African Overland Tours Reviews

4.8 Rating 260 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend African Overland Tours
4.8
Based on 260 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read African Overland Tours Reviews

About African Overland Tours:

We believe travelling the road in Africa changes you, Forever!
We want others to experience this.

Our team of passionate planners (ex guides and travellers) help you find the perfect trip for your adventure. The tours will leave you with unforgettable experiences that will stay with you for a lifetime.

We offer over 300 Budget Safari types, from Accommodated Tours, Camping Safaris, Small Group Safaris , Budget Tented and Lodge Safaris and longer African Overland Tours at the most competitive pricing with unbiased, honest help all backed up with financial protection guarantee.

Our local knowledge and experience is invaluable as we have travelled and guided extensively on the routes in Africa (not many people can say that).

Visit Website

Phone:

+27214480997

Write Your review

Tell us how African Overland Tours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
African Overland Tours 5 star review on 23rd December 2022
Mohammad
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
28
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
El servicio que recibí fue muy completo. Gracias especialmente a Celia por su atención, siempre resolvió mis dudas y respondía a tiempo. El viaje a África en kenia y Uganda fue estupendo, vimos muchos animes, lugares bonitos y todos los camping tenían más animales al aire libre. Celia me dio más de una opción para escoger mi viaje ajustándose a mi fecha de cumpleaños y todo salio muy bien.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
I spent 12 incredible days in the African savannah, enjoying stunning landscapes, spotting animals, and learning about African nature, culture, and society. All of this was made even more remarkable thanks to the invaluable teachings of my guides and the wonderful companionship of my fellow adventurers.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We deeply appreciated Celia and Tam's help. They answered to all of our questions so we are truly thankful and feel safe to live this experience. Can't wait for the trip to begin !
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We haven't gone on our tour yet but if it is any indication the way the professionalism, enthusiasm, information and love of the continent shown by Bernelle. We've in our 60's so it's great to actually put a face to a AOL travel consultant. She has been holding our hands even though they get sweaty at times. Looking forward to September. Thanks again Rob and Doreen
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We signed up very late for our tour and Chemone held our hand and was SO helpful in getting us ready for our trip. There really wasn't much time to get everything done, but she did it! She was very patient and knowledgeable and was really great to work with.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Namibia, 13 day small group tour: Magical! Chemone helped me throughout the booking process with professionalism, prompt responses and always willing to answer on all my enqueries. Goddfried ,the guide and driver shared his knowledge throughout the tour, making it interesting and alive. Excellent driving skills. The accommodation was supurb with each with its own breath taking landscapes and surroundings. The food was excellant! The variety of tour sightings and special activities included , made the whole journey MAGICAL! This tour is amazing... pack your bags and go!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Chemone assisted me throughout the booking process, always friendly and clearly. There was always prompt response from her on all the queries that arised from my side. Thank you Chemone
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I’ve been travelling though South Africa for six weeks but didn’t really have anything for the period after Kruger and couldn’t find anything . After contacting Africa overland tours with the dates I was free and what I’d done. Celia couldn’t have done more, gave me list of a few tours. So on the 16 I’m on a 9 day trip of Namibia. Thanks Celia for making it easy
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I have been trying to organise a trip to South Africa for a number of years without success. However, African Overland Tours have been able to resolve this through listening to what I wanted to do and providing me with the perfect tailormade holiday solution. Reshma Deva is the representative dealing with me, and she has been excellent. Reshma has responded to any questions quickly and efficiently. I could not have asked for more and cant wait for my tour in November.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I have just booked a tour to Namibia & the Garden Route in South Africa with African Overland Tours and the service from Lee has been outstanding!! I made a last minute change after all the original plans had been made and her patience & willingness to accommodate my new itinerary was exemplary. The whole booking process was so easy & I've been amazed at the options and reasonable costs of the entire tour. It gives me great confidence about how amazing the actual trip will be! Thank you so very much, Lee!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Minette Thiart of African Overland Tours is an outstanding travel consultant. She is extremely patient and helpful in guiding me planning my African tour. In the contacts for almost a month, I can feel her enthusiasm and passion. She really deeply loves her work and the Continent. Her professionalism is highly appreciated.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I started a conversation online chat with Huntley just a week ago having been researching for a while for my tour, Huntley was without a doubt AMAZING, he answered my hundreds of questions, put my mind at rest and advised and guided me for the best tours that met my long list of requirements. By midweek I had chosen my tour and was book and confirmed very quickly. Honestly, Huntley made it all absolutely fun and exciting and most of all I feel safe as a traveler in Africa and cannot wait to start my journey
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I contacted 3 agencies for quotes and Reshma's from AOT stood out by miles. The follow up service I received did not disappoint. Reshma was never too pushy, always informative, knew her stuff and always on hand to help but even more, she exudes happiness and encouragement. Thanks Reshma. So far so great!! Very happy customer. I'll post another review after the trip :-)
