Magnet Reviews

1.68 Rating 47 Reviews
15 %
of reviewers recommend Magnet
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Magnet made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
A word of warning....
Do NOT buy a Magnet kitchen. I have spent a lot of money and the whole experience has been disappointing and stressful. I’ve had missing items, deliveries that haven’t even turned up and they don’t answer the phone. When I complained by email, I didn’t even get a reply. They are quick to take your money and then they don’t want to know.
Posted 1 week ago
Living for a year and counting in a building site

Magnet very quick and helpful to book and design the kitchen. Unfortunately that was where anything good ended.

The kitchen turned up late and incomplete. The fitter did not turn up at all. This was December. It's now the following November. 4 fitters, 3 managers later and we've been treated with nothing but contempt and apathy. This goes for all levels of magnet as we've escalated the complaint. Works are still not completed and the mess that previous fitters have made of the job have to be corrected. We've been storing all sorts of large bulky materials whilst other components have never arrived.

We have been lied to and led on time and time and time again. We're so stressed and heartbroken, everytime I even look at our mess of a kitchen it makes me feel awful.
Posted 3 weeks ago
I don't know whats happened to Magnet's.. l have purchased two kitchens from them in the past and have been really pleased with their product and service.
Attempting to progress a third and their customer service at Swindon is non existent, not something you would expect from the branch manager.
Any progress or contact is down to just my efforts, never receive a call back or email.
Appalling service!
Posted 3 weeks ago
The communication at your Inverness brach is appalling!
Posted 1 month ago
We ordered a kitchen from Magnet in August. On delivery, we were told that our freezer was delayed by about 6 weeks. We couldn't wait 6 weeks without a freezer and so we ordered one. We are still waiting for the refund. The units we purchased are such poor quality that it looks like we have had the kitchen for years. The units came scratched, dented, marked and when we tried to get hold of the customer care team, they are u able to help us beacuse they are finishing work. The person who sold us the kitchen talks to us like it is our fault. I'm trying to get a refund, but it seems impossible. I would stay away from Magnet!
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible experience and would never recommend Magnet. From the start I started off with one designer then changed midway through. There was no handover so I had to explain the whole design again from scratch. Ended up with a poorly designed plan that didnt allow for height restrictions for the gas hob. If I hadn't mentioned it I would have set my cupboards alight. Had to change to an electric hob that I didnt want, pay an electrician to allow for this and compromise on cupboards/overall look of the kitchen plan to accommodate for their mistake. My kitchen fitter had to make endless adjustments to make up for the design which costs me a fortune. Signed a contract for items that either didnt arrive or didnt fit. To add insult to injury I had to return and collect the wrong items myself. Should have gone to Howdens! The manager was rude and abrasive and point blankly said he is not compensating me for their errors. Poor customer service.
Posted 1 month ago
Our initial experience in the office was good; a lovely team with creative ideas, and ready to help when needed.

Unfortunately, it seems only the girls in the office care about Magnet's customers. We start having problems with the delivery team. They did not deliver all the appliances, the sink was missing in the list of ordered goods, and they delivered the wrong handles.

The girls in the office tried their best to fix the mentioned issues. After a week and a half of waiting for a new delivery, we ended up with the wrong gas hob. Again the girls from the office tried to fix the issue; it took them a week to find out that the originally ordered gas hob is out of stock, and the delivery team decided to swap with another one. The delivered gas hob was an entirely different style, and we agreed with for a refund.

Their poor internal communication caused a month delay and a lot of discomfort for the family.

If you think the story ended up here, I can tell you that we are still waiting for a refund. More than one month passed, and their finance team can not manage to do a refund. The message which we received after one month of waiting states:
"... as I mentioned earlier, it takes time to process it as it goes through various departments.

The finance amount hasn’t been reduced just yet as things are now taking longer than usual due to reduced staff in our departments as some people are working from home or still on furlough."

