Card One Banking Reviews

1.68 Rating 57 Reviews
16 %
of reviewers recommend Card One Banking
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone
Read Card One Banking Reviews

Phone:

0871 811 1881

Location:

cardonebanking, PO BOX 3634

Write Your review

Tell us how Card One Banking made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (Optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Cost a fortune to send money to other accounts. Charged a monthly fee even though they do NOTHING FOR you. THE MONTHLY FEE IS ON TOP OF THE FEES YOUR CHARGED EVERY TINE YOU LOAD YOUR OWN MONEY AND EVERY TIME YOU CHECK A BALANCE. THEN THE PHN BILL IS ANOTHER BILL TO PAY ON TOP AND EACH TEXTRO THE BANK IS CHARGED BUT NOT COVERED BY THE BANK. SO IT COST ME MORE MONEY TO GET ACCESS TO MY OWN MONEY THAN EVER IMAGINABLE. ITS A JOKE!!!!! They never ever send your wages or money to your account like normal banks do. I end up phoning them every month because i cant get to work because they have completed the transition to load in into my account. Then once its in my account i then have to pay 11p - 15p text message to and also 15p bank fee to load my own money then I have to wait up to an hour before i can access my own money. Then all these bank feesfor checking my balance loading my own money all mounts up each month. Then on top i have a heafty phone bill each month for checking my balance and so on. Most times money disappeares out of my account. Actually for several years on a weekly basis this happened. Some times after complaining the money would magically re appear. But 9/10 wouldnt. My bank has also been hacked several times and had large volumes of money taken from my account. Then had to get new ARM cards which i had the wait 2 weeks for. Staff are useless and rude, wont do anything to help. My money goes in on the same day every week but most times i cant even see it in my account until the end of the day, meaning i have no money to get to work. I once had the wait 6 hours in the snow at a tram stop after a 11.5 hour shift, until my money was actually loaded. The card machine goes down and money disappeares taking nearly 10 days to get it back. I haveseveral years of evidence to everything i say. I have 6 years of printed text messages and account balances where there is questionable behaviour. I STRONGLY WOULD NOT EVER RECOMMED THIS EXCUSE OF A BANK.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Been with them bout 3 years dont really like the 12:50 month an 1:50 every withdrawal think the transfer fee is bad but apart from that not been to bad until today. What transaction normally clears for me next day is still down as pending 4 days later an wen foned them they sed cud take upto 12 days??? Whys this ???,
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
AVOID AVOID AVOID I wish I could leave a negative review. We opened a business account, had a VAT repayment one month ago, and the balance is still showing zero. Can't logon EVER using security questions set up, so you have to ring them - they have confirmed the receipt of the money from HMRC but still over one month later, zero balance in account so we cannot get the money. 11p a minute to ring, they keep you hanging on the phone and we will be closing this account as soon as HMRC have updated our records. Fortunately it's not a great deal of money, but why should they have it! We paid £55 to open the account, and why should they have a penny more for such an appalling lack of 'service'. As far as I am concerned they have STOLEN our money, and I shall NOT let this drop. AVOID AVOID AVOID
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Absolute nightmare.....took them 15 days to refund me 240 quid that they kept in a holding account that should have being sent to my landlords on the 10th.....then they blocked my card so what bit of money was left in my account I couldn't use to feed my child.....and now I'm due to be paid today the 3rd and over 1200 quids not being processed....but its okay clearly hey it's not like I've direct debits and other bills to pay.....avoid at all costs I've had nothing but stress from these lot.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Took them 15 days to refund 280 quid to me cos they sent two payments for 140 to my landlords well when I say sent to my landlords it was in a pending account for that length of time, then they put a block on my card so what bit of money I did have I couldn't use to buy food for me and my daughter and now my incomes meant to be in today (3rd) and it's not cleared so those direct debits due out and other stuff I need to purchase wont be happening will it...yet again let down by this farce of a "bank" do NOT for one minute think I'm paying any fees...financial ombudsmans getting ANOTHER call.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
It's a Joke I get money paid in ti my account n ouldnt get it as the number to ring is 08 number it's a scam carnt log in on line banking no one to get hold if to speak it's a scam
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This bank has been great for me over the past 7 years. My only negative comment would be with the cost for instant transferring. My account was hacked, they had stopped the card before I rang to inform them all on the same day, and refunded the money immediately on returning the fraud forms.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Avoid this banking service . Moved a basic personal account to them big mistake. After 6 weeks they closed my account with no notice and no reason . Total waste of time . No one every responded to my complaint about compliance . They clearly do a search and mess you around if you have bad credit.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Took money deposits. Refused to pay out. Then closed the account. Then said they could not give any more details about why the account was closed or how to access my funds. I list thousands.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Always found the customer service staff efficient and friendly. One bad thing and many people have commented on this is the time it takes to clear a chegue, 8 days, so they hang on to our money to get interest. Not happy about this part of cardonemoney
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I have recently opened a business account with card one banking. It has been straightforward and easy to use . This is an honest and genuine review. Many thanks to the patient and awesome customer service team. From Sophia (JagAppliances)
