African Overland Tours Reviews

4.8 Rating 249 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend African Overland Tours
4.8
Based on 249 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read African Overland Tours Reviews

About African Overland Tours:

We believe travelling the road in Africa changes you, Forever!
We want others to experience this.

Our team of passionate planners (ex guides and travellers) help you find the perfect trip for your adventure. The tours will leave you with unforgettable experiences that will stay with you for a lifetime.

We offer over 300 Budget Safari types, from Accommodated Tours, Camping Safaris, Small Group Safaris , Budget Tented and Lodge Safaris and longer African Overland Tours at the most competitive pricing with unbiased, honest help all backed up with financial protection guarantee.

Our local knowledge and experience is invaluable as we have travelled and guided extensively on the routes in Africa (not many people can say that).

Visit Website

Phone:

+27214480997

Write Your review

Tell us how African Overland Tours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
African Overland Tours 5 star review on 23rd December 2022
Mohammad
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
28
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I started a conversation online chat with Huntley just a week ago having been researching for a while for my tour, Huntley was without a doubt AMAZING, he answered my hundreds of questions, put my mind at rest and advised and guided me for the best tours that met my long list of requirements. By midweek I had chosen my tour and was book and confirmed very quickly. Honestly, Huntley made it all absolutely fun and exciting and most of all I feel safe as a traveler in Africa and cannot wait to start my journey
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I contacted 3 agencies for quotes and Reshma's from AOT stood out by miles. The follow up service I received did not disappoint. Reshma was never too pushy, always informative, knew her stuff and always on hand to help but even more, she exudes happiness and encouragement. Thanks Reshma. So far so great!! Very happy customer. I'll post another review after the trip :-)
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Our contact with Minette from African Overland Tours, can only be classed as ‘the best’. She was outstanding in her understanding of our needs, she was responsive and she gave us many many options. She was available to talk, email or text with any of our enquiries. We were in Australia, she in Africa but distance made no difference. Even when it came time to pay, she reassured me transfers were ok. If you’re ever thinking of an african tour - contact African Overland Tours. Now about our adventure which we took in June. Our Kiboko TransKalahari Adventure has been classed as No 1. From the moment we met our tour guide, Adam, in Cape Town we have been mesmerized, excited and surprised by the great countries of South Africa, Namibia, Botswana and Vic Falls, Zimbabwe. Before leaving we pored over the itinerary in anticipation of seeing some unique animals and landscapes. Our imaginations brimmed over as we tracked through each country. So I’d like to provide some feedback and highlights. I’m sorry I didn’t post photos as we were just having so much fun. Wildlife Each game drive provided us with the excitement of seeing an incredible display of African animals in the wild. Highlights -Ostriches at Cape of Good Hope, Table Top National Park. (An ostrich standing like a statue in front of sign, majestic in its soft velvet black feathers) -Cheetah and lion in the Kgalgardi Transfrontier Park (both standing at their high vantage point looking for their next meal) (as well as the crazy little Meerkats) -Footprints on the sand dunes in the Namib desert (identifying and learning about footprints in the sand) Elephant, lion, rhinoceros, giraffe, in Etosha NP (lions crossing the road in front of our vehicle) -Hippos on the Okavango river (sunning themselves and with baby) -Leopard, hippos and wild dogs in Chobe (the kill by the wild dogs and the leopard dragging an impala) -Elephants rule! Everywhere elephants were intriguing from the deserts to rivers. So much to learn about these beautiful animals. Landscape -The wild desert of the Kalahari and Sand dunes of the Namib desert and then tracking up to Etosha. -Moving into a more dense landscape and the beauty of the Okavango Pan. -The incredible Chobe River bordering the beautiful Chobe NP. -Of course, Vic Falls. Culture So much to learn but our only real experience were seeing the villages of the people of Botswana and the Herero and Himba people of Namibia. So pleased we stopped by these people. Accommodation Our expectations of accommodation were fulfilled with the exceptional lodges chosen by you. The one exception was Swamp Spot. After the experience of all the previous 16 sites this was a little smelly and more rustic. Location great though. Guide and driver What to say and where to start. We fell in love with Adams knowledge, his good wit and readiness to help in every way. He made our trip informative and rich in so many ways. Whenever we think of the Big 5, Adam makes up the Big 6 (5 passengers + Adam). His driving was exceptional and from the beginning we felt so safe. The truck was a tad cold in the mornings but we adjusted and had fun in our ice box or oven - depending on time of day. However our cohesive group just joked and moved with the flow. Adam made this adventure the best tour we’ve ever had. A huge thank you to Kiboko team. Our cup runneth over in so many ways. The stories from this tour will run for years to come.