Aldermore Bank Reviews

1.26 Rating 35 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend Aldermore Bank
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Aldermore Bank made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Their Invoice Finance arm are terrible. Arrogant and unhelpful with a high staff turnover. Avoid at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
opened a new ! year deposit account with Aldermore on the 15th June 2021 & transferred the closing balance on Account with Virgin . Apparently this should have come from my designated Account so they returned it to Virgin . Virgin re opened the account to accept the money back but its never arrived . I made phone calls to Aldermore & Virgin daily and discovered Aldermore had used the incorrect bank code. Aldermore said I should send evidence of the account I had with Virgin & give them authority to send the balance to my nominated account . I did this over a week ago & have been told that this is being sorted out by the management team. I still don't have my money & am now very worried about it. I have been transferring money between banks like this for several years & have never had any problems before.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
One word "Incompetent!" unless it's 2 words by putting "absolutely" in front! should be avoided for mortgages
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Had a confirmed mortgage offer with this bank. Went through 8 months of checking accounts. All fine. Eventually got the offer. I cleared my credit card debt as promised as part of the offer process. Went through their solicitors to do the conveyancing on the remortgage. Had to pay additional fees to them. They then Undervalued my house by £100k so I had to start the lending process and checks again. Eventually I accepted a higher interest rate because I was backed into a corner and needed to complete so as not to lose my house. 24hrs prior to completion they pulled my mortgage. Absolutely disgraceful and I will be reporting them to the financial ombudsman as a result.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Have had no problems with opening accounts or transferring money with Aldermore since I first opened an account several years ago. They have provided great communication and best of all their interest rates are so much better than those being offered by leading banks and building societies.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Payed for 2 surveys with them £400 each, wasted, undervalued a house and wanted another 10 grand deposit on top of our 25 grand already, then we lost the house and it got sold to another person for the same as we were gunna buy it for, absolute scam to take your money
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Aldermore are very bad, I would also avoid them for mortgages. They declined my 90 LTV application, even though my salary is high. They first said it was to do with my middle name, then they changed their mind and said it was to do with my student loan and then they then changed their mind again and said it’s to do with a Delphi search. Firstly, my broker sent them proof of the Aldermore affordability calculator that I was able to afford the mortgage. Secondly they claimed they made a mistake about my middle name and it had nothing to do with that and then lastly a Delphi search is to do with business not individuals. They kept giving excuses and I am going to escalate this to the FCA. Their service has been unfair, shocking, terrible and appalling. I love at home with my elderly mother and I need to move out in order to protect her for when I do go back to the office or even to the shops. They did not even care about my mitigated circumstances. I’m really shocked.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Aldermore is a very horrible bank. Avoid them by all means. My mortgage adviser applied for mortgage in aldermore, they offered us mortgage in principle and assured us that we met all the criteria for their offer. Aldermore kept us pending for 3 months, they kept requesting for what they have requested before, bank statements, payslips, p60 and so on. After wasting our time for 3months, boom! They sent an email that they couldn’t offer us for unknown reasons. Their customer service is zero. It takes them 10 working days to reply emails. They don’t care about their customers. Avoid them as much as possible to avoid regrets.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Very disappointed with the company and would avoid in the future. I tried to set up a savings account with Aldermore. I sent off personal documents to their PO Box in Wallsend which they lost and would not reimburse me for. Aldermore’s letters were unclear and unhelpful. I would not trust this company as a bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
It has taken 2 months to change our nominated business bank account leaving us with no access to our money. After complaining they will accept no responsibility despite me having emails as proof & telephone dates & people I spoke with. Absolute shocking customer service from the complaints team. Avoid this bank at all costs! Imagine them as a business having no access to their own funds!! Disgusting.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Having opened an account online easily enough, I then had to spend time sending and resending further information after a number of conversations. The last set of information was sent a couple of weeks after the account was opened and a substantial amount deposited. I received an email to claim the information was not received and that several reminder emails had been sent and remain unanswered. Inaccurate as at every stage and after every email, I immediately picked up the phone to resolve the issue. The email notified me that the account had been closed. I again picked up the phone to be told that the only resolution was to open another account. Needless to say, my confidence in this as a place to hold my money safely has been damaged to the extent that I will not be opening another account.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
My mortgage broker put in application for buy to let mortgage, since August 2020 and came back that a commercial mortgage would need to be completed. Aldermore was advised that it was via limited company, there sat on the application for nearly two months and requesting information which was already given to them at the beginning. Kept asking for same information and questions after questions and then went to underwriters who asked for more information which was given. Aldermore had no intention of lending, just wasting months and months with providing information. STAY CLEAR from this lender and complete waste of time.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Aldermore Invoice Finance - I would give them a very wide berth. They fail to deliver funding and then charge you to leave. Avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Aldermore are shocking terribly slow ponderous endless requests for further information no decision makers high rates big profit no thought for their customers best avoided
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Worst service I've ever had from any organisation, anywhere. Mother is 78 and needed money out of old Aldermore savings account. 2 ignored emails followed by several unanswered phone calls and finally managed to get through to them. Despite Mum being 78 and advised not to leave home during lockdown, Aldermore insisted they needed a lawyer-stamped copy of the death certificate of my father, who passed away 5 years ago. This, after being told that a copy would be ok by a customer service adviser. They never contact to tell you anything, only leave it for you to find out the bad news when you call them after a 30 minute phone queue. We have been plugging away at this for over a month and my mother still has not received the funds locked up with this diabolical organisation. Worst company (not just bank) I have ever dealt with. WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT HAVE ANY DEALINGS WITH THESE COWBOYS.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Tried 3 times to contact Aldemore today - 1st time waited 11 minutes and gave up, 2nd - waited 8 minutes - gave up, 3rd time waited jst over 10 minutes - gave up. Sent an email expressing my concern - reply from them - a reply will be forthcoming in 4 business days. Pathetic.What appalling customer service. I contacted 4 other companies with whom I have savings and they all answered the 'phone ( a bit longer than usual but that is OK ). As soon as I can my money will be moved elsewhere. Terrible service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My mum has had to move into a residential home and has sold her house. She tried to open an account with Aldermore, but they wanted additional proof of ID. They were sent her passport and a BT bill addressed to her at the home. Most of the things they would accept she could not provide and the list of people allowed to certify copies meant she would have to had gone out to someone's office, but she has mobility issues. These documents were returned to her with a letter explaining that if they needed anything else they would contact her. When she had not heard anything after a couple of weeks she emailed them three times to ask what was going on and received responses to the first two which simply said she should wait for her account details. In response to her third email someone called and left a message asking her to call them back. When she did they then told her that they had written asking for further proof of ID two/three weeks earlier. Why could they have not said this in their email responses! She was then told that her application had been cancelled the day after their call three days earlier! The only arranged for her deposit to be returned to her as a result of her call and two weeks later she still has not received her initial deposit back. Two other large financial institutions managed to open accounts using the same ID provided to Aldermore, but it seems Aldermore don't like to put obstacles in the way for my mums age group.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The invoice finance arm have a high staff turnover and I would question their honesty. In such a competitive market there are much better providers. Give them a miss.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My application got lost and lost on fixed deposit and they had my funds for a month and no communications from them and sent back funds and sent a letter afterwards.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Just read reviews and in total agreement. Opened savings account but have had to contact them several times re internet access. Still not got account verified in order to get money back and account closed. All other banks have better systems in place and will refund money if change mind on opening. DO NOT USE THIS BANK. Much better online banks elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Aldermore Bank is rated 1.26 based on 35 reviews