Reliable Moving & Storage Reviews

4.78 Rating 110 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Reliable Moving & Storage
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Reliable Moving & Storage made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Tried to book a moving date for a week ! Was constantly told different dates communication was really bad! At short notice everything it eas changed again and made me cry ! in the end I cancelled and looked for another removalist !
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the service that you have received from Reliable Moving & Storage. Without this type of feedback we will never improve.

Firstly let us take this opportunity to apologise again; it is never our intention to leave a customer disappointed.

Secondly we have been in business for over 25 years, servicing thousands of clients every year. Our unique booking system allows you to select a provisional move date in advance & we don’t take other work that will prevent us being available; this allows you to go ahead and exchange in the knowledge that you have a removal company booked in for your chosen date. If a suggested date is already fully booked we offer our customers other available dates that can be held.
Short notice changes can be very difficult for us to cater for; we do, where possible, change our operational plans to allow for last minute bookings, cancellations and postponements. Again we are truly sorry that we couldn't assist you with your move this time.

We hope that your move went smoothly with your second choice of removal company.

Thanks again,
All at Reliable
Posted 1 year ago
Valerie Anne Campion
· December 19, 2017
Move did not go well. Completed at the eleventh hour due to buyers solicitors negligence so had keys BUT the removal men decided not to work after 4.30pm leaving me with only the clothes I stood up in. Refused to move me until Monday and charged £508 for storage.

Although my daughter finally persuaded them to move me on Friday afternoon they still charged the extra £508. I feel I have been taken advantage of by this greedy removal company. Their van was outside my new house when the monies were transferred but they chose to take my goods back to their depot, which was 20 minutes down the road and unload them there.

I would never recommend RELIABLE REMOVALS to anyone.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Mrs Campion,

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with our Company. We are deeply sorry to learn of your on-going bad-feeling towards us.

Unfortunately when a completion doesn’t go through until after 17:00, We cannot force our employees to start work & carry on working until late at night.
In these circumstances we endeavour to deliver your furniture at the earliest possible date. Fortunately, we were able to complete delivery the following day at a reduced cost of £420 + VAT. Overnight storage charges or warehouse handling charges were not applied.

As discussed, your costs may be recoverable from the solicitor at fault for the delay. We will provide any supporting evidence to assist your claim.

Please be assured that your comments have led much discussion and that we are using them positively to improve our business going forward.

Once again, we wish you the very best for the future in your new home.

All at Reliable Moving & Storage
Posted 2 years ago
How disappointing! Great service even on the day but damage to furniture they are disputing even tho photo was taken on day & we were told lorry was too small hence why it was all crammed in! A damaged handmade footstool costing £700 needs remaking and been offered £100! Referring to their insurance company & still nothing since 31 Aug! Our advice don’t use them if you have nice stuff!
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments. I have had the opportunity to review your file & investigate the issues raised.

Please note that we do not dispute that damage occurred to your footstool which constituted a small dirty mark and a loose thread. Our offer to have the item professionally cleaned & repaired was declined by yourself, and as such the matter was then referred to our insurance provider for their consideration.

I am saddened that the matter has still not been resolved by them & this is far from the high standard of service that I have come to expect from them. Please be assured that I have personally taken the matter up with the Director and that this point will be considered before renewal. I hope that you will soon have a conclusion to your claim and that the matter will be closed.

I am somewhat disappointed that this matter has impacted your rating so heavily - you have referred to the great service you received on moving day itself.

However any feedback is good feedback & I thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Please be assured that we continually review our processes and service provision & will use your feedback to assist us in this endeavour.

Yours Sincerely

Jon Atkinson
General Manager
Posted 2 years ago
Even though Reliable removals and storage were the most expensive of the companies we had quote for us we opted to go for them because they promised they had 12 trucks and therefore were more flexible on removal date. We had a horrible chain with the guy had the top threatening to pull out all the time, so once a date was decided we couldn't move it.

We explained all this to Reliable and they said it wouldn't be a problem, so we went ahead with them and paid £100 deposit for the packing materials. The boxes arrived (all used) which I thought was a little odd considering we paid for them (the other removal companies were going to include the packaging material as part of the original quote). We received all the paperwork and had to choose to paid extra for insurance (again all the other companies included this as part of the quote).

Anyway, we finally got a removal date and rung them up to officially book it in and was told they couldn't do that date (we gave them 2 weeks notice). I was in tears on the phone explaining the situation, but they said they couldn't do anything.

