Green Star Energy UK Reviews

1.04 Rating 100 Reviews
1 %
of reviewers recommend Green Star Energy UK
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Over a week

Write Your review

Tell us how Green Star Energy UK made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (Optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Started off on a Fixed Rate DD of £92 per month. After 6 Months it went up to £99 per month and I have never had correct bills or readings provided on their very poor app and website. Now they have taken a payment off my account of £249 for the month with no explaination why they have taken that amount. Also when I go onto their website all my bills for 2019 have disappeared.. Very poor company and regret ever signing up with them
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Ripp off..Ripp off..Stay Away from Green Star Energy. How has this fraudulent company got away with not takin*meter reading correct *. At first Green Star Energy set your bill as low amount then instead of increasing DD, they double your bill. Then your bill doesn’t go down Ever. They Manipulate the meter reading and the figures. Then they triple your bill. They make up there own figures and prices and they only have one big estimate. Which is Called Daylight Robbery. Customers want justice of how Green Star Energy. Sucks all there money away. Never go with Green Star Energy.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Worst company I've ever been with. Never want to help. Got no electric on as I have to top up at the post office and all the locals are closed and told me on the phone I cannot speak with you. Hate hate this company. Forever having trouble. Hope you close down. Shithe company. And over priced
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
I had to get the ombudsman involved and a full investigation was carried out into my bills that they were trying to claim was for usage from 2015, in the end the ombudsman saw in my favour as I had kept all evidence, green star ended up having to credit me £2,795 and I ended up in credit of £645 which I have asked to be credited to my bank account and I am moving over to EON, I WILL NEVER GO WITH GREEN STAR AGAIN
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolutely zero customer service. they are still sending out bills to me even though they stopped being my provider months ago. never read the meter- even when asked to do so- make random estimates. Don't think I will ever get them off my back.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Yes completely bad company no customer service skills at all put you on hold for hours with no answer or call back changed my Dd to £511.00 per month
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Avoid at all. Costs the standard of customer care is zero nil nothing, they talk to you like s...... Freezing on their shoe, they have just put me on hold without saying a word. Absolutely awful company to deal with avoid at all costs
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
After around a year of being with green star, I was still topping up my Lecky with my original provider only to be told today that green star had never requested a change over, so I'm not going to pay the red letter I got from green star but I am staying with my original provider as I'd been still topping my Lecky up with my original provider (before I went with green star), so I WOULD NOT recommend green star to anyone
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely Terrible. We live in a very small 2 bedroom flat. I work away 2 days a week leaving the house with no heating or electricity on. My husband comes home at 5 and takes a shower and watches telly with the heating on during the winter months. My Son comes to stay once a week for an over night. We have a man cave sort of our building that uses electricity that gets used when my son comes over to play games. My monthly bills have increasingly gone up. I am curl paying 185.00 a month with 435.00 now in arrears and they are now increasing our bills by a further £11. We are seriously being robbed here. We have all new energy efficient appliances. A 4 year old boiler and BV when we first moved in my son and his wife were staying with us and we were with a different provider and paying half what we are now. How can they get away with this?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely awful company. Really poor communication and customer service. They didn't inform me of a change of tariff and I ended up with a large debt. Due the way I was treated, I wanted to change to another company. Then, the troubled started. When attempting to set up a DD to pay back money, they kept putting me on hold for no reason at all. They took money out of my bank account, without consent. When I eventually got through to set up payment plan, they agreed it but didn't confirm. Instead sent me one threatening letter after another. As it stands, I am still being bullied by this company, whilst still trying to set up a payment plan with them! Please, no one use them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have been with green star energy over a year now I have been estimated on my bills from day one this is a trick they use to instantly get you in debt and force you to stay with them I have complained only to be threatend and treated like a five year old this company needs reporting to ofgem by everyone with them they have already been on watchdog for doing exactly what people are complaining about ripping them off I urge you all do not allow them to get away with this anymore as the government allow them to do what they want it's too late for me they have already got me into debt with thier lies and trickery do not use this company withing three months your bills will double and you will be in debt
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Oh my God green star energy absolutely useless extortionate rates when you phone to speak to them they cannot help you you are put through to different people up to about 10 and I still can’t help you what is the point, never had such a bad experience with anybody my advice to anybody that is thinking of switching to green star energy don’t do it big mistake
