Swinfen Hall Hotel Reviews

4.73 Rating 105 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Swinfen Hall Hotel
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Swinfen Hall Hotel made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Nice venue, pleasant workforce. Room spacious , everything one might wish for . Bathroom looking tired and could be improved with update taps especially !
Posted 6 months ago
Good morning,
Thank you for your review. I will be sure to pass on your feedback about the bathroom. Your kind words about the staff and the hotel are appreciated. We have a lovely team here at Swinfen, and we receive lots of lovely comments about the staff, so thank you.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 6 months ago
Swinfen Hall is an amazing place with excellent customer service, however, we felt there could have been more sandwiches, with a wider selection and less cakes. Other than that, there was an excellent astmosphere and our waitress was very attentive and friendly, along with the reception staff.
Posted 8 months ago
Dear Ms Curran,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We really do appreciate all guest feedback as it helps us to understand the areas we can improve in. We very much hope that you will come and see us again soon.
Happy New Year to you.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 8 months ago
Dinner was superb and breakfast very good.
The room was chilly when we arrived and took some time to warm up. Perhaps the thermostat could have been turned up in advance of our arrival.
Anyway, an excellent hotel in a beautiful location and we will return.
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Mr Austin,
Thank you for your review. I do apologise that the toom felt chilly on your arrival and we certainly take on board the suggestion to turn the heating up a notch before you arrival. It is difficult as lots of guests don't like to the rooms too hot, others may feel the cold, but we will certainly endeavour to make sure rooms do not feel chilly on arrival. I will pass on your kind words the chef reference dinner.
We very much look forward to seeing you back at Swinfen Hall soon.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events manager
Posted 9 months ago
Beautiful hall, with lovely views of the deer.
Afternoon tea was very nice, especially the scones, it was very peaceful and Xmas trees were beautiful. Will go in summer next time so we could walk around grounds.
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we very much appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you in the Summer where you can sit on the terrace and enjoy the peace and tranquility!
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 9 months ago
We were treated to afternoon tea at Swinfen Hall as an anniversary gift. We booked 3 months in advance and requested the seat by the fire (wintry day expected!). Unfortunately our fire side seat had been given to another group because they were 3 and we were only 2. We were not happy with this, however the hotel staff kindly laid the table in the entrance hall so we could sit by the fire there. A blast of cold air hit us each time the main door was opened, but that was not too frequently.
The food was excellent, food intolerance were allowed for and the tea was lovely. Staff were helpful and accommodating. Just a shame the original request was not honoured.
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Julia,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the food and tea that was served to you when you came for afternoon tea. I can only apologise that your request to sit by the fire was not communicated, but it is good to know that staff found another fire for you to sit by. We very much hope that you will return to Swinfen again soon.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Stayed for one night on route to Devon. Very pleasant and very nice touches. Good attention to detail. We did not want the tasting menu and the a la carte menu was quite limiting and took a while! Breakfast was very good. Staff in general very good. Room very pleasant but would have liked some slippers and also the bathroom light was faulty and the towel rail was not working!
Posted 10 months ago
Dear Ms Boyd,
Many thanks for your review. I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Perhaps offering slippers is something we can look at moving forward, I will discuss this with our Head Housekeeper. I do apologise that the towel rail was not working. If you stay in the future and there is a problem with anything, please do mention this to one of the team and we will try our upmost to rectify any problems or move you into a different room, if at all possible.
We very much hope to see you again at Swinfen Hall.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 10 months ago
Lovely elegant and historic boutique hotel set in well maintained gardens and parkland. Excellent dinner with innovative menu in restaurant and very pleasant and helpful staff. Bedroom and public rooms well furnished and beautifully decorated in period style. Bathroom on edge of need for update but adequate. Overall an enjoyable stay and would recommend and return.
Posted 11 months ago
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your review and kind words about the Hall. We very much hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 11 months ago
Magnificent mansion house hotel in extensive countryside setting. Warm welcome received and a very friendly team on hand. We arrived late due to a long train then car journey and the staff were waiting for us to check in and show us to our rooms. The room itself was clean and comfortable with good quality bathroom and choice of toiletries en-suite . Unfortunately my door wouldn’t lock from the outside (room 213) and so I had concerns about security when leaving the room for breakfast the next morning . It didn’t detract too much from an otherwise comfortable stay.
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Mr Thompson,
It is so nice to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here at Swinfen Hall Hotel. We try our very hardest to offer all guests a warm, homely welcome so I am delighted that it was very much appreciated by you. I apologise for the issues you experienced with your bedroom door and glad it didn't detract from your visit. We hope to see you back at Swinfen Hall Hotel again very soon.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 11 months ago
The approach to the Hall was impressive, the welcome at the door was nice as we had not been before and were a bit lost. All the staff were very friendly and polite They made us feel at ease. The food was excellent and plenty of it and good assortment, the only thing for me was that I would have liked a little more savoury sandwiches, but that’s a personal that just me .we all had a lovely time. Thank you.
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mrs Whitehouse,
Many thanks for your recent review. We really do appreciate people taking the time to give us feedback from their visits. It is nice to read your kind comments about the team here at Swinfen Hall, and I will certainly pass this on to the rest of the team.
We very much hope to see you again sometime soon.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 1 year ago
No thanks. I don't want to.
Posted 1 year ago
Very nice accommodations. Spacious room and outstanding staff. The only disappointment - a big one - was the tasting menu. Microscopic proportions that were just ordinary at an exhorbitant price.
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mr and Mrs Morris,
It was a pleasure to meet you both on your recent visit. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments about the tasting menu and I am sorry that you felt the portions were small and over priced. I will be sure to pass this feedback on.
With my kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 1 year ago
The Sunday was excellent from the warm welcome to the outstanding meal , service , room and cleanliness of the place but unfortunatly the Monday morning only scraped by as being acceptable breakfast was sadly disappointing in the way it was served and definatly not up to the standard expected also I don't know if there was a sausage shortage or if its your usual policy but people were refused a extra sausage even when they weren't having all of the other items on offer. There seemed to be a shortage of staff around the hotel being on hand to offer assitance in the morning and on checking out .
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mr and Mrs Marshall,
Many thanks for your recent review. We really do appreciate all guest feedback from their stay, and negative comments certainly help us to look at improving areas moving forward. I am pleased that apart from breakfast, you enjoyed your meal and the warm welcome you received. I will pass on the feedback to the rest of the team. We very much hope to see you back at Swinfen Hall soon.
With kind regards
Joanne Stephens
Reservations and Events Manager
Posted 1 year ago
Swinfen Hall Hotel is rated 4.73 based on 105 reviews