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I have been with this bank for 9 years and have never experienced a problem. Customer service are polite and efficient. Yes, it is expensive to call but they have to make money to operate as they are not earning interest. I can't fault them.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Card One Money is OK while things are going smoothly, though the £1.50 charge for drawing money from an ATM is nothing short of ridiculous. Some revewers here talk of NO BANK CHARGES. Rubbish! Card One charges £12.50 per month for an individual account and £17.50 for a couple (for the additional card). You have to pay £3.50 for a paying in book (Cheques or cash) but the cheque clearance time is absurd at 8 working days. If you want to make an instant bank transfer it costs £7.50. Phoning their customer helpline costs 36p a minute, 25p pence minute standard network charge and 11p per minute charged by Card One. I recently had cause to phone them to change some details and by the time I had got through and my matter dealt with the cash balance on my phone was reduced by £3.24. Their live chat facility is ONLY for attracting new customers. You cannot access that to deal with your banking matters. Not the most helpful of payment services either. Even if your card is stolen they take £3 off your account to replace it. Their internet interface is pretty user-friendly; not difficult to navigate. In summary, when things are going well, then it would score 3 when not going so well 2.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Never notice the small monthly payments, Love the helpfulness from the Customer Service, love NO BANK CHARGES, been with this company for a few years, and never have any problems with them, MUCH PREFER THIS TO THE HIGH STREET,
2 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
It's terrible they charge taking 12 fee everyday bits of money seem to disappear 5 pound here and there now another issue 250 has gone there was an issue there end there saying it's the atm fault funny tried it in 2 ATMs still said issue with card so angry can't keep calling 11p per minute
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
CLOSED MY BUSINESS ACOUNT TOOK MY £55 ASKED WHY THEY SAID BUSINESS DECISION I MEAN FINE HOW EVER ` I DO NEED TO KNOW WHY 5. WHAT DESION IS THERE THAT I MAY NOT BE ALLOWED FOR I BEIVE THEY JUST WANT TO KEEP A FIRM THAT PROFITS THEM BY COMMISSION AND TO SCAM U FOR £55 MY ADVICE GO WITH TIDE OR ANOTHER ITS FREE NO ISSUE UNLESS YOUR BUSINESS IS A SCAM THEN GO WITH THEM AND GET WHAT HAPPENS AVOID THEM AVOID THEM
2 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
What I see here is a lot of people taking there mental health out on a reviewing site complaining about the fees when they are very upfront and clear about them, that I will not understand. I can honestly say they deserve the 5 stars as I cannot complain about a single thing, bank transfers that are sent to me are received instantly, the online banking system is great and my card arrived within the stated time (3-5days), I think everyone is being abit too emotional in these reviews and it shoud be rated a lot lot higher than 1.3 that's for sure.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Is it possible to give this a minus star review! Possibly the worst bank I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. I honestly don't even know where to start with the list. Talk about make it difficult to send/receive money, they put barriers up at every turn and charge you for the inconvenience. Even when money finally 'cleared' in my account, they told me it hadn't and the account had been locked down, making it inaccessible to myself and my business partner. The money was rightfully paid to our account and CardOne banking were withholding it. The customer services team were less than helpful, with the calls to their helpline being expensive and charged astronomically for having to call them to sort it out! They don't update you with details of your account being put on lock down and I was told they can't call everyone! No - but Natwest or HSBC can notify you by email - what a revolutionary idea! Even when money shows as cleared, you are then told it they are withholding it and every cheque, money transfer, BACS etc is convoluted, takes days to clear at a cost implication to yourself and the process is far from user friendly. I would not rate this bank in the slightest. Additionally, my colleague phoned for assistance with the online account and it took nearly 2 weeks for them to send another password letter out meaning she was unable to move money or pay herself until such time as receiving new login details. The cheque books cost you money for issuing if you require more than one and not to mention that you can't pay in cheques over £500 in any one week which is not conducive to working with a client who insist on paying by cheque only. Cheques also take a whopping 8 working days to clear extending the standard cheque clearing time by 3 or more days! When my client paid money into my account they negated to provide all the beneficiary details and consequently CardOne locked my account and were asking to see all invoices for the amount paid in. This is completely unnecessary and unjustifiable. So long as the client could agree the money was rightfully placed in our account and confirm the figure of money, there should be absolutely no need to send each and every invoice to justify payment! What a ridiculous tedious and massively unnecessary process just to be paid the money you are owed! AVOID AVOID AVOID!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Closed my business account for no valid reason. Asked why because it had only been open a week said some about being a business decision even thought they had just taken my £55 joining fee.Total SCAM BANK STAY AWAY at all costs. F#%#€* joke.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Never give a feedback before, but i feel obliged to avoid others being excessively charged, and experience terrible customer service. Beware of what the telemarketer told you, it is not as it is meant to be. Please do not feel pressured to sign up at all and do not believe what they say over the phone
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Card One Banking is rated 1.68 based on 57 reviews