Aldermore Bank Reviews

1.4 Rating 52 Reviews
10 %
of reviewers recommend Aldermore Bank
1.4
Based on 52 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Aldermore Bank made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Awful Shocking Disgusting Service, they really need to be investigated by the FCA. Please steer clear away!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We are very unhappy with the service we have received from them, we applied for a mortgage direct through them, all was good, adviser James Quigley was friendly and helpful at the beginning. Payment was taken on the 21st June for the £99 and the £370 valuation fee. After that communication was different, his manner on the phone changed and email responses were slow, days after. On the 26th June he said we where moving to far, but he had the wrong address. I called on the 28th June to be told by someone else that the application had been started but not submitted. On the 4th July James promised it would be looked at the next day, 2 weeks after we payed. On the 9th July, after pushing and trying to get things moving as we had the estate agents giving US a deadline we were told it was a no from the bank, and James said he would sort the refund of £370. I emailed on the 24th and 26th July asking where the refund was, no reply. i called on the 30th July to be told it was authorized in the 26th and to allow 5 days , would be in my bank by Thursday 2nd August. Still no refund, I emailed again on the 2nd to be told you cant find my payment so no refund has been issued?!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Very dishonest. They kept my savings for 5 months and returned the fonds to me without paying any interests. When I called them they told me I could do a new investment with them. How could they even think I would ever invest any money with them? They are not professional and have stolen 5 months interests from my money. There are plenty other investment company that pay better interests and are very good. One of the best is Castle Trust.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I sent info to Aldermore as requested 9 days ago and still no one has bothered to contact me! Appalling service! Doesn't even deserve one star!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Only bank ever to refuse to send me my statement of interest which i need for tax purposes.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
My application got lost and lost on fixed deposit and they had my funds for a month and no communications from them and sent back funds and sent a letter afterwards.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Just read reviews and in total agreement. Opened savings account but have had to contact them several times re internet access. Still not got account verified in order to get money back and account closed. All other banks have better systems in place and will refund money if change mind on opening. DO NOT USE THIS BANK. Much better online banks elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Wonderful news, whether they read my review regarding customer loyalty I don't know, but we were contacted by Aldermore Bank ( I called them back as you should for security reasons) and received an apology and opened the account at the original rate. Well done, and thank you Aldermore
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We are an elderly couple who like others sometimes find it difficult to navigate around internet banking. We have been loyal customers of this bank for many years and recommended it to relatives. This means nothing to this organisation. They are insensitive and do not understand loyalty so we have found it necessary to cease any further business with them. We recently opened a 1 year bond at a fixed rate, but confusion arose over the transfer of funds to it from a 30 day notice account.It resulted in the failure to transfer the funds in time before the interest rate dropped. They insisted that the a new account would have to be opened at the lower interest rate. Any organisation that puts profit before customer satisfaction and loyalty is not worthy of support.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The reason I give 2 stars is that at least they have a good working internet banking and the withdrawals (originally) work within the timescale they promise. However, do not fall for it. They make it sound super simple and easy and then they keep your money hostage. I explain... I opened this account by how easy it sounded to deposit / withdraw money from my main current account in case I had an emergency and needed the money. And the first time around it worked great. Until I get a letter in the post saying that until I prove my current account is my own they have put "preventative measures" in my easy saver (without giving any details about which they are!). I went paperless with my current account provider, so I go to my app's inbox and download my latest statement, I send both a photo of Aldermore's original letter to me and the PDF I just downloaded from my current account provider to them via email... I thought, well this is done. They have my email, they have a photo of the letter, surely there will be no doubt THIS IS ME. Wrong, I receive an email saying they do not accept digital documents (when are we? 1980s?) and I must contact customer service via phone. I do, customer service then says they cannot accept digital documents... Ok, but I don't have a printer at home, what do I do? Oh, we cannot accept documents printed at home either, it has to be an original from your bank - lady, did you not just hear me saying I had gone paperless? So, she then explains that I cannot do anything with my money until I send an original statement from my bank via post. Keeping my money hostage! So I contacted my current account provider, who confirmed the copy of the statement will come in 7-10 working days. This plus the amount of time it will take to send the statement back to Aldermore and having them processing it, means that this won't get resolved any earlier than 15 days. I sincerely hope I will not need this money within these 15 days or I am going to be a very angry person. This is MY MONEY! Why do you go through all the trouble of limiting deposits and withdrawals from a specific current account to then do all this? It's ridiculous and outdated.