Ambrose Wilson Reviews

1.8 Rating 53 Reviews
21 %
of reviewers recommend Ambrose Wilson
1.8
Based on 53 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Read Ambrose Wilson Reviews

About Ambrose Wilson:

Ambrose Wilson specializes in ladies clothing, footwear & lingerie, your alternative to the high street. Get great value underwear in back sizes 36-56 and cups A-L and plus size clothing in sizes 12-34. Expert fashion advice and clothing for all occasions, you are sure to find what you need.

Phone:

0871 231 2000

Location:

Griffin House, 40 Lever Street,
Manchester
M60 6ES

Write Your review

Tell us how Ambrose Wilson made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Accounts still showing in debit even though you have received items my 80 year mom is worried sick as she already terminally ill you had numerous phone calls and been told items returned. I will be taking legal action if you don't sort
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Started a chat about a delivery which I have been waiting for 5 weeks. No explanation why. Keep cutting me off and putting in queue no.9. 40 minutes and still waiting.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Am new customer with Ambrose Wison. Aug 2022 My Mother shopped with them for years & loved them. Shocked to find I'm having issues with them. No problems with ordering or delivery just the statements & accounting end of things! My first item bought in the sale £18.20 continues to show up on the statement at the full price £26.00. Despite an email to confirm the correct sale price. Second item £30.00 was returned as faulty. Unfortunately I paid them £56.00 to cover both items before I discovered their error on the statement & the fault in the goods. You can only contact them via the online forms on their website so you won't have a record of what you've contacted them about. Screen shot any emails you send & keep them on your desktop. You'll need to be on your toes & have your wits about you. Feel sorry for anyone elderly on their own dealing with them. My statement reads -£30.00 when it should be -£67.80. Putting me off having anything more to do with them. Have been fobbed off with 1 email so far, have sent reply. Await response.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Having decided to totally withdraw their printed catalogues my elderly mother is now unable to shop with them. Their poor decision has surely cut a large number of housebound, IT challenged, elderly customers from their business. I understand that costs and environmental concerns exist but surely there are exceptional circumstances to consider. My mother has had yet another means of access to the outside world removed!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
still on going problems with them loosing every payment ever made to them , after 4 payments and having to provide proof off every one by copy and paste they now want photographic evidence on the 5 th lost payment , the most ridiculous situation iv ever come across and after reading some of these reviews im not the only one , my patience is now done with , i wouldn't recommend them , especially when other retailers offer the same service and actually far cheaper with out the hassle of chasing every payment made to them , dealing ith eels is far less slippery
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Refund not issued .10days late Disgraceful Dr Yohini Ariyanayagam
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Absolutely disgraceful. Still waiting on my refund which is well over the 5 working days as stated, it is infact now 8 working days more if you include weekends. When in contact with them they said I would need proof of non payment which I said I have. They said someone would be in touch with me about this, no one did. Today I contacted them and they said all refunds had not been put through as of system fault, that this had been fixed and I would have to wait further! This is unacceptable and disgraceful. I will not shop with them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
They have ripped off my 80 year old mother,do not use this company, the interest charges are huge.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Think they're trying to scam people into paying again, phoned my 78 year old mother telling her that the payment she made at bank on the 15/04 isn't on system so treating her as if she's not paid. Woman on phone wouldn't listen, despite us reading the slip when it was paid, how much was paid. Accounts numbers matching where at first they suggested it wasn't the right account. Seems like it's happened to others as well. Not getting another payment until statement comes in, either they're lying about not receiving payment or banks aren't sending them. If the latter is the case, they can take it up with the bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Extremely high credit charges and terrible customer service. I was charged for a laptop that was sent to my local shop and went missing. Months later and still not sorted. Avoid this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I keep getting emails to use a code ie FAB25 both in April to find it’s expired when I ring up oh yes this expired on the 31st March well why do you send it I don’t know but can you honner it then this is twice it’s happened yes we can they say but you need to buy it now then ring us back and we will take discount off don’t think so it’s bad enough now ringing I should not have to do this it’s terrible and they seem so rude when they talk to you like it’s your fault absolutely terrible
