Scottish Power Reviews

1.1 Rating 1,054 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Scottish Power
1.1
Based on 1,054 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1 out of 5
Read Scottish Power Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 027 0072

Email:

info@scottishpower.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Scottish Power made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
worst company cheatters, could anyone tell where are they wales and england address i need take to the court this doggy company anyone knew their england or wales address please reply thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
T telling too many lies not very very helpful
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
They are truly shocking and just seem to make things up for fun when you ring them .I was getting estimated bills despite having a smart meter one of which was 900 pounds for a two bedroom flat that I am rarely in.The meter has never worked yet they think its acceptable to fit a smart meter and still make me submit a reading once a month.Turns out they had me on Economy 7 all the time instead of dual fuel.I switched to octopus just to stop the stress
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Due to thier total incompetence I now have three accounts all with wrong details gets worse every time I explain problems to them now threatened with my belongings and bank account beeing seized. Terrified.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
So I had made my final bill payment on april and told them to switch my account on april itself and had moved from that property . after 1 month i get a notice on june saying my final bill is £259 something when speaking before i had made my payment on april and shocking thing is when my family wasnt in the property how are we supposed to pay for the bill this is disappointing and i wouldn’t even rate 1 star to this supplier . When switching from edf to scottish they had come over to our place at late evening and convinced to switch at that very moment but biggest regret of all times .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Worst company ever, I've spoken to 50+ people over the phone over the past 5 years and 2 have been helpful and done what they said they would do. My complaints escalated to the Financial Ombudsman twice because Scottish Power lied to them, telling them they had completed the 5 remedies set out and in fact they never completed any!! Finally after 5 years I've had to go down another route and getting this sorted, I will be changing providers straight away and would never ever recommend this company. I've been shouted at, lied too, over charged, I'll never understand how they are allowed to operate the way they do.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Very cheap rates and I have always found customer service to be quick and helpful
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Appalling!!! I have never had the misfortune than with this company! Having charged me an obscene amount I left in March and issued a formal complaint. This process has nearly driven me over the edge and today they say my final bill was incorrect so they want more!!!! I feel physically ill because of them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Completely disingenuine company and customer service was appalling. We spoke to their “customer service” advisors on many occasions and they were largely unhelpful. Two advisors, Melissa and Aphiwe, were frankly rude to us and would refuse to help or to transfer us to other advisors. Wanted to make a complaint internally with the company but they wouldn’t let me over the phone so had to come on here. Can see that others have also had a terrible experience. Stay as far away as you can, save yourself from getting scammed. Absolute scum. Will be contacting the ombudsman and have switched our energy provider.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Awful company, too many issues from poor customer service to diabolical service with their insurance, absolutely avoid this company!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies from call centre Don’t join
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I have been with Scottish power twice. I manage my account on line and found the web site easy to use. The only problem I encountered was setting the Direct Debit at the correct amount . The website was biased to make you pay to much and I was going into unnecessarrily high amounts of credit going into winter. When prices were very high Martin Lewis recommended to stay put on the standard variable tariff so I stayed put until recently , When deals became available I "jumped ship " as soon as the market went back to normal. I think the regulator may have intervened about the large credits on accounts and it did improve. I phoned SP 3 or 4 times to complain about the large credit on my account but found the indian advisers very unhelpful. I managed to run my credit down to just under £200 when I changed supplier and this was reimbursed quite promptly. They were not a bad company..........but talking to the call centre was a negative experience ...... and I am so glad I never had to call them with a more serious problem.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Scottish Power are stealing money and it's a fact by assigning people to completely different accounts without informing them. Then they sell them to credit companies as unpaid debt. They added 3 account numbers to my account during the time when I didn't live at this address at all, in one of them I spoilt money all the time and even Bill was the last to go there, and it's visible in the online account. Then they made up a third account for the same time at the same address in my name and sold it to debt collectors as not paid and now 3 years later I find out that my account was sold to debt collectors even though it was paid a long time ago. If you rent a house always ask who the lender is for electricity and gas, if Scottish Power don't take the house until the other lender is changed as you will not walk through the door of the house but you will already owe Scottish Power. I will now go to court, good thing I still have all the evidence.