Pong Cheese Reviews

2.00 Rating 29 Reviews
24 %
of reviewers recommend Pong Cheese
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read Pong Cheese Reviews

About Pong Cheese:

Pong was created to bring customers in the UK some of the very best cheeses produced by the leading independent and artisan producers, complimented with some classics from Europe.<br /> <br /> At Pong we believe cheese is the greatest gift of all. We sell a large sel?

Visit Website

Phone:

0844 745 3065

Email:

hello@pongcheese.co.uk

Location:

17 Prospect Place, Camden Road

Write Your review

Tell us how Pong Cheese made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Awful customer service
After my cheese box not having been delivered I rang them. I then got the following email:

"Hi there

Sorry to hear youve not got your Pong box.

We've got it as signed for by a 'A Jay' but having checked the geo-track of where the courier left it, it looks like its at 7 xxxxxx Road! We're so sorry about this - we're investigating as to why this has happened. The road is just over xxxxx
Park from you so it might be easier if you could go and collect it? Otherwise the couriers collecting it and bringing it to you might take until Monday or Tuesday. If this is a problem we'll send a new box for you early next week

Attached is a photo of the door and the signature at no 7. It has a white door"

The address was actually 90 minutes walk away. That I was expected during lockdown to knock on a strangers door to retrieve a box of cheese is ridiculous. I sent a chase up email 1 week ago and am still awaiting a response
Posted 3 months ago
Very disappointed. I ordered a birthday present for a friend and paid the extra for a Saturday delivery. The package not only arrived on the Thursday it was delivered to my address rather than my friends. Given the current lock down I was unable to travel the deliver the present to my friend. I called Pong twice and was assured of a call back which never came. I then contacted them via FB and was told that I must have typed the address in wrong ! and that was that! Shocking customer service! Certainly wont be wasting my money on using them again!
Posted 4 months ago
Very surprised at some of the reviews on here! I had a subscription for about a year, as well as one off boxes before that. Not a single problem with any delivery. Always well packaged, freezer packs inside kept cheeses cool. Only one cheese I found not to my taste, but that’s my own opinion and not reason to give a low review! Had some superb cheeses and only stopped subscription due to pregnancy! Hoping to treat myself to the New Mum pack at some point next year!
Posted 10 months ago
I received a 'new mum' cheese gift from a thoughtful friend and was incredibly impressed. Not only was it very well packed (with shredded paper we have since put on the compost) but 5ge cheeses were great and far better than anything I can find locally. I have since bought as a gift for my sister in law who loved it and will be buying again. Would highly recommend for anyone with an appreciation of really tasty cheese :)
Posted 10 months ago
Ordered £29 box monthly subscription.
Cheese included were worth less than £12 retail value.

Packaging inappropriate, some of the cheese had taken a gooey consistency and the harder cheese had gone sweaty, due to the incompetant packaging.

The date on the cheeses had very short shelf life, one had less than a week to consume.

Would in no way recommend this company.
Posted 1 year ago
This is a duplication of the previous entry
Posted 1 year ago
I purchased the £29 monthly box subscription. I wasn't expecting to want to write a review but I'm so disappointed, here it is,

1The total retil value of the cheeses received was less than half this, approximately £12.

The packaging the cheese were sent in was entitrely inappropriate. A standard non insulated box with a few cool packs that had completely defrosted in transist.

One of the cheeses, a type of brie had turned to a gooey mess, the remaining cheeses looked sweaty and unappealing because of the temperature.

This is completely unacceptable, and avoidable.

My final gripe that would otherwise be a non-issue had the cheese been ok is that there was an absurd amount of junk mail included in the package.
Posted 1 year ago
We've only just received your email telling us that your Premium box sustained damage in transit and we, as we have said in our reply to you, are more than happy to send out a replacement. The packaging has been routinely tested for durability and temperature in accordance with the FSA and our own quality requirements. Sometimes if the box is mis-treated in transit then the packaging can become compromised and in these rare instances, if the contents are affected we will send a replacement. You've not given us the opportunity to do this and also you're wrong about the retail value; the box you received had 5 cheeses with a total retail value of £30 plus a delivery charge of £5 and given that you had 50% off your first box, we think that represents a great deal!
Posted 1 year ago
I received my Pong selection as a Christmas present & for 5 months after so I cannot comment on price. The delivery driver was prompt, always on the day specified & being retired always found me at home. He was also polite.
Most of the cheeses were nice to very nice(Kaltbach Creamy was so nice I could eat it on its own) There were two/three that did disappoint but overall a good selection.
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely unusual cheeses - we had a problem in that the courier squashed our first box through our letterbox and Pong immediately sent us a wonderful replacement box which we really appreciate. Also ordered a box for my brother who lives in Switzerland and it was delivered really speedily.
Posted 1 year ago
One Delivery left outside so spoiled

