Vitality UK Reviews

1.6 Rating 44 Reviews
14 %
of reviewers recommend Vitality UK
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Vitality UK made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Just a heads up, if you use your VitalityHealth health insurance they'll most likely end up paying less than 10% of the cost of your treatment, or won't pay any of it. So they don't actually save you any money. They'll pay a small portion of a consultation (but you'll still have to pay a large excess ~£100), and then they'll find arbitrary reasons to not cover the actual treatment. They'll also make the whole process unclear and unnecessarily complicated. It's quicker, cheaper and more effective to just use the NHS. PLEASE take my advice; save your money or choose a different private health insurance provider.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Over priced when taken in comparison with others. Lots of little perks that should you take advantage of them all probably make a bit of a difference, but for the most part it hasn’t been my experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I have never experienced anything similar with a company before. When I joined, the customer service was lovely and helpful. A couple of months later, I had an issue with my back and my doctor prescribed Osteopath sessions. Vitality asked for more than the prescription and I had to pay £50 for my doctor to give a lot of details regarding my condition. Still, it wasn't enough and I have been asked for more. I got in touch with the CS team and asked what exact information they would need to make sure that if I had to pay again, they would have everything they needed this time. They said they will send me an email.. I never received it... I called again, the same scenario. I called a 3rd time, the agent said he will call me the same day. Never heard back. I sent emails and even whatsapp. I work in Customer service so I alwasy make sure to be polite and have definitely not done anything that could justify this. I got Vitality through my company so I spoke to HR. HR emailed them twice and never heard back. I do not understand how a company can literally ignore their customers without a care in the world. I really wouldnt recommend them to anyone. And of course, I cancelled. Then a couple of weeks later received a call from them to try and retain me. Terrible experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
DO NOT TOUCH!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
terrible. No cover , millions of questions. Went to a rival provider immediate cover and reassured.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I am covered by Vitality through my work and contacted them earlier this year regarding some health issues that I would have to wait months for via the NHS, and asked if they could recommend a specialist or help with cover if I did have to go private. They suggested some consultants for me to visit and assured me that my initial visit would be covered by my claim, so I accepted visiting one of these consultants. My visit lasted no longer than 15 minutes and they couldn't really help, and I've ended up being charged over £150 for this. It's my excess, Vitality have said. Not happy that I've been charged to see someone who has done less than my GP. I won't be claiming via Vitality in future and will be asking my company if they can sign me up to another health insurance company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I am scared now after reading all this,I was going to sign up today or tomorrow, thanks so much to the reviews
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Stay away from them - everything is misleading and takes 10x the time it should take. You are told about all these wonderful things by sales on the phone but when it comes to starting a claim, managing your care or even just getting in contact, it is designed in a way where it is as complicated and frustrating as possible. I was told it took about 5 working days for a claim to be processed and someone would get in touch for next steps - it's a lie. 2 weeks and I have heard nothing, and each day when I am on the phone for an hour trying to get some information from another advisor, I am told something different. Seems like they are in no rush to organise the claim in any time - avoid these guys.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Vitality Car Insurance I have VitalityLife Essentials Plan with Vitality and my car insurance was due to renew. I thought I would see what the premium would be through Vitality Car, just to get a comparison price. I entered the renewal date starting at the 1st of the month rather than the 3rd. On our renewal date we decided last minute after shopping around to go with the Vitality plan but when I tried to buy it the quote had expired. Fair enough, so I went through the quote process again and was surprised to find the quote had increased by nearly 20%, this is 2 days after the quote expired. I tried adjusting the excess but it didn't make that much difference. I tried to call but no one there on a Sunday so I made the decision to go with the high price with a view to sorting it out the next day calling Vitality. Vitality said quotes change and nothing they can do and they could not even provide a reasonable explaination of why it went up so much. This does not give me any confidence Vitality would provide good car insurance premiums for the future with prices varying so much in such a short space of time and that two people with the same car having paid massively different prices for the same cover but 2 days apart. And they are not open on a Sunday to answer any enquiries. I therefore don't have any reason to keep any of my insurance policies with Vitality.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This company is a scam. I never signed up for their services, but for some reason they signed me up. A true nightmare. Contacting them is just a waste of time. It is an ordeal. I wonder what the regulators are doing!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Take too long answering calls
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Excellent customer service when I had to claim. Waited a couple of weeks before having my operation & only had to make one call. Thank you Vitality!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Critical Illnes in this Policy is just horrible ! They dont pay me due very restricted Terms & Conditions !
