Humpback Swims Reviews

5.0 Rating 116 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend Humpback Swims
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
July 2023 Trip: Originally booked my trip in 2019 with another vendor. When everything reopened they bailed on me last minute and Nadia saved my bucket list trip. I reached out to her since she had so much experience and is very knowledgeable and responsive. She made very thoughtful recommendations and videos that helped me know what to expect in Tonga and during whale swims. She covers equipment, accommodations, what to bring and they best way to swim with the whales. She also connected me with an agent that specializes in Tonga/Fiji to save me on my last flight time and cost. I added on Fiji scuba and shark dives which I also recommend. During our stay Nadia made my group arrangements for several dinner reservations and helped us prepare all our camera equipment with ideal settings to maximize our experience. Our boat crew was great and the staff at Mystic Sands was so kind. Don’t miss the fruit smoothies at the t-shirt print shop, they have great gifts as well. Whales were nothing short of amazing especially the babies and playful juvenile whales. Thank you Nadia for making my dream a reality, hope this will be a first adventure of many with you! Many Thanks, Gina- San Francisco, CA
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 9th August 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 9th August 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Whale swimming has been a dream trip for years and the dream finally came true. Whale watching went off without a hitch. The captain and guide were fantastic. Nadia hosts a wonderful event. She organizes group dinners to share experiences with others on the trip. She is very attentive to the details. Loved staying at Mystic Sands for the island ambiance. Flying Annie is nice if you prefer an in-town walking experience. We had unique whale encounters. No two trips see the same thing. Great to be open to what the wildlife has in store for you! A trip of a lifetime.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
It had always been a dream of mine to swim with whales, and I can’t be more happy that I took the leap of faith to do this trip! Absolutely life-changing, you will not regret it👍
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you Nadia!! Six independent single travelers came together at Mystic Sands for the 11 day/8 snorkel days trip. None of us knew each other before but parted ways as great new friends. Wonderful whale encounters, great boat staff and wonderful hotel owners and staff. DO the BENTO box dinner!! Adriana is a marvelous chef! Very glad I did this option.
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 3rd August 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
This trip was truly something I will never forget… from all of the locals we met on the island, to the captain and guides on the boats, and above all else the whales. Our guide, Matta, was so kind and was able to guide us to swim with whales multiples times on each day. Our Captain was so kind and always made sure we had a great day before going back in to dock. The lunches each day were absolutely delicious and is just what you need when out swimming with whales all day! The organization of this trip was amazing and it lead to making the best memories.
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 1st August 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 1st August 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Unreal, amazing, perfect! Thank you so much for setting the scene and creating the best circumstances for this experience. Prior to the trip, both the booking process and guidance upon arrival (and support when our plane got canceled and plans changed) was 10/10 and made me feel secure and well prepared. During our stay, everything went smoothly. Staying at Flying Anniemoa was a great experience with good rooms and very open and heartwarming hosts. The boats were spacious with both inside and outside space (good for us that normally gets seasick), and everything just went smoothly in terms of lunches, pick up etc. BUT, the best part was the crew! Our skipper and our whale guide were AWESOME and truly committed and experienced - providing us with so many unbelievable whaleswims. Also, humpbackswims truly sticks to the regulations of for example not duck diving, keeping a fair distance to the whales etc. And this is just so great to see and support! I felt that everything was done with the whales well-being as the top priority and that is just awesome and so so important. We had so many great encounters and respecting the whales really pays off in some unforgettable experiences. For example, our guide Sifa took the time to let a mom and calf get used to our boat for some time. When showing signs of being ok with us being there, we got in the water and kept a good distance and let them feel safe. Suddenly, the calf and mom came closer all by themselves and it was a truly precious moment with a sleeping mom who trusted us completely and a calf that started to play around us. This is just one example of many unique encounters we had during our trip. Nadia has been super helpful the whole way in guidance, advice, reminders etc and acted as an awesome host while we were there! Giving us a quick guide to the town etc etc 🙏🏻 I had dreamt of doing this since I was a little girl, and I had a much better experience that I could have ever dreamed of. Thank you to everyone who was part of making our stay and experience a once in a lifetime and one to remember forever. I really hope to be back one day and do it all over! Nothing else compares to being in the water with these gentle and beautiful giants❤️ I can only recommend humpbackswims (and Nadia, I hope to join one of the other SDL tours in the future) Thank you for this experience - I’ll never forget this trip!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Our family (kids 12 and 14) LOVED our Humpback Swims tour! Nadia covered every detail with care, speed, and precision. The operators she works with at the hotel and on the boats are excellent - friendly, professional, responsive. We have dietary restrictions and she didn't hesitate to accommodate them. The meals on the boat were delicious! Travel to and from Tonga is not easy but Nadia helped us navigate it smoothly and was ready and willing to troubleshoot when needed. We saw whales every day we went out! Can't exactly give Nadia credit for that, but she set us up for success every step of the way.