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Our contact with Minette from African Overland Tours, can only be classed as ‘the best’. She was outstanding in her understanding of our needs, she was responsive and she gave us many many options. She was available to talk, email or text with any of our enquiries. We were in Australia, she in Africa but distance made no difference. Even when it came time to pay, she reassured me transfers were ok. If you’re ever thinking of an african tour - contact African Overland Tours. Now about our adventure which we took in June. Our Kiboko TransKalahari Adventure has been classed as No 1. From the moment we met our tour guide, Adam, in Cape Town we have been mesmerized, excited and surprised by the great countries of South Africa, Namibia, Botswana and Vic Falls, Zimbabwe. Before leaving we pored over the itinerary in anticipation of seeing some unique animals and landscapes. Our imaginations brimmed over as we tracked through each country. So I’d like to provide some feedback and highlights. I’m sorry I didn’t post photos as we were just having so much fun. Wildlife Each game drive provided us with the excitement of seeing an incredible display of African animals in the wild. Highlights -Ostriches at Cape of Good Hope, Table Top National Park. (An ostrich standing like a statue in front of sign, majestic in its soft velvet black feathers) -Cheetah and lion in the Kgalgardi Transfrontier Park (both standing at their high vantage point looking for their next meal) (as well as the crazy little Meerkats) -Footprints on the sand dunes in the Namib desert (identifying and learning about footprints in the sand) Elephant, lion, rhinoceros, giraffe, in Etosha NP (lions crossing the road in front of our vehicle) -Hippos on the Okavango river (sunning themselves and with baby) -Leopard, hippos and wild dogs in Chobe (the kill by the wild dogs and the leopard dragging an impala) -Elephants rule! Everywhere elephants were intriguing from the deserts to rivers. So much to learn about these beautiful animals. Landscape -The wild desert of the Kalahari and Sand dunes of the Namib desert and then tracking up to Etosha. -Moving into a more dense landscape and the beauty of the Okavango Pan. -The incredible Chobe River bordering the beautiful Chobe NP. -Of course, Vic Falls. Culture So much to learn but our only real experience were seeing the villages of the people of Botswana and the Herero and Himba people of Namibia. So pleased we stopped by these people. Accommodation Our expectations of accommodation were fulfilled with the exceptional lodges chosen by you. The one exception was Swamp Spot. After the experience of all the previous 16 sites this was a little smelly and more rustic. Location great though. Guide and driver What to say and where to start. We fell in love with Adams knowledge, his good wit and readiness to help in every way. He made our trip informative and rich in so many ways. Whenever we think of the Big 5, Adam makes up the Big 6 (5 passengers + Adam). His driving was exceptional and from the beginning we felt so safe. The truck was a tad cold in the mornings but we adjusted and had fun in our ice box or oven - depending on time of day. However our cohesive group just joked and moved with the flow. Adam made this adventure the best tour we’ve ever had. A huge thank you to Kiboko team. Our cup runneth over in so many ways. The stories from this tour will run for years to come.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Robby! Thank you for the awesome review of your tour and your assistance from Minette! We do everything that we can to ensure we deliver the best service at African Overland Tours and are so proud of Minette and the awesome relationships that she forms with her travellers around the world. Kiboko runs epic tours and it's awesome to hear that they delivered again and again! Thank you for sharing such a detailed account of your tour, I know that future travellers will find this hugely useful. We're so excited to hear you enjoyed the incredible African wildlife, landscape, and culture during your African adventure and are so glad you felt safe at all times with Adam's excellent driving. It's wonderful for us to hear such positive feedback from tour groups, so thank you for taking the time to write this insightful review.
Posted 7 months ago
Muy bueno
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We just booked a terrific adventure with African Overland Tours. Tammy was a great help in selecting and booking the trip. We were last on safari in East and Southern Africa fifteen years ago and have always wanted to return to the most fascinating continent there is. This time we are taking in Zimbabwe, the Okavango Delta in Botswana, and Namibia. The adventure is scheduled for September/October of 2024 and we can't wait.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Doug! You're going to have such an incredible time and well done on getting your booking in early so that you can spend the year looking forward to this awesome adventure. We are so happy to hear that you had great service from Tammy - thank you for your feedback.
Posted 10 months ago
Tammy from African Overland Tours was wonderful, and really helped me so much. She was always available to help me out, and promptly helped me when I had to change my tours because of the COVID situation. She managed to work her magic and helped me change my tour! I did the 7 days, Desert Explorer with Nomad. It was a really good tour, however I do recommend doing the longer tour, because 2 days was just driving.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your awesome feedback! Tammy and the team were so excited to hear that you had such a great time and that you were able to find a tour post Covid. I hope that you're able to come back soon and do another tour with us.
Posted 10 months ago
Tammy was very helpful in helping me book the tour and communicating important info that I needed for the tour.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Fantastic! Thank you so much for your lovely feedback :). We hope to see you again soon :)
Posted 10 months ago
ottimo Tour operator. consiglio a tutti di viaggiare con loro . Sono rapidi nel dare tutte le informazioni durante la prenotazione e poi il tour rispetta pienamente quanto viene scritto. Anche il prezzo è ottimo per il servizio che danno. io ho fatto il tour di 6 gg in Namibia, la guida, Gedeon davvero fantastico e preparatissimo!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was really hesitating about booking an overland Tour in Africa. I was very scared about it to. So I wrote a message and I got nearly an immediate response. I felt very well supported. Ingrid was just great. She was very patient and gabe me very gut advises, so that I felt secure amd confirtable. She had even tm2 Videocalls, wich was very pleasent. I have been making many Tours am bookings but I have never been feeling so gut advised as with AOT. Imgrid you made the best job ever. I am now very enthusiastik about my tour and all my fears are gone!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
African Overland Tours is rated 4.8 based on 260 reviews