Ambrose Wilson Reviews

1.7 Rating 60 Reviews
18 %
of reviewers recommend Ambrose Wilson
1.7
Based on 60 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Read Ambrose Wilson Reviews

About Ambrose Wilson:

Ambrose Wilson specializes in ladies clothing, footwear & lingerie, your alternative to the high street. Get great value underwear in back sizes 36-56 and cups A-L and plus size clothing in sizes 12-34. Expert fashion advice and clothing for all occasions, you are sure to find what you need.

Phone:

0871 231 2000

Location:

Griffin House, 40 Lever Street,
Manchester
M60 6ES

Write Your review

Tell us how Ambrose Wilson made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
What had happened to their Customer service I wonder. Several attempts and I couldn't log into my account with, have been shopping with them for quite some time, rubbish response on web chat chat and so sent an email and got a response that wasn't supportive. I rang and spoke to Customer Service in South Africa. Really. And delaybin response time to my questions. What's happening to Ambrose Wilson
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
This company's interests rates are astronomical - the APR is working out at nearly 70%. Making money from people who are struggling at the best of times. To make matters worse, they charge premium rates to call them and want things to be done online. They are playing on the vulnerable. Avoid at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I bought an air fryer, and one of the drawers broke a few months later. As they didn't have a replacement drawer, and couldn't get one, I was asked to return the product for a full refund. I was told I would receive the refund within 10 days of them receiving the product back. After many messages on messenger, and my case being escalated, I was told (14 days later) that my refund would be issued that day, and would be in my bank within 24 hours. It wasn't. After a phone call to the complaints dept, I was told that the refund was issued, but won't be with me for 3 - 5 days. It didn't take 3 - 5 days for them to take my payment for the product!! Will never order from them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Ambrose Wilson have become very greedy. The interest rate is astronomical and calls are charged at 13pence per minute and account payments must be made every 28 days instead of monthly. The clothes are also of poor quality and customer service is appalling.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Only left 1 star because I had to. Before we ordered a fridge, we specified our delivery requirements in detail. We was told it will be fine, so we ordered our fridge. Arrow Xl sent 2 elderly men and informed one of them said they could not lift the fridge. He then said the item was not on the lorry. We saw it on the lorry and told them. He then said it would not fit through double doors. They then refused to deliver it. So we are now left without a fridge, we have two mentally disabled children. Absolute disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ambrose Wilson are aware that their delivery contractors are woefully behind, and our order, placed on 2 Dec 2022, still hasn't arrived. Yet they have sent out an invoice demanding payment. Unfortunately, their web site doesn't seem to have an "My parcel hasn't been delivered." option.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
can i leave less than one star ,, still having problems with them , no replies to emails although im now receiving late payment notifications through the post , also to add insult they are sending notifications regarding problems paying your account , the only problem i have is every payment iv made to you so, far and that`s now 6 you have lost until i send you photographic evidence then you find it :) im afraid you are a total joke , i will pay off this account and then see what you do ,
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Accounts still showing in debit even though you have received items my 80 year mom is worried sick as she already terminally ill you had numerous phone calls and been told items returned. I will be taking legal action if you don't sort
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Started a chat about a delivery which I have been waiting for 5 weeks. No explanation why. Keep cutting me off and putting in queue no.9. 40 minutes and still waiting.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Am new customer with Ambrose Wison. Aug 2022 My Mother shopped with them for years & loved them. Shocked to find I'm having issues with them. No problems with ordering or delivery just the statements & accounting end of things! My first item bought in the sale £18.20 continues to show up on the statement at the full price £26.00. Despite an email to confirm the correct sale price. Second item £30.00 was returned as faulty. Unfortunately I paid them £56.00 to cover both items before I discovered their error on the statement & the fault in the goods. You can only contact them via the online forms on their website so you won't have a record of what you've contacted them about. Screen shot any emails you send & keep them on your desktop. You'll need to be on your toes & have your wits about you. Feel sorry for anyone elderly on their own dealing with them. My statement reads -£30.00 when it should be -£67.80. Putting me off having anything more to do with them. Have been fobbed off with 1 email so far, have sent reply. Await response.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Having decided to totally withdraw their printed catalogues my elderly mother is now unable to shop with them. Their poor decision has surely cut a large number of housebound, IT challenged, elderly customers from their business. I understand that costs and environmental concerns exist but surely there are exceptional circumstances to consider. My mother has had yet another means of access to the outside world removed!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
still on going problems with them loosing every payment ever made to them , after 4 payments and having to provide proof off every one by copy and paste they now want photographic evidence on the 5 th lost payment , the most ridiculous situation iv ever come across and after reading some of these reviews im not the only one , my patience is now done with , i wouldn't recommend them , especially when other retailers offer the same service and actually far cheaper with out the hassle of chasing every payment made to them , dealing ith eels is far less slippery
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Refund not issued .10days late Disgraceful Dr Yohini Ariyanayagam
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely disgraceful. Still waiting on my refund which is well over the 5 working days as stated, it is infact now 8 working days more if you include weekends. When in contact with them they said I would need proof of non payment which I said I have. They said someone would be in touch with me about this, no one did. Today I contacted them and they said all refunds had not been put through as of system fault, that this had been fixed and I would have to wait further! This is unacceptable and disgraceful. I will not shop with them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They have ripped off my 80 year old mother,do not use this company, the interest charges are huge.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Think they're trying to scam people into paying again, phoned my 78 year old mother telling her that the payment she made at bank on the 15/04 isn't on system so treating her as if she's not paid. Woman on phone wouldn't listen, despite us reading the slip when it was paid, how much was paid. Accounts numbers matching where at first they suggested it wasn't the right account. Seems like it's happened to others as well. Not getting another payment until statement comes in, either they're lying about not receiving payment or banks aren't sending them. If the latter is the case, they can take it up with the bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Extremely high credit charges and terrible customer service. I was charged for a laptop that was sent to my local shop and went missing. Months later and still not sorted. Avoid this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I keep getting emails to use a code ie FAB25 both in April to find it’s expired when I ring up oh yes this expired on the 31st March well why do you send it I don’t know but can you honner it then this is twice it’s happened yes we can they say but you need to buy it now then ring us back and we will take discount off don’t think so it’s bad enough now ringing I should not have to do this it’s terrible and they seem so rude when they talk to you like it’s your fault absolutely terrible
Ambrose Wilson 1 star review on 11th April 2022 Ambrose Wilson 1 star review on 11th April 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dreadful company, do not use. They sent me a rubbish, broken coat and then failed to refund the postage element of my payment when it was returned. I could understand this if I'd changed my mind or didn't like the style, but the coat wasn't fit for purpose. Customer services didn't reply to my mail about this and, despite very clearly opting out of marketing, they continue to send me post.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
customer service are rude unhelpful and arrogant , 2 payments made both lost , not shown on account then charged late payment fee , spoke to a SA man whom insisted i pay by phone so its my fault they pay the money into correct accounts ! when i state i prefer to pay by these means he snears at me then hangs up
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ambrose Wilson is rated 1.7 based on 60 reviews