Escape Campervans Reviews

4.40 Rating 94 Reviews
84 %
of reviewers recommend Escape Campervans
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
On-time Delivery
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read Escape Campervans  Reviews
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The reason we don’t rate our experience as a 5 is because there was a mixup when we dropped off our van. We got charged too much in insurance yet too little in taxes. It was quite confusing but the guy helping us was very helpful and understanding! It ended being quite a lot of money we didn’t expect to pay.
Posted 11 months ago
We had a Big Sur for a 2-week trip through Oregon (from Portland via the Columbia Gorge, Pendleton, Baker City, John Day, Painted Hills, Bend, The Coast and back) and LOVED it! It is the most convenient mode of travel you can imagine and we go really attached to our "little" campervan called "Free"! We sleept the entire time in our rooftop sleeper and woke up with amazing views in the morning. I can highly recommend Escape Campervans for any trip - wherever this may lead!
Posted 11 months ago
Great service. friendly staff in Vancouver. Excellent Big Sur van. We had a fabulous month in Canada, travelling with our family. The van worked out perfectly with a tent for the others. Thank you so much.
Posted 11 months ago
Me and two of my friends rented the Big Sur, Cowabunga, for 6 days and explored Jasper and BANFF National Parks. All three of us slept in the pullout bed in the back and the kitchen fit all of our needs. The mini fridge is a bit small but perfect for 6 days of veggies and fruits. Aaron from the Calgary office was great and explained everything for us and even gave us some recommendations for BC. We loved the camper van and all three of us have talked about doing a campervan again!
Posted 11 months ago
We have a van in Europe and when we started planning for our US trip we looked at several different ways of vanlife. We are extremely happy that we chose Escape Campervans. The staff was super nice and helpful and the Santa Cruz model which is way smaller than our van at home really surprised us on how conveinient it was to drive and camp. It had so much in a little package. A great balance. Stoked
Posted 11 months ago
We rented from the Denver office and had a good experience. There was a problem with the van's tie-rod, so had to return to office and lost some time but they replaced it with a newer van. The staff was friendly. One suggestion for the van's stove would be to build in a latch for the stove shelf/drawer to secure it better. The shelf was sliding out every time we started/stopped the van and was banging into the back door. I had to secure it with duct tape.
Posted 11 months ago
We had a Mavericks van for just under three weeks, for a trip through the southwest from Phoenix to San Francisco. We visited national parks and forests in the Four Corners area (Utah, Colorado, New Mexico & Nevada) and then up from Death Valley to Mono Lake in California. It was a delight! We had some minor problem with the van and received telephone support quickly and easily. Pick-up and drop-off were handled well. We will do it again as soon as we can manage - it was really special.
Posted 11 months ago
What we liked about Escape: the unique painted vans, the good information on the website, the good communication with the company.
What we liked less: waiting in line for three hours at pick-up, our campervan was quite old and smelly, the fuel consumption was really much worse than expected (only 100 miles for 25 dollars gas).
Too little interior lights and too little storage space in the van.
The rented kitchen set wasn't clean and the water in the van wasn't fresh but contained detergent.
We also had a bit of leakage inside the van when it snowed. Luckily this damage was compensated in the end.
Posted 11 months ago
Thé perfect van for a perfect trip.
Thé team is very honest ...
Top
Posted 11 months ago
We’ve used escape campervans twice now, first time we had a maverick this time the new Santa Cruz model. The Santa Cruz is awesome they are great for two people. They have all the amenities of the bigger vans. We loved it cheap on gas and small enough to park anywhere. We can’t wait to book our next road trip 🚌🌄
Posted 11 months ago
My son and I enjoyed using the Campervan. It was well set up and suited our needs. Vanessa was a joy to work with during the check out. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is I got a harsh call from Sandy when I was an hour from turning it in (about 10 AM). Even though I was told to turn it in between 9:30-4:30 on the day of checking it out. This ended my enjoyable Escape Campervan experience with a bad taste in my mouth.
Posted 11 months ago
We had an incredible trip in our escape camper van. We were able to see and do so many incredible things because of their portability and design.

However, our overall experience with the company was not ideal. When we picked up the camper van, we did so in Denver where the escape representative gave us tons of great suggestions. When we left, we felt confident in the van and in the company.

When we were pulling out of our first national park, a very friendly NPS worker pulled us over and said “it sounds like you guys have a rotor issue. You should definitely check that out.” We immediately called escape to report the issue and figure out next steps. When driving, we had noted the brakes felt slow, but we assumed it was the type of car. None of us had ever driven anything that large and it did not cross our minds that the car had not been inspected before leaving.

