Scottish Power Reviews

1.1 Rating 819 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Scottish Power
1.1
Based on 819 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1 out of 5
Read Scottish Power Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 027 0072

Email:

info@scottishpower.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Scottish Power made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Leaving after 10 years with them turned into a circus!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Telephone Enquiries to Scottish Power can take Hours to get through!, and when you do, dont expect your records on file to be correct! and best of all if you have a Prepayment Meter and anything goes wrong with it, whereby it has to be changed, "BEWARE": As if you have Credit on the Meter, dont believe Scottish Power when they tell you the Credit will be transferred. Because if you have not kept EVERY RECEIPT FROM THE SHOP OUTLETS THAT SELL ELECTRICITY, YOU CAN NOT PROVE THAT YOU HAVE PUT CREDIT ON YOUR KEY METER, Even though the Meter Registers the Amount of Money. How do I know this? because my friend and myself are both Pensioners, Aged 72 and 68 and we both fought very hard for our Credit money to be returned respectively, £190 and £164, but to no avail. We both gave up, as we were so mentally tired and distraught. You would ask yourself how could this happen in 2020, this day and age, or they're old people and its a mistake. Well, Pensioners don't make mistakes when it comes to paying bills and trying desperately to keep warm in wintertime. Please take heed and try another electricity company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I wouldn't even give them 1 star. Appauling company and service, they have no idea what they are talking about. Been paying monthly £120 for my electric and they have tried saying I owe £1600 when leaving yet non of them can tell ne how its got to that price. Who uses £120 a month on elec anyway in a 1 bed apartment!! Robbing b**tards!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I moved to a new house first time with my partner the 10th of June. We received a bill from 1st of May to 8th of June to MY NAME despite I wasn't living there in May. After 1 hour of calls, I am told to forget about it because I do not have to pay that. That is okay, anyone makes mistakes. Now, we received the June bills and... surprise: letter says we still must pay the May bill! So I wasted 1 hour for nothing and I still "have to pay" that bill. Then I have called again and the answer is I will have to call again in a few days to confirm they are cancelling the May bill and recalculating my bill. Dissapointing, time waster and non-professional. You will fing this review in other websites and social media. Bye!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Do not ever go with this so called company !!!!!! Unless you want unlimited stress and Hassel you choose!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Worst customer service in the world still waiting on call back after 3 weeks off to octopus energy
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dreadful customer service still waiting for call back after 3 phone calls to talk about my account
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
DO NOT EVER USE SCOTTISH POWER!!!! Charging daily standing charge - FOR NOT using your gas. Now we owe these thief £2,155. And holding us ransom on a (1 tarrif available) prepaided meter until 2028. Enjoy it Scottish Power YOU WILL NEVER be in this house the day after and that will be the last pound you get to steal from us.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The worst company to ever deal with! Waited 15 days to something I was advised I would receive in 24-48 hrs, contacted again and told sorry it wasn't processed, will process again and receive in 24 hrs. Asked to raise a complaint. Contacted again 6 days later as still not received to be told still not processed and would I like to raise a complaint? Told them I had already raised a complaint, but they hadn't processed that either. Would give 0 stars if possible!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Scottish Power are the worst company I have dealt with. I had to join them in October because my previous supplier Tonik went into Admin. It has taken them 3 months to acknowledge I has a £97 Credit balance with Tonik which Scottish Power promised to honour. When I was forced to join Scottish Power they instantly put me on a very expensive Tariff which I could not change. Absolutely disgusting customer service. I have lost count of the number of times I have contacted them trying to sort ouit my Final Bill. I decided to leave Scottish power after a month & gratefully now with a new Supplier who are so much better
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Scottish Power is the worst energy supplier I have ever had. Their customer service is shocking. In the year that I was with them they messed up my smart meter installation and I was told I was £2k in debit, they then put this right after the most frustrating experience of trying to talk to someone who could help me. They then stopped billing me for electricity and were telling me I was £700 in credit, even though I was submitting monthly readings. Once again this resulted in endless call waiting. I challenged my final bill and found it almost impossible to get a sensible response. I have never left a negative review before for any organisation or service, but they are absolutely incompetent and the customer experience has been the worst I have ever had the misfortune to experience. I feel sorry for the staff, it must be soul destroying to work for an organisation that is so inept.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Disastrous customer service being on hold for hours at a time. Not only this, the billing structure is disjointed from reality and can't follow thier own maths! This company has some serious operations management issues and really need to analyse how thier resources are being used if they can't answer phones on time or bill correctly. Avoid at all costs!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I moved to Scottish Power from Octopus with the lure of a lower ( Slightly )energy bill, what a mistake. Poor service and when you do get through it is as if the person who you are speaking with is from a different firm. Less than a month later I am going back to Octopus and even though I am required to pay Scottish Power an exit charge I feel it is worth it, both for my time and sanity.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
After calling Scottish Power numerous times to resolve an account date issue for a property I own upon the change of tenancy. I was repeatedly cut off, ignored, and billed incorrectly. I was then threatened with a default/legal action for a bill that wasn't mine. I paid the bill even though it wasn't mine to try and appease Scottish power until the issue could be resolved and they applied a default to my credit rating anyway for a bill that I didn't owe. This has had serious repercussions on my personal financial situation. SCOTTISH POWER EXTORDED MONEY FROM ME AND HAVE FAILED TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Left in August this year and I'm still being charged. I'm currently trying to get a refund but getting nowhere as I keep being fobbed off. I strongly urge people NOT to go with Scottish Power if they want a stress free life. I contacted them a month ago and it's still not sorted. I've had enough. I'm just glad I'm with someone else but I need my money refunded otherwise I'd have left it
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Representative who approached my to switch told me total lies about the fixed price & exit fees. Was told different things when I questioned that the information I was told was different to what applied on the account when joining. Was told twice by two different people on the team once I set up dd & enter meter reading it would be the fixed price as promised. Then once I tried to do this at a later date they then told me it would not be fixed & based on consumption & is much higher. Shambles of a team & extremely unprofessional. Wouldn’t trust them again! Have now had to switch back to my old supplier who was cheaper, caused havoc in a difficult time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely rubbish service,total rip off .Abusive customer service staff ,never gave back my over charged money !!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Absolutely diabolical company. Ripped off a vulnerable pensioner 89 years old by closing down his current account (by accident!), keeping the £432 in that account, that was due to end. Opening another account without his permission then sending demands for 12 months payment of over £1200.00. An absolute disgrace of a company! 3 months complaining, letters, emails only to be fobbed off, ignored then sending out more demands for payments for a fictitious account. The stress they have placed on a couple of pensioners in their late 80’s, forcing them to pay bills they have not used. They ought to be struck off from trading..
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Made payment a day after providing my meter reading and receiving my bill. I received my receipt for payment as usual. A week after payment, I received a threatening letter from Director of customer service demanding that I settle my account or failure to do so will result in my details being passed onto to debt collectors. Imagine being chased up & threatened with a possible CCJ for a non existing debt, that is revolting.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Do not give them your hard earn money. There are many other providers, none of which can be as appalling as these. Happily take your money on over-inflated estimates, even though you provide regular meter readings which they deem to be too low so ignore. Try getting any over payments out of them, its a ridiculous process even having successfully complained to the ombudsman. Nearly a year of banging my head against a brick wall;l and still no closer to a resolution. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Scottish Power is rated 1.1 based on 819 reviews