Covea Insurance plc Reviews

1.24 Rating 33 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend Covea Insurance plc
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Covea Insurance plc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Customer service dreadful,wont pay out for basic accident claims. seem to find terms and conditions and more to get out of paying.Small amateurish company dont use them you've been warned
Posted 19 hours ago
Never contact you, you have to phone or email for any progress to be made, rude staff and truly unprofessional. I insured my van with Hastings and they passed it on to these clowns. Worst experience of my life ! Still waiting for response 3 months after incident. Avoid avoid avoid.
Posted 4 days ago
Found an issue on my licence and used to not sort out a serious non fault accident after 3 months messing me about and me admitting no knowledge of the licence issue I'm left with no car repair thousands out of pocket and a promise of premiums returned not made so lied about it then told to contact another firm bgr ? But not told how to contact them no human feeling or thought to customers or their injuries or feelings no customer trust or service just disbelief in their customers and unable to deal with the prioritys and speculate instead about their customers being liers lol absolute cowboys steer clear I have now had to involve solicitors and the insurance ombudsman the stress of the accident and coveas lack of Human Rights beliefs has caused my heart condition to worsen thanks but nothanks covea .
Posted 2 weeks ago
Disgraceful company.
Very poor customer care,
Still awaiting vehicle valuation 7 weeks later
Trying to force me to show them documents to prove what i work as and asking for a copy of the receipt of original sale when i brought the vehicle .
Which they have absolutely no right to do .

Hours on the phone constantly chasing them up.
Staff are abrupt and and can never answer your questions.
Posted 1 month ago
They really don’t deserve any star’s.
Someone ran into me in Feb.
I wanted the van repaired,but insurance said they wrote it off.
It’s a con!
I’m sure they must sell them on to a dealer to repair and make money.
They want me to except a faction of the book price.
If I go out tomorrow and buy the same van,it will cost me three times what Iv been offered.
And it wasn’t my fault.
I’m going to ombudsman!
They don’t answer calls or email for weeks,then blame covid,they say
No one is in the office.
I’m sure they would be if your taking a new policy out.
Posted 2 months ago
After accident it took almost a week to receive a reply. Police, witnesses, garage all agreed it was not my fault, but Covea having only seen the pictures I took said their ' engineers ' said t was my fault.simply to make more money. Covea are SAGA's insurance company and they are hardly rated either and very expensive. Why They are the dodgy insurers. Read other revues and be careful looking at the dodgy revue sites also , but even there thy get 46% bad and 45% good. and its obvious where the ' good ' reviews come from. Beware I am now dealing with the Ombudsman , trading Standards, and others. These clowns are allowed to do as they wish. But we must all join and fight such corruption.
Posted 3 months ago
Seriously a terrible company and with a terrible reputation.SAGA use them, so also beware. Only good reviews are their own. They took a week to start dealing with my little emergency. The service was slow, cold uncaring and difficult. Communication limited indeed. Their agents dealing with the car removal took months to take it from the local garage. I told them the garage would charge after two weeks. Very fair, however they tried after months to take the car without paying. Even their agents are bad ! Seriously be careful of Covea and SAGA

I am taking them to the Ombudsman and law. They blamed me for the accident when the police and local garage said it was definatley not my fault and there were accidents there 2 or more times a week ! I took dozens of pictures ( I am a photographer ) those alone showed the situation. They used my pictures not the scene to say it was my fault. We all know why make more money by a firm that lost £24m by the new director in a year.
Posted 3 months ago
My accident happened in december 2019 the other party declared it was their fault yet my car is only now being repaired (August 2020).

Absolute joke, they reply to emails every two weeks or so and your datbon hold for ages before you can speak to someone, who always cannot help and asks you to email the claims team.

To top it of they are only repairing some of the damage and not all as originally agreed.

Should have looked at the reviews before using this company
Posted 3 months ago
Dreadful to deal with , I'm going through a claim on mortgage protection , I was previously with Paymentshield I would give them 10/10 for service but they now have past insurance side to Covea , you give them information they request then yo here nothing , when you ring up for an update they say they want more information, this claim now is week 9 and I've have to find 2 mortgage payments, ide advise to seek insurance elsewhere
Posted 5 months ago
Dreadful, unprofessional and incompetant. I am not able to claim as I am not ill enough with terminal cancer!
Posted 6 months ago
Absolutely dreadful and dishonest company. Told me a blatant lie regarding a professional report (which they said they would rely on in court), turned out that this was not the case at all. Avoid at all costs
Posted 6 months ago
Based on my previous / past experiences with the company and in particular in view of my telephone call/conversation today; if i could deduct a star or leave no stars on this review, i would.

Apart from being one of the most uncooperative insurance companies i have had to engage with, I was in the unfortunate position of having to call them to discuss a serious concern today.

After holding on a call waiting system (35 mins to be precise), I was put through to a member of their customer service team who was one of the most difficult CS person I have ever experienced. Not this CS team member very unhelpful, belligerent and confrontational, she was the most argumentative customer service person I have ever had the unfortunate circumstance to deal with. Shouting and challenging everything i said without offering any clear explanation of how best to resolve the matter.

All this in view of their failure to make a payment in respect of my claim (causing me a great deal of financial difficulties) and the reason given was that i had failed to properly date a customer statement i returned to them (even though this statement had been signed though). I should point out that no one contacted me or made any attempts to notify/contact me for over 4 weeks that there was an issue/concern with this payment and that it would not be forth coming. Absolute silence until i called in today to understand the reasons for the non payment.

