Blyth Academy Online Reviews

4.5 Rating 121 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend Blyth Academy Online
My daughter has taken two Blyth online courses. Lessons have real substance and quality, much better than the public school experience. Assignments are creative and engaging. Instructors are very accessible and supportive. We plan to do another online course this fall.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My daughter completed a 6-month student exchange in her grade 10 year. She used Blyth online to complete courses while on her exchange so that she could ensure she stayed on-stream with her classmates the following year. The flexibility, availability and excellent online experience were features that made my daughter return to Blyth Online to make up a course in her final year. Their online method is far superior to the shamble of a learning experience that occurred in Ontario during the covid pandemic. Blyth Academy is a great learning institution; their online courses reflect their dedication to ensuring their students receive a robust, rounded, high-level understanding of course material in a flexible, accessible package.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
My daughter registered for Blyth to complete her grade 12 English because the quadmester system online with the public school board did not work for her. (Too condensed and not well administered). The Blyth online English was well worth the cost. The course was well laid out, easy to follow, comprehensive with good supports and the teacher was responsive. As a result, my daughter was able to do very well which assisted her with admission to the university of her choice: Queens, concurrent education. I highly recommend BYlth online.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
It was great to be able to do additional courses that were of interest through the Blyth Academy Online. The Online experience was very good and made it easy, had a clear path to completion, and the exam process was good too.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
The program is very good. Course content and materials are well prepared and very interesting. The online instructor is very supportive and always available when needed.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We have been very impressed with Blyth Academy's online learning courses. Both my daughters have taken courses (French and Civics/Careers). The evaluations are fair and quickly marked which allows the kids to keep up the pace of their course. I wanted to make particular note of Nicole Bowen who went the extra mile to assist with accommodations necessary for my 14 year old with disabilities. She even went so far as to participate in a family meeting run by Bloorview Childrens Hospital in order to better understand the nature of my daughter's disabilities coming out of major surgery. She is a special educator.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Blyth academy online has been very beneficial for our daughter. The courses are very well put together, the teachers are on point, involved and they are very knowledgeable in their respective subject matter. BOA has proven to be a winner for us. D.M.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Blyth has been my son’s first traditional school experience. He entered at grade 10. The majority of his classes have been very good but there has been a lot of confusion in some. He thoroughly enjoyed Gr 10 English and Civics, and is currently enjoying Gr 11 English and American History. Partway through his Gr 9/10 business class there was a change in teachers. Neither the first or second teacher could explain one of the assignments very well. As a parent and an educator, I encourage my children to strive to do their best but without guidance and effective communication this is difficult. On a recent History exam he answered a closed question correctly but did poorly because he didn’t elaborate. When he asked the teacher, he received the answer that more was expected of a grade 11 student. I agree, but still feel the question should have said, ‘explain your reasoning’. How is he supposed to know what the teacher wants if they don’t tell him? Please keep in mind that not all students come with a traditional school background. I also wondered why Macbeth was being studied in both Gr 10 and Gr 11 English. I certainly didn’t expect to pay for my son to study the same Shakespearean play twice. Math is another issue all on it’s own. He did very well prior to Blyth but even with the help of a tutor he struggled to complete Blyth’s grade 10 math. These experiences have not deterred him from wanting to take Blyth courses, and even after all our struggles he says he would give Blyth a 4* rating. We know that there is no perfect school out there and for now are choosing to stay with Blyth. Thank you for taking the time to read my review.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Overall we are happy with the level of education that our child is receiving at Blyth Academy. Once our child was in the routine and understood what was expected of her things went quite smoothly. It was a bit of a bumpy start but she is enjoying it much more now that things are clear to her. Some of the teachers have been very encouraging and helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Amazing!! So grateful for the teachers efforts during these trying times. The online experience was impressive 8am Zoom with the coaches and 11-4 pm daily with their classes. The kids were accountable and being present during these times. Hats off to you all !! Thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
A wide variety of courses with supportive teachers and excellent content l.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Blyth Online courses are great for the self-motivated student. Quality of instruction varies a lot.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We are thrilled with the quality of courses offered through Blyth Academy. They don't just teach our children how to learn and regurgitate material. They teach critical thinking, research skills, how to form educated opinions and so many more important skills that set our children up for success in the real world. The online format is allowing our child to learn how to manage her time, juggle multiple projects and solve problems in a way that traditional high school couldn't. The teacher support is wonderful and the depth and variety of the courses offered far exceed that of traditional high school. We couldn't be happier with BAO.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Specifically the Fashion Design course was terrible. Having gone through a college program for fashion myself, I was dumbfounded to see that one of the assignments was to design and sew a jacket, which is a very difficult garment to make, without having been taught to sew! This was only one assignment, which would have been a course all on its own if this were an in class course. The course load was overwhelming. I would never recommend it.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
It was ok. My son would have preferred videos by one consistent teacher vs. a compilation of YouTube videos.. teacher did answer questions in a timely manner. Clearer Explanation of test procedures would be helpful prior to first test.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
💯 recommend Blythe Academy Online !!!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Access and service response seemed to work well for my son.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
My son found the class easy to follow and the teachers were very helpful
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
The grade 12 Physics University course was extremely through and detailed. My son excelled and enjoyed working at his own pace. The teacher was accessible and very helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Blythe gave us an option for a great online learning experience during a difficult time. Thank you!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Great communication with families. My son enjoyed his course and his teachers was great with feedback
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Blyth Academy Online is rated 4.5 based on 121 reviews