Ambrose Wilson 1 star review on 11th April 2022 Ambrose Wilson 1 star review on 11th April 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Dreadful company, do not use. They sent me a rubbish, broken coat and then failed to refund the postage element of my payment when it was returned. I could understand this if I'd changed my mind or didn't like the style, but the coat wasn't fit for purpose. Customer services didn't reply to my mail about this and, despite very clearly opting out of marketing, they continue to send me post.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
customer service are rude unhelpful and arrogant , 2 payments made both lost , not shown on account then charged late payment fee , spoke to a SA man whom insisted i pay by phone so its my fault they pay the money into correct accounts ! when i state i prefer to pay by these means he snears at me then hangs up
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Paid cash not credit, returned goods but l did not receive correct refund, you send them an email with all the info, they will send you back an email asking what your query is and what your account details are lol, when YOU ALREADY GAVE THEM THAT INFO .
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Ordered twice from them and both times had no problem. Kept first items. Apair of boots that did not cost a lot but looked like they did. The second parcel was 2 pairs of slim leggings. The blue ones fit in body but too short and black pair too big and too short. Both size 12. Sending back. Lovely customer service young lady made arrangements to be collected from me as im disabled. Only down side to Company is having to have an account. Most Companies do Guest checkout option. Therefore 4 stars. You dont have to use credit. So does it matter. All websites want email address and password and your address. Oy the same. I pay for my goods.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Don’t buy anything ever from this company. This company preys on vulnerable people who are unable to comprehend what 69.9% apr means. When called to account they try to confuse the caller with lies and intimidation. This company disgusts me.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Something dreadful has happened at Ambrose Wilson, the website continually refuses to accept my pass word or states that the passwords don ‘t match, after 10 years of trouble free shopping there is now chaos, you are no longer able to speak with anyone in the uk, so called customer services are now the other side of the world, they lie to you, refuse to connect you to a supervisor and refuse to connect you with anyone in the UK. I have had to change my password 6 times and still can’t get any further, hours of wasted time. They actually don’t want you to order on line they want you to order through them. Do not trust these people. Why on earth we can no longer talk to the customer services in Manchester who always understood what you needed and any problems were sorted out promptly, it is now utter chaos, all they say continually is that they are having problems with the website, this has been going on for 6 months. Ambrose Wilson if you read this bring it back to the way it was before or loose customers through the frustration of it all
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
After 20 trouble free years with this company I have now given up this catalogue. Why? For the first time ever I was charged a credit charge, and despite querying it they showed no appreciation of a loyal customer, instead they replied with a curt letter refusing to refund me and saying that was the end of the matter. When I work the calculations back myself I calculate that I was charged interest on a balance way in excess of the outstanding amount at the prior statement, and given that I paid in full for what I had kept, and returned everything else, I don't feel I should have been charged at all. No explanation given of how the amount was calculated, they just told me to 'off'. Do yourselves a favour, use a different catalogue.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered item from company which arrived fine then could not log into account and details had been changed called customer services who did not understand issue but reported complaint received debt chasing letter and letter saying complaint was being dealt with on the same day called again but could not pass security to pay and have constantly been chased over debt and advised I was a victim of fraud but nothing has been done I can't log into computer and I can't pay them and was told to contact ombudsman but ombudsman have said same thing.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Been a loyal customer for 2 years, always paid on or well before money was due and often paid more than was asked. I got email from them saying I hadn't paid, it came out of my bank, so I did pay as impossible to communicate with them. Credit was dropped to zero. Still waiting on an explanation!!! Decided they are not type of company I wish to spend my money with... will be going back to high street shopping again..... would not recommend this catalogue.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ambrose Wilson is rated 1.8 based on 53 reviews