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Price went up month on month how I don’t know
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I too have had an absolute nightmare with them and am sick of them.  I have been paying regularly every month for the past couple of years with them, I wanted to leave because I always received incorrect letters, then suddenly today received a letter saying we were overdue £3,500 and need to make a payment urgently.  I was on hold for over 20 mins before being transferred to customer services, who I couldn't understand and the line was poor.  The only thing I could make out was he said my bill was estimated and that he would send out a statement.  Now there is no way on earth we have used £3,500 in gas and electricity, we have a standard sized house and work all day and are out most weekends and have been paying every month.   I have asked to move suppliers but they say that I can't until the arrears are cleared and these are rocketing each time I speak to them.  I moved to them to get cheaper gas and electricity but it appears their rates don't exist now so I'm just going to be getting myself more and more into debt its really stressing me out and don't know who to send this to next??
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
STAY AWAY FROM GREEN STAR ENERGY STAY AWAY FROM GREEN STAR ENERGY I have been sending my readings, which was ignored by GSE team. I have had about 2 tech visits and yet, they send me £400 which I have no other option rather than pay, they recognise their mistake but I still have to pay. I asked to talk to a manager and it was not possible. Additionally they promised a smart meter and when I followed up I was informed no provider has smart meter in my area, wondering if British Gas knows as the next house neighbour has it for a year. When talking to the customer services, I honestly though I was in a radio prank!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
First the smart gas meter went faulty. After a long wait they replaced the meter with an ordinary second hand one. It would appear that something went wrong with the notification of the old and new readings and I started to get phone calls saying I was £1000 in arrears. I demanded this in writing and an explanation showing the breakdown of how they arrived at this figure but didn't get one. I was asked if I would like to have smart meters fitted so I agreed even though one meter was already sa smart meter. I don't think the new electric meter has worked since installed. I've complained many times over the past 4 or 5 months but even though a work docket is supposed to have been raised nothing has happened. I get requests for readings but cannot give them as I cannot give the electric ones because of the faulty meter. In thd meanwhile they started to take an extra £100 from my account each month. I contacted the energy ombudsman and got a ruling in my favour and Greenstar agreed to put £670 into my account with them to reduce what I allegedly owe them, plus a good will payment of £50. I've just had £252 (the inflated figure) taken from my account so phoned them to complain, demanding to speak to a manager, but got nowhere. Over the past 6 months or so I must have emailed them at least 20 times but got nowhere and am still waiting for the meter change and so thing showing how they calculated my bill but have got no response I have informed them that their customer relations is appalling and they are a waste of space, and this afternoon I informed them that I was giving up and have started the procedure to get a new supplier. Avoid this company at all costs and if you are already with them, find someone else. The umbrella company where the payments go is Hudson Energy so avoid them as well. Viv
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Boy I have a story to tell. We changed to green star at the end of 2018. My mum was at first put on the wrong tariff instead of pay as you go smart meter. Secondly when we confronted green star about this issue they would phone us back. Sadly this never happened. We kept on ringing them and promising call backs which never happened. Until we started getting threatening letters saying that our bill was not paid because we thought we were transferred over to a smart pre payment meter. We are refusing to pay this as it’s their fault. Why should we pay for something if it’s in their error? But my mother was not having and decided to set up a payment plan so we could clear arrears of with them. We somehow amazingly got a call back saying that £25 a month because of our finances and other bills and because of our low income . They said that they’ll call back within the week. That was 3 months ago. No one has phoned back since. So we decided to go with another energy supplier because of their screw ups and we’ve gone with a company which just does smart prepayment pay as you go. Green Star are a very bad company. Never go to them at all. You’ll only suffer pain and negative experiences with them.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Just off the phone to these poor excuse of a company ! Went from fixed rate of 44 pounds a month to 286 pounds ..absolute joke !! And they owe me money 145 pounds in credit from money they kepted on taking from my account ...dirty rats !!!! Should be closed down !!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Joined beginning of November with a FIXED 18 month direct debit contract of £55 a month. By November 29th it was increased to £63 after a review of my usage(?@!) Crooks. Incoherent customer service hung up on me twice. As below, please avoid these gangsters.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
A shocking company that takes ombudsmans to achieve anything satifactory.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Green Star Energy UK is rated 1.04 based on 100 reviews