Aldermore Bank Reviews

1.5 Rating 95 Reviews
14 %
of reviewers recommend Aldermore Bank
1.5
Based on 95 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Aldermore Bank made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
excellent customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Promised us our mortgage product was portable, 12 months in and looking to buy another property, suddenly informed that the portable element had been withdrawn 3 months ago due to financial crisis, told I'd have to redeem the mortgage and take out a new loan with a hike in mortgage rate which would almost double our monthly repayment. Scum,avoid at all cost, even our broker was appalled.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Avoid! I opened an account a few years ago and sent a secure message to request the withdrawal of funds as the fixed period had passed (there was no obvious way to withdraw the funds online). I received no response to the secure message so phoned them to be told that I couldn’t access the money as the fixed period had started again. Apparently they had sent me a letter to advise that it would roll over into another fixed rate but I didn’t receive it. The advisor said I needed to write a letter explaining why I needed the money! I sent the letter and received a phone call today advising I couldn’t access my money unless I could prove hardship?! No, I’m not trying to claim benefits or the like, I just want access to MY money to spend it how I want to! I’ve had to raise a complaint and will report to the ombudsman if this is not resolved quickly. Absolutely shocking that a bank is making it as difficult as this. I worked in financial services for nearly 30 years and this sort of aggressive commercial behaviour is very dated!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The worse experience in my life! Please avoid them. They delay the application asking the same question all over again and decreased the amount 2 times! We lost our buyer because of that. Shocking communication. Checking cases and putting back on the queue for another few weeks to check it again. 4 months off extreme stress. Not worthy at all. Never again!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Rather pathetic excuse of a bank. With bizarre restrictions on paying monies INTO the account.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have switched my nominated bank account linked to my savings account, sent the requisite form and bank statement from my new account, 2 weeks later they have not updated my nominated bank details. There has been no response to my secure messages and I waited for ever to get through on the phone which got me nowhere. This means I cannot access my deposited funds in my savings account. I wish I had never heard of Aldermore and as soon as I can I will withdraw my funds and close the account. Avoid Aldermore like the plague.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Messages receive a response that a reply will take 15-17 working days!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The ONE STAR is for the lovely young lady called me eventually from Aldermore and assured me that everything will be up and running before the end of this week. However, ZERO stars for Aldermore. I am still waiting for my CUSTOMER ID and return of my bank statement which was required for authentication. This has been going on since the 17/11/22
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I recently closed an ISA with them and unfortunately I had closed the nominated account for the funds to go to. After 3 days of unanswered phone calls totalling over 1 hour I got in touch and they said the money would be back with them and they would send me a cheque within 3 days. That was over 2 weeks ago still nothing. They aren't answering the phones and we're up to around another 2 hours waiting for an answer. Only automated replies to all my daily emails. They still have £ 16k of my money and I don't know how to access it. Customer service non existent.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I applied for a fixed rate Isa on the 23 Nov by sending in a copy of my bank account for verification. I have not heard one word from them, and after phoning day after day and waiting a minimum of 30 minutes each day and 1 hour for 1 day, I have not been able to make any contact and I still haven't heard from them and now it is the 6th Dec so I have past the depositing time for the account to be set up. What a waste of time. Terry M
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
opened a easy access account today, excellent rate on 30 day account offered ,no problems whatsoever,I've banked with aldermore before and found no problems,
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Have to say I was nervous of opening an account on line with a bank I had never heard of that has had such mixed reviews but hand in heart it has gone really well. I’ve easily and quickly transferred my ISA that was earning nothing into a high interest account. All my paperwork has come through. I can access my online account and I’m happy. Weird not talking to a human being though. This has been a real leap of faith.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely dreadful customer service telephone line. I have no way of going online (one of the issues) so to have 45 minutes of a message telling me to go online because they're 'sorry about the delay in answering' is really aggravating. Finally get through to be told it's because of 'all the new customers they're getting'. I think it's most certainly because of the insufficient number of staff working there. So sick of companies like this and their BS.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Aldermore do not look after their staff Communication is poor Systems are not fit for purpose CEO is making Aldermore worse
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I tried to access my online savings account but unable to get through log in even though all the details were correct. Maybe because I have not tried to access for 18 months. Waited 45 minutes on phone having chosen option for difficulties accessing online account and never answered (Friday afternoon) and message repeatedly playing to advise going online. Like many other organisations, just no attempt to provide a decent telephone service. I am using the post to close my account and will not use Aldemore again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I would strongly recommend to avoid this bank for mortgages. Communication is poor and they are very slow to act. Due to the mini budget they pulled our mortgage application even though we made the application beginning of July. They say their turn around is 21 days.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Have had various types of savings accounts. All with no problems whatsoever. As long as I don't exceed the agreed parameters, and stick to the rules and regulations and terms, everything is/has been exactly as stated at the time of the original agreement. Transfers of monies has always been easy. Rates go up and down (unless you opt for a fixed rate/term account) as with all banks and they are no different to any other bank there. They make money from collating and handling our money and the system fluctuates, according to the markets. It's a simple process! You ask, they offer, you read it fully, and then accept or refuse. Only after that, if they fail to meet their side of the bargain, do you have a right to complain and then do it directly with Aldermore. Not on some public forum which is yet another bitching site. I can't understand all the bleating and one sided stories on these reviews. We all have the option to go back to a face to face with a bank official and not bother with online banks at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Waited 2+ months and then got rejected without reason. With the rates going up it's now harder to apply anywhere. I do not reccomend this company because they are rubbish at checking paperwork regardless of what proof you provide and would find any excuse to keep you waiting only to reject you. Advise you apply elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The worst application process ever, 18 weeks of total hell trying to get a mortgage , wouldn’t include half our income even though it was on self assessment , kept asking for things every few weeks, reduced loan amount by 25k due to cost of living then £20k reduction because I owed 2k student loan 🙈 worst ever company to deal with. After 20 weeks and moving the date of entry 3 times I have had to go to another company as they reduced loan again by £50k even though we gave them everything they needed. Absolute joke .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
ONE OF THE SLOW LENDERS….DO NOT USE THEM AT ALL…I applied for two BTL applications through broker L&C. It took Aldermore more than 4 months to issue the offer.. There underwriters never review the information properly and always keep asking for documents which adds unnecessary delays. If you submit something they will put back the application in the queue. On top of this they never tell you the correct SLA. Every time I called them there staff lied and gave different answers. Because of there incompetency one of my seller dropped. As this was multi product Aldermore cancelled other offer and I lost around £1500…! Avoid them as much as you can. Pay little extra but get things done quickly and properly but do not use them at all….!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Aldermore Bank is rated 1.5 based on 95 reviews