Swinfen Hall Hotel Reviews

4.73 Rating 105 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Swinfen Hall Hotel
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Swinfen Hall Hotel made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
We use the Restaurant at Swindon Hall regularly and on two occasions have used the hotel facilities as well. The recent meal experience at the Hall was marred by the distinct impression that staff were leaving in large numbers and that those left were having to fill the gaps on short notice and with little or no relevant experience of the tasks they were covering. We enquired further and it appears the loss of staff is due to shambolic and chaotic organisation for events by the Hall management. We only decided to submit this review, as we would like Swinfen to get back to being a venue of true quality and unless the owners are actually aware of an issue, how can it be remedied?
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Mr Collins,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests, as it really is important to us that each and every person has an enjoyable stay. It appears on this occasion that this was not the case, and please do accept my apologies for this. I will look into this further and certainly pass on your feedback to the rest of the management team. I sincerely hope that you will come and see us again soon and give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events manager
Posted 6 months ago
This is an exceptional hotel. It’s one of the hidden gems of the Staffordshire area.
Wonderful rooms, exceptional staff and magnificent and innovative food.
Having stayed at some wonderful hotels around the World it is fantastic to have such a high class establishment on my doorstep.
I am always amazed at the innovation of the Head Chef. Each and every time we dine here we are wonderfully surprised at the delicious dishes the kitchen have created.
Be it for dinner, afternoon tea or a stay do give Swinfen a try, you will not be disappointed.
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Mr Timmis,
Thank you so much for your review and kind words about Swinfen Hall. It is so nice to read such positive comments about the staff, food and surrounding of the hall. We very much look forward to seeing you again and making your next visit as memorable as the last one.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 6 months ago
Stunning location.service was outstanding,felt very valued as a customer.
Posted 6 months ago
Good morning Ms Hill,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Every comment is extremely important to us and we really do appreciate feedback from our guests. I am really pleased that you said the service was outstanding and that you felt valued. We know we are doing our job well, when people leave here feeling happy! Do keep an eye on our website www.swinfenhallhotel.co.uk as we have some very exciting events taking place throughout the year, gourmet dinners, sex and the Tudors, tribute nights, Christmas Party nights and so much more! See you again soon hopefully!
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 6 months ago
We love staying at Swinfen Hall Hotel- everthing is perfect- we look forward to may more visits.
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Gail,
I am so m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 6 months ago
We purchased the gastronomic package plus as additional night as a Christmas present for my parents. We all had a lovely time. The rooms were delightful. Super clean, spacious and well furnished. The tasting menu with paired wines on Saturday was excellent and it was lovely to meet the chef. Throughout the weekend all the staff were friendly, attentive and looked after us impeccably. We will be back.
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Catherine,
Thank you for your review. Our packages are just great, aren't they? I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.
Please keep an eye on our website www.swinfenhallhotel.co.uk and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 6 months ago
I attended Swinfen Hall on Saturday, 29th February to celebrate my friend's special birthday. We had afternoon tea in the lounge, sitting comfortably in front of an open fire. The food was delicious and the staff were very attentive. We were allowed to stay as long as we wanted - unlike some venues I have been to where there was certainly a feeling of being 'rushed' through! I have not been to Swinfen since they hosted my daughter's wedding in April 2017 but I can honestly say that everything is still excellent and I can highly recommend!
Thank you to all of the staff.
Posted 6 months ago
Very enjoyable. Lovely surroundings, great food and atmosphere
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Patricia,
Thank you so much for your review. The Hall sits in a 100 acres of stunning parkland and if you come again in the Spring or Summer, it is definitely worth a walk around the grounds.
Afternoon tea in the terrace is a must during Summer! The terrace looks out across our deer park and it is so peaceful and tranquil out there. We look forward to seeing you sometime soon!
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
www.swinfenhallhotel.co.uk
Posted 6 months ago
We had an excellent week. Everything was more than we expected. A very welcoming place. The staff is very attentive to your needs. It is a quiet and peaceful place and still quite close to so many things you could visit around.
A big thank you to all and we will certainly choose Swinfen Hall if we need to stay in that area. Thanks again.
Posted 6 months ago
Good afternoon,
Many thanks for your recent review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words ti everyone here. We very much hope to see you in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 6 months ago
A lovely old fashioned and rare type of hotel, much appreciated.
Very attentive service with bed turned down, fruit and special coffee pods in the room and case carried to room, really lovely attention to detail.
Breakfast served as ordered beautifully presented.
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Mr and Mrs Gillman,
Thank you for your review. Your kind words about the finer details are appreciated and we hope that you will return and come and see us again soon. Our website, www.swinfenhallhotel.co.uk has lots of information on it about upcoming events so please do have a look now and then and let us know if any evens are of interest to you.
Kind regards
Joanne
Reservations and Events manager
Posted 6 months ago
Very friendly staff and lovely stay
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you for your review. I am please you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please keep an eye on our website www.swinfenhallhotel.co.uk to see all of the exciting events we have coming up.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 6 months ago
Amazing looking building but fell short on the small details. My room was nicely decorated but felt stuffy. The hot water in the morning didnt work and I had to run the shower for 5-10 minutes before it came through, then it went again halfway through my shower. The staff who checked me in were very attentive, but in the morning there was only one staff member around, so I had to leave without properly checking out (as the staff member on reception had to go and make a cup of coffee for another guest?). For me, not worth the money and I wouldn't stay again.
