Senior Discovery Tours Reviews

4.65 Rating 1,392 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Senior Discovery Tours
Read Senior Discovery Tours Reviews
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I went Lab/Nfld..alone.Beautiful country but accommodation poor because travelling alone
? Advised your guide about room-did not care as she had better room than I. Watched her go around to others telling them what great room she had given them!Why did I pay extra?Was signed up for Spain but told again my room would not be as advertised because I was going alone...cancelled (was lucky I did ...virus) For me it is difficult going alone in first place and then have to deal with the unfairness!Will find different opportunities somewhere else!
Cancelled with your company...did not tip your guide nor bus driver either
!
Posted 2 months ago
We had wonderful experiences travelling with Senior Tours and would love to continue seeing the world with thei guidance. - Hope to be able to travel with them soon again!!
Posted 2 months ago
I enjoyed my trip to Cape Cod. Disappointed that I couldn't take a trip this year due to co-vid. Hope things improve for next year
Posted 3 months ago
They did everything as promised. Great tour leaders. Recommend highly and will consider future travel when things settle down 5 star rating
Posted 3 months ago
Walking in Provence and the French Riviera – October 10 – 23, 2020


In short… We had a blast!

This was our first time travelling with Seniors Discovery Tour, and my husband and I found the whole experience thoroughly enjoyable. Having been do-it-yourself travellers for over 50 years, it was wonderful to have someone else manage the details so that we could totally immerse ourselves in the trip.

We couldn’t have asked for a better Tour Manager in Nina Gilners. She handled every situation calmly and efficiently. She was with us every moment, from our arrival at the airport in Toronto, to our return two weeks later. Everything ran smoothly and she listened to our concerns and adapted to the group dynamic.

Our guides, Isabelle & Yves were amazing, both personally and professionally. Each day Yves would do a longer, more strenuous walk and Isabelle a shorter one with less climbing and fewer stairs. Isabelle’s walks would give us more time to learn about the local culture and to take photographs, while Yves’ tour would cover more ground and provide a better workout. No matter which walk we chose to take we always looked forward to challenging ourselves and learning about the area we were visiting.

Both accommodations were lovely. In Gréoux-les-Bains at the Hotel Villa Borghese, all the meals were amazing and the staff warm and welcoming. In Menton at the Hotel Royal Westminster, we had a stunning view of the Mediterranean, however, the dinners were disappointing.

Despite the request that everyone be able to walk a minimum of 8 kilometers a day, several of our fellow travellers experienced difficulties finishing the day’s walk. Our group consisted of 20 people, 8 of whom were over 80 years old, while my husband and I are in our early 70’s. Although we personally didn’t experience any difficulties completing the walks, they were more challenging than we had expected, and we joked that we should rename the tour “boot camp for seniors”. Each day we had the luxury of rotating between the shorter walk and the longer, more challenging one… depending on how we were feeling that day. Some days we felt a bit rushed when trying to take photographs or stopping for lunch. Personally we think it might be an idea to trim a few kilometers off the daily walks, adding a little more time to shop or relax at a café along the route. Despite these minor quibbles we would definitely use Seniors Discovery Tour again.

Our nostalgia for the trip is both strong and bittersweet as we find ourselves in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic. As life long travellers, we long to be on the road again and our thoughts go out to the tour operators who must be suffering with such a large loss to their business.

Steve & Brooke Weslak
Posted 3 months ago
We only had abus tour of Duilin NOT including the brewery while driving through theBoyne valley we missed the 5000year old newgrange megalitthic tomb.We were very close and had time. Why did we go back toL
Letterkenny (boring) instead of Derry MY CHILDREN Were born in Derry and I had hoped to visit some old friends.
Altogether disappointing Ron Mason
Posted 3 months ago
I have now done about seven trips with Semior Discovery Tours and was always very happy with their service and honesty in all matters. My last trip last August was to Africa and it was absolutley stunning. Tour diretors, managers and bus drivers have been amazing and awesome.
Posted 3 months ago
Have travelled with seniors for 31 trips and enjoyed

all of them ,believe this speaks for itself
Posted 4 months ago
My tour to Peru in 2019 was most satisfactory. Had a great time and food and lodging was top notch . I'm sure we had the best the country had to offer.I have highly recommended Senior Discovery Tours to all my traveling friends.

