Startline Motor Finance Reviews

3.26 Rating 62 Reviews
56 %
of reviewers recommend Startline Motor Finance
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read Startline Motor Finance Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01414066629

Write Your review

Tell us how Startline Motor Finance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
SHOCKING, SHOCKING, SHOCKING!
Left a bad review for this company on August 23rd which finally prompted a response from them after my waiting for them to respond to my questions since June. Today is 28 September and I still haven't had my overpaid direct debit payment of £368 refunded, the letter they promised confirming my account was clear, or my statement of account which would evidently show their errors. They offered me a £50 gesture of goodwill because of their poor customer service last time but still won't return the £368 overpayment or do anything they promised. I'm sure if I'd missed a payment to them they would not be so tolerant. Can't believe this company is even in business.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Second to none I would recommend them to anyone
Posted 1 month ago
Avoid like the plague! If it was possible I would give no stars to this company. I overpaid my direct debit by one month at the start of June but that payment was not deducted from what I owed - I was told by their representative that the payment is deducted at the end of the agreement! I then paid my loan off in full in the middle of June minus the payment they had on account. Their representative said this was right and that the account was then clear. Unfortunately I did not stop my direct debit so they took a monthly payment at the end of June. They will not return the payment saying that I owed it to them. I asked for a full statement of account in July and at 23 August (today) have still heard nothing. I asked for a letter saying the account was cleared in June and I've had nothing. I've checked my credit files today (23 August) and they all show the account has not been cleared. They are dreadful to work with.
Posted 1 month ago
Avoid at all costs, I bought a vehicle to which it was revealed had been in an accident and poorly repaired , startline had me pay for an engineer to assess my car who confirmed the defects. They still won’t let me reject my car as I can’t prove the defects where there at point of sale !
So stressful, and as for the rude woman on the phone I always get stuck with .... I won’t say my thoughts on her
Posted 2 months ago
They are an absolute load of scum bags they haven’t got a clue
AVOID AT ALL COSTS

They messed us around for weeks and fucked up our credit rating

I think all is disgruntled customers should take a trip to there offices to sit down and have it out with them

Rude staff
Posted 2 months ago
Never had any issues, have always went above and beyond! I have phoned up twice and always have really friendly,cheery and helpful advisers! Excellent customer service! Cant recommend enough.
Posted 2 months ago
Shocking stay well clear dont help you when you need it what sort of customer service is that when they laugh down the phone at you for struggling wow
Posted 3 months ago
Avoid at all costs , tried to get a payment holiday they declined me and laughed down the phone at me because I said I'm struggling with money due to covid 19 please avoid at all costs you will REGRET it
Posted 3 months ago
Stay well clear , they laugh down the phone at you when you ask for help due to covid 19 , they seem to think it's funny listening over the phone asking for help do not go near this company absolutely shocking customer service
Posted 3 months ago
Please don't take out finance with this company, startline motor finance Ltd will deliberately destroy your credit rating!!!
Posted 3 months ago
The customer service and helpfulness to resolve complains effectively is beyond a joke. Once you enter into an agreement with them, they then don’t want to help the customer, instead siding with the other party. Beware of Startline!
Posted 4 months ago
I purchased a car from Penton Motor Group and financed through Startline Motor Finance.

Within days of purchasing the car I had issues with it and had to return the vehicle having driven no more than a few miles. The dealership fixed this issue and the car was returned within 3-4 days.

Within 2 weeks of owning the car I was made aware that it had began emitting blue smoke from the exhaust. I immediately took the vehicle to my local mechanics who advised that the issue was likely to be very expensive to fix and told me to reject the vehicle under the consumer rights act which allows consumers to do so within 30 days of purchasing the vehicle.

Upon taking the car back I was told that there was nothing wrong with the car and that they would not allow me to reject the vehicle, despite there still being visible blue smoke.

At this point, I contacted Startline Motor Finance who were most unhelpful and left me to argue the case with the dealership and avoided all talk of me rejecting the vehicle.

After several months of emails back and forth with Penton Motor Group and Startline Motor Finance the dealership told me that they had changed the air filter and that I should drive the car for several thousand miles as this has fixed the vehicle. No record of this work was ever produced.

After another few months of emails back and forth and no progress being made with regards to rejecting the vehicle I agreed to take the car back. To my surprise (not!), the car was still emitting plumes of blue smoke.

I immediately took the vehicle back to the dealership and demanded that they allowed me to reject the vehicle, they refused again, and Startline Motor Finance remained silent and unhelpful throughout.

After several months more of emails back and forth, now with Penton Motor Groups Sales Manager, with Startline Motor Finance silently watching on, refusing to involve themselves, Penton Motor Group finally came back to me having supposedly had their mechanics look at why the car may be emitting the smoke. Their reason was that I had apparently filled the diesel car with petrol. I knew this to be false but had unfortunately thrown away the receipt to prove it, having only filled the car up once, several months before, seeing as I had not had the opportunity to drive the car since I had no reason to fill the car again.

I sought advice from my local mechanics who advised that because I had filled the car up with a full tank, it is extremely unlikely that the car would have driven at all if it was filled with the wrong fuel and definitely would not have made the several trips since.

