Covea Insurance plc Reviews

1.3 Rating 96 Reviews
7 %
of reviewers recommend Covea Insurance plc
1.3
Based on 96 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Covea Insurance plc made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Covea Insurance plc 1 star review on 15th October 2021
Anonymous
Covea Insurance plc 1 star review on 24th April 2021
Anonymous
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I wish I’d seen these reviews before I bought a policy from Sainsbury, they sold the business to Covea who are an absolute waste of time. Claim ongoing since August ’23 and no end in site. Covea, pull your fingers out!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
If all calls are important to Covea Insurance Company, why don’t they answer the phone or have a Call Back System which would avoid having to wait, if you are lucky, for a response.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Awful company. My house got broken in to and apparently the jewellery that was stolen has been valued more than my cover allowed. Instead of paying out what I am covered for they are now not paying anything - whilst valuing my jewellery over pictures. This was all handed down from generations so no receipts, no confirmation of carrot, Simon’s quality etc… yet they seem it right to value it enough to not pay anything out! Disgusting and outrageous company!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Do not use this insurance company, they will try everything to avoid paying out on valid claims, I would not recommend to my worst enemy
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Not reliable company not trusted
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Never put in a claim ever before in my life and Car Insurance. Then unfortunately, some guy ran in to me. Ring my insurance thinking, everything is good. I have never known sit as shocking shocking company in my entire life. They will lie through their teeth, but they never received the claim. This claim is still going on now 5 months on. Please, anybody reads this ad. Do not go with this insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Do not trust this company. They drag insurance claim out for weeks then make up any excuse not to pay out. AVOID AVOID AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
They refused to renew house cover as they tell us we are in a flood area? Been here city centre of Aberdeen city for 70 years no floods!!! Maybe Aberdeen in USA or South Africa terrible company shouldn’t be allowed to trade!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible company. The surveyor they sent made a misleading and inaccurate assessment of some water damage and therefore they would not acknowledge that I may have a valid claim. Absolutely refused to reassess the situation saying I had no claim. Extremely unfair and stressful. I recommend avoiding this company at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Please avoid to use this French, cheater insurance company, I bought a fully comprehensive car insurance policy. Back when i was adding my partner to the policy they asked me (through the broker “City Insurance”) if my partner has any points/conviction in her license, i said no as long as i know, which is what i thought it was right, my partner didn’t know either she had points in her license, the broker didn’t ask for NI nor the Driver license number to check themselves either, two months later she got in to an accident and when i called to report the accident the first thing they asked was the NI number and the Driver license for them to check themselves the driving records, then they saw there is a conviction/points not reported, all that proses took them less than 2 minutes and within those minutes they denied the claim and cancelled the policy leaving us on the air with a broken car, Covea paid the damages for the other Car involved in the accident (as we were fully insured and they didn’t have an valid excuse to give to the other insurance company), the damages in the other car was just the rear back door of an old car, my car is newer and have los of damages, the accident was caused by the other driver stoping in the middle of a 60mph road without warning and my partner hitting the other car to the its rear, getting damage the whole front end (hood, bumper, front grill, headlights, LH fender). Covea says that i did a misrepresentation when i took the policy and therefore they can cancel the policy and not repairing my vehicle. After months dealing with then and having no good results i took the issue to the ombudsman, I’m in the process of that ombudsman litigation. Covea failed to do their own due diligence by checking the records of the driver at the beginning, but they took the time to check (took them less than 2 minutes) when the claim was coming their way to find an excuse to denied it. They could have checked at the beginning and avoid this problem. We didn’t know my partner had points in her license and i gave the information to the best of my knowledge, I don’t think i did something wrong to have the claim denied for this technical issue, therefore I recommend you all to avoid use this company because they will find any excuses for them not to pay and to avoid their liabilities, Covea and City Insurance are in cahoots to cheat the public and consumers. They know better that customers don’t have up to-date the driving records, in my case I didn’t know at all. They didn’t tell Me how to check and to check in case, but they just wrote no points in the records when i was adding my partner to the policy, every other insurance company and broker do their own check, but these two companies don’t it, to use it it against the consumer in case there is a claim. I feel very mistreated by Cove and this crappy broker City Insurance that i used to get the car insurance, DO NOT USE THEM PLEASE.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
