Pong Cheese Reviews

2.16 Rating 32 Reviews
28 %
of reviewers recommend Pong Cheese
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read Pong Cheese Reviews

About Pong Cheese:

Pong was created to bring customers in the UK some of the very best cheeses produced by the leading independent and artisan producers, complimented with some classics from Europe.<br /> <br /> At Pong we believe cheese is the greatest gift of all. We sell a large sel?

Visit Website

Phone:

0844 745 3065

Email:

hello@pongcheese.co.uk

Location:

17 Prospect Place, Camden Road

Write Your review

Tell us how Pong Cheese made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I first ordered with Pong cheese in April 2020 and again in May 2020 and was happy. I then placed an order in early December 2020 for my Christmas cheese. The advice on their website was to order your Christmas cheese a couple of weeks before so it has time to ripen, so that's exactly what I did. Unfortunately when my cheese arrived, 2 out of the 3 had use by dates before Christmas - one was best before 17th Dec, the other the 23rd. In fact, one was so over-ripe by Christmas that it was inedible and had to be thrown out. I emailed Pong twice about this but they couldn't even be bothered to reply. I posted a comment on their social media that they deleted. Needless to say, I won't be ordering again.
Posted 16 hours ago
I am hoping that several Christmas gifts of Pong cheese that I have ordered will be of the same high standard as I have experienced previously. However I was surprised at being charged extra for a delivery to Aberdeen which was said to be in the Highlands and Islands! I have queried this but have had no reply. Many of my friends live in the North of Scotland but I will hesitate to order from ‘Pong’ in the future.
Posted 1 month ago
I purchased this gift for my parents as a Christmas present last year. I was looking for something different and with me living in the USA, buying for them is never easy. Seeing as they are both foodies, I thought this would fit the bill. I purchased an annual subscription, where they would receive a box of cheese every other month for a year. The boxes never failed to appear on time, and were always met with delight from my elderly parents! They would always call me to let me know what they received and how much they enjoyed it. I couldn’t be happier with the service I received from Pong Cheese (great names btw!), as they were always responsive to my questions and never failed to answer promptly. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a unique gift.
Posted 2 months ago
Awful customer service
After my cheese box not having been delivered I rang them. I then got the following email:

"Hi there

Sorry to hear youve not got your Pong box.

We've got it as signed for by a 'A Jay' but having checked the geo-track of where the courier left it, it looks like its at 7 xxxxxx Road! We're so sorry about this - we're investigating as to why this has happened. The road is just over xxxxx
Park from you so it might be easier if you could go and collect it? Otherwise the couriers collecting it and bringing it to you might take until Monday or Tuesday. If this is a problem we'll send a new box for you early next week

Attached is a photo of the door and the signature at no 7. It has a white door"

The address was actually 90 minutes walk away. That I was expected during lockdown to knock on a strangers door to retrieve a box of cheese is ridiculous. I sent a chase up email 1 week ago and am still awaiting a response
Posted 7 months ago
Very disappointed. I ordered a birthday present for a friend and paid the extra for a Saturday delivery. The package not only arrived on the Thursday it was delivered to my address rather than my friends. Given the current lock down I was unable to travel the deliver the present to my friend. I called Pong twice and was assured of a call back which never came. I then contacted them via FB and was told that I must have typed the address in wrong ! and that was that! Shocking customer service! Certainly wont be wasting my money on using them again!
Posted 8 months ago
Very surprised at some of the reviews on here! I had a subscription for about a year, as well as one off boxes before that. Not a single problem with any delivery. Always well packaged, freezer packs inside kept cheeses cool. Only one cheese I found not to my taste, but that’s my own opinion and not reason to give a low review! Had some superb cheeses and only stopped subscription due to pregnancy! Hoping to treat myself to the New Mum pack at some point next year!
Posted 1 year ago
I received a 'new mum' cheese gift from a thoughtful friend and was incredibly impressed. Not only was it very well packed (with shredded paper we have since put on the compost) but 5ge cheeses were great and far better than anything I can find locally. I have since bought as a gift for my sister in law who loved it and will be buying again. Would highly recommend for anyone with an appreciation of really tasty cheese :)
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered £29 box monthly subscription.
Cheese included were worth less than £12 retail value.

Packaging inappropriate, some of the cheese had taken a gooey consistency and the harder cheese had gone sweaty, due to the incompetant packaging.

The date on the cheeses had very short shelf life, one had less than a week to consume.

Would in no way recommend this company.
Posted 1 year ago
This is a duplication of the previous entry
Posted 1 year ago
I purchased the £29 monthly box subscription. I wasn't expecting to want to write a review but I'm so disappointed, here it is,

1The total retil value of the cheeses received was less than half this, approximately £12.