Sincerly, Rose Schwartz
Posted 4 months ago
I have travelled the last 2 years with Senior Discovery Tours. Both tours were to Italy. I have nothing buy praise for absolutely everything. Tour guides both Senior Tour Guide and local guides. Hotels did not disappoint. I was booked for a tour in September but unfortunately because of COVID the trip was cancelled. Hopefully this will all pass in the near future and I will absolutely be ready to travel with Senior Discovery Tours once again.
Posted 4 months ago
Door to door and everything in between great experience .
Posted 4 months ago
I have travelled alone on about 24 bus tours as a single adult. After travelling with several other companies, I switched to yours since many breakfasts and dinners were included where we could eat with the group and get to know others and share our experiences. Several other companies have stopped including many meals and that is not helpful to me when I travel alone and have to walk somewhere in a strange city and walk back to the hotel after since many hotels no longer have dining rooms where we can have dinner. This is the main reason I switched to your company. The trip I took was well planned and managed. The drivers, guides etc. were competent, knowledgeable and that makes a big difference when I travel alone since I want to have confidence that I have someone to help me if I have a problem. Your company was recommended to me by several friends and by Jim McNulty, a teaching colleague of mine who has escorted tours for you for many years. Finally, after 45 years of travelling alone, I finally have someone to travel with. My sister, recently widowed was going to travel with me on your trip to Portugal and Madeira this spring and we were eagerly looking forward to it but we had to cancel due to COVID. We are certainly hoping that we will be able to travel again in the not too distant future, hopefully after a vaccine is found and widely distributed. We look forward to travelling with you, hopefully to the same destination that we had to cancel. We appreciated your flexibility with your refund policy when we did cancel with a reduced penalty from your usual policy. I wish you success in continuing your company and resuming travvel when it is safe to do so.
Posted 4 months ago
We have been on 2 trips with Senior Discovery Tours and have been very pleased with both. The tour managers and guides were very good and helpful. Accommodations were very good. Talking to other people on our trips that have been on different trips with this company had nothing but good things to say. When the current travel problems are over I have other trips in mind.
Posted 4 months ago
I have been on several Senior Tours and have loved them all. Newfoundland/Labrador, Egypt, Prague triangle, etc. 5 in total. So disappointed to not take the Ireland one this Sept. but looking forward to post-covid travel.
Posted 4 months ago
SDT sent a group of senior citizens into Italy in the middle of a pandemic. Three days before the tour (2 March 2020) the CDC issued a Level 4 advisory against non essential travel to Italy. SDT chose to ignore that advisory and the group suffered unnecessary stress and trauma. Some of the group had saved for several years to afford the trip. The aftermath of the trip took a toll on physical and mental health. I am not sure I want to travel with a Company that doesn't put their customer first...above everything else.
Posted 4 months ago
I have travelled 3 times with Senior Discovery Tours. Prior to that I travelled with 2 other companies. Once I went on my first tour with Senior’s I vowed never to travel with anyone else. I appreciate the all inclusive package and I love the door to door pick-up! The small size of the groups allows me to get to know everyone and share interesting conversations. The trips are well organized from beginning to end. Both the office staff and tour managers are knowledgeable, professional and personable. I am looking forward to touring again and again when it is safe to do so.
Posted 4 months ago
I have travelled about 5 times with SDT and had this year's tour cancelled because of COVID. I love the tours, the managers, the guides.
Posted 4 months ago
I have found SDT always reliable for excellent itineraries, good tour managers, and very good value. I have done 15 tours with SDT and will travel with them again as soon as travel restrictions are lifted.
Posted 4 months ago
Have been to Peru and South Africa with Seniors Tours and when safe to do so will keep them in mind as we had our last tour cancelled ( to the Baltic)
Posted 4 months ago
My preference is for few site visits and longer time at each one - too rushed. Work in a little shopping time.
Posted 4 months ago
Senior Discovery Tours is rated 4.65 based on 1,392 reviews