Covea Insurance plc Reviews

1.28 Rating 29 Reviews
7 %
of reviewers recommend Covea Insurance plc
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Covea Insurance plc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
They really don’t deserve any star’s.
Someone ran into me in Feb.
I wanted the van repaired,but insurance said they wrote it off.
It’s a con!
I’m sure they must sell them on to a dealer to repair and make money.
They want me to except a faction of the book price.
If I go out tomorrow and buy the same van,it will cost me three times what Iv been offered.
And it wasn’t my fault.
I’m going to ombudsman!
They don’t answer calls or email for weeks,then blame covid,they say
No one is in the office.
I’m sure they would be if your taking a new policy out.
Posted 4 weeks ago
After accident it took almost a week to receive a reply. Police, witnesses, garage all agreed it was not my fault, but Covea having only seen the pictures I took said their ' engineers ' said t was my fault.simply to make more money. Covea are SAGA's insurance company and they are hardly rated either and very expensive. Why They are the dodgy insurers. Read other revues and be careful looking at the dodgy revue sites also , but even there thy get 46% bad and 45% good. and its obvious where the ' good ' reviews come from. Beware I am now dealing with the Ombudsman , trading Standards, and others. These clowns are allowed to do as they wish. But we must all join and fight such corruption.
Posted 1 month ago
Seriously a terrible company and with a terrible reputation.SAGA use them, so also beware. Only good reviews are their own. They took a week to start dealing with my little emergency. The service was slow, cold uncaring and difficult. Communication limited indeed. Their agents dealing with the car removal took months to take it from the local garage. I told them the garage would charge after two weeks. Very fair, however they tried after months to take the car without paying. Even their agents are bad ! Seriously be careful of Covea and SAGA

I am taking them to the Ombudsman and law. They blamed me for the accident when the police and local garage said it was definatley not my fault and there were accidents there 2 or more times a week ! I took dozens of pictures ( I am a photographer ) those alone showed the situation. They used my pictures not the scene to say it was my fault. We all know why make more money by a firm that lost £24m by the new director in a year.
Posted 1 month ago
My accident happened in december 2019 the other party declared it was their fault yet my car is only now being repaired (August 2020).

Absolute joke, they reply to emails every two weeks or so and your datbon hold for ages before you can speak to someone, who always cannot help and asks you to email the claims team.

To top it of they are only repairing some of the damage and not all as originally agreed.

Should have looked at the reviews before using this company
Posted 1 month ago
Dreadful to deal with , I'm going through a claim on mortgage protection , I was previously with Paymentshield I would give them 10/10 for service but they now have past insurance side to Covea , you give them information they request then yo here nothing , when you ring up for an update they say they want more information, this claim now is week 9 and I've have to find 2 mortgage payments, ide advise to seek insurance elsewhere
Posted 3 months ago
Dreadful, unprofessional and incompetant. I am not able to claim as I am not ill enough with terminal cancer!
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely dreadful and dishonest company. Told me a blatant lie regarding a professional report (which they said they would rely on in court), turned out that this was not the case at all. Avoid at all costs
Posted 4 months ago
Based on my previous / past experiences with the company and in particular in view of my telephone call/conversation today; if i could deduct a star or leave no stars on this review, i would.

Apart from being one of the most uncooperative insurance companies i have had to engage with, I was in the unfortunate position of having to call them to discuss a serious concern today.

After holding on a call waiting system (35 mins to be precise), I was put through to a member of their customer service team who was one of the most difficult CS person I have ever experienced. Not this CS team member very unhelpful, belligerent and confrontational, she was the most argumentative customer service person I have ever had the unfortunate circumstance to deal with. Shouting and challenging everything i said without offering any clear explanation of how best to resolve the matter.

All this in view of their failure to make a payment in respect of my claim (causing me a great deal of financial difficulties) and the reason given was that i had failed to properly date a customer statement i returned to them (even though this statement had been signed though). I should point out that no one contacted me or made any attempts to notify/contact me for over 4 weeks that there was an issue/concern with this payment and that it would not be forth coming. Absolute silence until i called in today to understand the reasons for the non payment.

Anyway, TBH i would avoid having anything to do with this company as this is not how a serious company should operate and especially not an insurance company during the current circumstances
Posted 4 months ago
Absolut SCAM
The biggest scam I've ever encountered, I paid for a service package to protect myself in case I lose my job, illness.
The period came with Covid19 and I didn't have much work and I called to make a claim and they didn't help me at all, only barriers, I work as a Self Employed at my company as a driver and they don't want to compensate me until I close the company, I mention that I have been working with the company for over 5 years
I do not advise you to deal with them are crooks, I paid more than a year for a service that did not help me, scam
Posted 4 months ago
Absolute jokers. Do not insure with them. They wouldn't pay out for recent storm damage to roof where 70mph winds as it was "wear and tear".
Posted 5 months ago
As previously mentioned in somebody elses review, if it was an option I would give Covea 0.
Shocking customer service and treat like a thief/liar when putting in legitimate insurance claim.