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Robby! Thank you for the awesome review of your tour and your assistance from Minette! We do everything that we can to ensure we deliver the best service at African Overland Tours and are so proud of Minette and the awesome relationships that she forms with her travellers around the world. Kiboko runs epic tours and it's awesome to hear that they delivered again and again! Thank you for sharing such a detailed account of your tour, I know that future travellers will find this hugely useful. We're so excited to hear you enjoyed the incredible African wildlife, landscape, and culture during your African adventure and are so glad you felt safe at all times with Adam's excellent driving. It's wonderful for us to hear such positive feedback from tour groups, so thank you for taking the time to write this insightful review.
Posted 2 months ago
Muy bueno
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
We just booked a terrific adventure with African Overland Tours. Tammy was a great help in selecting and booking the trip. We were last on safari in East and Southern Africa fifteen years ago and have always wanted to return to the most fascinating continent there is. This time we are taking in Zimbabwe, the Okavango Delta in Botswana, and Namibia. The adventure is scheduled for September/October of 2024 and we can't wait.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Doug! You're going to have such an incredible time and well done on getting your booking in early so that you can spend the year looking forward to this awesome adventure. We are so happy to hear that you had great service from Tammy - thank you for your feedback.
Posted 5 months ago
Tammy from African Overland Tours was wonderful, and really helped me so much. She was always available to help me out, and promptly helped me when I had to change my tours because of the COVID situation. She managed to work her magic and helped me change my tour! I did the 7 days, Desert Explorer with Nomad. It was a really good tour, however I do recommend doing the longer tour, because 2 days was just driving.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you for your awesome feedback! Tammy and the team were so excited to hear that you had such a great time and that you were able to find a tour post Covid. I hope that you're able to come back soon and do another tour with us.
Posted 5 months ago
Tammy was very helpful in helping me book the tour and communicating important info that I needed for the tour.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Fantastic! Thank you so much for your lovely feedback :). We hope to see you again soon :)
Posted 5 months ago
ottimo Tour operator. consiglio a tutti di viaggiare con loro . Sono rapidi nel dare tutte le informazioni durante la prenotazione e poi il tour rispetta pienamente quanto viene scritto. Anche il prezzo è ottimo per il servizio che danno. io ho fatto il tour di 6 gg in Namibia, la guida, Gedeon davvero fantastico e preparatissimo!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I was really hesitating about booking an overland Tour in Africa. I was very scared about it to. So I wrote a message and I got nearly an immediate response. I felt very well supported. Ingrid was just great. She was very patient and gabe me very gut advises, so that I felt secure amd confirtable. She had even tm2 Videocalls, wich was very pleasent. I have been making many Tours am bookings but I have never been feeling so gut advised as with AOT. Imgrid you made the best job ever. I am now very enthusiastik about my tour and all my fears are gone!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I booked the 12 day North and South Namibia tour with Tammy’s help. What a wonderful trip and exactly what I was looking for - camping in beautiful locales, meeting other travellers, and experiencing the rugged terrain of southwest Africa. Thankyou to Tammy for making the booking process easy, and to Chameleon Tours for a well organized adventure in your stunning country!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I’d wanted to visit South Africa for years, and finally made it happen this May. I booked the tour through Tammy Silvestre of African Overland Tours, who was extremely helpful and arranged everything perfectly and in a timely manner. The tour I took was the South Africa 18 day accommodated tour from Johannesburg to Cape Town, run by Drifters; our guides (Sam and Steven) were terrific drivers, fun, and very knowledgeable, especially about all the game we saw on safari. I love South Africa … amazing animals, fabulous scenery, and kind, friendly people.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Carol! South Africa (and AOT) love you! You're amazing! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and your fellow travellers. We're so happy to hear that you had the most incredible time on tour with Sam and Steven - Drifters has such knowledgeable and experienced guides! In fact, Tammy used to be a Drifters guide too :). We can't wait to have you back to experience more of what's in store in Southern and East Africa, we know you're going to fall in love with the whole continent! :) Thank you Carol!! xxx