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I had to make a claim & the whole process was seamless. Was seen virtually via a GP, referred & in to hospital within 4 weeks. Had to wait a bit to have my call answered, but when I did, have received a brilliant service. Was also impressed at how many things I get being a customer - even when not making a claim. Overall, wouldn’t want to go anywhere else.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Terrible, >30 minutes on hold waiting for someone to answer. Only to then find out that they need further details why I need the treatment recommended by a private physicians I funded MYSELF due to the ridiculously long waiting times on the phone to get through to anyone. They then questioned why my NHS GP didn't treat me instead! I head to read out the entire letter from my consultant and essentially divulge all my medical information over the phone. I pay for the highest level of cover & expect to be treated with some sort of respect. I am waiting for Vitality to come back to me to decide if they can cover the treatment recommended but I won't hold my breath.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Every positive review are from people who signed up… really struggle to find a positive review from someone who claims… says it all I think!!!! It’s a really poor offering they have. Keep looking there are better others!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Everything wrong with them... this is a massive case of over promise and under delivering... I was skeptical but thought I would give the benefit of the doubt... wish I hadnt. Tomorrow BUPA for me and I would pay double if I had to!!!!! I think they forget they are a medical insurer...
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
In my experience of having been with Vitality for four years, I am beginning to think that it is a company that is not concerned with the interests of its members. It is a classic example of style over substance using an expensive Ad agency and celebs to sucker people in for a truly awful service. It is so difficult and lengthy to start a claim that you just just give up, get over whatever it is or I imagine end up in hospital. They never answer emails and never honour callbacks. I cannot understand how they are able to trade in this way. If you have developed any condition while a member then you are in a very unfortunate position. This is a gimmick company designed to get you half price at already overpriced shoe shops and gyms, not much else. There are much better alternatives out there.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
From the very first claim to the end, Vitality had all sorts of problems that we never experienced with BUPA. They turned down my first claim forgetting that my cover was taken as continued cover. Thus did a 180 when proven wrong. Then specialist name after specialist name that they provided was of no use, until eventually I found one myself, which was later confirmed to be on their list. The next claim was refused even though it was a separate acute problem, they claimed was part of a chronic issue. This was utterly false, as we are both nurses have a grasp of what is and isn't related. They offer a video GP which while good in of itself, however is utterly useless for progressing claims. As the claim form has to be sent to your regular GP, who you may not have spoken to, as you used Vitality's own service. Their GP service does not link up with your claim service, thus useless. The medical underwriters are a joke, taking anywhere from 5 to 8 weeks to respond to anything. I completed a customer survey in Mid-August and a compliant manager phoned to discuss my comments, promising to look into the issues I raised. It is now mid-December and I am yet to receive a response. Ignore the silly points and money off rubbish, as a medical insurance provider they are very poor. It is the worst thing that we ever did leaving BUPA. Speak to anyone in private healthcare they will tell you BUPA pay them in a timely manner, the same cannot be said of Vitality. Overall- a terrible experience from Start to Finish. Avoid them at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
They don’t answer emails, or answer the phone. As they can’t be contacted to approve a claim, they actually delay you getting medical treatment. What is the point paying for private health cover with them? With such dreadful customer service, Vitality really are not fit for purpose. If there had been a zero star option with this review, that is what they would have got from me.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Vitality UK is rated 1.57 based on 44 reviews