Aldermore Bank Reviews

1.5 Rating 65 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Aldermore Bank
1.5
Based on 65 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Aldermore Bank made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
opened a easy access account today, excellent rate on 30 day account offered ,no problems whatsoever,I've banked with aldermore before and found no problems,
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Have to say I was nervous of opening an account on line with a bank I had never heard of that has had such mixed reviews but hand in heart it has gone really well. I’ve easily and quickly transferred my ISA that was earning nothing into a high interest account. All my paperwork has come through. I can access my online account and I’m happy. Weird not talking to a human being though. This has been a real leap of faith.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Absolutely dreadful customer service telephone line. I have no way of going online (one of the issues) so to have 45 minutes of a message telling me to go online because they're 'sorry about the delay in answering' is really aggravating. Finally get through to be told it's because of 'all the new customers they're getting'. I think it's most certainly because of the insufficient number of staff working there. So sick of companies like this and their BS.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Aldermore do not look after their staff Communication is poor Systems are not fit for purpose CEO is making Aldermore worse
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I tried to access my online savings account but unable to get through log in even though all the details were correct. Maybe because I have not tried to access for 18 months. Waited 45 minutes on phone having chosen option for difficulties accessing online account and never answered (Friday afternoon) and message repeatedly playing to advise going online. Like many other organisations, just no attempt to provide a decent telephone service. I am using the post to close my account and will not use Aldemore again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I would strongly recommend to avoid this bank for mortgages. Communication is poor and they are very slow to act. Due to the mini budget they pulled our mortgage application even though we made the application beginning of July. They say their turn around is 21 days.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Have had various types of savings accounts. All with no problems whatsoever. As long as I don't exceed the agreed parameters, and stick to the rules and regulations and terms, everything is/has been exactly as stated at the time of the original agreement. Transfers of monies has always been easy. Rates go up and down (unless you opt for a fixed rate/term account) as with all banks and they are no different to any other bank there. They make money from collating and handling our money and the system fluctuates, according to the markets. It's a simple process! You ask, they offer, you read it fully, and then accept or refuse. Only after that, if they fail to meet their side of the bargain, do you have a right to complain and then do it directly with Aldermore. Not on some public forum which is yet another bitching site. I can't understand all the bleating and one sided stories on these reviews. We all have the option to go back to a face to face with a bank official and not bother with online banks at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Waited 2+ months and then got rejected without reason. With the rates going up it's now harder to apply anywhere. I do not reccomend this company because they are rubbish at checking paperwork regardless of what proof you provide and would find any excuse to keep you waiting only to reject you. Advise you apply elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The worst application process ever, 18 weeks of total hell trying to get a mortgage , wouldn’t include half our income even though it was on self assessment , kept asking for things every few weeks, reduced loan amount by 25k due to cost of living then £20k reduction because I owed 2k student loan 🙈 worst ever company to deal with. After 20 weeks and moving the date of entry 3 times I have had to go to another company as they reduced loan again by £50k even though we gave them everything they needed. Absolute joke .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
ONE OF THE SLOW LENDERS….DO NOT USE THEM AT ALL…I applied for two BTL applications through broker L&C. It took Aldermore more than 4 months to issue the offer.. There underwriters never review the information properly and always keep asking for documents which adds unnecessary delays. If you submit something they will put back the application in the queue. On top of this they never tell you the correct SLA. Every time I called them there staff lied and gave different answers. Because of there incompetency one of my seller dropped. As this was multi product Aldermore cancelled other offer and I lost around £1500…! Avoid them as much as you can. Pay little extra but get things done quickly and properly but do not use them at all….!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very slow very bad 3 times thy changed the rate asking silly question + document and document's! My case was remortgage thy gave me AIP first after that keep asking documents! Still waiting for the offer I chose the house agent called and emailed me every time. It’s shame full I just say I m waiting for Aldermore offers. Thy make me so stress I don’t know what’s going on this week my last week to wait and wait!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very bad bank very slow always changing the rate , wasting time, keep changing the rate ,