We ended up cutting our losses and going with another company, who were cheaper and could commit to our date without a problem, and were great on the day. So we ended up paying £100 (non returnable) for lots of used boxes.

I can't comment on their actual removal service because we didn't end up using them, but please be aware if you are looking for flexibility, they may not be able to deliver on what they promise.
Posted 3 years ago
Mrs Weston,

Thank you for taking the time to review the service that you have received from Reliable Moving & Storage. Without this type of feedback we will never improve.

Firstly let us take this opportunity to apologise again; it is never our intention to leave a customer disappointed.

Secondly we have been in business for over 25 years, servicing thousands of clients every year. Our unique booking system allows you to select a provisional move date in advance & we don’t take other work that will prevent us being available ; this allows you to go ahead and exchange in the knowledge that you have a removal company booked in for your chosen date. If a suggested date is already fully booked we offer our customers other available dates that can be held.

We held 3 different provisional dates for you and unfortunately on the 4th date that you wanted to hold we were already fully booked. We are empathetic with your situation, but cannot control other people in the chain or their demands.

Thirdly, it is not our policy to send out damaged/poor condition boxes. With regards to them being used, we purchase recycled boxes as and where possible. Please bear in mind that each move requires on average 40 boxes and we undertake over 1500 moves a year; if we were to supply brand new boxes for every move we would be going through over 60,000 boxes a year (not good for our planet I’m sure you will agree)!

Again please accept our apologies and we hope that you are now enjoying your new home.

Regards David
Posted 3 years ago
The amount of furniture etc was underestimated by their own employee in fact it took 11 more car loads to clear even though we took some of the items ourselves several days earlier the firm tried to say it was because not all items were boxed but the very hard working delivery men showed us the lorry was full nothing else could be taken the fact that items were not boxed wouldnt have made any difference at all. Phone calls were not returned as promised. Even though i told the firm the home phone would be cut off to use my mobile they insisted on trying the home phone then sending an email to an address which also was not to be used (luckily i could still use the email). The phone staff were rude. Wouldnt recommend unless you want damaged items. (Safety can only be assured if you use their packing service) Dont pay for the insurance it does not cover items unless the lorry or van is in a road accident. Overall I would not recommend.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to comment on your move experience. All reviews and comments are important to us. If all reviews were good, we would never be able to improve our business.


We have discussed these points with you at length via the telephone, but respect your prerogative to share your experiences on the Internet.


Firstly, It is true to say that no estimate, in any industry is perfect but in this instance we recognised that the medium sized (7.5 tonne) vehicle would not be adequate for the entire contents of your home, albeit a close run thing. You agreed to transport the remaining contents yourself rather than accept the higher quotation for the larger vehicle and additional crew member. Clearly you have worked hard to get the remainder across to your new home. In hindsight, we would have preferred to have transported the entire consignment.


On a typical 1 day (A-B) removal, our team has to remove all contents and safely load a vehicle in around 3 hours. The size of team and vehicle(s) we provide is commensurate with this aim. We are sure that you will agree that 3 hours is a small window and as a result, it is vital that all loose contents and personal effects are packed into boxes prior to work commencing. If things are not packed into boxes that are suitable for handling and loading we will struggle to fulfill our service mandate within the time available and the resources allocated. As with all things, preparation is key. Not only is removal expedited, but we are better placed to fill the available space if we are loading uniform sized boxes rather than cartons with no tops, bags and loose items.


With respect to Insurance, a removals & storage policy is not unlike any other insurance. Insurers will not accept responsibility for items with pre-existing damage (irrespective of repair) or the contents of boxes packed by the owner PBO). To clarify, If a set of glasses/ crockery is packed into an unsuitable carton / bag / container with insufficient protective material, the insurer would place the onus for any damage on the packer, rather than the movers. These points are highlighted in the policy summary issues to all clients at the point of quotation. There are two ways to get around this: A) employ us to pack your goods or b) pack goods with sufficient materials in sturdy cartons (preferably provided by us).


We have apologised for the perceived communication errors throughout your moving process, It is far from our intention to come across as rude - please be assured that we will strive to improve this area of our business.


Obviously, We are disappointed that you have such negative comments to share, however the Internet is an open forum for consumers to share their opinions and experiences, good and bad. As we say, poor review is as important to our business as a good one.


Nonetheless, we wish you all the best in your new home and for the future.

Regards David
Posted 4 years ago
Reliable Moving & Storage is rated 4.78 based on 110 reviews