Gladiator.co.uk Reviews

2.62 Rating 77 Reviews
42% of reviewers recommend Gladiator.co.uk

How would you rate Gladiator.co.uk ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

David Whiteside
Unverified Reviewer
"Shocking customer service. Added a named driver to the policy which as I expected increased my policy, but when I came to remove the name driver three months later, my personal policy doubled in price, when discussed with the 'customer service assistant' he said 'well you are free to cancel the policy at anytime Sir' to which I relied okay lets cancel it to which he relied 'that's a further £49 for cancelling'"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"worst insurance company i have ever delt with because i changed my job they cancelled my insurance i wasnt even using my van to travel to work i use my push bike. i will never deal with them again and the manager wouldnt come to speak to me on the phone. just take a look at all the other reviews below Rubbish Company"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"worst insurance company i have ever delt with because i changed my job they cancelled my insurance i wasnt even using my van to travel to work i use my push bike. i will never deal with them again and the manager wouldnt come to speak to me on the phone. just take a look at all the other reviews below Rubbish Company"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"i got my van insured, they wanted more paper work that i sent to them. we went away on holiday for two weeks and i received an email while away to say they wanted more paper work, i email back to say we are away for another 5 days. on my return they have cancelled my insurance and charged me £160 ???????????? keep away plenty more out there. bert king"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"terrible service"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"I changed a mailing address on our policy, company vehicle is not kept at this new address which they are aware of. They cancelled the policy as a result because they didn't like my new mailing address. Unbelievable that this company are still in business if the have Policies such as this. I sincerely hope they go bust very soon."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"I changed a mailing address on our policy, company vehicle is not kept at this new address which they are aware of. They cancelled the policy as a result because they didn't like my new mailing address. Unbelievable that this company are still in business if the have Policies such as this. I sincerely hope they go bust very soon."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Checked this out whilst looking at insurance. Amazing how many will complain when it’s actually their fault (not everyone obviously) The guy that was surprised that his policy was cancelled for having six points that he failed to mention. The guy upset because his policy cancelled when his payment wasn’t met. The man that was surprised that someone (his partner) couldn’t cancel his policy for him (but would have been pissed off if driving around with no insurance because his disgruntled ex had called in). The chap that thought his third party insurance was too expensive because his van was only worth £500 but with no thought that he’s being insured against hitting a far more valuable vehicle or worse, hitting a person. I’m not sure how many customers they have but these negative comments are just wasting everyone’s time, and reflect a tiny portion of their customers. If you have a genuine concern, voice it. If you want to gripe because you messed up, keep it to yourself So I gave them 5 stars because I found there service superb"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Worst company I’ve ever been with"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"I would say there customer service must be one of the worst in the industry. They cancelled my policy for not receiving documents, even though I sent them and I had the email to prove it. Then they did not refund my £1,300 and kept hold of it to earn interest on. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Had Gladiator policy for a year on my truck, came to change vehicle and they said they could not isure it so passed me over to sister company Admiral! They insured it and said I needed to cancel the old Gladiator policy which I did, Gladiator charged me £50.00 fee for moving to sister company. They are nothing but a bunch of rip-off con merchants. I am putting in an official complaint to them, then FSCS then FCA. They need closing down"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
SAUSAGE FACTORY
Unverified Reviewer
"TRIED TO ADD A TEMPORARY DRIVER TO COVER A HOLIDAY, LIKE I HAVE BEFORE, WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM ON MANY OCCASIONS OVER THE LAST 6 YEARS AND WAS REFUSED POINT BLANK. HAD TO BUY A POLICY FROM ANOTHER COMPANY JUST TO COVER TWO POXY WEEKS HOLIDAY. NEVER EVER USE THEM AGAIN. THEIR LOSS AS I'VE SPENT OVER 10 GRAND WITH GLADIATOR OVER THE PAST FEW YEARS."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I thought I was paying £164 pound for a second van worth £1100 third party fire and theft I have over 9 years no claims on my main van they asked for proof of no claims I sent it through then next thing get an email saying there taking a further £240 because I should of said I had no no claims bonus on the second van , i rung up to query this they said I could cancel I would get £99 refund from £164 for 14 days insurance I had or they would give me £124 towards another policy i chose to cancel and have gone elsewhere for insurance and with the no claims on the second van I'm still only paying £170 with the new company . I'm waiting for my refund from gladiator will not use them again"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"took out insurance last year. sold vehicle. phoned to cancel . they then charged me a 'cancellation fee' of 70 quid . just happens to be the amount that i would have paid for my vehicle if i had still got it . complained on phone to them and they just asked for the money. told them to wait !. so they said i had 7days or baliff letters . so i waited . went online to pay after 14 days but online system failure on their website. phoned up and waited and waited and put phone down . done a call back . requested they call me at five pm . they phoned 7.30. told them i could not pay at that time offered to post a cheque but they refused .told them ring me back at five next day. 7pm they ring again so i thought sod you i not answer . went online to pay and payment system not working . so i still owe them . direct debit cancelled by them so they can not take money that way . rip off and s**t customer service ,, will never deal again and i make sure my friends not either."