Scottish Power Reviews

1.1 Rating 1,063 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Scottish Power
1.1
Based on 1,063 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1 out of 5
Read Scottish Power Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 027 0072

Email:

info@scottishpower.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Scottish Power made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Scottish Power 1 star review on 9th November 2022
Chris Moisey
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I had been with Scottish Power for over ten years , not until energy prices increased did I pay much attention to my bill (my fault, lazy I guess) , so like most people we started being more careful with our consumption however we very rarely had our meters read so carried on getting estimates, when challenged I was told to have smart meters fitted which I declined, having read how a large percentage of these are faulty or don't work properly, I also found that they wanted me to sign up for an open ended direct debit which I also declined, having friends who had done this and had astronomical amounts removed from there bank accounts without prior warning, then they struggled to recover this money and have there direct debits reduced to a normal level, some taking over a year or more , Scottish Power even sent bailiffs to my son in laws House to recover a large sum in thousands of pounds which he paid or would have been cut off and goods removed, only 3 months later after countless letters and phone calls to discover that not only did he not owe the thousands of pounds but they owed him 2 thousand pounds, not even an apology but it took him 3 more months to get the money back , disgusting behaviour and treatment with NO accountability, they seem to be using the customers that do pay there bills as cash cows for whatever their shortfalls are , wouldn't recommend anyone to be a customer of said company. . Money grabbing, extremely poor customer service and bad management
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have had nothing but problems with this company. Conflicting bills (despite providing metre readings and then later getting smart metre fitted) , constant bombardment of threatening letters and phone calls threatening legal action against me, failure to resolve issues when i phone them up, diabolic customer service, telling bare faced lies to ombudsman services which result in ombudsman being unwilling to resolve my complaint, charging me for my neighbours bills, quadrupalling my monthly bills etc.....etc........ The worst energy supplier in the UK bar none. Avoid with a barge poll
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Everything is wrong with this company. They don’t turn up to appointments to change metres they don’t take into consideration that you are unpaid when taking a day off. Metre faulty still no help
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I had an incredibly frustrating experience with Scottish Power. After signing up, I immediately tried to cancel the next day due to a supposed "system error" preventing the gas transfer. My first call was abruptly ended, and on the second attempt, I was bounced around from department to department until they conveniently ran out the clock for the end of their workday. It was a clear display of unprofessionalism, and I've never been treated so poorly. It took three phone calls just to resolve the issue. Adding insult to injury, all their calls are pay-per-minute, costing me a small fortune due to their incompetence. Steer clear if you value your time and money.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Three months after joining Scottish Power they more than doubled the variable daily standing charge, and increased the unit cost when my business tarrif stars that this element is fixed. Four different customer service personnel were unable to explain why a fixed tarrif can be varied. Misselling the product big time
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Disgusting company that mistreats its own customers. Has overcharged me an illogical amount and refuses to do anything about it. Has caused so much distress and anxiety in the family, it is ridiculous how they can get away with this. Please avoid Scottish power like the plague. Choose any provider but these clowns
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
They are quite an ethical supplier, as I understand. However, having been with them for over 2 years, I installed solar panels and then spent over a year with them of trying to get to pay me for my SEG exports from my panels. The system is useless and does not work and is so complicated to work - just not fit for purpose and you never hear back from them despite their owing me over £100 for my exports. Switched to Octopus and i suggest you do the same. Real shame from a company which I approved of ethically.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The agents are now in Nigeria I think! They hang up the phon on you. They refuse to listen and sound like they enjoy stressing you out. Refuse to give you the managers names. Refuse to discuss the main issues on the account and are dictating to you. Poor communication with most of the staff I have spoken too in 3 months A disgusting way to behave
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
it is terrible the way charged me during the months and after less than 2 years i found myself nearly £4000.00 in debt with them hence having paid about £2,500.00 in this period and they have already screwed my credit score and did put me in a big trouble for my mortgage process. i can not simply trust them anymore and i want to take my complaint to ombudsman.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Sadly recently having problems with communicating with company. Also feel after being with them for years not considerated a good customer. Def feel as if I should try and find another supplier
