CarRentals.co.uk Reviews

4.63 Rating 1,555 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend CarRentals.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read CarRentals.co.uk Reviews

About CarRentals.co.uk:

Complete our simple search form above and click the "Search Now" button and we will find you all the very latest prices from up to 50 car hire companies. Then click on the deal that's best for you and you will be taken straight to the car hire company whe?

Visit Website

Phone:

0871 434 1300

Email:

admin@carrentals.co.uk

Location:

1 The Square, Lightwater

Write Your review

Tell us how CarRentals.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Dear Tjeerd, Thanks for the email, however I have to raise a Complaint regarding the service, which I will explain below; 1. I returned the car on the 3rd Jan, not the 8th. Which means I paid for 5 days that I did not use, and when I queried if I could get a refund for the days not used, I was told to read the small print of your terms and conditions by Green Motion. Is there any way I can get a refund for these days not used? 2. The car recieved was in very poor condition. It was not a fiat 500, it was a Japanese model with damage to the body and the engine didnt run well. 3. Upon collection, I was advised that the basic insurance did not cover me well at all so I had to spend another £150 to upgrade my basic policy. 4. The bus signage at Green Motion was wrong, so I ended up getting an Uber to the Airport. 5. Upon collection of the vehicle, the car was not handed over properly, nobody checked the cars condition, it was advised to be my responsibility to take photos and a video. 6. Mileage was incorrectly recorded at collection stage. 7. Petrol levels recorded incorrectly at collection stage. Overall, not impressed at all, way too many hidden catches that favour the car rental company than the customer. Im not left with a good taste in my mouth after using your consortium of companies. Please advise if you can do something to compensate me for this terrible experience. Regards Luke
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
I give XAP Credit Solution a 5 star. They are the best!! My experience with XAP was a big 360 I started off with a credit score with the low 500 and now I’m over a 780s and I only been with them under a month I been working with a young man name Matteo and he’s one of the best and he will make sure you reach your goal I wouldn’t recommend going anywhere else so if you're reading this that means you should contact them now via XAPCREDITSOLUTION at GMAIL dot COM!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
A delayed international train stopped me picking up a car at the train station till the next day. We phoned Carrentals and Alamo to warn, but Alamo insisted on a completely new booking once they realised that the booking was through Carrentals. Carrentals did respond via email to my complaints but insisted that the entire original multiday booking was forfeit. In fact their Terms and Conditions stated only that "Auto Europe does not refund any unused days if the customer does not show up, shows up over 2 hours late without contacting Auto Europe or returns the vehicle early. In case of a cancellation due to officially acknowledged Force Majeure Auto Europe will charge an administration fee of GBP 25 only." (Auto Europe is another name for Carrentals.) So I wouldn't get my money back for the unused day (fair enough) but should not have lost the rest of the booking. Carrentals would not budge and did not address my arguments. But the credit card company restored the full payment to me and Carrentals did not dispute. That is the way to solve it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Très très bonne je la recommande
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Will never use this company again. I’m in America and had to cancel my return to a later date as Airbnb arent taking bookings as a result of the PM’s lockdown due to corona virus. So I’ve got nowhere to stay on my return. So I requested they give me my booking for my new return date. They refused as it doesn’t meet the t’s & c’s. . I said what about Force Mageur as this is sudden extreme situation. NOPE , NOT, INTERESTED!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
worst service i have ever received! First, no clear explanation, during online ordering process, on very unusual terms and condition of the specific rental company i booked from. As a result, rental company refused to rent me the car! Impossible to talk to a real person to explain problems. Online complain was eventually answered with irrelevant answers and there is no way to reply back to continue the discussion. As a last resort I will have to dispute the CC charge as i never actually got a car that day.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Made to pay twice. I rang to amend booking given Thomas Cook flights cancelled and new flights times. 1st told as now cheaper would get £30 refund. Provided details of new credit card to get refund of £30. Now told have to pay again for car as sent refund back to closed credit card for full amount and attempt to debit revised amount of new credit card failed. I had not authorised debit on my card which effectively makes this a fraudulent attempt for payment and now threatening to cancel car. Apparently I now have to chase refund from old car company and pay again. Appalling customer service and surely not allowed to debit a card for payment when authority given to receive a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We booked a car for 6 days. Due to a change of plans we had to delay the pick up time, from 10 am to 2pm. Although we tried, we could not get in contact with anyone to inform about this delay. But since the booking was already paid, we assumed it would be no problem. Terms and Conditions state that "Auto Europe does not refund any unused days if the customer does not show up, shows up late or returns the vehicle early." We understand from this that we would not have a refund for the unused time, not that we cannot have the car for any day if we show up late. Later on the phone, they told us that they only keep the reservation for 30 minutes (!) after the pick up time, and it is cancelled without refund after that. This is not said anywhere in the "Terms and Conditions". Costumer service on the phone were very impolite, blaming us for arriving late and saying that it was obvious they could not keep the reservation if we did not show up on time. As we needed a car, we booked another one, with the same company. This time we did not get the car either, because we presented a valid credit card, as required, but it was a Spanish Visa card. We are Spanish, and we have passport and ID with this address. But we have just moved to UK, so we gave the UK address for the reservation, understanding it would be more convenient for the company, as the rental was in UK. It turns out that they the car rental company (Keddy) would not accept a Spanish credit car because we had an UK address. We had a UK debit car, and were willing to pay any additional fee to cover the excess directly with Keddy. But they would not accept these solutions either. They just did not want to give us the twice paid car. In conclusion: we paid two reservations for six days and we did not get any car. The car in both cases was denied for reasons not stated in the "Terms and Conditions".