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"been with gladiator for years with little problems and always auto renewing then this year they said my direct debit had failed, the same direct debit that I had always used to pay them and no record at the bank that they tried to attempt payment, they charged me for a missed payment so I had a look round to see what others were charging for the same insurance and it was less than half what they were charging me..... that's the cost of loyalty!! spoke to them on the phone and refused to pay the late payment fee which they then said they would cancel my policy so being very irritated by this I said fine. I decided to cancel my insurance with them and they are now charging me £180 cancellation fee originally they were very cheap but very quickly they raked up the premium and make money from missed payments, changes to policy and the hope that you will be lazy and auto renew with them another gripe was they sent me a letter to inform me that my van had been in an accident (which it wasn't) and it was the wrong registration quoted on the letter, nightmare to sort out and being self employed, all the time I spent on hold phoning people was time and money wasted"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Absolute joke!!! renewed my insurance another year with these people. Sit back all done? not on your nelly, few days later a mail comes telling me , copied and pasted," We have written to you to advise we will debit £143.28 from you using a credit/debit card previously used to transact business on any of your Able Insurance policies. The additional premium is due to your inaccurate claim information. " Ha ha been there over 12 months renewed last time no problem !! Further phone call, strewth go better things to do. January 2016 someone thought I caught their car, so Insurers sent out an engineer to peruse my van for damage, guess what? Insurers confirmed I had not been in a collision. BUT ... engineer charges them £120 fee for inspection, Gladiator decide without ever informing me that I should pay this. So they upped my premium accordingly. I have now cancelled my policy. BEWARE this was over a year ago, i was never contacted, they had my card details, I was almost a victim of this scam."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The Window Cleaner Guy
Unverified Reviewer
"Can i just say something here? I called up Gladiator Insurance to change my direct debit details, i found the staff very helpful, very cheery and happy to assist. You know why? I was polite and cheery first. These guys do a hard job listening to people moaning about their policies or fees for changing stuff, if you call with a grumpy face your going to get a grumpy service. And to add, there isn't much margin on insurance, your probably looking at £60-£80 per year profit for Gladiator by the time the underwriters have taken their fees, if you need to change stuff, and the labor to do so exceeds the profit, or you miss a payment and time is taken up with someone else in another department on a salary that the company has to pay for out of the £60 profit they HAVE to charge you a fee to do it or they simply wont make any profits at all. Imagine you have 1 million customers and 1 percent of those people all miss thier payments just one month instalment, and a department has to deal with it, not only is it costing the company money in cashflow of lost payment. On an average policy of £350 divide by 12 times 10,000 equals £291,000! thats over a quarter of a million quid lost simply becouse people forget to update their bank details and somehow the company has to recoup that money or they are bad for charging. How about looking at it from a business point of view for a change."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Poor service stay away day light robbery"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Don't touch them, money grabbing, poor customer service and cheapskates."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Gladiator were fantastic in providing me with instant van insurance when I required it for my lease van, I'm a sole Trader electrician and to my shock my insurance was more than my lease but hey! After gladiator had insured me I had a call around 4 weeks after saying as I had a previous 6 points in 2015 (prior to insurance commencing) and had not mentioned my previous points ??? The insurance was Void. Therefore I had to begin a new insurance with another deposit of over £350 and the monthly payments would be higher by quite an amount . I Couldn't believe this as I had zero points on my licence. The next part is best: After adhearing to this and making the payments for Some time I sent the van back with a finished lease. My partner who set up the insurance and was allowed to pay and set up the direct debit with no contact of me was now not allowed to access the account and cancel the policy. Within the space of 12 days of non payment they have cancelled insurance and charged me two separate bills of over a £1000 !!! I'm already seeking legal Action on the matter and cannot believe the disgusting customer service I have had. Will advise everyone to stay clear of this insurance group."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Gladiator.co.uk is rated 2.62 based on 77 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This