Ambrose Wilson Reviews

1.8 Rating 52 Reviews
21 %
of reviewers recommend Ambrose Wilson
1.8
Based on 52 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Read Ambrose Wilson Reviews

About Ambrose Wilson:

Ambrose Wilson specializes in ladies clothing, footwear & lingerie, your alternative to the high street. Get great value underwear in back sizes 36-56 and cups A-L and plus size clothing in sizes 12-34. Expert fashion advice and clothing for all occasions, you are sure to find what you need.

Phone:

0871 231 2000

Location:

Griffin House, 40 Lever Street,
Manchester
M60 6ES

Write Your review

Tell us how Ambrose Wilson made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Ordered a raincoat yesterday morning, paid the next day delivery, and received an email today that there is a delay with Hermes of 24 hours. We are going to an outdoor event tomorrow and paid for next day as forecast is for heavy rain, called AW, explained to woman on other end and she offered to refund my next day delivery charge straight away (seems to be a regular occupancy??), I asked if they could call Hermes and see if it was with the courier as we could possibly collect (surely they have a contact number for their delivery company??), held for a few mins and then just came back and asked for neighbours address and name to get it delivered too, no mention that she couldn't call Hermes, there is nothing she can do etc. Won't be ordering from AW again - Anne
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
First time shopping with Ambrose Wilson, bought 5 items costing over £100. Paid extra for express next day delivery. After not receiving the clothes and seeing my Hermes tracker that the goods haven’t even reached the courier I called Ambrose Wilson. I needed the items before a weekend away and allowed 4 days despite paying for next day. I’ve been refused a refund despite not getting the items, and they ‘think’ they’re damaged in transit but they can’t refund until the goods come back from the courier who’s system says they’ve not received them in the first place! Total scam and would warn anyone to think before placing an order and suggest trying a reputable company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was looking up fleeces on your website and I found two I liked I added them to the basket then tried to checkout as a guest but your website insisted that I sign up for a credit account I did this just so I could buy the items I am not very impressed with your company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Disgusting customer service.Ordered an oven 14th Dec email to say del on 16th never arrived.Rang given a new date 23rd Dec.Wired in 24th Dec timer didn't work.I have been trying ever since to get it returned. Online chat +++,emails++++,letter enclosing photos of all chats,plus at least 5 phone calls.Each time told something dif.From it will be coll & a new one sent(17th Jan -never arr)to it's my responsibility to contact supplier to get it fixed-errr no don't think so when it arrived broken.Another call stating will be collected(nothing happened)To being told by case manager I gave to ring Hoover candy to get a ref num so they can issue return.Rang them very rude man at Hoover candy no that isnt what happens he said.Back to A.W the latest 3 days ago a return has been raised .Well that remains to be seen.Looks like trading standards here I come. Have been a loyal customer for 20 years disgusting company wouldn't ever order again from them
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
totaly disgusted with this company my wife ordered a laptop 12 october paid card told would be delivered 5 nov called to confirm on fith told on its out of stock would now be the sixteenth called today oh we cancelled your order on the twelth because we are out of stock no notification of this customer relations disgusting during long call about refunding money one idiot said pick a similar model he would bring it to her himself to avold any delay asked where he would be coming from he said cape town beyond belief
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Will not credit money back into account even tho they could see that my delivery had been lost, will not help at all. Their procedure is to fill out a form for for the lost item even tho the process will take longer. Such a appalling customer service and especially during this worrying time with this pandemic 😷 ☹️
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I was trying to buy several items and each time I tried to pay I was pushed to take out a credit account, which I DIDN'T WANT. Why do some companies do this? All I wanted to do was to pay and go - but it wouldn't let me! UTTER NONSENSE.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