With no receipt and subsequently no proof that what the dealership were saying was untrue I was forced to take the vehicle back and it has since sat on my drive.

By the pure good will of the manager of the Shell garage from which I had purchased the fuel, several months later he found the time to recover the receipt for my fuel purchase, which stated that I had purchased the correct fuel for the vehicle. Further to this I was able to obtain a report from Shell stating that the pumps had been tested that day and were found to have no contamination present.

I took this information back to both the dealership and Startline Motor Finance, the former then told me that he and Penton Motor Group were ceasing all communication with me and the latter remained silent, still refusing to allow me to reject the vehicle.

Knowing that I finally had a solid case that did not rely on either Penton Motor Group or Startline Motor Finance being fair or truthful I took my case to the Financial Ombudsman who found in my favour after 21 months and ordered Startline Motor Finance to refund me within 28 days. It has now been 6 weeks and I have still not been refunded.

If you are unlucky enough to purchase a broken vehicle, expect to be hung out to dry by this callous company and don’t expect them to pay you any money they owe you.
Posted 5 months ago
In a global crisis where people are struggling for money having lost all their income because their work has shut down, and after speaking to the company 3 times who assured me it was all sorted and not to worry, they continue to send me letters demanding payment and adding £15 on everytime they send a letter out.

Caused my even more unnecessary stress and anxiety than I need at the moment.

Every time.tou speak to someone they speak.to you like your an utter piece of rubbish. No doubt the issue is still not resolved
Posted 5 months ago
Tried to pay a large sum of money off of my finace to bring monthly payments down and was told they needed proof of where the payment came from, I emailed through the proof but nothing was ever enough, my monies is being held in a holding account because it’s not good enough a reason for them to release the payment to pay off the finance! I told them I have sent over everything I can, tried calling to talk and the 1 person I have spoken too was EXTREMELY RUDE & almost feels like he’s telling me I’ve done something wrong!! Tried calling again a few day’s later but always busy! Waiting times over an hour! And tried getting them to understand the reason for me paying off the finance to bring monthly payments down but not good enough, I now can’t get hold of anyone, at the end of this all I’m still paying the usual rate what I was paying monthly and now I’m a large sum of money down! Probably to get as much interest money as possible! ABSOLUTE JOKE OF A COMPANY!
Posted 7 months ago
I’ve had finance in the past with loads of awkward and at times difficult requests from them. This time I am with Startline and today is the first time I’ve spoke to them on the phone. They made no request for any additional information from me. It was straight forward from application through to recieving my new car. I’d have no problem going through them in the future
Posted 8 months ago
After tolerating several years of this Company its time to seek legal advice and hand over all the paperwork.
Posted 8 months ago
My first experience was great I paid them off. Second time around My family as extended To get the car paper work went smooth until I ended up up with a faulty car from the dealership. They told me Im not allowed to reject the car as its past 30 days. Then it was only a few days since I had it and I had fault same day I drive away the car. Provided evidence was told Am only allowed to have care repaired after the forth time I still wasnt allowed to reject. After while I was been told to wait while they ignore me they're all friends so they had me complainting to different members of the team and having a laugh including the Manager.

To sign up for a carfinance they make sure everything goes well with paper work. But No support after. Not very helpful if you decide to get car repair done and a faulty car from the dealership or even a to reject a car. Had to provide proof each time from mechanic which I was told the garage won't a recognise one. Proof there's several fault with car each time I was told I'm not allowed to reject it I have to accept repairs. Four times I accept repairs on the car and it was still faulty they eventually started taking side with dealer not having no care in the world for their own customer. Without no proof took sides and pinned the blame on me saying I am the that damage the car myself. Since having car only been driving it back on forth to dealer for him to mess around as he sold a faulty car with no intentions of fixing anything. Broken down with my family. Sold car without service history and three months mot. Instead of a year. My calls are been ignored and my evidence put aside. To be told I need to get my insurance to fix it as its my fault. I explained I needed a car for my family as I had a new addition. Its winter and its been a really difficult time as we needed a car. They don't really don't care. Once they get there bonuses and interest. Customer gets treated like the bad person left stranded to pay the car off plus fix a faulty car. Not the best customer service. Unprofessional staff don't log information and take complaint seriously.

Very dissappointed as I thought I could rely on them to deliver as they did the first time.
Clearly I was wrong I really don't have time for this I explained I have small children and a family that needs the benefits of a good car. Considering I open up and pour my heary out to have it smatched into pieces.
Posted 9 months ago
Very poor .
Good to see up but then AFTER car was paid off still demanding money !! Threating letters etc
Dont try calling they are always busy !!
Emails yeah okay we don't actually answer them either .
But we will send you letters out to demand the money you don't actually owe and add more to it for the pleasure .
I know my car is for sale an is finance clear so startline is just a big farce
Posted 9 months ago
Car paid off in Dec 2019 yet still demanding money an setting letters demanding default money !!! Try phoning your waiting ages everyone busy!! Email no response.
Easy to set up with but awful bullies when you have paid your debts off then still demand more .
Avoid at at all costs
Posted 9 months ago
Good service
Posted 10 months ago
Startline Motor Finance is rated 3.26 based on 62 reviews