Scottish Power Reviews

1.1 Rating 821 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Scottish Power
1.1
Based on 821 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1 out of 5
Read Scottish Power Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 027 0072

Email:

info@scottishpower.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Scottish Power made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My smart app has been updated . I can no longer see daily cost of My energy . What’s the point of a smart meter if I can’t view this on my phone . I previously could clearly see this . Not much of a quality update. Told it was due to a poor signal from a SIM card in smart meter .
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
They supplied my house in Scotland, but kept billing me for a house about 28 miles away with the same road name.and the same house number. Spent nearly 2 years trying to sort this out and eventually changed supplier. Recently dealt with them when a house I rented I decided to put up for sale. The Tennants gave the wrong readings to Scottish Power on leaving, (too high). I guess I could have ignored this as I would have been in pocket, but tried to change it by phone twice. Internet account still showed incorrect values and would not accept the correct ones. Tried again using the app. This time with success, but from previous experience expect more difficulty ahead. On the plus side the customer service personnel and attitude is always first class, it just seems that the infrastructure is full of holes.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Really atrocious website - takes about 100 attempts to submit a meter reading every time, whatever browser you use. Makes me ANGRY :-(
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
They keep hassling me to have a smart meter
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Scottish Power were doing (reasonably) well then it all went wrong. I built up a credit for the winter, they returned it to me. I didn't ask for it, they didn't explain why they did it. Then I found i couldn't log in. Their system refused my email address and my password. After endless emails, which showed clearly they had no comprehension of the problem, they set me up a new account. It won't let me in. The one and only time I finally got through to a representative, all he wanted to know was, when are you going to clear your arrears? He did concede that the arrears exactly matched the credit they returned to me... I would not recommend them to anyone. I want to switch but can't while I owe money I haven't got right now. The moment the account is clear, if and when they sort out this logging in nonsense so I can make payments, I will be gone. I've already chanted my shop supply to someone else without a hint of problem.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
2 issues. **Smart meters. Kept being pestered about smart meter installation despite responding to questionnaire saying not interested. Then SP gave my phone details to a 3rd party marketing agency to carry on pestering about smart meters. Then more emails about smart meters followed by email apologies saying some emails had been sent in error. **Changing supplier. As contract coming to an end, this nuisance encouraged me to check alternatives, decided to move. Emails requiring final meter reading, fair enough. But shut out of the facility to submit online readings, "error 403 forbidden". The meter reading had been requested effective Christmas Day, got through to them by phone 27th December. Told I shouldn't have been sent the request for a final meter reading because that comes from the new supplier. What bothers me, the email demanding the final meter readings said if I did not submit them "you could end up paying more". Bottom line, there shouldn't have been a problem, I was perfectly happy until at the wrong end of their shambolic IT/email communications.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I recently moved into a property and noticed my gas card metre is stating call help, so i called scottish power around 6.20pm today and the lady was very pleasant and reasured me that someone is coming out to fix the metre within 4 hours and they will text me 30 minutes before arriving, it is now 11pm and still nothing and i cant call them as customer service closes at 10pm so i have just waited up for nothing and have to wake up at 4am for work, frustrating when they say someone is coming out when they dont not off to a great start here, watch theyll probably end up turning up tomorrow when at work, scottish power i need my gas on asap its getting cold and im only small so i feel the cold easily. Thanks Regards Emma
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
They did not inform us we could get cheaper gas or electricity or up to 90 pounds a year savings not like our new supplier economy,energy top marks to our new supplier .
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I was with the company before and it was ok. Since I re-joined last year the price keeps going up despite the fact I am on a fixed one year tariff and I am constantly careful with the electricity used in my one bedroom flat. Not happy at all and I can not wait for the year to pass bye to switch supplier. There are plenty to choose from after all. Don't be afraid of a change.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
My contract expires at the end of March but the contract they offered did not compare with one they offered on one day of the comparison sites
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Their customer service is substandard. I had to set up my direct debit with them twice because of a computer error, which is one better than last time when it took three attempts for them go set it up, before they overcharged me. Not to mention putting me on hold foe 30 minutes.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Scottish Power is rated 1.1 based on 821 reviews