Opus Energy Reviews

1.1 Rating 110 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Opus Energy
1.1
Based on 110 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Opus Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Daylight robbery. Sign up to a contract and then change the tariff a few months in.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Opus energy are profiteering scammers. Recently taken over the lease on a new small business unit, the energy was out of contract and while I arranged a new contract for energy supply to the unit I was charged £160 for a period of just over a month with 60 units of electricity use at 39p per unit. The other charges were meter charges. We have a much larger premises with them which uses significantly more energy and due to the poor conduct I'll be switching immediately when the current contract expires.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I have never paid such high electricity bills before with any other providers. DAY LIGHT ROBBERY!!!! Stay away from OPUS!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
As a screaming warning to others, we took on the lease of a new business premises in November, we had no notification as to who the energy supplier was, no detail on the meter, nothing ...!!!! So waited to receive notification. A bill dated 25.12.23 was posted in an envelope date stamped 28.12.23 which arrived on Saturday 6th January 2024. Seeing a standard daily rate of £3 we tried to call but couldn't until today (Monday) as they do not accept weekend calls. The outcome, for new customers even though there is a 6 week delay between them starting to supply you and then getting in touch to say they are your supplier they still adhere to the £3 a day standing charge, they say all energy companies do this (I do not know as this is our first business lease where we need to pay for our own energy). So in our case we have to pay 60 days standing charge at £3 a day = £180 to cover the days a premises sat empty with no energy usage until their bill arrived, we were able to query it and a new supplier taking over on the 11th January. I didn't realise daylight robbery was a thing within business but apparently it is, there is nothing you can do except pay it and learn a very very expensive lesson. It took 25 minutes holding this morning to speak to someone, they in turn put me through to someone else only for that call to be cut off and then another 10 minutes to hold to speak to someone else and now a 5 day wait for them to produce a final bill with the correct reading we gave them and send us our final bill. Thankfully from the 11th they will not be our supplier and they never will be again so posting as a heads up for anyone else in a similar situation or considering using them as a business energy supplier. For reference they offered to reduce the standing charge to 64p a day (other companies around the 54p level and British Gas Lite 45), KwH for Electricity quoted at 29p again British Gas offering cheaper. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID, AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Opus Energy are scam merchants - I tried to transfer an account from one Company that I used to own to a new Company and was told after a month that I could not and that I was on ‘deemed’ rates whatever they are ? Nothing had changed at all apart from my standing charge that had increased from 60p to £10 per day ? There seems to be nothing I can do as no one will speak to me ? It has been nearly four months now so it looks like I will owe £4K rather than £900 ? They should be struck off ! What an awful company !
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This company is run by Indian staff, and I suspect their work ethics are zero. They don't have a manger to complain to when asked to speak to a manager. I tried to complain to the company believing that they had ellicit with another scam agent to sign me up with Opus. They had closed my current supplier account on my behalf.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Absolute joke of a company ripping people off wouldn’t recommend if the last company on earth
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
They took off my metre off and told me that a new metre will be replaced. I had the children and olderly lady staying at the property. When I spoke to the metre replacement team I was told that they had made a 24 hour appointment. Then I beg them to connect the metre but they told to to wait. It’s 16 hours without electric. Now there offices are closed. Extremely poor and unprofessional service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The whars company
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Was not informed my contract was ending… Was not informed my contract was ending which then went from £60 per month to £400 When I’ve rang to complain they said they sent “a letter” out, so one letter which I didn’t receive (how can you rely on the postal service if it isn’t recorded) plus she confirmed they don’t send email reminders yet I get an bill emailed each month.. Why ? Seems it’s a scam to get you to pay extortionate amounts. Whether or not I’m on a fixed rate I didn’t give permission to take money out of my account. STANDING CHARGE WENT FROM £1.35 to £17.84 a DAY !!! I’m speaking with citizens advice and currently reaching out to the financial and electrical ombudsman plus trading standards