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Booked online for a rental for 3 dayswith CarRentals for the first time at 55 pounds. Booking was confirmed online. I took a picture to prove this. Received an email subsequently to say that the QUOTE was confirmed. Rang company several times on their number mentioned in the QUOTE email and was unable to get through on 3 attempts. Replied to email with QUOTE and was informed that the email service is not monitored. Downloaded their app and finally found another number which I got through immediately. Was informed that my booking had not been confirmed although it was CONFIRMED BOOKING online as credit card transaction did not get through. Now the car booked was no longer available and had to pay over 400 pounds for a smaller car. Asked to speak to someone else to resolve but was informed that they were the customer service number as well. Had to make another online separate booking now costing 135 pounds for the same length. I am on holiday and have had to waste time making alternative booking. There needs to be a review of the practices within the industry!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Double Check before booking... Be very cautious booking shows less amount but when you confirm booking same time, rates increased.. Security deposit required is double the amount the actual car rental company charge. I understand rental company need to block security deposit but why carrentals getting security deposit for what purpose?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I booked a car with them with automatic transmission at a very reasonable price, got an email confirmation with a booking code. Once I arrived at the pick up station, the employees there showed me that Carrentals in reality booked a manual one. The pick up station offered me an automatic one but I had to pay twice more than the initial price in Carrentals booking. When asking Carrentals to reimburse me the overpayment they sent me the following answer: “My apologies for the confusion that you had at the counter when you PickUp the vehicle, please take notice that you have selected a 'Pay Later' reservation, this type of reservation locks the rate offered in the website at the moment of finalizing the reservation, the main utility for this will be that it will prevent of getting higher rates compared to the ones offered when the PickUp date is closer from the date when you make the reservation, however, this type of reservation can be cancelled at any time without any type of penalty fee, the supplier may experiment a high demand, therefore a vehicle cannot be guaranteed.” As I understood from the actual service and what was proved by a Carrentals customer help employee reply is that booking with Carrentals guarantees you nothing. I even suspect they use this smart play of words and cheating clients in a way to get more commission in the long run. Don’t use them and don’t recommend them to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Had to pay an extra £415 to pay for Eazirents car insurance!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Got home and the credit card bill had £250 on it ,I questioned this with car rentals and was told there was damage on the car when I handed it back ,which was a complete lie ,I’ll never use this company again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Paid the full fee with my Mastercard on their website. When I arrived in the airport at 11pm, Europcar refused to take my debit card (same car I use to pay on their website) Carrentals refused to refund the fee, while the service was not deilvered
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The website offers prices based on being 25 and older but in the Terms and Conditions it says 26 and older. My girlfriend and I booked a car with them and didn't find out until we were in another country that it was 26 and older and therefore would have to pay an extra €35/day to rent the car. When I approached PR about this they responded with, 'See terms and conditions.' This company doesn't seem to have a problem with saying one thing and then another in the fine print, and I would think it's fair to say that if they're willing to deceive consumers related to prices based on age, they are willing to deceive for their benefit in other ways. They did not recompense the extra money we spent because of their false advertising and I will not recommend booking with them, especially if you are close to the age I mentioned.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Thieves, they work in conjunction with the rental companies to catch you out. They will tell you that the card block amount required is one number and the car rental will tell you another higher number when you get there. This way they can catch you out and you pay both companies. Never waste your time with them, just book direct with the companies, I have complained to them many times and they send the same crappy excuses back. SAVE YOURSELF THE MONEY AND HEADACHE!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
No refund no car after being told I didn't pass security check. Won't recommend
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Communication is excellent got given a great price and contacted straight away by a very professional gentle called Rui in Portugal who was a great help. Thank you I would definitely use this company in the future
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hello Hidden fees like high deposits , limited mileage , insurance. Once you pay they will provide you with information, which clearly against human rights . Not recommended at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Easy and we a good price.easy to pick up and drop off
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
CarRentals.co.uk is rated 4.63 based on 1,555 reviews