Other cheeses are very short dated and often unfit for consumption, eg over salty or rancid
Posted 1 year ago
Gift ordered over a week ago still hasn’t arrived.
Delivery company first say are “unable to locate the address” which is nonsense then say there was no one at home now according to the tracking system they tried to deliver at 00.00!
Rang Pong cheese and either they leave you hanging on the phone or a disinterested receptionist says someone will call you back which they don’t.
Very disappointed and will ask for a refund.
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible. My wife ordered cheese to be delivered on 21/12/18 for a friend's birthday. Did not arrive. Tried to contact them by phone on 22/12/18 - no answer. Tried emailing - got an email telling us they are closed until 3/1/19. What sort of company that sells things that are popular at Xmas would close down 4 days before Xmas? Unbelievable!!!!!
Posted 1 year ago
I don't often leave reviews but after the amazing service I received today it is only fair I do so.

I had got my dates wrong on my cheese delivery and organised a get-together on said wrong dates. I called Pong and spoke with their customer service and they expedited my order a week early at no extra cost to myself. Correspondence was great over the phone and via email - I really felt like they went out their way to make this happen for me.

Every previous delivery has been successful, every cheese delicious. We're over the moon to be honest!

Thank You PONG
Posted 1 year ago
Poor delivery service - this is perishable food and it is left in direct sunlight, left on doorsteps in full view of the street and on one occasion left on top of a drain so the box was soaking wet when i arrived home
Posted 2 years ago
Great cheese - if you receive it!!!
Ordered in November for Christmas. Delivery never arrived and when queried Pong offered to send in the New Year! Declined and asked for a refund which never arrived. Chased and chased and eventually received my refund. I have used previously and the cheese was lovely. Unfortunately their delivery company lets them done and so does their customer service.
They have lost me as a customer and would never recommend them.
Shame as great idea.
Posted 2 years ago
I signed up for the 'Cheese Club' and clicked the 'NoGoatsCheese' option, I then decided to up it to the 'Premium Box' at an extra cost not realising at the time that it meant my previous 'NoGoatsCheese' choices would be cancelled and were essentially pointless,

I received the box and the first cheese I see is 'Goats Cheese' and all the other cheeses were all the same type (Soft Cheese) which didn't reflect the many kinds of cheeses the website advertises,

I contacted them 3 times over 2 weeks about my order and was told they would call me back but no one did, After another call, I was told a manager would call me but instead, I received an email from customer services suggesting I order a different box next time,
Pong Cheese Club

So I ended up paying extra money to receive the very thing I did not want and the selections in the box were basically all the same,
I'm really disappointed with the company and won't be using them again.

(but should point out the cheese arrived in decent packaging and was of a decent quality)
Posted 2 years ago
The procedure to cancel a subscription is deliberately unclear. It feels like an attempt to force you into one more delivery. I'm almost sure my subscription is now cancelled, but any more packages are going straight back.
Posted 2 years ago
Still waiting for £ back.
Posted 2 years ago
The last of three deliveries as a gift from daughter overseas. I have complained already about poor delivery service by courier company and their couldn't care less attitude. Previous two orders straight in the bin as the packing was so hot the cheeses inside had melted. Having complained, there is a note on the front of today's box that clearly states "PERISHABLE IF OUT LEAVE IN PORCH OR WITH A NEIGHBOUR". Needless to say my wife and I were out and when we came back, sitting on the front door step, in the full early morning sun, one smelly cheese box. Not 12 inches away from where it was left is a cupboard that is clearly not locked with PLENTY of room inside to leave a small box.

So a gift has been ENTIRELY wasted and the money paid also WASTED and this package WASTED as it has gone straight into the bin.

You people do not seem to have learned anything!!
Posted 3 years ago
The last of three deliveries as a gift from daughter overseas. I have complained already about poor delivery service by courier company and their couldn't care less attitude. Previous two orders straight in the bin as the packing was so hot the cheeses inside had melted. Having complained, there is a note on the front of today's box that clearly states "PERISHABLE IF OUT LEAVE IN PORCH OR WITH A NEIGHBOUR". Needless to say my wife and I were out and when we came back, sitting on the front door step, in the full early morning sun, one smelly cheese box. Not 12 inches away from where it was left is a cupboard that is clearly not locked with PLENTY of room inside to leave a small box.

So a gift has been ENTIRELY wasted and the money paid also WASTED and this package WASTED as it has gone straight into the bin.

You people do not seem to have learned anything!!
Posted 3 years ago
Poor customer services
Posted 3 years ago
Pong Cheese is rated 2.00 based on 29 reviews