Lancaster Insurance Reviews

1.98 Rating 188 Reviews
23 %
of reviewers recommend Lancaster Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Lancaster Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
AVOID THIS COMPANY
Disgusting treatment when we changed vehicles. They couldn't add the new vehicle, so we would need to cancel WITH NO REFUND ON THE REMAINING 7 MONTHS OF THE POLICY, THAT WE PAID IN FULL.
Not what you want to hear when you've been waiting to speak to someone for over half an hour.
Posted 11 months ago
Worst insurance company ever !!!

Avoid at all costs !!!
Posted 11 months ago
I took out insurance from this company, they wanted evidence of my no claims bonus and a photo of my car in my drive way ? I sent the items through a email as asked , I then received another email asking again so I sent it again had no response? I then get told in a email that they will no longer insure me ! I’ve not heard a thing regards to money that I’ve paid them . I have now had to pay out for another insurance so it’s cost me double . This is a very poor insurance brokers beware
Posted 1 year ago
I took out car insurance with Lancaster car insurance at the beginning of the year, paying for a year upfront. I believed that companies shared info of no claims, as previously I have automatically never had to provide. I was then told on the phone that I had to provide - so I sent it in the post to them. I heard nothing from the company.

Meantime I had previously had a bad fall, involving broken bones so lots of hospital appointments and operations. Lancaster insurance phoned me during this period notifying me that they had not received my no claims bonus, I then sent them a copy of the one I originally sent as requested via email as they requested. Apparently, then they had sent me lots of demands for more money as my no claims was not in line with the disclosed. My mistake as the accident had taken its toil on my memory. I never heard from the company again, so assumed things were in order. I did however, remember telling them that my preferred method of contact was text message rather than phone or email.

I phoned up the company today mortified that they cancelled my policy without telling me back in April. How can they ethically and morally do this? Ironically, all the time I couldn’t drive I was insured and all the time I have been driving I haven’t been insured. I was only notified by an automated police recognition numberplate system, which showed me an error in my ways. Furthermore, this company want to charge me additional premium of £46.80 (Inclusive of our £30 administration fee) had been applied.
£96.98             Insurer time on risk charge £70.00 ,Arrangement fee (Non-refundable outside the fourteen day cooling off period)£30.00, Mid-term adjustment fee £50.00  Cancellation fee
£238.70           Total cost to cancel
£211.15           Total Paid in full
£27.55             Total balance outstanding

They only insured me 3 months when I wasn’t even driving. They also disclosed they had an really old email gained from a previous application, that wasn’t even updated when I sent them evidence of my no claims. I believe this is rip off Britain at its most prolific, as I was not only in a very vulnerable state, but there was no interest to contact me to tell me that I was driving illegally. I am now having to cycle with my many injuries and would like some adjustment of power imbalance, so this does not happen to another unsuspecting goodwill person.
Posted 1 year ago
Truly appalling company to deal with and, having now read some of the reviews below, its pretty obvious that they are scammers.

Having paid my premium - which admittedly was much lower than other companies (danger sign..!) - I NEVER EVER received any papers from them just demands for extra money when, having sent them photos of where the car was parked (off-street in a very secure residential area of Brighton Marina which has its own 24 hour security and loads of cameras), they claimed it wasn't secure and demanded more money. I had to send the extra money otherwise they were threatening to cancel the policy.

Having sold my car - I was only insured through them for about 2 months - I have been trying to contact them for weeks. I have never ONCE got through to their "customer service" line - they just keep you on hold forever and every minute or so a recorded voice cuts in to say "you will be answered soon". Having only a pay-as-you-go sim I must have spent £20 or more on many futile attempts to speak to someone. Needless to say they don't have an 0800 number.

If you try to contact them via email you get an automated reply (sometimes, but not always) saying that they are very busy and a reply might take several days or longer. The email says "if urgent it is better to phone us"..!!! But if you phone they never reply - at least not in a reasonably short time. What a CATCH-22 situation..!
Posted 1 year ago
Great service
Posted 1 year ago
Very poor customer service, cancellation fees are double the yearly insurance. When added extra person my insurance went twice as much when wanted to remove they added another adjustment fee, but the insurance will not go down anyway. They renewd without informing me in any form.

