PandaTree Reviews

4.9 Rating 294 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend PandaTree
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Really amazing tutors who work to engage even the youngest kids! There are a few formatting issues that I wish were different- the tutors can type in words you're learning but it's hard to scroll down to see while staying engaged with the lesson. Also, this program would GREATLY benefit from an app to make learning between lessons much easier, especially for kids to do on their own. As it is now, it's a website that's cute but not particularly easy to navigate. An app would make it a lot easier to review, listen to songs/see lyrics, etc. Truthfully we go to youtube to find songs/videos with subtitles to review/reinforce what we learn during lessons because it's easier to navigate. That said, the instruction/interaction is AWESOME!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Engaging teacher. Kids enjoy the class! Had some technical difficulties but their customer service was very responsive and helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
My 2.5 year old daughter looks forward to her Chinese lessons. She likes playing the games and printing a colouring page between lessons.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Flexible to use. Hope to improve :* Some tutors are good, some are not very impressive. * If there is an app instead of Non-Apple browser ,will be even better.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
PandaTree is a convenient and affordable platform that has connected us to a very qualified teacher. We receive constant feedback and track progress weekly.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My daughter needed a way to keep up with her Mandarin speaking and listening skills after the pandemic shut down her Chinese Immersion school. This was a great and easy replacement, though only offering 25 or 50 min lessons, and though online learning is difficult for young children to sit down and participate in, these sessions really help my daughter keep up her language skills. Her younger brother is now learning from these lessons as well. It really helps to have a credit option where you can choose a date and time that works for you and your family. Having the ability to choose tutors after reviewing their bio is helpful too. We started off with the complimentary lesson first to break it in, and it worked out so great, we are returning customers! The only things that could use improvement are technology. The games sometimes have a glitch in that it doesn’t say the Chinese word for some of the vocabulary that the user needs to match it to. Some of the matching word games also aren’t age-appropriate for my children who don’t know how to read fully yet (ages 2-5). Also, the games and the lessons’ “stuff to do” assignments are limited in that the teachers cannot assign coloring and puzzle piece games they can play during lessons, but rather, the assignments are only matching games. This gets old quickly for my kids. But all in all, we love PandaTree!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Our experience with PandaTree has been fun for our 10 yo son. It was hard to find a venue for learning and conversation because our son is quite advanced (6 year history in a bilingual education setting). Most other programs are very introductory for young kids or they are more advanced but boring. Our son loves his tutor, Erik, he is funny and engaging, patience and encouraging. We hardly realize learning is happening,... but it is!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We’ve really enjoyed using PandaTree. Very flexible, good quality instruction, and a very user friendly interface.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My son has had 3 classes so far and has really liked them all! We’ve used 2 different tutors, and both were very encouraging. There are decent materials for practicing outside of the class. We are still in the very beginner level learning stage but the classes are engaging and he looks forward to class each week!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Fantastic for younger children!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My son loves his teacher and you can't beat the one on one experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We have been taking classes with Panda Tree for two years. We found a teacher that my kids love. They seem to be improving the curriculum which is great. I have a million suggestions for them on additional ways to improve the curriculum because it still needs a lot of improvement. (I am an ESL teacher) But of all of the online Spanish schools we have tried, Panda Tree is our favorite.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I'm really happy with the overall experience with using PandaTree as a platform for my 8-year old to learn Mandarin. Heng is the teacher we have and he is very good. The teachers seem very experienced teaching children online and using tools to make the sessions interactive. After the session there is also a summary of the lesson so you know what the child has learned. The only minor point I have is that sometimes the platform doesn't work properly and we need to reconnect. The overall learning experience with PandaTree is great!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We love panda tree. We use it for our 5 year old to start learning Spanish. I do wish the tutors were more kid friendly for virtual learning, such as using props or funny hats. One tutor we found does this, and my son loves her. When she is not available, he doesn't want to do class as other tutors are boring to him. Related to this, when his favorite teacher is gone, there is no warning, note when she will be back, or at to contact her about her return. Is she gone forever? A week? It's a problem because she is the tutor my son wants. In general, the program is nice. My son does want to learn more useful things though (preschool class is colors and animals).
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The convenience of learning at home can't be beat! Our son has a creative, energetic and positive teacher. I think his listening skills have improved a LOT since the past year of lessons, but I still don't hear him speak much.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We are very happy with Panda Tree! Our daughter has been learning Chinese On this platform since she was 3 years old. She has formed a great relationship with her teacher, Yang! Thank you, Yang for the great weekly classes! All the teachers we have tried have been great and our daughter enjoys her weekly sessions a lot. She retains a lot of vocabulary. We hope our daughter will continue enjoying Panda Tree and gain herself this third language
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My daughter really enjoys her lessons. She started at 3 and is now 5 and we've done them off and on over the years. For us its for fun and to give her exposure to other language sounds (Mandarin). When she's older she can choose to take it more seriously or back away! We may also add Spanish or switch to Spanish at some point.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My 4 year old son loves these Spanish classes, and he loves his tutor Aileen. He always asks when he can do his panda lesso. Otherwise, he doesnt really like Spanish :) So glad we found something he enjoys! One thing though is that it is a bit repetitive, though that might be because we dont do the lessons on a regular basis. We'll plan to do that!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Great once you find the right tutor.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
PandaTree has been a wonderful resource for my 3 year old son who is learning Spanish. The content is very appropriate for his developmental level and the platform is friendly and inviting. Our tutor is warm, friendly, positive and patient! Costumer service was was very quick to respond to me when I emailed them expressing interest prior to purchasing classes and they provided me with a free trial no strings attached! It was the preschool level 1 class so we basically received a free class. Here are some things I would love to see happen as the company develops their platform over time: -Tutors wearing headsets for clearer audio and constant sounds. I am an in-line ESL Teacher and our company requires us to wear headsets so the student can hear every speech sound. It would also be really nice for the tutors to slow way down and use more exaggerated hand gestures. -More frequent rewards throughout the lesson specific to the individual child’s interests. My child is 3. It is a struggle for him to remain engaged in an online setting. Having a reward every few minutes (especially when he participates well) would really help reinforce that engagement. -The ability to access replays. Sometimes we can see one or two of the most recent class replays but often we can’t see the videos or audio that was played within the lesson. It would be wonderful to be able to access all of the class replays and see and hear all of the songs and videos played within the lesson. -The ability to leave feedback or communicate in someway with specific tutors. I would love to be able to share concerns or even proud moments of my son using Spanish naturally between classes with his tutor. It would be a great way to build rapport with the tutor and help her adapt the lesson specifically for my child. If there is a way to do that, I haven’t found it yet. There is a general feedback form at the end of each lesson, but it is not clear who receives it or who I am writing to. I hope the company will be responsive and adapt based on parent feedback. Overall our experience has been very positive and I would and have recommended it to other parents!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
PandaTree is rated 4.9 based on 294 reviews