The packaging the cheese were sent in was entitrely inappropriate. A standard non insulated box with a few cool packs that had completely defrosted in transist.

One of the cheeses, a type of brie had turned to a gooey mess, the remaining cheeses looked sweaty and unappealing because of the temperature.

This is completely unacceptable, and avoidable.

My final gripe that would otherwise be a non-issue had the cheese been ok is that there was an absurd amount of junk mail included in the package.
Posted 1 year ago
We've only just received your email telling us that your Premium box sustained damage in transit and we, as we have said in our reply to you, are more than happy to send out a replacement. The packaging has been routinely tested for durability and temperature in accordance with the FSA and our own quality requirements. Sometimes if the box is mis-treated in transit then the packaging can become compromised and in these rare instances, if the contents are affected we will send a replacement. You've not given us the opportunity to do this and also you're wrong about the retail value; the box you received had 5 cheeses with a total retail value of £30 plus a delivery charge of £5 and given that you had 50% off your first box, we think that represents a great deal!
Posted 1 year ago
I received my Pong selection as a Christmas present & for 5 months after so I cannot comment on price. The delivery driver was prompt, always on the day specified & being retired always found me at home. He was also polite.
Most of the cheeses were nice to very nice(Kaltbach Creamy was so nice I could eat it on its own) There were two/three that did disappoint but overall a good selection.
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely unusual cheeses - we had a problem in that the courier squashed our first box through our letterbox and Pong immediately sent us a wonderful replacement box which we really appreciate. Also ordered a box for my brother who lives in Switzerland and it was delivered really speedily.
Posted 1 year ago
One Delivery left outside so spoiled

Other cheeses are very short dated and often unfit for consumption, eg over salty or rancid
Posted 1 year ago
Gift ordered over a week ago still hasn’t arrived.
Delivery company first say are “unable to locate the address” which is nonsense then say there was no one at home now according to the tracking system they tried to deliver at 00.00!
Rang Pong cheese and either they leave you hanging on the phone or a disinterested receptionist says someone will call you back which they don’t.
Very disappointed and will ask for a refund.
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible. My wife ordered cheese to be delivered on 21/12/18 for a friend's birthday. Did not arrive. Tried to contact them by phone on 22/12/18 - no answer. Tried emailing - got an email telling us they are closed until 3/1/19. What sort of company that sells things that are popular at Xmas would close down 4 days before Xmas? Unbelievable!!!!!
Posted 2 years ago
I don't often leave reviews but after the amazing service I received today it is only fair I do so.

I had got my dates wrong on my cheese delivery and organised a get-together on said wrong dates. I called Pong and spoke with their customer service and they expedited my order a week early at no extra cost to myself. Correspondence was great over the phone and via email - I really felt like they went out their way to make this happen for me.

Every previous delivery has been successful, every cheese delicious. We're over the moon to be honest!

Thank You PONG
Posted 2 years ago
Poor delivery service - this is perishable food and it is left in direct sunlight, left on doorsteps in full view of the street and on one occasion left on top of a drain so the box was soaking wet when i arrived home
Posted 2 years ago
Great cheese - if you receive it!!!
Ordered in November for Christmas. Delivery never arrived and when queried Pong offered to send in the New Year! Declined and asked for a refund which never arrived. Chased and chased and eventually received my refund. I have used previously and the cheese was lovely. Unfortunately their delivery company lets them done and so does their customer service.
They have lost me as a customer and would never recommend them.
Shame as great idea.
Posted 2 years ago
I signed up for the 'Cheese Club' and clicked the 'NoGoatsCheese' option, I then decided to up it to the 'Premium Box' at an extra cost not realising at the time that it meant my previous 'NoGoatsCheese' choices would be cancelled and were essentially pointless,

I received the box and the first cheese I see is 'Goats Cheese' and all the other cheeses were all the same type (Soft Cheese) which didn't reflect the many kinds of cheeses the website advertises,

I contacted them 3 times over 2 weeks about my order and was told they would call me back but no one did, After another call, I was told a manager would call me but instead, I received an email from customer services suggesting I order a different box next time,
Pong Cheese Club

So I ended up paying extra money to receive the very thing I did not want and the selections in the box were basically all the same,
I'm really disappointed with the company and won't be using them again.

(but should point out the cheese arrived in decent packaging and was of a decent quality)
Posted 3 years ago
The procedure to cancel a subscription is deliberately unclear. It feels like an attempt to force you into one more delivery. I'm almost sure my subscription is now cancelled, but any more packages are going straight back.
Posted 3 years ago
Still waiting for £ back.
Posted 3 years ago
Pong Cheese is rated 2.16 based on 32 reviews