African Overland Tours Reviews

4.8 Rating 232 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend African Overland Tours
4.8
Based on 232 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read African Overland Tours Reviews

About African Overland Tours:

We believe travelling the road in Africa changes you, Forever!
We want others to experience this.

Our team of passionate planners (ex guides and travellers) help you find the perfect trip for your adventure. The tours will leave you with unforgettable experiences that will stay with you for a lifetime.

We offer over 300 Budget Safari types, from Accommodated Tours, Camping Safaris, Small Group Safaris , Budget Tented and Lodge Safaris and longer African Overland Tours at the most competitive pricing with unbiased, honest help all backed up with financial protection guarantee.

Our local knowledge and experience is invaluable as we have travelled and guided extensively on the routes in Africa (not many people can say that).

Visit Website

Phone:

+27214480997

Write Your review

Tell us how African Overland Tours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
African Overland Tours 5 star review on 23rd December 2022
Mohammad
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Roger W
28
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I do not know where to start! Its been a mind blowing trip from Cape Town to Windhoek. After leaving Africa 9 years ago i wanted to come back! I just did not want to go to Malawi where i lived for 18 years! Also had seen most of South Africa so it was interesting to take the route from Cape Town up the Northern Cape into Namibia! Those 2 weeks have been a roller coaster ride. With lots of adventures, experiences, friendly locals and funny tour guides! Saw so much that my mind has not processed it yet! Learned how to set up a tent and put it down (though i found it a challenge). I loved Citrusdaal, Fish river canyon,etisha safari , sesriem canyon, deadvlei, soussesvlei, dune 45 climb, swakopmund, namib nakluft, giants playground and quiver tree. There is so many positives i take from this. Mind my language but Namibia’s landscape is so f***ing beautiful, diverse and it takes my mind away. Its another side of Africa. The fact I saw a leopard at Etosha made my trip! It was an adventure! There are some negatives but I would rather talk about them to the owner in private.
African Overland Tours 5 star review on 23rd December 2022
Helpful Report
Hi Mohammad, Thank you for this fantastic review about your experience with Minette and your time on tour in Namibia! While Minette was planning your trip for you she often chatted to the team about what and how she was organising everything and it made us so excited to see how far she was willing to go to ensure that you got what you needed on this tour... and this is what makes seeing your review even more special for all of us - we almost felt like we were going to be going along on tour with you! We hope that you will travel with us again soon and tell all your friends and family to come and see us too! What a great end to a fantastic journey! Thank you again Mohammad.
I did the 55 days from Cape Town to Uganda with Nomad. An extraordinary experience in all respects. Travelling by track is probably not for everyone, but for me it was the perfect means of transport. Unfortunately some sections were very long. Up to 14 hours in the truck is exhausting. The guides were a real asset, well trained and highly motivated. The cuisine was good and one is amazed at what is possible with the means they have at their disposal. The accommodation was consistently good to very good. Unfortunately, the condition of the trucks is no longer top notch. Windows were leaking and the seats were worn out. The campers complained about tent material that was defective and caused inconvenience. The route is fantastic, only from Vic Falls to Zanzibar is rather boring and with too long daily stages. The support from African Overland Tours up to the beginning of the trip by Tammy was just great! Unfortunately, during the tour information from Nomad, which the agencies received, was not passed on to me or only on request. Too bad, because the after sales service is just as important as selling the tour. In any case, an unforgettable experience with impressive scenery and wildlife that I would not want to miss. I can only heartily recommend it to everyone.
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022 African Overland Tours 4 star review on 21st December 2022
Helpful Report
Hi Roger Thank you for being one of our most amazing travellers who was disrupted by the pandemic and spent the last three years on hold and planning your adventure with Tammy! She loved working with you over this time as well as while you were in Whatsapp communication with her on tour regarding the operator wanting to book a couple more people onto your tour (they sent this correspondence to her personal email account), and with updates on travelling in Uganda. We have passed your feedback on to the operator so that they can attend to the points that you have mentioned above - thank you so much for bringing them to our attention. Thank you for sharing your wonderful pictures too - they are spectacular! We hope to see you again on tour in the near future!