Opus Energy 1 star review on 12th October 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Purchased a business property in April'23 upon receiving the keys only to find Opus had forced entry and removed both the Electric and Gas supply as previous owner Lee Sutton (MyEnergi) had outstanding debt. After a long drawn out battle (sometimes 2 weeks to get a response from Opus) to get the meters re-installed Opus requested Gas Reconnection Cost - £408.52. Electric Reconnection Cost - £408.52. Deposit amount: £500.00. Total to pay: £1,317.04 (coincidentally exact amount the previous owner owed). We paid them on 23rd June'23. Meters where booked to be installed 4th August'23! Engineer phoned two days before and moved reconnection date to Friday 11th August'23. When the engineer eventually arrived they only installed the electric meter. We contacted Opus again only to be told they are no longer providing gas meters (yet they took the money from us for the re-connection! 10 working days to receive a refund) This left us unable to use the business property for 14 weeks. We are now left in a position where we are unable to get a gas meter installed as Opus has the old meter/MPAN number and Opus are refusing to allow us to move electric suppliers (without any explanation). How an energy company can conduct business like this without consequence is a mystery, the lack of urgency or communication is truly unbelievable, the long term devastation to a small business like ours is unforgiving.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Run AWAY ! 1 star is too much We have been on the phone 15 times with Opus with followed up emails and they are asking un £800 for 1 month of electricity , have have sent meter reading religiously with PROOF and everytime they said they will update the invoice and they DO NOT. We have been at this for 4 weeks and now they have the cheeks to send the debts collectors !!! WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER , do not make the mistake to give them an inch of business !!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I have an apartment within a company and have dealt with Opus for 11 years. Originally they were ok. Yesterday I discovered they were charging me 88p per Kwh unit of electricity!. Other suppliers quote 28p. A year ago they charged 25p, then increased to 55p then in April to 88p. I complained they had failed to write to me about the increases - but they feel a notice on the invoice buried in their hard to use portal was enough. Transparency - Zero !. Having been a loyal customer for 11 years they suggested I should leave to get a better deal elsewhere..! The fact they made a pre tax loss of £12.9m in 2022 and another £4.3m loss in 2021 in their accounts is little surprise Dreadful charging structure, lousy customer empathy, a company that no sensible person would deal with. 1 star seems generous.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Opus Energy are an utter disgrace! They have made two HUGE errors on my account both with the gas and electricity. On both occasions, they have admitted fault but it has taken weeks and weeks to sort out at a huge cost of my time. They have accused me of lying about the gas meter and sent two people to investigate, but still didn’t get the problem sorted. They have also not been taking the meter readings from our smart meter and charged us a fictional amount. They send out people to read the meter, but these meter readings are then submitted. Once realising their error they have “back billed us” over £3000. They are rude, unhelpful and take weeks and weeks to reply. With profits over £400MILLION in 2021 they are greedy beyond belief. As a small business we struggle with the huge price increases on everything. Rather than supporting small companies and doing what they can to help, they just demand their money, to the detriment of us even though it is their mistake! I understand all energy companies now rob their customers but our bill has increased by over 100% plus the money we owe them because of their error. I’ve been on the phone with them, they cut me off and have never phoned back. They also ring up with no prior knowledge of the complaint that has been raised and waste my time. Once our contract is up I will never go with them again! I understand all utility companies are shocking with not enough staff, but OPUS are so lazy do not care! AVOID!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Worst customer services ever experienced, I have been trying to leave for 3 months now since contract ended and went to extremely expensive variable rates but they keep blocking the move and won't answer emails etc. Obviously to screw me out of more money at the higher rates. Avoid at all cost.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Thief dishonest and careless customer service took them 13 working days to get back to me I have to call them 4 times until I get a response and there response was I was responsible for paying bill from March but they have backdated to February because the other tenant company was dissolved in February they can’t bill him but he was under contract but they have charged me extra money because that 3 months was not under contract instead of charging old company they charged me which is already been paid by him what they did three refunds him the money and charges me for that period because they can make extra money absolutely disgusting company
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
THEY TOOK £7700 OUT OF OUR BANK ACCOUNT FOR SIX WEEKS OF GAS SUPPLY STATING THAT IT WAS OUR FAULT FOR NOT PROVIDING A METER READING. THERE IS NO WAY WE COULD HAVE USED ALL THAT GAS IN SIX WEEKS. ASKED FOR REFUND SAID WOULD TAKE 7 WORKING DAYS. RANG AGAIN AND THEY SAID THEY NEED A PICTURE OF THE METER BEFORE THEY WOULD REFUND THE MONEY. NEVER ASKED THAT BEFORE. JUST PUT OBSTACLES IN THE WAY OF ACTIONS. AGREE THAT NO TWO DEPTS SPEAK TO EACH OTHER AND THEN BLAME THE CUSTOMER FOR THINGS GOING WRONG. AVOID AT ALL COSTS
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
AVOID THIS COMPANY. THEY ARE ROBBERS. THEY OVERCHARGE AS ESTIMATE YOUR BILL THOUGH YOU SEND IN METER READINGS. THE CHARGES ARE COMPLETE ANOMALIES AND THEY HARASS YOU TO PAY UP EVEN THOUGH I DISPUTED THE CHARGE. THE DEPARTMENTS DO NOT COMMUNICATE SO THE CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT DOES NOT DEAL WITH THE BILLINGS DEPARTMENT SO ANY ISSUES ARE JUST NOT RELAYED. COULD NOT SAY ANY STRONGER DO NOT USE THEM!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Robbing company please avoid - lesson learnt never say yes to anything over the phone they lock you into a 4 year contract without even realising! they constantly use estimated bills then decide to send a bill off £300 as a catch up bill even though we send meter reading every month! We have evidence of this also! Terribly long waits on reply on email - i refuse to call them as last time I did that const me nearly £30! AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Opus appointed bailiffs to collect their debt before sending their Bill. Never use this dishonest , despicable company.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Opus Energy is rated 1.1 based on 110 reviews