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Really poor customer service. It took a while to change over to a smart meter after a number of calls. I asked to be set up as a credit account and was told it would be done only to find that wasn’t the case. I used the property as a safe house and the poor people living within the house had no power. My first call took ages to get through and the lady answering the call couldn’t do anything. I decided to call back and found the next handler very helpful who took a payment over the phone. Power was restored and after I complained the reason for the meter not being set up as a credit account was because of a debt and I needed to pay nearly £500. Obviously I complained and after their investigation there wasn’t a debt and someone made a mistake. It account has been sorted now. It only took weeks. The final handler was helpful and called me back after a week to check up and apologise. I spent a few hours making calls and they offered me an apology only. Stay away from Scottish power.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Moved into a property previously supplied by Scottish Power in February. They sent us rediculous final bills based on estmates due to the meter being faulty. With more digging Scottish Power knew about the faulty meter 8 months ago but did nothing to resolve it. All utility companies have opening hours that don't support their customers. They all only open between 9 and 5 Monday to Friday when most people are at work.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Beyond disgusting—I’ve literally just moved in to a previously supplied by Scottish Power house and the ‘adviser’ was beyond rude — when did you get your keys — I told him three times— I owe absolutely no money as the boiler wasn’t working when I moved in but he said ‘ you’ll have the bailiffs pounding on your door’!!! I moved in on 2nd April and changed suppliers immediately I saw the name Scottish Power as I had problems with them before — they are an absolute nightmare—avoid at all costs ❗️
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dreadful in every way. Issues with their smart meter but no engineer appointments available. Awful customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Worst mistake I ever made moving to Scottish Power
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I've asked for a energy monitor for years and got no were, I find that scottish power are very ignorant
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I moved home in December and changed supplier to Ovo. I got my final bill from Scottish power on the 18th January 2024 saying I was £197.78 in credit and that they would refund me within 14 days. After several phone calls and web chats, it is now the 27th March & I have been told my refund was rejected and so they have raised it again. If I have not heard within two weeks then I am to call back again. How can they reject a refund on a closed account. They owe me money and are refusing to give it back! Happy and quick to take money off people but trying to get it back is like getting blood out of a stone! Disgusting company and I will never go with them again!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I was using Scottish power previously in an old property 1-2 years previous and had lots of issues, I was forced into having a prepayment meter as my direct debit was slightly in debt when I got the prepayment meter it was using atleast £20 a day on electric (1 bedroom apartment) when I moved from the property I had a refund of £800 back, I struggled for over a year to pay my gas and electric and went without at times as I couldn’t afford it but they owed me £800? Yesterday I had a call from ‘provider’ asking would I like a smart meter through Scottish power, I explained to them I’m no longer a customer of them, they said I should speak with them to make sure my account has been closed, they transferred me through, I have to say the first man I spoke to was very helpful in telling me my accounts were closed and he was unsure why I was receiving these calls he asked would I like a quote for switching back to them, I was curious as to there prices for energy so I agreed, he put me through to another man, he went through the quotes with me and compared to my current tariff, I have to agree the deal was much better than I currently use through my current provider, but. I explained I had previous issues with Scottish power, he went on to say there system has changed within the 12 months I hadn’t been with them? I then explained the refund I had whilst I struggled to pay for energy he then said that’s a good thing you got all the money back we didn’t have to do that 🤷🏼‍♀️ I then said could I have time to think about this quote and look at my current supplier he said no I could not I had to decide then, I explained I can’t be rushed into a financial decision as this was a fixed tariff as I’m not in a position to do so, he said that I was stupid for not wanting to save money? I said could I call back later in the day he then continued to say no I had to make a decision right now, I said I could not do so, he then said In a very aggressive tone you’ll now have to do this whole thing again and slammed the phone down on me? I assume that the sales team get commission on there sales but as a young woman I feel I don’t want to be pushed into a decision. Although I’d of considered changing back to Scottish power I think I made the right decision by not agreeing to the quote as there customer service are disrespectful and rude.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Fraudsters is the best word for them. Poor customer service and charging elderly ridiculous amounts of money
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
If I could give minus star I would. Their charges to me were completely disproportionate to what we use. I was paying £1,500/month approx. 2 persons in a modest 4 bed home, only had heating on morn and eve for short period and minimal use hot water. Harassed us to get smart meter which we declined so feeling is, they charged us at this highest rate but told me I was on the cheapest and flexi cancer care tariff. All customer service is on X or AI.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Scottish Power is rated 1.1 based on 1,063 reviews