere! Staff speak to you like garbage just pass you on to someone else over and over and never get an issue solved. Opened a complaint and the offer a proxy tenner for all my time wasted. Then when I refuse their tenner close the complaint, just boycott this robbing bank
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Great customer service and sorted my issues with no fuss at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I only wish I had moved to them sooner than I did, I wasted a lot of money with other banks, before finally joining the bank of Scotland.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Strathaven common green branch , how could you treat a 77 year old lady like this ?? You should be ashamed
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dunoon branch provides good over the counter service, very helpful personable staff. Bank statements are clear. But surely, BoS profits are sufficient to offer a service to the community by keeping more branches open!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Bank of Scotland is rated 2.78 based on 27 reviews