Do not use this company for insurance.

Refusal to take written evidence and surveyor who contacted me spoke to me like dirt.
Posted 6 months ago
Absolutely awful. I had unemployment insurance; I was forced to leave as no role existed for me at the company and Covea took over 2 months to come back with decision declining cover, over which time paid closer to £300 on maintaining my insurance.

This made no sense as they were given all information on which basis the declined the claim when this was made. In addition to this they only took my previous employers word (never requesting any type of proof), and failed to take into consideration written evidence I supplied them with. Their advise was to go back to the company and get the company to confirm the documentation I supplied them with was valid!

I will advise my circle of friends to drop this insurance as well.
Posted 8 months ago
I’m very stressed, very dissatisfied and extremely annoyed at how I have been treated, from the start of my claim I was made to feel like a 2nd class, like I was begging. I have or at least had planned for then expected by having mortgage protection insurance with this company.
The first call to them I spoke to an adviser who though he could and would speak to you as if he was the gate keeper, he made me feel like I was in the wrong for attempting to make a claim.
From there it has gone down hill, from my claims manager to any of the advisers, Yes I will admit I’m very short and to the point with them when I call but they have done nothing to make me feel any different towards them.
Mortgage protection should be instant not having to wait weeks, now becoming months, I started the claim early December and I’m still only at the first gate.
When initially taking the insurance I was never asked for medical records etc, now I’m told they have to check my health first, What the hell does a twisted knee have to do with previous health, if it has only just happened??
I’m now so close to disregarding my doctor and contemplating going back work on a damaged knee just so I can pay my mortgage. Two payments now have had to be covered by credit cards.
I explained this to my so called case manager, she sounds like she really does not care, neither do the advisers, I’m now stressed, not sleeping, arguments in the home constantly.

They correspond via snail mail 2nd class mail, apparently they don’t have e-mail addresses to send correspondence. Which company in today’s times does not have e-mail for corresponding?

Three times I sent my paperwork in twice they lost it?
I’m looking to get the ombudsman involved, avoid these if possible, the only reason why I used them was my financial adviser set up the policy. Shop around check reviews, I’m pretty sure most of the good reviews on here are fake.


Terrible customer service, terrible customer care, slow, inefficient.
Posted 8 months ago
I’m very stressed, very dissatisfied and extremely annoyed at how I have been treated, from the start of my claim I was made to feel like a 2nd class, like I was begging. I have or at least had planned for then expected by having mortgage protection insurance with this company.
The first call to them I spoke to an adviser who though he could and would speak to you as if he was the gate keeper, he made me feel like I was in the wrong for attempting to make a claim.
From there it has gone down hill, from my claims manager to any of the advisers, Yes I will admit I’m very short and to the point with them when I call but they have done nothing to make me feel any different towards them.
Mortgage protection should be instant not having to wait weeks, now becoming months, I started the claim early December and I’m still only at the first gate.
When initially taking the insurance I was never asked for medical records etc, now I’m told they have to check my health first, What the hell does a twisted knee have to do with previous health, if it has only just happened??
I’m now so close to disregarding my doctor and contemplating going back work on a damaged knee just so I can pay my mortgage. Two payments now have had to be covered by credit cards.
I explained this to my so called case manager, she sounds like she really does not care, neither do the advisers, I’m now stressed, not sleeping, arguments in the home constantly.

They correspond via snail mail 2nd class mail, apparently they don’t have e-mail addresses to send correspondence. Which company in today’s times does not have e-mail for corresponding?

Three times I sent my paperwork in twice they lost it?
I’m looking to get the ombudsman involved, avoid these if possible, the only reason why I used them was my financial adviser set up the policy. Shop around check reviews, I’m pretty sure most of the good reviews on here are fake.


Terrible customer service, terrible customer care, slow, inefficient.
Posted 8 months ago
Someone parked outside house, when they left, got in car to move forward a little, lady came speeding up on wrong side of the road, no indecators on cut in and hit the front of my car she didnt have any insurance details on her so phoned the police, she was told to ring me with her insurance etc, never did covea said it was my fault and my insurance will go up doesn't bother me but cant understand how this is my fault, YOU PAY THEM TO BASICALLY FOR NOTHING, AVOID PLEASE GO SOME WHERE ELES I APPLYED THREW SAINSBURYS YOU WILL LOSE EVERYTHING IF YOU BUY YOUR CAR INSURANCE FROM COVEA,
Posted 8 months ago
No problems with covea here. Sorted out my vehicle theft quickly and professionally and paid a fair amount out promptly. Thanks to all involved at coves
Posted 8 months ago
WARNING TO EVERYONE ABOUT Covea Insurance Plc and Apollo Motor Group ltd THEY ARE THIEVING, ENGINE TAMPERING, CORRUPT, LYING CROOKS!

