Npower Reviews

1.1 Rating 393 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Npower
1.1
Based on 393 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.1 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
2 minutes
Read Npower Reviews

About Npower:

npower is one of the UKs leading energy companies providing gas and electricity to over 6 million customers.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Npower made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
One word USELESS!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
NPower are profiteering scammers. They raised our standing charge and capacity charges by almost 800% and hid the prices rises in tiny text, so we wouldn't notice ... nor did they give us time to change suppliers before they hit us with phenomenal bills. Ombudsman was powerless to do anything about it too, saying they have no remit to ensure fair prices! Complaints are brushed off. Just avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Started off great with fixed rate and then after one missed payments I was taken off fixed rate and promised a second higher fixed rate ...within a couple months later I was told I was not on a fixed rate and they complained i was using more tthan I was paying and increased my payments once again (£270) and then once again to nearly £350 per month yet I was hardly home to use that amount per month, after all im not running a Restaurant......Scottish Power Meter Readings are a scam , they don't investigate properly, not helpful and someone must have been pocketing my cash I'm sure ..so glad to see the back of them !! Stay Clear ..you'll have sleepless nights.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They are absolute scammer! They asked you to pay for things even when you don't own them any money. Stay away from them!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely poor customer service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Charge me 1 and £1000 for power when I was in contract and paid a different company. Refused to cancel telling me to ask the other company for a refund to pay them horrible
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
i was with this company for over 10 years , the bills just kept creeping up. i had the biggest shock when they said my monthly bills were going up to £400 in may 2018. in the same month i had a bill saying i was in credit by £3000. it didn't make any sense because soon after i had another bill saying i owed them over £1400....i was at my witts end at this point, the stress and anguish was horrible. i phoned them numerous times and was always fobbed off with answers that didn't make sense. i finally left them in November 2020. At one point ,they had the nerve to cancel my direct debit without my consent and they blamed the bank ,saying it wasn't them but to call my bank. i am in the process of going through the energy ombudsman to see if they can look into this . i phoned to ask for an update with the Eomb today , and i was told that they have offered a letter of apology and a good will gesture of £100, to which i kindly declined and the lady on the end of the phone couldn't have agreed more and they are going to investigate it further. i am not a fan of npower and looking at previous reviews on here i believe we all have suffered the same treatment.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
single parent and disabled being made homeless by Npower who claim I owe £35,000… As a single parent and disabled with a disabled child. I am appalled that Npower suddenly hit me with a £35,000 bill and refused to talk to me about it. I put in several complaints, all ignored. I contacted ombudsmen and they told ombudsmen to not get involved. and worst of all they wont talk to me and are now threatening to steal and sell my house to get the money back! there is obviously a problem, yet they wont look into it. They have wrong information and wont put it right. and as a single person in a 3 bed house, I cannot physically run up £35,000 electric bill! I am at my wits end, they know I am disabled and all they did was send the bill in larger text which doesnt help or explain anything. This is discrimination against he disabled and against human rights. And to top it off they have blocked all my attempts to communicate with the CEO or try to approach anyone higher up in the company. Their entire attitude is "You owe us, and we are taking the money one way or the other" there is no care, understanding attempt to help? There is no acknowledgment they could be wrong and for a disabled person it just adds to the pain and stress I am already going through and makes things worse.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
totally rubbish company in uk, they double charge prices to customers. and no care without discount . they charge electric 30p.kwh, 100p per day for standing charge. i hope this company closed now. now now.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I've been with n power for the last 3 years. I set up a direct debit and was always in credit. Only after viewing my statement from my bank i realised no payments had been taken by n power! When i rang to enquire about this, they said my dd had been cancelled!, and not by me! Please be careful everyone as this could have led to debt out of control! I'm so disappointed and looking elsewhere as I've had no apology!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Absolutely worst customer service ever! shame they part of eon now... never going back!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I was advised to increase my direct debit to £111 from £100, but if I want to keep it the same, I could. I chose to keep it at £100, which they confirmed on the APP. Few days later, I had a message thanking me that I've agreed to change my direct debit to £111 and they have moved my pay date to 15th, even though my preferred date was 1st!! Can't get through on the phones, or the chat. I felt I had to cancel my direct debit, and I'll make a payment on the 1st, they will soon contact me when they realise their direct debit has failed. Disgraceful service--Kathy 30/1/21
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I stayed in a house for 2 months just renting room when I came to this country as Studnet, I don’t know how they got my details and sent me letter for 1 year bill to my other house. When I don’t even registered for anything. Absolutely a scam
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Switched to N-Power Select as they were best priced. However, priced low for a reason. You will never be contacted, you will never speak to customer services or a manager, you cannot get through on the phones and will also never be contacted once you've completed the 'website call me back service' . I'm astounded a company can be so poorly ran. Waiting for my contract to finish!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
These people are fraudsters trying to charge me for electricity before I even move in the house and before the property was up for rental. They even opened an account in my name 3/4 months before I moved in; like I stated before the property was up for rental. They now are refusing to talk to me as the bill is in dispute and they are also charging me for debt collectors who haven't been to the house. Yes even when there is an official complaint on going they still send the debt collects out. The solicitor I spoke to stated do not pay the bill until this is resolved as doing so means that you agree to the agreement and as such at the moment as there is a dispute in progress there are no agreements and as such NPower can not do anything. I have even told them to take me to court about 8 times - they refuse- wonder why???
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Complete rip off! After being a customer with Npower for many years they decided to start charging me a ridiculous amount a month, triple to what I was paying previous even though I work 6 days per week and never had my heating on due to being in a flat it wasn’t needed. After ringing numerous times to discuss this, customer service couldn’t care less, took my complaint further and they still didn’t take it seriously. So I left and found about company who now charge me a much more reasonable monthly amount. Avoid!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Two appointments not kept. Altogether 8 hours wasted. Telephone complaints incompetent and rude custpmer service manager, often cut off, kept on hold. Avoid like the plague.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Ive been with NPOWER for six years, and I can say they took a lot of money from us. They charged me 125pounds a month which we did not used much of our heater and electricity because we are working 4 days to 5 days a week from 8am to 8pm. When I moved in other house i switch to AVRO which is more reliable and cheap. My advise is dont get npower they will rip you off. Read the reviews is very bad. Sad that I only know when i search them in google about their reviews. Shame company
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Probably one of the best rip off merchants out there! Horrendous customer service and nothing thought it loyalty. I have been with them for 13 years and ended up paying £220 per month instead of £67 which I am currently paying with my new provider! AVOID, AVOID, AVOID.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Rude and incompetent customer service. Avoid them at all cost!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Npower is rated 1.1 based on 393 reviews