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I would have given Nought, as they do not respond to complaints, the CEO Phillip Monks does not respond to emails. AVOID AVOID AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Applied for mortgage in principle through broker; explained very clearly to Business Development Manager about self-employment status, time trading, available accounts etc. In principle was approved with no issues. Was informed all was ok and employment status was within their lending criteria. Made full application and passed all affordability checks, LTV criteria etc. etc. Full application was OK'd by underwriters but then refused by Risk Manager who decided he wanted another years accounts or he'd lower the offered LTV from 95% to 85%. This was challenged by my broker and by Aldermores' own underwriter but the Risk Manager would not honour what had been promised all through the weeks of the application process. Making a Financial Ombudsman Service complaint about 'unfair treatment' of customer by clearly stating one self-employment criteria all through application until final minute when criteria was changed with no reason or warning. Read on other review sites that Aldermore has a reputation of issuing In Principle decisions and then reneging on them - guess I'm just another victim who's lost a house sale and purchase due to shoddy practices by this lender.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Poor, fail to meet FCA regulations, no understanding of FCA treating customers fairly, I'm going to continue posting negative reviews each week until this company accepts they have got it wrong, this company wouldn't go wrong having there FCA licience revoked and be put out of business, make things up as they go long make offers they don't stick too, then they try to cover tracks with further unorthodox tactics. NAMED AND SHAMED ADAM GUNTON AND NEIL DAWSON
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
They have completely Refused to consider people who have no internet access, or are not computer literate. I was with them for 6 years plus. and was able to operate my account - linked to my current account, BY TELEPHONE. From October this facility will be with drawn, along with the facility to send cheque's to Aldermore in order to fund one's account. Many people prefer the telephone option. Some times because they are of the older generation (who often have the most to invest) Or do not trust internet banking, due to all the reports of fraud. A cost cutting move on their part, which would give credibility to reports of their current problems.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I wish I’d read these reviews before proceeding with a mortgage with this company. My broker gave them all of my details, was told no issues I was given a mortgage in principle. I was left waiting for a month whilst it was with underwriters who repeatedly asked for more information and took a week to reply to each response. Meanwhile, I am paying for solicitors surveys and going through the forms etc… required on the property I’m purchasing. After all this, I am told by Aldermore that the my will not lend me the money, meaning I will probably lose the property! Time wasters and incompetent!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Their Invoice Finance arm are terrible. Arrogant and unhelpful with a high staff turnover. Avoid at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
It has taken 2 months to change our nominated business bank account leaving us with no access to our money. After complaining they will accept no responsibility despite me having emails as proof & telephone dates & people I spoke with. Absolute shocking customer service from the complaints team. Avoid this bank at all costs! Imagine them as a business having no access to their own funds!! Disgusting.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Worst service I've ever had from any organisation, anywhere. Mother is 78 and needed money out of old Aldermore savings account. 2 ignored emails followed by several unanswered phone calls and finally managed to get through to them. Despite Mum being 78 and advised not to leave home during lockdown, Aldermore insisted they needed a lawyer-stamped copy of the death certificate of my father, who passed away 5 years ago. This, after being told that a copy would be ok by a customer service adviser. They never contact to tell you anything, only leave it for you to find out the bad news when you call them after a 30 minute phone queue. We have been plugging away at this for over a month and my mother still has not received the funds locked up with this diabolical organisation. Worst company (not just bank) I have ever dealt with. WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT HAVE ANY DEALINGS WITH THESE COWBOYS.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Tried 3 times to contact Aldemore today - 1st time waited 11 minutes and gave up, 2nd - waited 8 minutes - gave up, 3rd time waited jst over 10 minutes - gave up. Sent an email expressing my concern - reply from them - a reply will be forthcoming in 4 business days. Pathetic.What appalling customer service. I contacted 4 other companies with whom I have savings and they all answered the 'phone ( a bit longer than usual but that is OK ). As soon as I can my money will be moved elsewhere. Terrible service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My mum has had to move into a residential home and has sold her house. She tried to open an account with Aldermore, but they wanted additional proof of ID. They were sent her passport and a BT bill addressed to her at the home. Most of the things they would accept she could not provide and the list of people allowed to certify copies meant she would have to had gone out to someone's office, but she has mobility issues. These documents were returned to her with a letter explaining that if they needed anything else they would contact her. When she had not heard anything after a couple of weeks she emailed them three times to ask what was going on and received responses to the first two which simply said she should wait for her account details. In response to her third email someone called and left a message asking her to call them back. When she did they then told her that they had written asking for further proof of ID two/three weeks earlier. Why could they have not said this in their email responses! She was then told that her application had been cancelled the day after their call three days earlier! The only arranged for her deposit to be returned to her as a result of her call and two weeks later she still has not received her initial deposit back. Two other large financial institutions managed to open accounts using the same ID provided to Aldermore, but it seems Aldermore don't like to put obstacles in the way for my mums age group.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Aldermore Bank is rated 1.4 based on 52 reviews