Magnet has serious problems in their company, and if you want to have additional stress in your personal life, then go ahead and buy kitchens from them.
Posted 1 month ago
Magnet supplied us with windows, which became drafty and were difficult to open and close, one is now completely jammed. I have repeated asked for someone to come and look at them under their guarantee. At first they said it was an issue for Jenweld. When Jenweld were not the suppliers and the supplier they used at the time is no longer trading they started to ignore my correspondence. I have been trying to get a resolution for circa 6 months now and am no further forward. It seems they think if they ignore my complaint for long enough I’ll go away. Very disappointing.
Posted 1 month ago
It all looked great and the fitters were very courteous and efficient. After care/goodwill 2 yrs up the road, a very different experience. mixer tap in kitchen was 'wonky' from installation onwards. I told the plumber at the time that the cold tap part of the mixer was wobbly, and that the tap dripped alot after water was turned off. He said it was normal. Hmmm. Even as a non plumber I could see that it wasn't really right. Plumber came round and renewed the mixer tap. Same story. Wobbly handle, and did not close off immediately. Magnet offered another replacement, but with a different tap, as my original ones were obviously faulty. I asked if I could still have brushed steel, please, as that's preferable (to me) to stainless steel. No response to that. Still waiting, in fact. According to Magnet, but not to me!! the last plumber to visit via the company had 'fixed the problem', so pretty much, 'what was I on about ?'. He had indeed tightened the handle, which was great, and the 'repair' lasted 24 hours. I WAS PROMISED A REPLACEMENT TAP. When is this going to happen ? I am left singularly unimpressed at a hostile response to a perfectly obvious problem. Why would anyone have to argue with an apparently professional company? DON'T USE MAGNET. OH! And my built in dishwasher, insured after garuantee via D and G, cannot be repaired because it has been installed in a manner that renders it immovable from built in casing (door). The engineer has called twice to fix it. No success. Magnet did send their fitter round, who just asked me why the insurance engineer was unable to remove the machine from it's housing..... how on earth would I know !!! He pointed at 2 screws and told me all that was needed was to unscrew them. So second insurance engineer called, and still wasn't able to 'get at' the actual machine. Hence, a dishwasher that doesn't actually CLEAN properly, because no hot water seems to access it. No heat to dry contents. It's only saving grace is that at least the housing matches all the unit doors !!!! NOT what I had paid for, as, I in fact thought a dishwasher was supposed to wash crockery and cutlery, and saucepans. £15,000 and an absurd and protracted situation regarding replacement mixer tap, which was faulty from the outset. I'll never use Magnet again, and I would not recommend them to anyone
Posted 1 month ago
I went to magnet because my parents had a magnet kitchen 4 years ago which they are very happy with. Mine is a totally different story the fitter didnt care worktop joins rubbish struggle to short doors. And after 4mths the doors started to warp and coating come away. Endless calls to magnet they say its moisture and how we have cleaned them!! Do not buy a kitchen off magnet quality is totally rubbish and once they have your money they really dont care will think of any excuse to get away with owning up to selling such bad quality kitchens. Pity we have to give 1 star. A disgrace.
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible service. Booked and confirmed virtual kitch design from the Greenwich branch, designer Aba Marful and no one turned up. No email or call to apologise, when I did get hold of customer service, it was a very timid 'oh sorry' no attempt was made to rebook. Needless to say, I decided to go eith Wren Kitchens, and companies wonder why their competitors get the better of them. Avoid, if like this from the beginning, dread to think about the whole experience. Wouldn't use Magnet Kitchen if they paid me. Terrible service.
Posted 2 months ago
25 years ago, had a kitchen fitted by Magnet and it was a wonderful job.
12 months ago, I asked for another kitchen laid out like the original. That was my first mistake, the second was paying them the £15000+ before they started the work.
The result was: -
That the work surfaces were not the same as we thought we had ordered.
The trim on the units in the utility room do not match the kitchen.
The sink has had to be put in the wrong way around.
Units are of a different size to the originals, so the kitchen layout is different - no mention of this until after we had paid.
Several obvious gaps due to units being a different size (pictures available).
Took our complaints to the Ombudsman who takes only written evidence from both sides none of which is under oath and the salesman we dealt with had left the company and the branch manager had moved to another branch
The outcome was that Magnet offered us less than £200.
Add this to the poor communication from Magnet (I am still awaiting a return call from when the fitters were fitting the kitchen and I was going to stop the work). Their offices in Darlington also manage to lose letters that I have sent them.
My advice would be not to use Magnet and if you do, do not pay all monies owing upfront as you will have no comeback on them and will end up having to go to law to attain justice.
Posted 3 months ago
So disappointed! Had our kitchen replaced 5 years ago and we have had nothing but problems. All the doors have been replaced numerous times due to the vinyl covering bubbling at the tops and bottoms of most of the doors. Last time we went to collect the remaining few for replacement we were told our kitchen had been discontinued due to this very issue!!! Well now the replaced (for the 5th time) doors are also bubbling and peeling off. After spending a lot of money we have been fobbed off, bad customer service, head office don’t give a hoot and our kitchen looks hideous! We saved for years for a new kitchen and I have spent many times crying over it!!! What ever happened to the warranty!!!!!! As it stands I tell everyone not to ever buy a magnet kitchen!
No point in contacting, they just fobbed me off and blamed me for everything! Magnet Kitchens are rubbish!!! Magnet have an endless list of excuses why the faults are your fault and not theirs. They are more than happy to blame the customer for their own shoddy materials and workmanship.
Posted 3 months ago
magnet kitchen poor quality
I had a new kitchen ordered last year and delivered to be installed in October 2019. It was part of a major building work on site that included a newly built kitchen area.
We did order a Soho integra charcoal as we liked the design and was promoted by the Magnet designer as top end quality. We spent 16k for the kitchen and 2k for the fitting.
We ended up with a kitchen of poor quality with poor quality installation.
To date the issues, almost one year after have not been resolved and I have spent time and energy in vain.
The kitchen was delivered almost one month later than originally agreed and the installers were slow and not very precise at their job.
Doors were scratched, cabinets not properly fitted, the alluminium inserts are all shorter that the rest of the kitchen and most of the bigger doors were bended (yes, curved!) and so on. Please check the pictures.
Then we tried to solved with the local branch and we had some smaller doors redelivered but not installed, the bigger doors were never sent in and we had another fitter that re-alligned some of the doors and cover the scratches with a black pen! Without even ask for permission! To date we are still unhappy customers with a
So avoid avoid avoid at any cost.
Posted 4 months ago
Awful Design Service at Clapham Showroom
Pushy, rude, and unhelpful, the designer at the Clapham Showroom had no interest in answering my questions during the virtual design call, only in getting his deposit. They are not skilled designers; they are very pushy, rude, impatient salespeople only interested in the sale and not the customer.