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 27th July 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 27th July 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 27th July 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Swimming with Orcas’s was amazing! Nadia and her team were 5 ⭐️! Accommodations 5star also! From the moment we were picked up from the airport to our return we were treated with so much care. They went the extra miles to get us to the orcas 2 days in a row and afterward the retreat back at the house couldn’t have been more relaxing. First couple of nights we had a private chef which he was fantastic then the next few nights Nadia shared her local favorite restaurants and again 5 star ⭐️! Thank you Nadia and her team for one of best wildlife experiences. Ann L
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 4th July 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 4th July 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 4th July 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 4th July 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 4th July 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 4th July 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 4th July 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Divemaster/trip expedition leader Nadia Aly is one of the most competent people I've encountered in organizing & running dive trips (and I've been taking such trips for +40 years). She thought of everything: great accomodations, food, and a very experienced boat captain, as well as her own considerable experience leading such trips. I rate her as five stars, and would recommend her to anyone thinking of joining her on one of her trips. --Ken Howard
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 30th June 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 30th June 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 30th June 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 30th June 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
What a life-changing experience!!! I've always dreamed to swim alongside humpback whales but this exceeded every expectation. We had countless different interactions with mom and calves, male heat runs with more than 15 whales in one frame and possibly the most profound of all the experiences was hearing the whales singing and feeling the vibrations in your bones! I got so much incredible footage, the topside scenery was beautiful and all in all the expedition was seamless. Hands down one of the best trips I've ever been on and I hope to be back someday for round 2!
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 30th June 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 30th June 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 30th June 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I went out swimming with the whales in 2022. It was amazing! I am going back next month and can’t wait! Nadia puts on amazing tours and is there with her team to help out! I stayed at Mystic Sands and will stay there again! The whales were amazing! I can’t wait to see them again and again and again!
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 30th June 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
It has been a dream to swim with the orca in the wild. I could not believe that this was possible anywhere outside of Norway. I was excited to see that Nadia started offering Orca/Mobula trips with air support. I just finished a trip with her and we had 3 days of amazing in-water encounters! It was hard work, but well worth it! Nadia took care of every single detail, she had everything organized to the best of her ability to make sure we were getting the best wildlife encounters each day. The house we stayed at was beyond amazing, probably the nicest place I have ever stayed on any dive/snorkel trip. I can not wait to go back next year!
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 27th June 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Incredibly professional and well organised, not to mention the amazing ocean experiences! Thank you again!
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 24th March 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Swimming with sperm whales was a lifetime dream come true. My experience would not be possible without Nadia and her team. Thank you Nadia, thank you, thank you!
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 19th January 2023 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 19th January 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This was definitely one of the most amazing experiences of my life. And I’m telling you this after visiting 108 countries. Everything was perfectly organized. It’s worth every penny. Especially my multiple encounters with a humpback calf were mesmerizing. If you can afford it then DO IT!! You won’t regret it!! Special thanks to dedicated Nadia, sharing her love for whales to everyone!!
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 13th November 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 13th November 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 13th November 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I dreamed of swimming with whales since I was a kid, so when I applied to "Humpback Swims" I expected a lot : the experience is over my expectations ! And it would be impossible without Nadia Aly’s team. Guides and Captains are experienced and friendly, boats are comfortable and accomodation as well I saw and swim with whales every day, and you definitely have to choose a 5 or 8 days experience, because each day is different. Sometimes the sea is wavy or the visibility isn’t great, or the whales aren’t in the mood to interact too long and sometimes the whales are playful, the weather is perfect and this day become a great day. Just maximize your chances. Here a pic I took the 2nd day. You can see more on my instagram page : xavier_clement_photography Apply and enjoy your swim days!
