Aldermore Bank Reviews

1.5 Rating 93 Reviews
13 %
of reviewers recommend Aldermore Bank
1.5
Based on 93 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Aldermore Bank made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I applied for a saving account for my business with Aldermore, on the recommendation of CashPlus with which I have a corporate checking account. The application, made on 21 March 2024, went through fine and they promised to get back to me within a day or two. Not having heard anything, however, on 29 March I tried to log into my account only to have a message say my account was on hold. I contacted Aldermore's customer service, which responded on 2 April stating that a "due diligence team manager [would] review and return to [me] with an update [...] tomorrow." The "tomorrow" came and went but, by 18 April, I had received nothing. I therefore emailed them again asking they discontinue my application process. Some others have had a positive experience with Aldermore and I am happy for them. Me? I received lousy customer service and sore lack of attention right at the very first step of becoming its customer. An institution that fails at this very first hurdle like this is not worth my trust or my confidence with my hard-earned money.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
I have had the most shocking experience with this bank trying to transfer a significant sum to put into a cash ISA, this process started at the beginning of February and the transfer is still incomplete due to their inefficiency. After all the disgraceful reviews you would think Ben Taylor their customer experience executive would do something about this . I’m loosing cash if this continues I will be dealing with the ombudsman
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Awful service that screams inexperience. Value was 22% under guide price with no comments or method to challenge or question.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Don't waste your time on theses. It would be 0 stars from me if that was an option. They give you an agreement in principle. They let you put an offer in on a house. They say they are happy you can make the repayments. They let you instruct your solicitors (which means a down payment). They send out a surveyor to the property (who is happy with it). Then at the last second when everything is about to get finalised they pull back their offer with no understandably explanation. Absolute joke of a company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
really poor company to get a mortgage with, poor customer support and poor system, go to any othe rlending and avoid this one.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Very poor service…the staff are very friendly but you cannot get sense out of the business…I must warn all potential investors that although interest rates are good with this African company owned by The First Rand Group you will have difficulty withdrawing your money….the bank is Uk government backed…but I would suggest you deposit your funds elsewhere
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Must be short of staff 1st in the que and still on hold for 1 hour 10 min what sort of company is this 🤔
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I was busy surfing the internet and crying for help after getting scammed by this broker and finally i got one with G a l w a y r e l i a n c e they did a wonderful and professional jobs and they carry me along through the process now i can rest from this headache they cause me...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
possessed a verified mortgage offer from this bank. eight months of account checks were completed.I eventually received the offer. As agreed upon during the offer procedure, I paid off my credit card debt. using their attorneys to handle the remortgage conveyancing. Had to give them extra money in fees. They then undervalued my house by $100,000, which required me to reapply for a loan and have further checks done. I eventually gave in to pressure to finish in order to keep my house, so I took on a higher interest rate. After I paid $5,000 for certain document processing, they withdrew my mortgage 24 hours before completion. I reported them to the money recovery organization KEZOOK, and I was able to get my money back.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I was feeling crazy and helpless after talking to these con artists till I came across C O N C E P T S T R D / C O M. They were able to assist me in getting my money and profit back and getting started again within a few days after thoroughly reviewing the details of my account. Their exceptional work allowed me to regain what I had lost. You should get in touch with C O N C E P T S T R D / C O M if this scam broker deceived you since they advocate for sticking up for what is fair and reasonable.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Trying to open a cash ISA but it’s taking far longer than it should and despite multiple phone calls chasing up and then assuring me it will all be set up within a day or two, I am still waiting for rthe ISA to be opened and the details sent to me. Considering cancelling the process as I worry that withdrawing my own money when the time is up will take even longer!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Online bank, so avoid if you find doing things online difficult! T&C's clearly explain penalties for early withdrawals, so suggest they are read carefully before opening any account. Not had a problem moving money either way. Use common sense with regards to changing interest rates, not rely on Aldermore to give you the best rate in a fluctuating market. They are in it to make money after all!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Most unprofessional experience in respect of a mortgage application. Underwriters take weeks to make basic underwriting decisions and ask question that are irrelevant to the case. Far better lenders in the UK. Avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I have used Aldermore for both Business and Private savings. The service has been very good and the interest rates some of the most competitive the in town.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Absolutely shocking experience with Aldemore. Failed to cancel drawing funds into an isa that I had closed. Therefore received funds in error, delayed paying them back, then paid them back into the wrong account, incredibly poor systems and communications. I wish I’d never heard of them. Avoid at all costs
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
They sign you up for an cash ISA then less than two weeks later put up the savings rate then refuse to change to the new rate without a huge penalty charge. Disgraceful, AVOID ALDERMORE. There are better and more reputable banks to invest with. After being long standing customers we will never use Aldermore again Latest, they asked for our details which were supplied a week ago and have failed to make contact, shockingly bad customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
The slow pace at which they handle the underwriting process is a major deterrent for me when it comes to reapplying. It's unfortunate because they offer quality products, but their inefficiency makes me lean towards other lenders instead.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Their underwriting process is exceedingly slow. If the underwriter requests additional information or documentation, your application is placed back in the queue, potentially delaying the review process by several more weeks. As a mortgage broker, I'm of the opinion that this pace stands no chance of competing with either mainstream lenders or other specialist lenders.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
excellent customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Promised us our mortgage product was portable, 12 months in and looking to buy another property, suddenly informed that the portable element had been withdrawn 3 months ago due to financial crisis, told I'd have to redeem the mortgage and take out a new loan with a hike in mortgage rate which would almost double our monthly repayment. Scum,avoid at all cost, even our broker was appalled.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Aldermore Bank is rated 1.5 based on 93 reviews