smarTours Reviews

4.46 Rating 1,492 Reviews
87 %
of reviewers recommend smarTours
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
3.92 out of 5
Read smarTours Reviews

About smarTours:

smarTours is a leading provider of direct-to-consumer, affordable travel experiences to exotic global destinations. The Company offers travelers curated, pre-packaged itineraries to over 40 destinations across the globe. By offering tours directly to consumers, the Company provides premium-quality experiences at value prices, and as a result, has cultivated a highly passionate and loyal community of repeat travelers. More than 200,000 travelers have taken a smarTours trip since the founding of the Company in 1996. smarTours is… the smarter way to see the world.

Phone:

800-337-7773

Email:

info@smartours.com

Location:

545 Eighth Ave. Suite 2250
New York, NY 10018

Write Your review

Tell us how smarTours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
smarTours 5 star review on 19th March 2020
Joan
smarTours 5 star review on 19th March 2020
MICHAEL
smarTours 5 star review on 18th March 2020
Rachel
smarTours 5 star review on 17th March 2020
Angelina
smarTours 5 star review on 16th March 2020
Nancy
smarTours 5 star review on 14th March 2020
Irene
smarTours 5 star review on 13th March 2020
David
292
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This was our sixth SmarTours experience and one of the best. Even though much of the time was on a cruise ship with others who were not part of a tour group, our tour leader went above and beyond to keep us informed and to make the trip as enjoyable as possible. It is hard to overstate the comfort and convenience of having someone else be responsible for making reservations, travel connections and local arrangements in a country whose language we don't speak.
Posted 10 months ago
We had an amazing trip. I give Ketsara a 20 based on a scale of 0-10. Yes way above a 10. She was an amazing tour guide and cared about each and everyone on our tour.
Posted 10 months ago
We had a wonderful trip. This was our 4th trip with Smartours and each has been fantastic. As with other Smartours'tour guide, Ketsara took excellent care of our group. The carona virus cut the size of our group to 11 very compatible people. The itinerary and accomadations were all 4 or 5 star. Comparing other companies pricing to Smartours, we did and saw the same places and did the same activities at a great price.
Posted 10 months ago
My trip to Antarctica was life changing! What an incredible expedition. The whole experience is amazing.
Posted 10 months ago
Our first tour with Smartours, but certainly not our last. It was organized, well run and you got a lot for your money. Our guide Victor was exceptional. He was knowledgeable, well versed and very much a peoples person. He added to what made this a very memorable, fun trip.
Posted 10 months ago
The safaris were very well organized and our tour guide was awesome!
smarTours 5 star review on 14th March 2020
Posted 10 months ago
Excellent itinerary and tour leader. The Hurtigruten ship and staff were great for this type of adventure. Very, very pleased.
Posted 10 months ago
Arie was fantastic. He has an extensive knowledge base about the history of Israel as well as the biblical background of Judaism and Christianity. There was a great mix of historical Roman sites-- Masada, Caesarea, Jaffa and others as well as numerous churches and religious sites. We also had a great group. Dead Sea and Sea of Galilee were great! I believe everyone enjoyed the trip and learned a great deal. Good food for the most part.
Worst thing was return El Al flight from Tel Aviv to Newark-- worst service I have ever been on. No water, no complementary beverage service, hot and nasty. Pick another airline.
Posted 10 months ago
My second SmarTour was Amazing Thailand in February. It was a fantastic experience in every way. I love to travel to experience the culture, the food and the people of a country. In Thailand we visited temples, local markets, met ethnic tribal villagers, bought handcrafted items, experienced multiple Thai massages, visited an elephant rescue reserve and learned to make local dishes in a cooking class. What made all of these experiences most meaningful was the compassionate, passionate and infinitely patient leadership of our guide, Ketsara. I have had the pleasure of using dozens of guides in traveling over the years....Ketsara ranks in the top!
As a side note, the Coronavirus has just reared it’s ugly head in China. Despite many client cancellations, SmarTours remained committed to keeping us safe with lots of hand wipes/masks as needed, and kept to our promised itinerary
Posted 10 months ago
My trip to Antarctica was everything I dreamed that it would be. The scenery was beyond words and the penguins were so cute. I was impressed with the beauty of the icebergs and glaciers on the mountains. The ship, Midnatsol, was clean, comfortable and had really delicious food. It was just a spectacular trip in every way.
Posted 10 months ago
We were delighted with our SmarTours trip to New Zealand and Australia.
Posted 10 months ago
Great guides
Posted 10 months ago
The trip was FANTASTIC and Marcello did a great job
Posted 10 months ago
Tour was well organized with excellent tour guides. The accommodations were top level, and the food very good. One day’s 8 hour bus ride was very difficult and they should consider a flight instead.
Posted 10 months ago
The trip itinerary was well planned and the accommodations were quite good, especially considering our trip was to India and Nepal. The tour guide, Bonita, made the trip most enjoyable. Her positive attitude and energy carried the day and her organizing skills and attention to detail were superb. This was a memorable trip, thank you smartTours and Bonnie Backer.
smarTours 5 star review on 13th March 2020
Posted 10 months ago
We just returned from Kenya and Tanzania. The experience was unforgettable! The guides and transportation and accommodations were all excellent and up to the standards we have enjoyed with SmarTours on numerous trips in the past. The only comments we would like to make is that the Tanzania Extension was somewhat hurried with three different lodges over four days. What was a particularly poor plan was for us to get up on the last day for a game drive at 7 AM followed immediately by a three hour drive to Killimanjaro airport to immediately take our flight to Nairobe to connect with our 15 hour flight back to JFK. There was no opportunity for us to rest up or even freshen up before returning to the US. This could have been avoided by providing us with some facilities at a hotel where we could have showered and changed clothing for the trip home. As it was, it was an unnecessarily hard and uncomfortable journey back home.
Posted 10 months ago
Our tour was fabulous! We went on the amazing Thailand tour. Our guide Ketsara was the best we’ve ever had....and we’ve been on many Smartours and a few others. She was so knowledgeable and made sure we had a wonderful experience. Loved the extra free time so we weren’t always so programmed. Hotels were great! Couldn’t have asked for more.
Posted 10 months ago
I left a very detailed review before I left.
Posted 10 months ago
Jessie, our Tour Director, was wonderful. Beautiful speaking voice, imparted history and color of each site we visited. Also added some important personal information that helped explain the caste system. We had a small(15) group so he was able to speak with all of us. He knew all the sites, personell, and all special events. So glad we were on HIS trip.
Posted 10 months ago
Great tour guide and itinerary. Only beef is that air fare should be separate so that we can book own air.
smarTours 5 star review on 13th March 2020 smarTours 5 star review on 13th March 2020 smarTours 5 star review on 13th March 2020
Posted 10 months ago
smarTours is rated 4.46 based on 1,492 reviews