Scottish Power Reviews

1.1 Rating 821 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend Scottish Power
1.1
Based on 821 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1 out of 5
Read Scottish Power Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 027 0072

Email:

info@scottishpower.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Scottish Power made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Emma Azhar
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Same as every other review. Spent over 85 hours on the phone. Broken promises of returning calls over 50 Times. Each time the issue gets worse as no one will own the mess they caused. Now with ombudsman Worst days work I did going to this criminal company
Helpful Report
Posted 10 hours ago
Honestly, not even worth a 1 star. Worst of all time. They put you on hold for over 3 hours then hang up to say they are too busy so can’t answer. If you’re lucky for someone to answer, they just transfer you to someone else. If you finally manage to get them to send an engineer over, the engineer doesn’t show up. And they blatantly don’t care because when you call the next day, someone new picks up and they seem to not even care. They just repeat the cycle. Even when you say it’s an emergency and that there’s no power in Your house for 3 days and you’ve been trying to get help for the last 3 days. THE WORST OF ALL TIME!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Scottish Power are a disgrace. We got behind in our payments, we called the Customer service department to change the tariff so as to pay off the debt. Even though we were told it was changed, days after they ignored this and put us on a pay as you go scheme, then they told us the direct debit was refused by the bank as our bank account was closed. Of course we called the bank and they said Scottish Power hadn't even applied for a direct debit. Even with all this information then refused to put us back onto the tariff. I have spent over 10 days sometimes 3 times a day trying to talk to them. They always say it is my fault even though we made the arrangement before the changed us over. They will not let us speak to anyone [manager]. As that is not their policy. They gave me different phone numbers that don't exist. They transferred me to departments to talk to people and I was cut off after 40 minutes. It is an absolute disgrace. As soon as we pay up we will leave I recommend that everyone does this. Don't go with Scottish Power.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I can honestly say Scottish Power provide the worst customer service I have ever received; I’m honestly serious. You have no choice but to call their hotline; and you will wait at least 30-45 mins on a good day. I usually am kept waiting between 1.5-2 hours. I am often cut off by their phone line before talking to anyone. Their chat function is laughable and again you will be kept waiting for an age before you can speak to a person rather than their bot. I was discouraged from raising a complaint about a legitimate failing on their end. Their reps gave me wildly varying information and they are making it incredibly difficult for me to move from a prepayment to a direct debit meter. Their app is faulty very frequently which has led to payments not going through so my energy cuts off regularly. I have a young family and have been brought to tears which how badly I have been treated in an age where energy prices are rising exponentially. I would urge any prospective customer of Scottish Power PLEASE to reconsider and use a different energy provider, they are honestly appalling.
Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022 Scottish Power 1 star review on 4th August 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hello guys please don't be a customer of Scottish power they don't listen to you if you have a problem and you call them because you think they will sort it out for you it's gonna be like this they are gonna be like we cannot do anything to solve this problem for you or I am gonna transfer the call because I am confused on what to do or like during the call they are just gonna cut the call on your face without calling you back that's a shame and also I called them once and the staff wasn't even listening to me I tried to explain him the problem that I have with mu account but he was like I am really annoyed by you this was really rude.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
They owe me money after closing my account. Still waiting 5 years later…
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Poor service don’t answer calls even after waiting for 40-45 minutes in queue.. Pathetic 👎👎👎
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
They were actually good to begin with (even though when I moved to them 2 years ago when my agreed meter reading was not setup/was not applied as agreed - which resulted in me needing to call them multiple times, make a complaint and then for this to be done!! :( ) They have gotten a lot WORSE! AVOID!! They scared my mum (pension age) into an expensive tariff due to the energy price rises - leaving her no time to consider!!! That's disgusting! The last few months have been awful in communication, make false promises they DO NOT fulfill, their focus on making money off people/their need for expensive tariffs (trying to scam and make money off people in the time of crisis when they have promised to help people in such cost-of-living & energyprice rises crisis! Lies!!! Lies to entice people and get them hooked into expensive tariffs to make money of you!) AND their LACK OF TRUST and TRANSPARENCY where they have lied, made false promises they didn't fulfill is the worst thing for me -- this is the reason for me leaving them and moving to Octopus later this month! Thank god ! DO NOT go with Scottish Power DODGE A TERRIBLE ENERGY PROVIDER by going elsewhere - I've heard great things about Octopus by friends and associates!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