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 7th November 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
A truly epic adventure. We'd planned this trip for 3-years due to COVID and almost had given up on doing it, but we're glad we did! Such a fun experience. Great captains, great guides and WHALES!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We had a trip of a lifetime! We spent seven days swimming with the whales and each day was a unique encounter - some long, some short. We mostly had mom-calf interactions, and the calf sometimes would be very curious and playful. We saw a singing whale and spent almost an hour listening to the otherworldly music. The crew was very experienced and did a splendid job spotting the whales and guiding us. Our captain Datey was awesome. He'd always drop us off at the right spot. Our boat crew - Sifa, Pula and David were really good guides and gave their 100% in order to get us the best experience while always being respectful of whales and paying attention to our safety. We even got to explore some very cool caves and reefs, although most of Tonga's reefs are sadly dead. Also, our boats were very spacious, which I really appreciated. The entire trip was very well organized. Nadia was extremely helpful about everything - getting visas, finding lost luggage, getting around in Tonga and guiding us about the best ways to swim with the whales. She was extremely responsive and this trip wouldn't have been possible without her. Our stay at Flying Annie Moa was lovely! The caretakers were so helpful and made us feel at home :) Overall, we absolutely enjoyed being in Tonga and swimming with the whales. What an incredible experience!!! I would definitely come back again.
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 1st November 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 1st November 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 1st November 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 1st November 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
5 STARS & cheers to Humpback Swims & Nadia! Simply extraordinary & amazing!! Every aspect of our expedition was very well organized & executed perfectly. Nadia’s communication, responsiveness & follow up was outstanding. Nadia made suggestions for all we needed before & all along our travel journey. The boats, crew & all affiliates delivered top notch. The crew worked hard to find the whales, kept us safe & were very respectful of the whales. I have been fascinated & learning about humpbacks for many years, so it was truly a dream come true! The gentle giants were majestic & every encounter was different & magnificent. Some days better than others. The trip was everything I had hoped for & then some! I can’t stop looking at my videos & photos! Lots of playful calfs. We met some lovely people during our trip & it’s great to share the experience with others who were as excited & as mesmerized as we were. I had a glitch with my bag arriving & Nadia came to the rescue with things I needed & gear until my bag arrived. She sent someone to the airport & actually had it delivered to me. This spunky girl gets it done! Flying Annie Moa accommodations were basic but very clean & provided everything we needed. The host ladies are so kind. The Tongans are special people with beautiful souls & we loved getting to know them. Truly the trip of a lifetime!!
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 12th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 12th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 12th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 12th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 12th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 12th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 12th October 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I’ll try to keep this short… my wife loves humpback whales. I know some people love horses or puppies, but this is a whole next level. I think she was probably a humpback whale in a previous life. We’ve done a ton of whale watching trips where, from a boat we watch the surface activity and hope and pray for an occasional breach. We have even stuck a GoPro under water and pointed it in the general direction of the whales hoping for footage of their under water activity. When she discovered Nadia’s swim with the whales trips, there was no stopping her. We signed up in 2019 for a trip in 2020. And you know the story; in 2020 it was postponed until 2021 and so on until earlier this year when it was postponed until 2023. That is, until Tonga suddenly opened their borders in September and Nadia said there was availability for a few trips this year. We decided to drop everything and go to the other side of the world (we live in the states). We trusted Nadia and she did not let us down. She helped us with every step along the way from travel arrangements, to lodging, to what gear to bring, to of course the whale swims. Just getting to the small island of Vava’u would have been nearly impossible without her guidance. Nadia’s boat was crewed by a skipper and a guide. The skipper found the whales and kept us safe in all conditions (there were a couple days with rough seas) and the guide was nothing short of an ocean Sherpa. And finally, about the whales… everyday was different, but the common theme was OMG we are swimming with whales! Our favorite encounters include moms and calves where the baby was super curious about us and Mom seemed to enjoy us entertaining her baby, and a group of 5 or 6 adults where we think one might have been a pregnant mom close to giving birth. We were really there to be with the whales so we didn’t have the big professional looking underwater cameras, just GoPros. I’ve added a few of the shots from our GoPros. There are almost no words for how fantastic this trip was. We met some new friends from all over the world and we are currently planning our trip back for next year.
Humpback Swims 5 star review on 11th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 11th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 11th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 11th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 11th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 11th October 2022 Humpback Swims 5 star review on 11th October 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Humpback Swims is rated 5.0 based on 116 reviews