After calling escape, it took them over an hour to figure out our plan of action. They asked several times if we were sure we wanted to get it checked out and it was clear they did not feel like this was a serious issue. They sent us 1.5 hours to a tire shop. When we arrived, escape had told the the shop that it was “nothing serious, and likely rocks in the car.” I understand this happens frequently, but it again made it feel like escape was not taking us seriously in our concern for the van. The people at Big O Tires went above and beyond for us on this day.

We ended up stranded at Big Os for 4+ hours. When they went to look at the front tires- they realized there were no bolts on the front calibers. They said it was clear that someone had not checked them before we left or forgot to put them back on the last time it was serviced. It was clear they did not fall off because there was nothing stripped/ broken left.

Due to the caliber bolts missing, the van had been placing extra wear on the back brakes. On one side, there was a tiny amount of brake pad and the other was metal on metal- brake pad completely worn down. The brake damage had also destroyed the back rotors, which also had to be replaced (we have photos of all car damage). This day we had originally planned to drive over a mountain pass. We would have been doing so with NO brakes.

Big O Tires was able to fix the car for us. However, they repeatedly expressed to us that they were horrified any rental company would place us in such an unsafe vehicle. They felt it would have been impossible for anyone to have inspected the vehicle before putting us in it. Sure enough, when I called escape again to find out when the vehicle last underwent inspection, they said they didn’t know.

Escape offered us 1.5 days free because that is how much time we were delayed. This worked out to $50 each (3 of us traveling). We are not sure that this offer truly makes up for the severity of the safety situation. We gave 3 stars because nothing can beat the flexibility of having a camper van on your trip. It was a fantastic experience. However, in the future, I am not sure if I would feel safe selecting an escape camper van. At the end, they did not really do anything to make us feel as though this does not happen all the time. The company did not let our drop off location know what had happened- she had to review our file to see the details. Nothing would have been said if we had not brought it up at the end of our trip. It also did not feel as though they were truly sorry for the experience.
Posted 11 months ago
Folks were very helpful and knowledgeable. But, I felt like we were being squeezed for extra money at every turn. Because of illness, we slept one night in van which would have been fine if it wasn’t for the Florida heat and humidity. I won’t use this company again.
Posted 11 months ago
We just completed our second Escape Campervans adventure and are absolutely pleased! It has been such a fun and affordable way for us to roadtrip the west. The Maverick is perfect for our family of three and is comfortable to drive, even for me!
Posted 11 months ago
Could not rate these guys more. We picked up and dropped off from Vancouver office and both Kyle & Chris were incredibly helpful and the process was straightforward and quick. Van was awesome, and we had the best holiday. Would 100% recommend and we will definitely hire from them again.
Posted 11 months ago
I would recommend the Big Sur camper van. Gas mileage was great.There are no screens on windows to roll down so I do not know if I would rent this in warm weather. I feel that bedding, kitchen, propane and electric should be included. We had to buy a pillow and a sleeping bag added to the price of bedding. Camped in Yellostone and Tetons Memorial Day and after.
Went to Goodwill for other stuff.
Posted 11 months ago
We had a 9 days trip in south-westrern BC departing from Vancouver through very steep mountain roads, the mechanical condition of vehicle was vital. Escape provided a very well maintained and reliable van. Comfortable bedding and convenient kitchenette. The solar fridge is genius! The staff in Vancouver is friendly and efficient, they didn't make us loose our time. The only thing we missed was about 6 to 8 feet gadren hose to fill the water tank.
Posted 11 months ago
Customer service was over the top. Had a few small issues with the van that were addressed promptly and didn’t disrupt our trip at all. The van was very clean and worked great and we had an incredible trip!
Posted 11 months ago
Everything from the call to rent the van through the pick up, road trip and drop off was fantastic. The woman we spoke with to figure out which vehicle and options would work for our trip was fun to talk with and really knowledgeable. Picking up the van was painless and again the woman at the pick up location was excited for us, great to work with and the process was seamless. Road tripping in our van was a blast, it ran like a top and got us everywhere we needed to go, even some light off road into the desert. Ran into some other Escape Van campers from the UK and Spain and had a fun chat with them. Drop off was a breeze... we'll definitely do it again. Awesome road trip!
Posted 11 months ago
We enjoyed our trip in your van. The only issues were minor. The
Refrigerator was warm when we picked up the van. The dirty water dump
hose is too short. I had to park the van at an odd angle one time
and borrow a longer hose another time in order to dump water.
Posted 11 months ago
Escape Campervans is rated 4.40 based on 94 reviews