I booked a Southern Africa safari with Huntley in 2015. He made the whole process so easy that I have continued to book with him. That was an amazing experience. In 2018 I booked a safari to East Africa along with another 2 couples. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances I was unable to go on that safari but my 4 friends did and they thoroughly enjoyed. Then in 2020 I booked another safari with Huntley to East Africa. Due to covid that was cancelled. So I contacted Huntley again this year and have arranged another trip to East Africa for next year. Hopefully 3rd time lucky. I will get there. Huntley is always so patience and responds very quickly to my requests. I have recommended him to a number of my friends. Andrew I was very pleased to see that your company was p and running again. Best of luck.
Helpful Report
Hi Maureen We are so happy that you've stuck it out and that you're finally going to experience East Africa! It takes a very special person to hold onto a dream like that and it's amazing that we have made this happen together. We so appreciate that you have told all your friends about Huntley, we think he's pretty amazing too ;). Here's to loads more awesome African experiences, thank you for choosing us again and again and again. xx Andrew, Huntley and the AOT Team
Once I made an enquiry, responses were swift and before I knew it I was booked in. Very easy process and hope the ongoing response will be similar. Cannot wait for my trip. Only 4 months to go
Helpful Report
Hi Lis Thank you for making a booking with Minette, we are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience with her and we can't wait for you to come and explore all the wonderful adventures that South Africa has in store for you! Four months and counting :)
The staff were very helpful and informative with lots of encouragement of the different options with no pressure to book until ready. Thanks
Helpful Report
Hi Dominic Thank you for the lovely review about your experience with Huntley! We can't wait to welcome you to our awesome home, South Africa! Thank you for choosing to travel with us :)
Booking was super easy and our consultant, Tammy, was most helpful. Thank=you for making the start of our holiday so pleasant.
Helpful Report
Hi Raewyn Yay! This is an awesome review! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell everyone about your experience with Tammy. We really appreciate it and are so very happy that you had a great booking experience.
Minette has been more than patient and helpful with my booking. Her responses have been quick and informative and her enthusiasm is making me feel that I made the right choice with the safari and the company I chose to help me make this dream vacation come to fruition. I can’t wait for April to arrive!
Helpful Report
Hi Sandra Thank you so much for trusting us with your most awesome adventure tour to Africa! We hope that you enjoy the next five months of dreaming about your experience that lies ahead! If there's anything you need in the interim, we're here for you every step of the way! Thank you for recognising the enthusiasm and the care that Minette puts into her work, she is such a super special and valued member of our team. xx All our Love, Andrew, Minette and the African Overland Tours Team.
Huntley is absolutely outstanding and was patient with my booking. What a patient professional! Flights leaving Canada to Cape Town have been an absolute nightmare to book for December. Twice the airline had to cancel my flights in less than 1 week driving up the flight costs. But Huntley was able to coordinate with me and we successfully got it all booked for January 2023. He got all my paperwork and itinerary done by the deadline to change my booking twice because of the airlines. Thank-you so much Huntley!!!! I am looking forward to seeing Africa! You have no idea as I have been looking at this trip for the last 16 months and then COVID happened again last December 2021! :)
Helpful Report
Hi Wendy The team has been following your incredible journey securing flights and we've all been hoping that you'd still be able to make it regardless of the cancellations and the prices. Thank you for persevering because we can't wait to hear all about your experience here in Africa! We have no doubt that it is going to be absolutely epic! Thank you for recognising Huntley's professionalism and patience, he is a total gem and we are so lucky to have him on our team. Thanks again Wendy, see you soon!! xx
What an amazing worthwhile experience! Recently completed a 12 day Desert and Delta with Nomads. Great reservation agent- Reshma thankyou. Professional friendly ground crew (Calisto, Jo Jo and Godfrey - wonderful people) amazing game drives. Good value, life changing, and fell in love with Africa. The tour exceeded my expectations, and I have no hesitations recommending Nomads and will definitely book another of their tours.
African Overland Tours 5 star review on 7th October 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 7th October 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 7th October 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 7th October 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 7th October 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 7th October 2022
Helpful Report
Hi Daniel Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for taking the time to get online and share your pictures and your experience with African Overland Tours and Nomad. We really appreciate this as it gives us an opportunity to recognise our awesome staff, our super cool operators, the guides and it means that future travellers have a great idea of what to expect when booking with us. We so look forward to having you on tour with us again soon! Thanks again Daniel, let's cheers to that beautiful African sunset in your photo - it looks incredible!!
To help a customer's nicely and respect the customer's.
Helpful Report
