Ambrose Wilson Reviews

1.8 Rating 52 Reviews
21 %
of reviewers recommend Ambrose Wilson
1.8
Based on 52 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Read Ambrose Wilson Reviews

About Ambrose Wilson:

Ambrose Wilson specializes in ladies clothing, footwear & lingerie, your alternative to the high street. Get great value underwear in back sizes 36-56 and cups A-L and plus size clothing in sizes 12-34. Expert fashion advice and clothing for all occasions, you are sure to find what you need.

Phone:

0871 231 2000

Location:

Griffin House, 40 Lever Street,
Manchester
M60 6ES

Write Your review

Tell us how Ambrose Wilson made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Absolute idiots I applied got accepted gave me a credit limit or £150 spent it on my children received a confirmation email of the items I’d ordered to go back on to the website to check status of order to see it said cancelled on all the items rang them up today to be told something must of came back on my credit file I have another catalogue with jd williams linked to it and my credit score is £1500 I pay fine and never miss a by payments very misleading and I don’t think it should be passed full stop if this is the case not given half way get people’s hopes up than stripped of it #NotHappy🤬
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
They have ripped off my 80 year old mother,do not use this company, the interest charges are huge.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Paid cash not credit, returned goods but l did not receive correct refund, you send them an email with all the info, they will send you back an email asking what your query is and what your account details are lol, when YOU ALREADY GAVE THEM THAT INFO .
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Don’t buy anything ever from this company. This company preys on vulnerable people who are unable to comprehend what 69.9% apr means. When called to account they try to confuse the caller with lies and intimidation. This company disgusts me.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
These are a dreadful company that prey on the poor. Their practices are unscrupulous and they do not carry out credit checks prior to issuing credit accounts. After multiple credit increases that I never used, I found myself needing a new appliance costing around £300. As soon as I took advantage of the credit increase they increased my rate of interest to an exorbitant amount claiming that there had been an increase in risk. If a customer is considered a risk, why repeatedly increase credit limits? So they can get as much money out of you as possible as they can increase your rate of interest with every increase in your balance and claim that an 'increase of risk' forces them to put your account from 30 odd percent to almost 60 %! They are nothing but glorified thieves who engage in practices that see you paying way more than you can realistically afford when they up your interest rate to ridiculous levels. And don't expect to be treated appropriately when you make complaints - staff haven't a clue what they are doing and when you threaten legal action and insist they provide all of your details under GDPR, they ignore you because they know they are acting illegally and don't want you to have the evidence that proves it. Stay well away from this company. It is better to go without than have to deal with a law breaking company that preys on and exploits the poor!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Got account with them, paid on time, monthly credit increases until today when they dropped my credit limit back to £125 without informing me. Absolutely fuming, no letters, phone calls. Disgusting way to treat a loyal Customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Refund not issued .10days late Disgraceful Dr Yohini Ariyanayagam
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Think they're trying to scam people into paying again, phoned my 78 year old mother telling her that the payment she made at bank on the 15/04 isn't on system so treating her as if she's not paid. Woman on phone wouldn't listen, despite us reading the slip when it was paid, how much was paid. Accounts numbers matching where at first they suggested it wasn't the right account. Seems like it's happened to others as well. Not getting another payment until statement comes in, either they're lying about not receiving payment or banks aren't sending them. If the latter is the case, they can take it up with the bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Extremely high credit charges and terrible customer service. I was charged for a laptop that was sent to my local shop and went missing. Months later and still not sorted. Avoid this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
customer service are rude unhelpful and arrogant , 2 payments made both lost , not shown on account then charged late payment fee , spoke to a SA man whom insisted i pay by phone so its my fault they pay the money into correct accounts ! when i state i prefer to pay by these means he snears at me then hangs up
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
After 20 trouble free years with this company I have now given up this catalogue. Why? For the first time ever I was charged a credit charge, and despite querying it they showed no appreciation of a loyal customer, instead they replied with a curt letter refusing to refund me and saying that was the end of the matter. When I work the calculations back myself I calculate that I was charged interest on a balance way in excess of the outstanding amount at the prior statement, and given that I paid in full for what I had kept, and returned everything else, I don't feel I should have been charged at all. No explanation given of how the amount was calculated, they just told me to 'off'. Do yourselves a favour, use a different catalogue.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
First time shopping with Ambrose Wilson, bought 5 items costing over £100. Paid extra for express next day delivery. After not receiving the clothes and seeing my Hermes tracker that the goods haven’t even reached the courier I called Ambrose Wilson. I needed the items before a weekend away and allowed 4 days despite paying for next day. I’ve been refused a refund despite not getting the items, and they ‘think’ they’re damaged in transit but they can’t refund until the goods come back from the courier who’s system says they’ve not received them in the first place! Total scam and would warn anyone to think before placing an order and suggest trying a reputable company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Disgusting customer service.Ordered an oven 14th Dec email to say del on 16th never arrived.Rang given a new date 23rd Dec.Wired in 24th Dec timer didn't work.I have been trying ever since to get it returned. Online chat +++,emails++++,letter enclosing photos of all chats,plus at least 5 phone calls.Each time told something dif.From it will be coll & a new one sent(17th Jan -never arr)to it's my responsibility to contact supplier to get it fixed-errr no don't think so when it arrived broken.Another call stating will be collected(nothing happened)To being told by case manager I gave to ring Hoover candy to get a ref num so they can issue return.Rang them very rude man at Hoover candy no that isnt what happens he said.Back to A.W the latest 3 days ago a return has been raised .Well that remains to be seen.Looks like trading standards here I come. Have been a loyal customer for 20 years disgusting company wouldn't ever order again from them
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Made an order which they refused and cancelled my credit. After 5 weeks e-mailing them they reinstated and told me to re-order which I did-they cancelled whole account! Cannot access even to make a payment. No answer as yet to my e-mails. I REFUSE to telephone, too expensive and THEIR error. All this btw is after 10 years as a customer! Not impressed
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Shocking company given credit monthly credit increases paid more than monthly payment every month and always before due date checked my account yesterday credit limit back to nil avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The website failed at point of payment - it continuely tried to make us set up a credit account. It would not let us just opt out and just pay. We both work with on-line companies so are used to point of sale payment, but found this to be one of the most annoying websites we've ever used, needless to say we've purchased what we needed elsewhere. Ambrose Wilson - should imagine most of your customers are elderly - sort your website out!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Ambrose wilson gave me a 125 credit limit which I ordered and recieved SOME of the goods on, I made a payment, they refunded the thing that went missing and then THEY TOOK THE CREDIT LIMIT AWAY. WHY. THEY STILL HAVENT EXPLAINED. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE AND GO TO A RELIABLE CATALOGUE. THATS MY OPINION.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered a pair of shoes paid on my debit card, received one mans dapper jacket, rang to tell them said they were going collect and refund delivery charges on first order & had to reorder shoes said I would not pay delivery on that either as it was their fault but they've taken double delivery charges on my second order then to cap it off wrong delivery address on second order. As said in other reviews first time customer will not be ordering from this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Ambrose Wilson is rated 1.8 based on 52 reviews