THIS COMPANY SHOULD NOT BE ALOUD TO TRADE ....NEARLY 2 YEARS OF PURE HELL THIS SO CALLED INSURANCE COMPANY HAS PUT MY FAMILY THROUGH STILL WITH NO END IN SIGHT . ombudsman now investigating . WE WERE TOLD TO MOVE OUT OF OUR PROPERTY AFTER A FLOOD FOR 2TO 3 MONTHS .....THAT WAS 2 YEARS AGO ....error after error ....constant mistakes and corner cutting ....4 loss adjusters later and despite admitting and accepting liability for the disastrous handeling of the claim still nothing ....HAD TO CONTACT LOCAL MP AND SOLICITOR .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Completely unfit for purpose & a waste of money. My mother (in her 70s) has spent over £400+ per year on these people who basically did nothing in the one claim she attempted to make with them. Offered absolutely no help whatsoever with guttering that fell across her front door because she had the "wrong type of rain" when the guttering fell, leaving her completely vulnerable. Complete waste of money and very unethical practices. Avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Well well - after a few years of my review punters are still taking a punt on this company and reading only only a few reviews they are still upsetting people - GET REAL - DONT USE THEM, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE REPUTABLE.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Following a plant trailer theft and damage to a commercial vehicle we discovered we had the misfortune to have had insurance with Covea for the plant trailer. The vehicle damage was dealt with promptly by NI G insurance and paid within weeks. The other claim has run on for months, no one from Covea has bothered to visit site to assess the details and has finally been refused. We have now lodged a dispute with the Financial Onbudsman. I would avoid this company at all cost.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Appalling service! Trying to discourage you to make a claim and finding any possible way to reduce the financial compensation. Avoid at all costs !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Avoid at all times, I had a no fault accident in February. Covea did everything to avoid fixing my vehicle, you will have to do all the phone calls, when I asked how long it would take to get my excess back I was told how long is a bit of string, not really helpful. My Lloyds policy says I will have a curtesy car whilst mine was repaired, not so according to covea. The car took 6 Weeks to repair, curtesy car had to be returned after 4 Weeks, they were not bothered that I would be unable to get to work for 2 weeks, told me I would have to hire a car privately. So now we are in June, still not had my excess refunded. Had no communication from covea, if you are going to phone then you had best put aside an hour of your day because they take 35 minutes to answer then pass you around then they do nothing to answer your questions. Avoid at all times, complete waste of time, they don’t deserve even 1 star.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The customer service is appalling. Contacting Covea by phone is a waste of time as your ping ponged from one to the other than cut off. Trying to get an engineer is impossible. They refuse to resolve the issue to my satisfaction which as been on going for over 2 months. I've never met such an uncaring insurance company. In my life time of driving this is the worst motor insurance I've ever come across. I hope I never have to go through covea again. As it's part of Saga Covea is not doing saga any favours. I will not recommend covea to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We had a leak in our ceiling which caused a hole in the porch. The entire heating system leaked through the ceiling which is about 5/6 radiators and the water storage. Unfortunately, we got Chris who said we were attempting to commit insurance fraud (the work was about £1000 and we would pay £250 excess) so pretty unlikely. They immediately threatened us with higher premiums. Don't mind having the work queried but we had a receipt for an emergency plumber who confirmed the leak. Left a bad taste in my mouth haven't claimed in over a decade.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Avoid this company at all costs. They are absolutely crooks. If I had not been renewing my late mothers insurance as executor I would have researched them. I have just put a complaint in but they are seriously bad. In spite of being able to prove that I informed the broker in a timely manner they are trying to make out that I will not be covered as the house is unoccupied…tell me something I don’t know..that is what happens when someone dies and you are waiting for probate. They are absolutely unbelievable in their desire to wriggle out of processing a claim. Well I have put an official complaint in and will take it all the way if I have to. They should not be allowed to operate like this. It makes me so very angry.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Such a shame that this dreadful company brings the good name of Saga down. As I never expected to claim, I did not research this company. Absolutely dreadful. They even accused me straight out of taking out insurance to claim for things that were already broken. Their story falls short as I was actually UPSOLD household contants insurance when making an enquiry about my car insurance. They are still dragging it on for months and months over a very small claim. Bringing the name SAGA into disrepute and blaming them for the delay. This company should be closed down by the Ombudsman.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Covea Insurance plc is rated 1.3 based on 96 reviews