Anyway, TBH i would avoid having anything to do with this company as this is not how a serious company should operate and especially not an insurance company during the current circumstances
Posted 6 months ago
Absolut SCAM
The biggest scam I've ever encountered, I paid for a service package to protect myself in case I lose my job, illness.
The period came with Covid19 and I didn't have much work and I called to make a claim and they didn't help me at all, only barriers, I work as a Self Employed at my company as a driver and they don't want to compensate me until I close the company, I mention that I have been working with the company for over 5 years
I do not advise you to deal with them are crooks, I paid more than a year for a service that did not help me, scam
Posted 6 months ago
Absolute jokers. Do not insure with them. They wouldn't pay out for recent storm damage to roof where 70mph winds as it was "wear and tear".
Posted 7 months ago
As previously mentioned in somebody elses review, if it was an option I would give Covea 0.
Shocking customer service and treat like a thief/liar when putting in legitimate insurance claim.

Do not use this company for insurance.

Refusal to take written evidence and surveyor who contacted me spoke to me like dirt.
Posted 8 months ago
Absolutely awful. I had unemployment insurance; I was forced to leave as no role existed for me at the company and Covea took over 2 months to come back with decision declining cover, over which time paid closer to £300 on maintaining my insurance.

This made no sense as they were given all information on which basis the declined the claim when this was made. In addition to this they only took my previous employers word (never requesting any type of proof), and failed to take into consideration written evidence I supplied them with. Their advise was to go back to the company and get the company to confirm the documentation I supplied them with was valid!

I will advise my circle of friends to drop this insurance as well.
Posted 10 months ago
I’m very stressed, very dissatisfied and extremely annoyed at how I have been treated, from the start of my claim I was made to feel like a 2nd class, like I was begging. I have or at least had planned for then expected by having mortgage protection insurance with this company.
The first call to them I spoke to an adviser who though he could and would speak to you as if he was the gate keeper, he made me feel like I was in the wrong for attempting to make a claim.
From there it has gone down hill, from my claims manager to any of the advisers, Yes I will admit I’m very short and to the point with them when I call but they have done nothing to make me feel any different towards them.
Mortgage protection should be instant not having to wait weeks, now becoming months, I started the claim early December and I’m still only at the first gate.
When initially taking the insurance I was never asked for medical records etc, now I’m told they have to check my health first, What the hell does a twisted knee have to do with previous health, if it has only just happened??
I’m now so close to disregarding my doctor and contemplating going back work on a damaged knee just so I can pay my mortgage. Two payments now have had to be covered by credit cards.
I explained this to my so called case manager, she sounds like she really does not care, neither do the advisers, I’m now stressed, not sleeping, arguments in the home constantly.

They correspond via snail mail 2nd class mail, apparently they don’t have e-mail addresses to send correspondence. Which company in today’s times does not have e-mail for corresponding?

Three times I sent my paperwork in twice they lost it?
I’m looking to get the ombudsman involved, avoid these if possible, the only reason why I used them was my financial adviser set up the policy. Shop around check reviews, I’m pretty sure most of the good reviews on here are fake.


Terrible customer service, terrible customer care, slow, inefficient.
Posted 10 months ago
I’m very stressed, very dissatisfied and extremely annoyed at how I have been treated, from the start of my claim I was made to feel like a 2nd class, like I was begging. I have or at least had planned for then expected by having mortgage protection insurance with this company.
The first call to them I spoke to an adviser who though he could and would speak to you as if he was the gate keeper, he made me feel like I was in the wrong for attempting to make a claim.
From there it has gone down hill, from my claims manager to any of the advisers, Yes I will admit I’m very short and to the point with them when I call but they have done nothing to make me feel any different towards them.
Mortgage protection should be instant not having to wait weeks, now becoming months, I started the claim early December and I’m still only at the first gate.
When initially taking the insurance I was never asked for medical records etc, now I’m told they have to check my health first, What the hell does a twisted knee have to do with previous health, if it has only just happened??
I’m now so close to disregarding my doctor and contemplating going back work on a damaged knee just so I can pay my mortgage. Two payments now have had to be covered by credit cards.
I explained this to my so called case manager, she sounds like she really does not care, neither do the advisers, I’m now stressed, not sleeping, arguments in the home constantly.

They correspond via snail mail 2nd class mail, apparently they don’t have e-mail addresses to send correspondence. Which company in today’s times does not have e-mail for corresponding?

Three times I sent my paperwork in twice they lost it?
I’m looking to get the ombudsman involved, avoid these if possible, the only reason why I used them was my financial adviser set up the policy. Shop around check reviews, I’m pretty sure most of the good reviews on here are fake.


Terrible customer service, terrible customer care, slow, inefficient.
Posted 10 months ago
Someone parked outside house, when they left, got in car to move forward a little, lady came speeding up on wrong side of the road, no indecators on cut in and hit the front of my car she didnt have any insurance details on her so phoned the police, she was told to ring me with her insurance etc, never did covea said it was my fault and my insurance will go up doesn't bother me but cant understand how this is my fault, YOU PAY THEM TO BASICALLY FOR NOTHING, AVOID PLEASE GO SOME WHERE ELES I APPLYED THREW SAINSBURYS YOU WILL LOSE EVERYTHING IF YOU BUY YOUR CAR INSURANCE FROM COVEA,
Posted 10 months ago
No problems with covea here. Sorted out my vehicle theft quickly and professionally and paid a fair amount out promptly. Thanks to all involved at coves
Posted 10 months ago
Covea Insurance plc is rated 1.24 based on 33 reviews