Scottish Power Reviews

1.1 Rating 801 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Scottish Power
1.1
Based on 801 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1 out of 5
Read Scottish Power Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 027 0072

Email:

info@scottishpower.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Scottish Power made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have had a smart meter in stalled 3 years ago I have had 2 engines out to be told that my electricity meter is faulty needs to be changed that was 3 years ago my bill have been estimated for 3 years I AM SICK of calling emailing complaints to Scottish power 3 years there keep asking for meter reading. As I'm disabled person in a wheelchair. There do no this but still getting pushed independently under the carpet. There don't want to no me
Helpful Report
Posted 15 hours ago
By far the worst customer service of any energy provider. Customer service don't read emails , action a complaint ,put a bill on hold when a complaint is open , they send threatening emails and reminders despite being told the bill is wrong . They can't even complete the standard response referring to me as Mr with no name or Mr Karen which is plain offensive .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Please avoid avoid avoid , I have been moving in small tow bedrooms flat with 2 kids , for few months my bill was about 40 pound per months as we not home must of the time until last month I received the bill for £1116 from Scottish power, I never had any debts of utilities in my life unit this bastards put me in that situation, they just simply robbing and cheating people, all I want just sign out from this Rubish provider as soon as I can can’t wait for that time. Avoid avoid avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Never, never, never sign up with Scottish power unless you want a nervous breakdown. Opened a complaint about a gas leak over a year ago which has not been dealt with, I paid my account in full using their automated system and the balance given, they now say I owe another £220, when I asked what this was for they didn't know. I tried to contact them I phoned at 10.30am and finally got to speak to someone at 5pm after numerous transfers and being cut off. There is much more which has left me feeling stressed and helpless.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Scottish accused my 89 year old father of stealing gas. Debited over £4k from his account and ongoing complaint unresolved since 1st March. Cannot get through to complaint team. Overall SP are causing me his carer a huge amount of stress and wasting my time. I hope the FCA sees how you treat vulnerable customers and fines the heck out of SP.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Don’t go with this company, my bill went up £200 per month , no customer service, worse company out there !!! Nothing but stress AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Bone idle springs to mind. Customer service is zero to non existent. Long waiting times, zero response time and the list goes on. Some one in their organisation needs to hammer home the idea of what customer service is about. Without customers you wouldn’t have a business Scottish Power. Just something simple to consider
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Awful service. This is the 2nd time they’ve increased our bill by an extreme amount and insisted we pay when we ask for it to be investigated. £150 to £2360 in 3 weeks! Can’t get them on the phone and they ignore your emails even just to answer a simple question. They’ve admitted it was their error (as it was the 1st time it happened), but have now sent me an email to say the account is in credit and a text telling me there is an amount to pay still - these messages were sent within minutes of each other and now they’re ignoring my request for them to explain which figure is correct. Don’t sign up with this supplier, they make mistakes with your bill and insist you pay the extortionate amount and then wait for a refund when they finally realise they weee wrong!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Very bad as soon as you get a bill they want paying instantly or they threaten you with debt collection. I've also been threatened with court to gain access to fit pre pay meter. I only owed £119 and was a week or so behind. I spoke to them and they said it could be paid over 2 months but someone was always pushing for payment with daily calls and emails. They are nasty disgusting humans. Worst company I have ever delt with in my life.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible, terrible customer service. Just horrendous. I don’t understand why this company still exists. Avoid at any costs!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
When I first signed up to Scottish power in July 2021 the first two monthly bills where around the £111 mark per month, then went up to £205 for about 5 months, I can just about suffer that. Then all of a sudden they are now £309 per month?!! I mean WOW… In a 2 bedroom house, a family of 5. Like I haven’t got enough to worry about. Now this. You then try to call Scottish power, And get left waiting on the phone for an hour sometimes two. Only to be told that’s the price And deal with it basically. The company is an absolute sham. Please if you are thinking of moving to Scottish power… DONT! would be a bad move.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Awful company! Have nothing but stress with this shambles of a company. Opened a complaint and the complaint got closed without being investigated. They have took £100s out my bank out without much authorization and they can't find where thr payment or have any acknowledgement of where and why the money has been taken. I now have to hand in proof they have taken the un authorised payment for it to be investigated!! I would call that FRAUD. ABSOTLUTE DICKS
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Never in my life have I experienced stress with a company! Worst and I mean WORST Company ever! Company service is an absolute shambles, fall promises every time. 4 Times I have been promised an engineer to come out and 4 times, no one has showed up! Not even had the deceny to call, that's now 4 days wages I lose because of this company's communication skills. Never ever will I recommend this company, it has been 5 years worth of stress and still no where further forward. I live in a very small 2 bedroom flat and are charging £402 per month!! Please PLEASE DO NOT go with scottish power.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Joined Scottish power 11 months ago, as they contracted to supply me with a smart meter within 3 weeks. I still have no meter despite many emails, phone calls etc to them. They once even made an appointment for the Engineer to call, and I stayed in all day to make sure I was here, no one arrived and when I rang again they said there was not any appointments on there their system for me. They then said that there was no mobile network available for my property, and to contact their meter installation contractor, Lowry Beck. This I did, and was told no order had been placed with them from Scottish Power, and that there was no problem with signal at my property. I went back to SC, and still told I could not have one due to mobile signal. ABSOLUTE SHOWER- GO ANYWHERE ELSE BUT THEM -HAVE NO SYSTEM FOR COMMUNICATING WITH THEIR CUSTOMERS.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Kieth Anderson CEO of Scottish Power has been giving advice about energy costs to both government ad the user this is the guy who heads a band of robbing bastards who lie cheat and do everything to make it difficult to get any redress for a complaint. They billed me for £568.33p of gas when the real amount was £48 this over six months and a ruined holiday. Compensation £35 disgusting lets hope ofgem fines them another 19 million pounds. Scottish NO Spanish bandits.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Being on the phone with Scottish Power was like living out an episode of south park. Each person I spoke to told me I needed to speak to somebody else, with the final person telling me he would have "an engineer out right away" (even though I don't need an engineer), before promptly putting me on hold for 3 hours. I still have no gas, and when I call their contact number it tells me to "use the online chat function". The online chat is telling me to call the same number that just diverted me to the online chat.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have had issues for over 3 months now, trying to get them to remove a meter from the national database (currently have two and they are the only energy company that deals with this) so I can move onto a better energy company - I have a fixed tariff and it was suppose to be £91 per month till May next year but it went up to 579.68 per month then it went up again two days later to 649.00 per month!! So many other issues hopefully the Ombudsman gets it sorted for me, this company should shut down
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Avoid Scottish Power at all costs. Worst customer service I have ever experienced. I have an ongoing complaint that has just rolled over into a third month. So far they haven't been able to tell me what the problem is, never mind find a solution. My "complaint handler" has not spoken to me for about a month and is refusing all my requests to call me back . They are equally hopeless over chat, email and telephone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible is an understatement. 4 separate calls today, all on hold for at least 50 minutes before being cut off , told that an engineer would be out within 4 hours, now 7 hours and counting. Was told that if I wasn’t in when the engineer called I’d be charged £160 ! I’m now working out how to invoice these absolute wankers , for wasting my time
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Would give it 0 starts but won't let me. Took over my gas and electric without me asking and first aware was them sending me a large bill! Have tried since to get sorted but nothing. Rang again today to try deal with it, twice on a 45 min wait and when answer its silent like not know how to use headset!!!! Absolute joke of a company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Scottish Power is rated 1.11 based on 801 reviews