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Mr Tickle,
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback seriously and appreciated guests comments. We do not want any of our guests to leave Swinfen unhappy and i am every sorry to read , that it appears in this instance, that you did.
Due to the size and age of our building we do have very long pipe runs and it can take 5 or 10 minutes for the hot water to come through, however why it then ran cold again, i do not know and can only apologise for this.
We would appreciate the opportunity to rectify your feelings about staying here again and ensure you leave us feeling much happier next time. Please do ask for me direct should you wish to give us this opportunity.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 6 months ago
After several visits to Swinfen (including our wedding reception ten years ago!) we haven’t got a bad word to say. The hotel is beautiful, the staff attentive and the food & wine delicious. Highly recommended!
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Mr and Mrs Meah,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 6 months ago
Excellent service in quiet, peaceful surroundings.
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to read that you appreciated the stunning setting of Swinfen Hall and the relaxed atmosphere that goes along with this. We very much hope to see you again. We have lots of exciting events coming up this year such as gourmet dinner, tribute nights, afternoon tea events, so please do keep an eye on our website for more information, www.swinfenhallhotel.co.uk.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 6 months ago
Our visit for afternoon tea was exceptional.
From first point of contact through email, I felt I was professionally looked after.
The venue itself is absolutely stunning, clean, comfortable, elegant.
We were well looked after as soon as we arrived, all staff were very professional, polite and couldn't do enough for you.
We all felt like we had been treated like royalty.
Food was beautiful and my mum who is gluten free was also catered for. She really enjoyed her fantastic gluten free afternoon tea and for once didnt feel like she had missed out as many other venues do not cater for her or lack creativity when it comes to gluten free food.
We thank you all for a wonderful afternoon and will certainly be back.
Your staff really do you credit.
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Laura,

What an amazing review, thank you so much. I am delighted that you felt so well looked after from the first email right up to the point you were leaving. We try our upmost to give guests a memorable experience and it seems that we are succeeding! Chef will be delighted to read that you appreciated his gluten free food and that your mum did not feel like she had missed out. I have passed on your kind words to the kitchen team.
Please do keep an eye on our website, www.swinfenhallhotel.co.uk as we have many varied and exciting events coming up that you may enjoy. We are holding a couple of tribute nights later in the year too, as our George Michael night in January was a huge success.
See you again soon!
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 6 months ago
We had an excellent afternoon tea. The sausage roll was the best we have ever tasted. This is the 3rd time we have had afternoon tea at Swinfer, all gifts from our children. Hopefully we will get many more.
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Mrs Clews,
Thank you for your review. We always get amazing comments about our sausage rolls, i must try them myself sometime! We also very much hope that your family continue to purchase vouchers for you and we very much look hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events manager
Posted 6 months ago
My husband and I had a delightful afternoon tea and a couple of glasses of bubbles to celebrate his birthday. Excellent service. Delicious food, especially the scones. Will definitely return in the very near future. Thank you
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Jane,
You cannot beat a couple of glasses of bubbly for a birthday treat! I am delighted that you both enjoyed celebrating your husbands afternoon tea here at Swinfen Hall. Please keep an eye on our website as we have many exciting events coming up and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon. With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events manager
Posted 6 months ago
Lovely staff and great service in a lovely setting. Visited for afternoon tea.
Posted 8 months ago
Dear Mr Davies,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. It is so nice to read that guests appreciate the surroundings and service provided by Swinfen Hall. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon. Take a look on our website www.swinfenhallhotel.co.uk to see more things going on at The Hall.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 8 months ago
Every time we visit Swinfen Hall, we get 5* Service, food and atmosphere from the moment we walk in. The bedrooms are amazing too, with lots of lovely touches- fresh milk delivered to your room on request. We cannot wait to visit every year for our Anniversary and start our Christmas at Swinfen. Its Magical! Thank you to all the staff it has such a family feel. Our wedding was amazing a year ago and the standard always remains. Highly recommend for any occasion!
Posted 8 months ago
Dear Lucy and Craig,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is a pleasure to welcome you back to celebrate your anniversary. Long may this continue! Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 8 months ago
Swinfen Hall is an amazing place with excellent customer service, however, we felt there could have been more sandwiches, with a wider selection and less cakes. Other than that, there was an excellent astmosphere and our waitress was very attentive and friendly, along with the reception staff.
Posted 8 months ago
Dear Ms Curran,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We really do appreciate all guest feedback as it helps us to understand the areas we can improve in. We very much hope that you will come and see us again soon.
Happy New Year to you.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 8 months ago
Best cream tea we have ever had!
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Dechaine,
Many thanks for your review. I am pleased to hear that not only did you enjoy your cream tea, but the best you have ever had, wow amazing! I will pass on your kind comments to our Pastry chef. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 9 months ago
Swinfen Hall Hotel is rated 4.73 based on 105 reviews