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Do NOT use Scottish Power - Their customer services process is appalling. No 1 person owns a complaint and they ignore most of the issues you raise with them. I have been waiting for a 3phase smart meter upgrade to be booked correctly since Feb 2024. I have had 3 different bookings made and they were all WRONG. The people dealing with the calls and emails are utterly useless and this is by far the worst company I have ever dealt with. I would avoid them like the plague. My complaint is still ongoing, still no smart meter upgrade and no date given as to when they are sorting the problem. worst service ever! I have a full solar install booked in with no bloody smart meter to use. WORST WORST WORST
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I moved to my new address in May 2023 and immediately informed SP I am responsible for solar panels on the roof here. Thought it would be a simple matter of re-registering a new name / owner at the same address. We are now one year on and still no first payment for the electricity this account generates, although I am now finally registered via an unbelievably over complicated procedure. SP have been sold to a Spanish company. To make this review open up I had to score them a 1 out of 5 but honestly they don't deserve 1. I've had countless telephone calls (gave up emailing as they never respond) and to be fair there are a few live staff who want to try and help but the organisation doesn't support them and they also employ more incompetent customer support staff than competent ones. I tied to make a formal complaint to the CEO whose name and email appears in the website but have not received a reply. They are truly appalling and that's not the fault of the staff but is the fault of management.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible to deal with this is the 3rd visit arranged to change my meter which is not working ! They just don’t turn up and no explanation and I have waited all day !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
AVOID THIS COMPANY. There is a good reason you have to scroll to the bottom of the Google search results to find any reviews about this company. This is the worst energy company I have ever had to deal with in my professional career and I would advise anybody reading this to AVOID them at all costs. Unprofessional to an offensive extent. Absolute baffoons running around like headless chickens. When you do have a complaint (won't take long at all), you will be directed to an e-mail that simply bounces back. Colleagues are incredibly incompetent. When you try to escale through their website you get nothing. When you e-mail them you get nothing. Absolute disgrace. Save yourself the hassle and just avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I had been with Scottish Power for over ten years , not until energy prices increased did I pay much attention to my bill (my fault, lazy I guess) , so like most people we started being more careful with our consumption however we very rarely had our meters read so carried on getting estimates, when challenged I was told to have smart meters fitted which I declined, having read how a large percentage of these are faulty or don't work properly, I also found that they wanted me to sign up for an open ended direct debit which I also declined, having friends who had done this and had astronomical amounts removed from there bank accounts without prior warning, then they struggled to recover this money and have there direct debits reduced to a normal level, some taking over a year or more , Scottish Power even sent bailiffs to my son in laws House to recover a large sum in thousands of pounds which he paid or would have been cut off and goods removed, only 3 months later after countless letters and phone calls to discover that not only did he not owe the thousands of pounds but they owed him 2 thousand pounds, not even an apology but it took him 3 more months to get the money back , disgusting behaviour and treatment with NO accountability, they seem to be using the customers that do pay there bills as cash cows for whatever their shortfalls are , wouldn't recommend anyone to be a customer of said company. . Money grabbing, extremely poor customer service and bad management
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have had nothing but problems with this company. Conflicting bills (despite providing metre readings and then later getting smart metre fitted) , constant bombardment of threatening letters and phone calls threatening legal action against me, failure to resolve issues when i phone them up, diabolic customer service, telling bare faced lies to ombudsman services which result in ombudsman being unwilling to resolve my complaint, charging me for my neighbours bills, quadrupalling my monthly bills etc.....etc........ The worst energy supplier in the UK bar none. Avoid with a barge poll
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Everything is wrong with this company. They don’t turn up to appointments to change metres they don’t take into consideration that you are unpaid when taking a day off. Metre faulty still no help
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Scottish Power is rated 1.1 based on 1,054 reviews