the most thuggish organisation I have ever seen, no decent person can call them a company. I would never have thought in my life that I would come across such a thieving and incompetent company in the UK (I myself come from a post-communist sh*it*hole, but even there the worst company has better customer service and is more decent). For over half a year they have not been able to answer emails, phone calls, they have a chat room which is always off (which is operated by an external company from India, whose consultants do not know that there is a division into night and day tariffs), the only thing they can do is to charge amounts out of nowhere and without any basis. When I miraculously managed to make an appointment to speak to a consultant, the conversation was so infantile that it was a waste of time (texts like "maybe you wash a lot of clothes and that is why you have a large bill"? - ridiculous - the electricity bill in summer was three times higher than in winter with the heaters on!!!!). The only thing they can do quickly is threaten bailiffs and court costs. I will get away from them as soon as possible. I would not wish even my greatest enemy to have a tariff with them. I have paid all my arrears to them, but I am more than sure that a collection agency will come from these thugs, because they are such losers that they are not even able to check what is in their system. And yet they accuse me that it is my fault.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
50p a kwh for electricity and 26p kwh for gas now 300 a month for gas and electricity for single person 3 bed semi they owe me about 4k from overcharging before these current price increases clearly they think they can do what they want as they are part of the globalist agenda
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I've been a londlord for over 20 years with multiple properties, I deal with utility companies all the time but I've never been spoken to in such an agressive way as I have been the last two times I spoke to Scottish Power. All I was enquiring about was how to get the card prepay meter removed and a convential smart meter installed. The current meter was installed by the tenant thats moved out.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely disgraceful, have no words for how they treat you or operate. Impossible ro deal with 8 years of pure hell
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Very bad customer services, no help no bill correct and billing me from the numbers they like. Not my given reading. So please avoid this company and pay what you used not for the whole street.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Disgusting company with incompetent people and nonexistent customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL. Our issue is still ongoing with them from nearly 2 years ago. Taken to the ombudsmen who resolved completely in our favour and told them they needed to back date and change our tariff and were told to send a letter of apology and an additional £100 added to our account. Resolved with ombudsmen finalised with SP ombudsmen team two weeks ago and options of fair and different direct debit amounts available sent in a letter of apology and told to get in touch with our choice. Telephoned customer services who could not set up a simple direct debit and told me that if i was to do a direct debit would need to go onto a much higher tariff!!!! I have emailed the ombudsmen team at SP asking what is going on, yet no reply at this time. However have now been recieving daily phone calls from the collections team demanding payment. They state that the minute the compliant is resolved they will be chasing! Please do not even consider this company, and if you are unfortuante enough to move into a house where they are the current supplier then get rid ASAP.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely appalling service. Me and my partner recently moved into a place. They are trying to charge £320 a month for 2 apprentices. Saying if we don’t pay it all each month they will cut us off. We had our tariff changed to £110 a month but they’ve only added that on top of the £320
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
After numerous chats,phonecalls, online chats for a couple of months i finally pay my final bill for £100.00,even if I was on prepayment meter as my mental health is more important. This company is outrageous, waiting times are long but i don't mind as long as the issue is resolved. Mine never was and I simply cannot stand any more threats to go to court etc. Scottish Power - never again
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
If I could give no stars I would. Terrible customer service. Appalling behaviour from this company. Disgraceful. Short version of our experience. Approx 2.5 years ago we received a quarterly bill for thousands and I mean double figure thousands. We queried this bill and was told numerous times that it was correct. We live in a small 2 bed flat.....someone with a bit of common sense could work that out. Mainly us chasing them as we wanted to pay a correct bill. Them telling us they needed to send someone out to check out meter but couldn't due to covid. 2 years later of chasing, sending pictures of our meter readings, having to turn our electric off throughout the day to do "checks", being passed on from one complaint handler to another, causing upset and stress because as the time goes by we would still have to pay some sort of bill for of course what is due however there is a big difference of paying a quarterly bill to an outstanding bill of 2 years. We finally resolve our issue and I believe this is only because I requested for a smart meter to be installed. Been receiving bills and "normal prices" - 2 bedroom prices, not electric to run a small village! Unfortunately on my error I was late on payment for one bill and a couple of days later received a phone call to say I had to pay £10 late payment fee. After everything they put us through for 2 years with their poor customer service and not being able to resolve a simple matter they still charge a £10 late fee. Scottish Power you are a disgrace. Quick to call you up for a £10 fine but not quick enough to call back when really needed for above situation.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Worst company ever, I left Scottish power since last year in April, I was a prepayment customer, but I ended up owing them, I agreed to pay the balance by installment, the last payment we agreed was supposed to be on the 28 June, and on the 23rd they sent my details to the debt collection company, when I phoned them on the 29th to pay the last remaining balance, the amount changed, I was told I've been charged an additional £28, which I was unaware of, I told them that we agreed that I have to pay on the 28th, I told them again, because they record call, if they can recall the last conversation I had with the agent to see what we agreed to, but they are refusing, as they know they are wrong, I regret being a Scottish power customer for all this years, ❌❌❌EXTREMELY UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF❌❌, ⛔⛔⛔⛔STAY AWAY FROM THE SCOTTISH POWER⛔⛔⛔⛔
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
READ MY EMAILS. NOT SURPRISED YOU ONLY HAVE 1.1 RATING. DON`T ASK ME TO HAVE A SMART METER EITHER I HAVE ENOUGH PROBLEMS WITH SCOTTISH POWER
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Scottish Power is rated 1.1 based on 821 reviews