When I called him again (as a courtesy) to say I was running a little late (around 20 minutes) for my in-store appointment he shouted at me, "you people come 30-45 minutes late then everything backs up.” When I asked why he was shouting at me, he said, “I'm terminating this call." and hung up the phone abruptly! AVOID the Clapham Branch – I called another branch and they were more helpful. Then I made an appointment with Wren Kitchens who were far kinder.
Posted 4 months ago
So disappointed! Had our kitchen replaced 5 years ago and we have had nothing but problems. All the doors have been replaced numerous times due to the vinyl covering bubbling at the tops and bottoms of most of the doors. Last time we went to collect the remaining few for replacement we were told our kitchen had been discontinued due to this very issue!!! Well now the replaced (for the 5th time) doors are also bubbling and peeling off. After spending a lot of money we have been fobbed off, bad customer service, head office don’t give a hoot and our kitchen looks hideous! We saved for years for a new kitchen and I have spent many times crying over it!!! What ever happened to the warranty!!!!!! As it stands I tell everyone not to ever buy a magnet kitchen!
No point in contacting, they just fobbed me off and blamed me for everything! Magnet Kitchens are s**t!!!!
Posted 5 months ago
Coventry Magnet...as a returning customer I'm really disappointed by the service offered. All appeared good at the point of design (apart from the prices of electrical items constantly changing)...chose my own fitters to complete the install.
Became apparent the measurements were wrong for both the utility and kitchen. Cupboards had to be cut smaller meaning less storage space, measurements for the sink were incorrect - eventually found one that would fit (tried 3!) missing panels...delivered the next day but in white...my kitchen is grey! Joins in worktop that I wasnt expecting, cutlery drawer inserts missing, and ended up buying two cooker panel inserts from Howdens as Magnet only do one size..which when cut to size dont match the design of the other cupboard fronts. Manager really unhelpful and dismissive, apparently not Magnets fault as my fitters should of done a pre install measure/check (basic measurements-surely part of the design service..they did visit twice!)...happy to take your money and then cast you aside. Install cost me more due to the extra work and time taken...of course Magnet dont want to reimburse me for this...really poor customer service.
Posted 6 months ago
We have been promised an installer will arrive for over three months to finish off the kitchen install. They don't arrive, nor do they have the courtesy of letting us know that they wont arrive on the agreed date. They have no apology but only excuses. Avoid Magnet. Overpriced/ overrated.
Posted 8 months ago
Horrendous experience from start to finish (although technically still not finished)
Started later then the agreed date and they didn’t let me know in advance or even in the day. I was chasing to find out what was going on and had wasted taken time off work.
All materials did not arrive when their installer was at mine to fit it, which resulted in half days here and there and doing the install in bits over a 3 week period.
The installer rushed to complete due to the delays experienced and start their next job with magnets, which resulted in wonky units, chipped worktops, and uncompleted works which have not been sorted several months later.
I would never recommend magnets and have no intention of using them on any future refurbishments.
Magnets also wrongfully charge for electrical certificates even if no electrical works have been carried out, taking advantage of people that are not from a construction background.
Posted 8 months ago
Kitchen itself is great and very few problems with units and other items.
Our problem was with Magnet’s Fitting Services, as their contractor was useless, took over 19 weeks to finish the job, had never fitted our product before, resulted in 3 call outs from Electrolux to make good the fitters errors, ripped us off for extra’s and with no support from Magnet at all!!!
So, consider their kitchens, but don’t trust their fitting, as all they do is hide behind irrelevant codes of practice and fitting agreements with no useful support whatsoever!!! Beware
Posted 9 months ago
Magnet is rated 1.68 based on 47 reviews