InterNations GmbH Reviews

1.29 Rating 66 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend InterNations GmbH

Write Your review

Tell us how InterNations GmbH made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
STAY AWAY! The Auto-renewal process is a SCAM for the lack of a better word. It is an exploitation of the legal system as they will say you signed up for it after having read their terms and conditions. So you are stuck. I contacted the European Consumer Contact Network and their advise was ' You can try to argue that this is an unfair term, but ultimately only a judge in court can make this decision. '. I hope someone can be bothered enough to go this far. if needed I can assist and provide more information. They successfully took payment for two years membership from me, although I only attended one of their events after a friend told me about them. The event I attended was actually very rubbish. There was no organisation and I absolutely did not feel like I attended as a member of internations. I could have just walked into a random bar by myself. There are better ways of meeting people online that would not cost you so much money and threats of court actions for something you should be able to easily opt in for and opt out from. I had tried to cancel my membership, last year but the process was not intuitive and since they had also auto renewed I just left it and removed my credit card details. This year, I received an email to update my credit card information so they can take payment for the auto-renewal that they had already done for me. I immediately responded that I am not interested in auto-renewal and would not want to pay. They refused to cancel my membership and forced me to honour the renewal after many threats and nagging emails. STAY AWAY!! It is not worth it. Even if you moved to a new city, it is not worth it. There are better ways and better apps for meeting new people. Easier for you to walk into a bar or a social gathering or just say hello to someone. I am writing this review at 5am in the morning after I have paid for two years of unused and unwanted membership. I do not want that to be you. Apologies, I know I have ranted for long enough, but it is to ensure someone else does not make the same mistake as I did.
Posted 11 months ago
GREEDY AND UNETHICAL SCAM COMPANY THAT GETS AGGRESSIVE IF THEIR USERS DO NOT WANT TO REMAIN ALBATROSS MEMBERS I had an Albatross membership that was auto-renewed about 2 months ago - during a world pandemic and lock-down when there were no real-life events organized at all. They could not charge my credit card and therefore started to harass me for the membership subscription fee. I contacted them right after receiving the first email about the failed transaction for auto-renewal (otherwise I would probably have not noticed immediately that my money has gone to their pockets). The communication with their Support Team clearly showed how much consideration and empathy they have for their users (hint: 0). The membership that I was able to use since the coronavirus has been spreading corresponded only to Basic membership, therefore as they failed to provide any services that match the Albatross membership, they could've simply admitted it and could have downgraded me to Basic membership - like I requested their Support Team multiple times to do so, in a friendly way. They cannot sell any value with Albatross membership during a world pandemic as their offer was not designed for the online world. Charging users for Albatross membership was completely unwanted and inappropriate. Instead of understanding and accepting my request, they insisted on me paying the outstanding balance so that I become able to downgrade. Yes, I could buy a downgrade option for many EURs - for a 1-year subscription fee! What an impertinence! Their sneaking idea is to hide the "downgrade" button as well as the "profile deletion" function from the user menu in order to put pressure on the user to settle the balance. They lied that they cannot downgrade me and cannot cancel or revert the renewal of my membership. If that's true, be especially careful when giving your sensitive data for a company that does not have a competent User Administrator in charge and make sure to request the deletion of your data from their database! They blocked access to my profile and messages after a couple of payment reminders and started to threaten me and told me that they reserve the right to escalate this matter further to a debt collection agency, which may result in additional costs for me. What a ridiculous and shameless move it was from them! And they kept repeating that I should have seen the auto-renewal date on their web page and on my older invoices and in their Terms and Conditions. Seriously, who on earth visits web pages in 2020 regularly just to read old invoices and Terms and Conditions?! They are able to spam you with a lot of newsletters, but they don't bother sending a single notification email before the auto-renewal is due. If they succeed with charging your credit card, they don't inform you in email either. This is pure meanness. I learned after some googling that they have been applying this practice to hundreds and thousands of their users for years without any consequences. It's outrageous to see how many people they stole from or threatened already. If you start to complain about their unethical practice on their social media accounts, be prepared that they will be quick to suppress your voice and block you. DO NOT PAY them, or do request a refund from your bank if they already charged you. Spread the word about this scam and discourage your friends from signing up there. ADVICE: Do not sign up! Downgrade if you have Albatross membership and don't want it to auto-renew! Delete your account!