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Took 3 months asked for so many documents to do 2x portfolio re mortgages only to be told they wont do them. The interest rates have since gone up 3 times. That's why they didnt do them. They would now tye rates are higher. Shocking company. Mortgage advice bureau who we use said they will never use these again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Can’t believe me and my partner got a mortgage. Me and my partner had some financial difficulties a few years ago and we didn’t think we would be accepted especially when reading all the awful reviews and our low 5% deposit. it did take a bit longer than normal about 3-4months altogether they did ask for different information and more payslips. We had a fab mortgage advisor Mike and he sorted everything out with Aldermore. So don’t believe all the reviews there is hope for others.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Had no issues with Savings on line.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Applied for a Mortgage with Aldermore as it was the best option at the time. Advised long lead times as they were specialist, which was fine, but did not expect the 'extra' documents which added time, and always going over the timeframes mentioned to our advisor. Twice we were asked for more documents. Why wasnt the second set of documents requested at the same time as the first request. This started delays that were unnessersary. After 7 weeks, we were declined, for my Partner only working in her industy for less than 2 years, although having 3 years of books. Due to her being an entertainer (fire performer), the pandemic stopped live events and she carried on being an entertainer online. Shes been earning through being online for 23 months. Aldermore state that they use a bit of common sense when assessing applications, but the reasons for declining our application seem like a 'computer says no' moment. They also waited 14 (working) days to come back on our appeal when our advisor was quoted 10 days. Finally, they don't see the pandemic as a reason for people to need to change jobs (paraphrased from a conversation between Aldermore and our advisor). Again showing how they are not reviewing applications on an individual basis.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I applied for an ISA on behalf of my father just over a month ago. As I have Power of Attorney I telephoned before my application as I envisaged it may be a little more complicated. The staff member I spoke to advised me that although I would need a certified copy of mine and my father's passport, I would not need a certified copy of proof of address and that a photocopy of a utility bill would suffice. Before taking a day off work and travelling to the other side of London to take my 86 year old father to a post office to get a certified passport copy, I called Aldemore again to double check this info, I was told no need for a certified copy of proof of address. On receipt of application form they did not enclose a transfer form, I called and was told that they had to post one out to me and I couldn't return it by email it had to be by post. I submitted this and chased up 2 weeks later, and was told that everything was in place but I hadn't ticked a tiny box on the transfer form, could I download a form from their website, something which was not possible with the previous advisor, and post again. I did this, chased up a week later, they said they hadn't received it, I doubled checked that everything else was on track, they confirmed that as soon as they received the third ISA transfer form, the account would be opened within a week. 5 weeks after my initial application I have received a letter informing me that a month has passed so they cannot open the account, furthermore I have not supplied a certified copy of proof of address plus the application form was neither signed nor dated. If this were not absolute rubbish, would it be too much to ask for one of the customer service staff to point out this fact in one of my 3 very long and drawn out phone calls, not to mention the waiting time of over half an hour each time. They are suggesting that I reapply and go through the whole process again. I won't be, I wouldn't trust them and I'm not going to put my father through the stress of thinking his money is in the hands of complete incompetents.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Tried to open joint account sent what I thought was all relevant documents. Letter confirming all seemed OK, no further correspondence for weeks, email sent by us to enquire, no reply. Telephoned by then 4 weeks had passed since their last correspondence, to be informed some documents had been declined and they had therefore closed our account, and we would have to apply again!!! Unbelievable
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Customer for many years without needing any 'service' other than on line. However, absolutely awful customer interface service. Telephone waiting time ridiculous and letter response time weeks rather than days. Don't even bother emailing. Terrible service.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Three and a half weeks and no account opened sounds like inadequate staffing Rates are going up so avoid them and do yourself a favour
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Aldermore Bank is rated 1.5 based on 65 reviews