Long story short…

My wife's car was hit in a corner of Sainsbury’s car park at the end of August (minor damage to bumper & wing) so it was picked up by Covea’s approved garage Apollo Motor Group of Portsmouth & taken to their Basingstoke branch.

Covea decided to write it off despite the car being mechanically sound when Apollo picked it up from us.

Apollo had the car for 4 or 5 weeks but no-one contacted me to say it was a write off until I rang them. I decided to get the car repaired from an independent bodyshop recommended by a friend who owns his own insurance brokerage rather than accept their insulting salvage amount.

The bodyshop alerted me to a few things when I picked it up a few days later including the coolant container & lid being damaged so oil was mixing with the coolant.

On the way home I broke down on the M4 & had to be rescued by the AA. The bodyshop said that the car had been tampered with because oil was mixing with the coolant & sprayed all over the engine. Only the bumper was damaged; now the car’s engine is ruined beyond repair.

Covea & Apollo deny any liability but they are lying! The bodyshop is convinced Covea sabotaged the car & took parts for other vehicles which happens a lot apparently on ‘write-off’s; they also stole the spare wheel, jack & tow device from the boot but again deny that!

The bodyshop is convinced they removed parts knowing they were going to write it off which is very concerning; it was also filthy when it was returned.

I HAVE REPORTED THE THEFT TO THE POLICE and now will pursue them thru’ the Financial Ombudsman.

The car was fully serviced & MOT’d recently so there was nothing wrong with it mechanically; but when I picked it up & drove it back it seized up & the damage is terminal…the engine has been tampered with & parts taken from it…the missing wheel & jack proves this.

Something very suspicious has happened since I decide not to accept the salvage offer.

Finally my broker @GroveandDean have been so unhelpful too.

DO NOT INSURE ANYTHING WITH @CoveaInsurancePlc
Posted 9 months ago
I would give 0 stars if possible. I don’t know how this company still operates.
I was involved in a hit and run where the third party car was also insured by Covea. This made matters worse as they were 100% at loss.
I had my, then 4 week old and six year old in car.
I provided dashcam footage from witness, pictures of the driver running away on foot and pictures of my and third party car damage.
My car got recovered by the insurer to the repairer.
Now four weeks on, no hire car was provided and they have now confirmed car is deemed total loss as not economic to repair. Their repairer quoted absurdly and under valued my car.

I sent email to Covea saying I didn’t agree with the repair cost nor the value of car to which I provided manufacture proof of all extra specs, similiar cars for sale in my area (which was all over what they estimated), value estimated by Parkers. They then said a number lower than inital to which i found a joke.
They have not once called me to discuss claim - I’ve had to chase them!!
They have not provided a hire car! How do they expect me to go back to my normal life when I cant even take my daughter to school.
Every time I know i have to call them my anxiety levels go off the roof because they have messed me around so much. They have caused so much distress to me and my family. They have not once asked if we are ok or if we require any medical attention. They have failed me in every way possible.
Their customer service has been disgusting.
They do not care about their customers. They only care about the payments you make.

I’ve been left without a car, no money, no ‘life and depressed
Posted 10 months ago
I would give 0 stars if possible. I don’t know how this company still operates.
I was involved in a hit and run where the third party car was also insured by Covea. This made matters worse as they were 100% at loss.
I had my, then 4 week old and six year old in car.
I provided dashcam footage from witness, pictures of the driver running away on foot and pictures of my and third party car damage.
My car got recovered by the insurer to the repairer.
Now four weeks on, no hire car was provided and they have now confirmed car is deemed total loss as not economic to repair. Their repairer quoted absurdly and under valued my car.

I sent email to Covea saying I didn’t agree with the repair cost nor the value of car to which I provided manufacture proof of all extra specs, similiar cars for sale in my area (which was all over what they estimated), value estimated by Parkers. They then said a number lower than inital to which i found a joke.
They have not once called me to discuss claim - I’ve had to chase them!!
They have not provided a hire car! How do they expect me to go back to my normal life when I cant even take my daughter to school.
Every time I know i have to call them my anxiety levels go off the roof because they have messed me around so much. They have caused so much distress to me and my family. They have not once asked if we are ok or if we require any medical attention. They have failed me in every way possible.
Their customer service has been disgusting.
They do not care about their customers. They only care about the payments you make.

I have lost my car, my money, my ’life’ and Healthy mental state.
Posted 10 months ago
Formal Complaint to Covea currently ignored
Currently lodged a formal complaint with Covea over the condition of my returned car; 3 days after initial complaint NO-ONE has had courtesy to respond to my emails...a broker friend of mine who deals with Covea highly suspect the garage they appointed have tampered with the engine & returned it with no coolant or water causing me to break down & the engine seize...all it went in for was a replacement bumper...8 weeks later the car is potentially a write off...everyone I speak to suspects sabotage/tampering of the engine so I will be taking this as high as I can and as far as I can until the car is repaired...it was mechanically sound when picked up. No happy but determined to get justice.
Posted 10 months ago
Covea Insurance plc is rated 1.28 based on 29 reviews