Posted 1 year ago
#Internations #UAE #Internations.org #LegalizedFraud #Beware #DubaiExpatsBeware #UAEExpatsBeware This is a very unethical and dishonest organization that feeds off unsuspecting professionals who have experienced their sleazy operations and dont want to continue any longer. This is legalized fraud. They automatically without consent renew the membership and then throw the rulebook. They just charged me AED 468 which is like Euros 125 without my consent. I wrote to them within an hour but they refuse to refund the charges. If someone knows of a fair-practice organization or watch-dog body in Germany or the EU, please let me know. I want everyone in Dubai to know that these guys are cheats and we must stay as far away as possible. They are getting away with this dishonest practice and hope some governmental organization clamps down on them.
Posted 1 year ago
NEVER give them your credit card details or they will continue charging you even after you've tried to cancel your membership. There's no link on their site to cancel your membership. This company is a total scam.
Posted 1 year ago
DO NOT sign up with Internations!! Horrible customer service and thieves. I was charged 2 years in a row after requesting they cancel my membership. They respond with “unfortunately we cannot refund you...” They make cancelling your membership e freely complicated. You would think you can cancel your membership under the “membership” button, but you cannot. It’s located someplace totally unrelated to your membership. I had to Google where to find it!! They respond 1 week later and don’t make any effort whatsoever to understand and be fair. All they care about is taking your money. You can tell their reputation from the amount of negative reviews they have, I’m surprised they’re still in business. Do not sign up with them, you will regret it!
Posted 1 year ago
DO NOT sign up with Internations!! Horrible customer service and thieves. I was charged 2 years in a row after requesting they cancel my membership. They NEVER notify you that they will charge your card and don’t care if you use their platform or not. They respond with “unfortunately we cannot refund you...” They make cancelling your membership extremely complicated. You would think you can cancel your membership under the “membership” button, but you cannot. It’s located someplace totally unrelated to your membership. I had to Google where to find it!! They respond 1 week later and don’t make any effort whatsoever to understand and be fair. All they care about is taking your money. You can tell their reputation from the amount of negative reviews they have, I’m surprised they’re still in business. Do not sign up with them, you will regret it!
Posted 1 year ago
Dont join this international scammer!!! in a short time you wont know, but after you giving out your credit card information, the nightmare just begin and will keep hounding you, even threatening you...all the victims should unite together to fight with this scammer!!
Posted 1 year ago
Internations.org is an international sammer, dont subscribe any memebership from them otherwise you will never get rid of this nightmare!!
Posted 1 year ago
Anyone from the victims who is a lawyer? we need to join hands to stop this company from existing and take it to justice!!!!!! anyone from Germany who knows where is the government authority to report this unethnic business?? every victim suffered about usd 50-60, not much money, but it's about the fair principle that we hold for the business community. all victims here are witnesses. please support.
Posted 1 year ago
Absolute scam!!!! I ahem never intended to become a paid member and to my shock I was charged for two years membership behind my back. If you your leave credit card details, they put a clause in contract that membership will renew automatically at the end of your trial period or membership your credit card is charged and no refunds are issued. Even today, when given the current circumstances with Covid-19 they are unable to put on any events! SCAM!
Posted 1 year ago
They do not downgrade the service that you are not willingly use. They also threaten to file you a debt collection agency for that. They are extortionists. Never ever use a paid membership. In addition, it is useless service anyway.
Posted 1 year ago
Absolute scam!!!! AVOID!!! AVOID!!! Do not leave credit card details as they put a clause in contract that membership will renew automatically at the end of your trial period or membership your credit card is charged and no refunds are issued. Even today, when given the current circumstances with Covid-19 they are unable to put on any events!