Posted 8 months ago
A safari to Africa is one of my dream. I've been in touch with Tammy many years ago thinking about an overland tour. Unfortunately I didn't make it on that time. I get in touch with her again this year and she was so patient and helpful answering all my questions, giving detailed informations and suggestions to choose the best tour. So thank to her help I've finally booked a tour this year. I am so excited to start it!!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
It's so exciting to hear that you're finally going to go on tour - yay!!! Tammy is a legend and has a wealth of knowledge and experience, we are so lucky to have her on our team! We can't wait to hear all about your experience on tour and if you'd like to earn some money while you travel, please get in contact with her and ask her for your affiliate link :). Happy happy travels, love from the whole team at African Overland Tours!
Posted 8 months ago
I am so excited about my trip. Reshma has been so helpful and attentive with invaluable information. I taught in Dar es Salaam many years ago and can't wait to return and enjoy this experience with African Overland Tours. Sandy
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi Sandy! We're so happy to hear that you had a great booking experience with Reshma and wow, how great that you got to spend time teaching in Dar es Salaam. We hope that it is all that you remembered and more! Please remember to ask Resh for your affiliate link if you'd like to earn some money while you travel :). Have an amazing time on tour and we look forward to hearing all about it.
Posted 8 months ago
So far I’ve only booked my tour. However, Minette was absolutely the right person for the type of tour we want. Her inside knowledge and experience of the area helped me decide the best trip for me. Also, she was extremely patient with me given that I’m a procrastinator and have difficulty making up my mind.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Yesterday I left an unfounded negative review . I am totally ashamed for doing so. Because I was depressed over the circumstances ,I blamed AfricaOverland for something they had no control over. Actually they have bent over backwards to help me. They are without a doubt the best travel team to deal with. As a result Jessica and Chemone have work at 110% to arrange for me and my Brother a new trip. If there was a six star this company more than deserves it. Being an travel agent myself I recommend African Overland Tours to all I know John L Walker
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi John The situation you were in was hugely stressful and must've been very frustrating. We are very appreciative of your kind words and I'm just really happy that we were able to find a solution for you. Now let's wait for the final outcome - hoping we're going to get the best for you! How awesome that you're going to be on tour for your birthday with your twin - so so so exciting!!! It is definitely going to be one that you'll never forget. Have fun at the Oscars and keep your light shining! :) Jess, Chims and the Team at AOT
Posted 11 months ago
couldnt go at the last minute because of a screwup of the Kenya visa ( not my fault) . Asked to apply payment to a tour starting a week later(same trip) , they refused so I'm out $5000 ! Be careful , everyone they dont do refunds ! They would have not been out a single dime . SAD They could have handled this more professionally. I'm a Travel Agent and would never treat a client this way. No referrals from me.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Brilliant support by Minette in booking our 55 day trip through Africa. We bombarded Minette with questions about so many aspects of the trip - visas, vaccinations, equipment etc. Throughout, she remained patient and answered questions with such positivity. There were various options available and with support from Minette we chose this trip. We travel in August, 2023 and we hope the adventure lives up to the booking process with African Overland Tours. I look forward to writing a review after the trip.