Very good organised tour: the crew stick to the plan. Crew gave us much content about what we saw and what we did. Crew coocked very wel. Crew was respectfull. Crew was amazing anyway.
Helpful Report
Hi Stijn, We're so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time on tour in Mozambique and Kruger! Thank you for taking the time to review your tour and to pass on such awesome feedback about your guides. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to the guides. Have a wonderful time back home and start dreaming of your next trip to Africa!
African overland booked my tour with Nomad tours. African overland team gave good customer service and Chemone went above and beyond to communicate with me on California time, while she was in South Africa! Nomad tours was not so good so see my review on them at trip advisor.
Helpful Report
Thank you for put me in happy thank you again may God protein you all In the organization
Helpful Report
I recently returned from the East Africa Migration tour and it was an absolutely amazing experience. It was beyond anything I had imagined. The booking process was quite easy and Chemone was wonderful in answering my million questions about the trip and putting me at ease as it was my first time doing an African safari. The guides in Kenya (Francis) and Tanzania (Elisha) were both amazing. They are both excellent drivers and all of us felt very safe and assured on the very bumpy roads. Elisha was also very organized and efficient in getting us going as quickly as possible on the game drives every day. Overall, it was fantastic and smooth experience and can't wait to explore more African countries in the future.
African Overland Tours 5 star review on 24th August 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 24th August 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 24th August 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 24th August 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 24th August 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 24th August 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 24th August 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 24th August 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 24th August 2022 African Overland Tours 5 star review on 24th August 2022
Helpful Report
Oh my gosh that is truly amazing to hear! Your photo's were incredible. We are over the moon you had an amazing experience and can't wait to help. Thank you Thank you Thank you! Andrew Founder of AOT
Amazing customer service from Tammy who has been through the covid journey with me after my original tour was postponed back in April 2020. Have finally rebooked for next month and am soo excited. Cant thank tammy enough for her quick responses to all my questions along the way and fab tips!
African Overland Tours 5 star review on 13th July 2022
Helpful Report
Hi Avi Thank you for being brave and flexible throughout the Covid period and thank you for being a post-Covid pioneer traveler! We are so excited to have our travellers back on the road and experiencing Africa again, you're going to have a phenomenal time and we so look forward to hearing all about it. I've attached a picture of our awesome adventure Tammy who knows these tours inside out as she used to guide them. Thank you for sending kudos her and our way, it is hugely appreciated. Warmest Regards, Andrew, Tammy, Jess and The African Overland Tours Team.
pleasant operator consultant
Helpful Report
I was booking my trip through Minette who is an incredible travel agent, they went above and beyond my expectations. They replied to messages straight away, gave all the information i needed and passionate about my trip. I felt very safe in what i was booking and couldn't wish for a better agent.
Helpful Report
Hi Kristi, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! It really makes us smile to know that we're offering a service that goes beyond expectations. It's also so awesome that you mentioned Minette as she is our newest team member and is already living and breathing everything overland! Thanks again Kristi, Warmest regards from Andrew and the African Overland Team
I was one of the first travelers to South Africa after the Covid Crisis began in April 2022. Tamlyn found me a tour that was running and fitted my interests. Glad things are back to normal in the country. It was an amazing experience being there!
African Overland Tours 5 star review on 25th May 2022
Helpful Report
Wow David, what a beautiful photo! Thanks so much for the review and trusting us to help plan your trip to South Africa (especially as you were one of the first post covid travellers). We deeply appreciate you :) Massive Thanks Andrew (Founder of AOT)
A great value price wise and company makes a serious effort to provide great communication and customer service. Sometimes tour operators that are booked by African Overland such as Nomad tours will have glitches which cannot be predicted. Accommodated tours may be subpar. We were grateful to receive a small refund resulting from this. Thank you.
African Overland Tours 4 star review on 6th April 2020
Helpful Report
Huntley was very helpful with finding us a tour which fit our other travel plans. He responded quickly to questions and gave me additional information regarding pre- and post- tour accommodations and things to do in Cape Town. I would definitely recommend using African Overland Tours.
Helpful Report
Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful! I'm so pleased you had a great experience. Thanks so much, Karen for kindest words and recommendation. Kind regards Andrew (Founder of AOT)
African Overland Tours is rated 4.8 based on 232 reviews