Posted 1 year ago
Beware of auto-renewal for Membership!!! DO NOT JOIN! I signed up for 1 year membership as I was in a new city thinking that it would be fun. Little did I know that this service is not what it makes it out to be, it is a SCAM! I hadn't signed on in a long time and they renewed my membership without sending any notification! And because I didn't have an updated credit card, they are now harassing me and threatening me with payment. BEWARE OF THE FOLLOWING: If you sign up for an Albatross trial, it will transfer you to an annual membership structure. I was never sent any e-mail letting me know about this and nor did I agree to this. I didn't even know that it was going to auto-renew and received an email saying my payment didn't go through and I was wondering what it was since I hadn't logged on in a long time nor received any email about the renewal. In the past few weeks, I have been emailing with Internations over the failed paymed asking if they can just cancel my membership since I haven't used it and there response is that you can cancel after your payment. And I said I haven't used the service, nor will use it and on top of that the world is dealing with COVID and economic shock and they don't seem to care. The amount of money is about 53.70 USD, which is not about the moment, it's about the principle of the matter: 1. They are relying on a auto-renewal model where they don't send you any updates before it auto-renews 2. I could not find any email record where they clearly outline the Albatross membership terms after signing up for the free trial and/or the conversion from the trial to the annual membership 3. I have not used any of their services for over 6 months, nor been informed of any events that would trigger me to look at my account prior to this auto-renewal. Their business model is a SCAM. DO NOT EVER SIGN-UP FOR INTERNATIONS! THIS COMPANY IS A SCAM!!!!!!
Posted 1 year ago
Horrible customer service. Complete waste of money
Posted 1 year ago
Avoid them! A complete waste of money! Events are poorly attended and organised. Once you sign up they automatically bill you without notice every year. Difficult to navigate their website to try cancel your subscription. Unsympathetic customer relations.
Posted 1 year ago
It's a scam. Be careful, they will take your money and force you to pay even to cancel a paid subscription that you did not want
Posted 1 year ago
WASTE OF $$ - WATCH OUT - POOR Customer Service There is a hook to get you interested and leads one to believe that you need the paid subscription (NOT worth what you pay for it). THEN there is an automatic renewal WITHOUT NOTIFICATION and they are worthless enough that they wont refund it even when you try to address the fact that there was NO NOTIFICATION of a pending renewal. So they have got my $ and I dont even visit the site anymore and it never was worth it even when I did.
Posted 1 year ago
THEY ARE GREEDY! A COMPANY WITH SUCH BAD REVIEWS WONT LAST FOREVERFA
Posted 1 year ago
Stay away!!! Just Scammers, that what I can say. I tried to see what is that, so I signed up. One of the requirements was to enter credit card details, that what I did. I didn't actually expect that they will charge me 72 EUR in a while. When I contacted their support and said that it was a mistake, so I don't want to be paid member - they refused to refund me money
Posted 1 year ago
InterNations GmbH (interNationsorg) has adopted series of marketing strategies that has managed to successfully lure unsuspecting victims to their platform. As per so many reviews all over the internet, it is evident that, the moment they get their hands on your credit/debit card information you are DOOMED. It is best to err on the side of caution and stay away from their platform or IMMEDIATELY DELETE your account. Ambassadors and Consuls are lured into sponsoring events with their own pocket monies with the promise of catering for purported expats and working professionals whilst InterNations continue to bill unsuspecting members and pocket almost 84 euros a year at all cost. The only way for these unsuspecting ambassadors and or consuls to recover their own money back is to charge entrance fees for the events they host on the interNations platform as purported VOLUNTEERS. The funny and ironic part is that, these events are hardly attended by their members as attendants stand at 6-15%. Members would signup and even confirm their attendance but would NEVER attend or show up for the event. Thus, you would get sign ups of over 300 attendees and only 6-40 people would show up. This leaves unsuspecting ambassadors and consuls who mean well with losses and frustration. InterNations have successfully labelled and deemed their purported ambassadors and consuls as volunteers in a cunning attempt to make profit on their backs as they put in the hours and days to plan, organize and execute events with their own money, time, skills and reputation. Since InterNations have cleverly deemed them as a volunteers they are convinced that, they are shielded from any liabilities that may or may not befall their ambassadors and consuls; they on their own whilst they continue to reap profits from their sweat. If you are new to any city or country, the hotels and restaurants have championed event organization and it is much more fun. You don't need any platform that promises you heaven and earth in order to get their hands on your credit/debit card information! BEWARE OF INTERNATIONS. The purpose of every business is profit albeit interNations draconian methods call for serious concerns and immediate regulation. Members in Europe ought to be applying and seeking redress through the ECHR against InterNations.
Posted 1 year ago
InterNations GmbH is rated 1.29 based on 66 reviews