Ambrose Wilson Reviews

2.36 Rating 28 Reviews
36 %
of reviewers recommend Ambrose Wilson
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Read Ambrose Wilson Reviews

About Ambrose Wilson:

Ambrose Wilson specializes in ladies clothing, footwear & lingerie, your alternative to the high street. Get great value underwear in back sizes 36-56 and cups A-L and plus size clothing in sizes 12-34. Expert fashion advice and clothing for all occasions, you are sure to find what you need.

Phone:

0871 231 2000

Location:

Griffin House, 40 Lever Street,

Write Your review

Tell us how Ambrose Wilson made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
totaly disgusted with this company my wife ordered a laptop 12 october paid card told would be delivered 5 nov called to confirm on fith told on its out of stock would now be the sixteenth called today oh we cancelled your order on the twelth because we are out of stock no notification of this customer relations disgusting during long call about refunding money one idiot said pick a similar model he would bring it to her himself to avold any delay asked where he would be coming from he said cape town beyond belief
Posted 2 weeks ago
Will not credit money back into account even tho they could see that my delivery had been lost, will not help at all. Their procedure is to fill out a form for for the lost item even tho the process will take longer. Such a appalling customer service and especially during this worrying time with this pandemic 😷 ☹️
Posted 2 weeks ago
I was trying to buy several items and each time I tried to pay I was pushed to take out a credit account, which I DIDN'T WANT.
Why do some companies do this? All I wanted to do was to pay and go - but it wouldn't let me! UTTER NONSENSE.
Posted 3 months ago
These are a dreadful company that prey on the poor. Their practices are unscrupulous and they do not carry out credit checks prior to issuing credit accounts. After multiple credit increases that I never used, I found myself needing a new appliance costing around £300. As soon as I took advantage of the credit increase they increased my rate of interest to an exorbitant amount claiming that there had been an increase in risk. If a customer is considered a risk, why repeatedly increase credit limits? So they can get as much money out of you as possible as they can increase your rate of interest with every increase in your balance and claim that an 'increase of risk' forces them to put your account from 30 odd percent to almost 60 %! They are nothing but glorified thieves who engage in practices that see you paying way more than you can realistically afford when they up your interest rate to ridiculous levels. And don't expect to be treated appropriately when you make complaints - staff haven't a clue what they are doing and when you threaten legal action and insist they provide all of your details under GDPR, they ignore you because they know they are acting illegally and don't want you to have the evidence that proves it. Stay well away from this company. It is better to go without than have to deal with a law breaking company that preys on and exploits the poor!
Posted 5 months ago
Made an order which they refused and cancelled my credit. After 5 weeks e-mailing them they reinstated and told me to re-order which I did-they cancelled whole account! Cannot access even to make a payment. No answer as yet to my e-mails. I REFUSE to telephone, too expensive and THEIR error. All this btw is after 10 years as a customer! Not impressed
Posted 5 months ago
Shocking company given credit monthly credit increases paid more than monthly payment every month and always before due date checked my account yesterday credit limit back to nil avoid
Posted 6 months ago
The website failed at point of payment - it continuely tried to make us set up a credit account. It would not let us just opt out and just pay. We both work with on-line companies so are used to point of sale payment, but found this to be one of the most annoying websites we've ever used, needless to say we've purchased what we needed elsewhere. Ambrose Wilson - should imagine most of your customers are elderly - sort your website out!
Posted 6 months ago
Ambrose wilson gave me a 125 credit limit which I ordered and recieved SOME of the goods on, I made a payment, they refunded the thing that went missing and then THEY TOOK THE CREDIT LIMIT AWAY. WHY. THEY STILL HAVENT EXPLAINED. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE AND GO TO A RELIABLE CATALOGUE. THATS MY OPINION.
Posted 10 months ago
Ordered flat boots and received stiletto shoes. No offer to send the correct item and still waiting for my refund and for them to collect this unordered goods.
Posted 11 months ago
I am really happy with all my clothes really good quality. And also good delivery and refunds.
Posted 11 months ago
Tried to place my first order , a pair of Lotus shoes. Code 25NOW .would not work I e mailed customer service.
They initially tried to “wriggle “out of the discount but finally agreed the problem. Only arrangement offered was for me to buy shoes at full price , e mail customer service again on dispatch and sit back to wait for refund on my card!!! Not worth the hassle,
Dreadful service , the discount code is obviously a con.Do not use this company, I certainly won’t!
Posted 1 year ago
I returned goods via royal mail special delivery (tracked and signed for) it arrived with he company 4 days ago. However they are claiming it hasn't arrived!. The address label on the parcel was a pre printed one they supplied. I paid for the postage (glad I did). Its showing on Royal mail that it has been delivered and signed for at their address in Gateshead.

Their customer care team is treating me like an idiot. Why would I believe that in 2019 that a system only updates after 7 days. Are they using systems from the 60's 70's or 80's? Additionally apparently they cant see it has been returned on my account. Glad I have the Royal mail confirmation that they have safely delivered it.

Raised a complaint...and have heard a big fat nothing.....shows they do not care.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered a pair of shoes paid on my debit card, received one mans dapper jacket, rang to tell them said they were going collect and refund delivery charges on first order & had to reorder shoes said I would not pay delivery on that either as it was their fault but they've taken double delivery charges on my second order then to cap it off wrong delivery address on second order. As said in other reviews first time customer will not be ordering from this company again.
Posted 1 year ago
As a man I find the new advert totally ridiculous .It states sizes 12 to 32 ??not one of the models looks more that size 10 and certainly not more than a 12 surely you should e showing larger models as that would appear to be your target market . Just be more honest and show some real people Mike
Posted 1 year ago
Got account with them, paid on time, monthly credit increases until today when they dropped my credit limit back to £125 without informing me. Absolutely fuming, no letters, phone calls. Disgusting way to treat a loyal
Customer.
Posted 1 year ago
I had the same thing happen as the last post. Got credit account and paid the difference on my credit card for some dresses for a wedding.Credit dept called as I have a password to get credit all was ok, then a letter asking for £40.00 as they had cancelled two dresses untill I pay the money. Called customer service and they said the credit wasn't £150 as told and couldn't do anything. They was getting the manager to call me after they came from a meeting at 4pm yesterday. STILL WAITING!!! the worst customer service I have had in a very long time!
Posted 1 year ago
Absolute idiots I applied got accepted gave me a credit limit or £150 spent it on my children received a confirmation email of the items I’d ordered to go back on to the website to check status of order to see it said cancelled on all the items rang them up today to be told something must of came back on my credit file I have another catalogue with jd williams linked to it and my credit score is £1500 I pay fine and never miss a by payments very misleading and I don’t think it should be passed full stop if this is the case not given half way get people’s hopes up than stripped of it #NotHappy🤬
Posted 2 years ago
Fantastic service from start to finish. I was well informed regarding expected delivery dates.

So far all of my orders have been of fantastic quality and great value for money.

Their online ordering system is faultless. Highly recommend this company!
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered goods and sent payment with order cheque promptly cashed then e mail saying goods no longer available. asked for refund no reply. was sent another catalogue ordered another item which was again cancelled not available. still no contact with them. sent further e mail awaiting not with bated breath for reply.
VERY DISAPPOINTED AND DISALUDED NEW CUSTOMER WILL NOT BE ORDERING ANYTHING ELSE. DEAL WITH THEM AT YOUR PERIL.
Posted 2 years ago
Am very happy with my clothes and that and I use you them all the time x
Posted 2 years ago
Ambrose Wilson is rated 2.36 based on 28 reviews