These are a dreadful company that prey on the poor. Their practices are unscrupulous and they do not carry out credit checks prior to issuing credit accounts. After multiple credit increases that I never used, I found myself needing a new appliance costing around £300. As soon as I took advantage of the credit increase they increased my rate of interest to an exorbitant amount claiming that there had been an increase in risk. If a customer is considered a risk, why repeatedly increase credit limits? So they can get as much money out of you as possible as they can increase your rate of interest with every increase in your balance and claim that an 'increase of risk' forces them to put your account from 30 odd percent to almost 60 %! They are nothing but glorified thieves who engage in practices that see you paying way more than you can realistically afford when they up your interest rate to ridiculous levels. And don't expect to be treated appropriately when you make complaints - staff haven't a clue what they are doing and when you threaten legal action and insist they provide all of your details under GDPR, they ignore you because they know they are acting illegally and don't want you to have the evidence that proves it. Stay well away from this company. It is better to go without than have to deal with a law breaking company that preys on and exploits the poor!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Made an order which they refused and cancelled my credit. After 5 weeks e-mailing them they reinstated and told me to re-order which I did-they cancelled whole account! Cannot access even to make a payment. No answer as yet to my e-mails. I REFUSE to telephone, too expensive and THEIR error. All this btw is after 10 years as a customer! Not impressed
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Shocking company given credit monthly credit increases paid more than monthly payment every month and always before due date checked my account yesterday credit limit back to nil avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The website failed at point of payment - it continuely tried to make us set up a credit account. It would not let us just opt out and just pay. We both work with on-line companies so are used to point of sale payment, but found this to be one of the most annoying websites we've ever used, needless to say we've purchased what we needed elsewhere. Ambrose Wilson - should imagine most of your customers are elderly - sort your website out!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Ambrose wilson gave me a 125 credit limit which I ordered and recieved SOME of the goods on, I made a payment, they refunded the thing that went missing and then THEY TOOK THE CREDIT LIMIT AWAY. WHY. THEY STILL HAVENT EXPLAINED. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE AND GO TO A RELIABLE CATALOGUE. THATS MY OPINION.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered flat boots and received stiletto shoes. No offer to send the correct item and still waiting for my refund and for them to collect this unordered goods.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I am really happy with all my clothes really good quality. And also good delivery and refunds.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Tried to place my first order , a pair of Lotus shoes. Code 25NOW .would not work I e mailed customer service. They initially tried to “wriggle “out of the discount but finally agreed the problem. Only arrangement offered was for me to buy shoes at full price , e mail customer service again on dispatch and sit back to wait for refund on my card!!! Not worth the hassle, Dreadful service , the discount code is obviously a con.Do not use this company, I certainly won’t!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I returned goods via royal mail special delivery (tracked and signed for) it arrived with he company 4 days ago. However they are claiming it hasn't arrived!. The address label on the parcel was a pre printed one they supplied. I paid for the postage (glad I did). Its showing on Royal mail that it has been delivered and signed for at their address in Gateshead. Their customer care team is treating me like an idiot. Why would I believe that in 2019 that a system only updates after 7 days. Are they using systems from the 60's 70's or 80's? Additionally apparently they cant see it has been returned on my account. Glad I have the Royal mail confirmation that they have safely delivered it. Raised a complaint...and have heard a big fat nothing.....shows they do not care. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Ordered a pair of shoes paid on my debit card, received one mans dapper jacket, rang to tell them said they were going collect and refund delivery charges on first order & had to reorder shoes said I would not pay delivery on that either as it was their fault but they've taken double delivery charges on my second order then to cap it off wrong delivery address on second order. As said in other reviews first time customer will not be ordering from this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
As a man I find the new advert totally ridiculous .It states sizes 12 to 32 ??not one of the models looks more that size 10 and certainly not more than a 12 surely you should e showing larger models as that would appear to be your target market . Just be more honest and show some real people Mike
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Got account with them, paid on time, monthly credit increases until today when they dropped my credit limit back to £125 without informing me. Absolutely fuming, no letters, phone calls. Disgusting way to treat a loyal Customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I had the same thing happen as the last post. Got credit account and paid the difference on my credit card for some dresses for a wedding.Credit dept called as I have a password to get credit all was ok, then a letter asking for £40.00 as they had cancelled two dresses untill I pay the money. Called customer service and they said the credit wasn't £150 as told and couldn't do anything. They was getting the manager to call me after they came from a meeting at 4pm yesterday. STILL WAITING!!! the worst customer service I have had in a very long time!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Ambrose Wilson is rated 1.8 based on 52 reviews