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I do not know where to start! Its been a mind blowing trip from Cape Town to Windhoek. After leaving Africa 9 years ago i wanted to come back! I just did not want to go to Malawi where i lived for 18 years! Also had seen most of South Africa so it was interesting to take the route from Cape Town up the Northern Cape into Namibia! Those 2 weeks have been a roller coaster ride. With lots of adventures, experiences, friendly locals and funny tour guides! Saw so much that my mind has not processed it yet! Learned how to set up a tent and put it down (though i found it a challenge). I loved Citrusdaal, Fish river canyon,etisha safari , sesriem canyon, deadvlei, soussesvlei, dune 45 climb, swakopmund, namib nakluft, giants playground and quiver tree. There is so many positives i take from this. Mind my language but Namibia’s landscape is so f***ing beautiful, diverse and it takes my mind away. Its another side of Africa. The fact I saw a leopard at Etosha made my trip! It was an adventure! There are some negatives but I would rather talk about them to the owner in private.
African Overland Tours 5 star review on 23rd December 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mohammad, Thank you for this fantastic review about your experience with Minette and your time on tour in Namibia! While Minette was planning your trip for you she often chatted to the team about what and how she was organising everything and it made us so excited to see how far she was willing to go to ensure that you got what you needed on this tour... and this is what makes seeing your review even more special for all of us - we almost felt like we were going to be going along on tour with you! We hope that you will travel with us again soon and tell all your friends and family to come and see us too! What a great end to a fantastic journey! Thank you again Mohammad.
Posted 1 year ago
I did the 55 days from Cape Town to Uganda with Nomad. An extraordinary experience in all respects. Travelling by track is probably not for everyone, but for me it was the perfect means of transport. Unfortunately some sections were very long. Up to 14 hours in the truck is exhausting. The guides were a real asset, well trained and highly motivated. The cuisine was good and one is amazed at what is possible with the means they have at their disposal. The accommodation was consistently good to very good. Unfortunately, the condition of the trucks is no longer top notch. Windows were leaking and the seats were worn out. The campers complained about tent material that was defective and caused inconvenience. The route is fantastic, only from Vic Falls to Zanzibar is rather boring and with too long daily stages. The support from African Overland Tours up to the beginning of the trip by Tammy was just great! Unfortunately, during the tour information from Nomad, which the agencies received, was not passed on to me or only on request. Too bad, because the after sales service is just as important as selling the tour. In any case, an unforgettable experience with impressive scenery and wildlife that I would not want to miss. I can only heartily recommend it to everyone.
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Roger Thank you for being one of our most amazing travellers who was disrupted by the pandemic and spent the last three years on hold and planning your adventure with Tammy! She loved working with you over this time as well as while you were in Whatsapp communication with her on tour regarding the operator wanting to book a couple more people onto your tour (they sent this correspondence to her personal email account), and with updates on travelling in Uganda. We have passed your feedback on to the operator so that they can attend to the points that you have mentioned above - thank you so much for bringing them to our attention. Thank you for sharing your wonderful pictures too - they are spectacular! We hope to see you again on tour in the near future!
Posted 1 year ago
I booked a Southern Africa safari with Huntley in 2015. He made the whole process so easy that I have continued to book with him. That was an amazing experience. In 2018 I booked a safari to East Africa along with another 2 couples. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances I was unable to go on that safari but my 4 friends did and they thoroughly enjoyed. Then in 2020 I booked another safari with Huntley to East Africa. Due to covid that was cancelled. So I contacted Huntley again this year and have arranged another trip to East Africa for next year. Hopefully 3rd time lucky. I will get there. Huntley is always so patience and responds very quickly to my requests. I have recommended him to a number of my friends. Andrew I was very pleased to see that your company was p and running again. Best of luck.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Maureen We are so happy that you've stuck it out and that you're finally going to experience East Africa! It takes a very special person to hold onto a dream like that and it's amazing that we have made this happen together. We so appreciate that you have told all your friends about Huntley, we think he's pretty amazing too ;). Here's to loads more awesome African experiences, thank you for choosing us again and again and again. xx Andrew, Huntley and the AOT Team
Posted 1 year ago
African Overland Tours is rated 4.8 based on 249 reviews