Very bad company to reach I have spend many days on hold trying to reach them just to hear to be called back which never happened.
Posted 1 year ago
awful company. sold my car took 4 days to get through to them to be spoken to by a rude lady. now there wanting £97.00 for canceling it. not a chance. im takeing this further. stay away from this rip off company.
Posted 1 year ago
Dreadful, stay well clear. Poor customer services and terrible claims handling
Posted 1 year ago
Dreadful customer service and very unprofessional claims handlers who basically interrogated me for a stolen vehicle. They were reported to trading standards. I would strongly recommend you insure elsewhere and save yourself the stress and frustration. Been on hold now for 30minutes trying to contact them!!
Posted 1 year ago
So friendly o telephone assisted immediately and solved problems quickly
Posted 1 year ago
Excellent in every way
Posted 1 year ago
Picked Lancaster from moneysupermarket because price was lowest by a mile.They took my payment.Then I found an email asking for photo of where my car would be kept overnight(in junk box).I then had an email asking for photo of my driving license.I phoned them up(took about 30mins to answer) and had a conversation with their rep and I decided to cancel within the required period.I have waited e week for my refund and discovered they have stolen nearly £40 off me.Keep away from this firm at all cost.
Posted 1 year ago
This company and its agents are rip off and charge extra (e.g., admin fee) without your fault and extremely bad service and threaten you to cancel your policy if you do not pay their unfair charges-not recommended at all.
Posted 1 year ago
This company and its agents are rip off and charge extra (e.g., admin fee) without your fault and extremely bad service and threaten you to cancel your policy if you do not pay their unfair charges-not recommended at all.
Posted 1 year ago
Completely Unprofessional.

I'm going to leave my name out of this review so that the person that took my call can remain anonymous.

Called to request a car insurance quote, got through pretty quickly but went downhill from there. Firstly, the advisor pretty much refused to pronounce my name correctly and kept pronouncing it completely wrong even after I said it multiple times and spelled it out for them, not the end of the world but it felt deliberate.

The person didn't seem to know their own system, maybe a trainee? It took 25 minutes to find out that I couldn't recieve a quote. I was asked unnecessary questions such as when asked whether I use my vehicle to commute to work and I replied "No", I was asked "So, do you walk or catch the bus?". Also, the advisor refused to quote for the future even though I was looking for my insurance to start in around a month, for example, I asked if we could quote with a car club discount as by the time I went ahead with their insurance I would be a member but they refused incase 'we both get in trouble', strange considering every other insurance I have received a quote from have been more than happy to quote as a car club member. They also refused to quote with my no claims discount that I would have gained before the date that the insurance starts because 'I dont have it yet', again, other insurers accept future NCD without problems.

Honestly, I only looked into Lancaster due to a fairly popular Youtuber endorsing them. Lancaster Insurance need to give their advisors some much needed customer service training because if I was able to get a competitive quote from them I still would have gone elsewhere.
Posted 1 year ago
Awful customer service.
Posted 1 year ago
No way of contacting this rouge company. Been trying for 2 days every hour to speak to someone. They give option to request a call back as soon as a call handler is free, no one ever calls though. No refund for remaining 8 months of policy, funny how cancellation fees come to exactly what you should be due back. Crooks and low life scammers, never again, you’ve been warned
Posted 1 year ago
I purchased a Mazda MX5 on the 8th of March. On the 9th, a vehicle inspection from a local mechanic determined it was scrap and needed to be returned for a full refund.

I was insured for all of 33hrs, for which Lancaster Insurance charged £51 in fees and usage charges. FOS regulations state they can charge an admin fee (£20) and pro-rata the insurance used... or £1.01 to be exact. I complained that a fee of effectively 25% of my policy was excessive and they agreed to increase my refund by £17.

However, FOS regulations also state you're allowed to cancel within 14 days, starting from the start of your policy or receipt of your insurance documents, which ever is later. I had yet to receive my documents, so technically I was due a full refund. They disagreed.

Today, I called to find out why my refund hadn't arrived. They said the insurer had gone back on their word and I was being charged £78 instead of £32. I threatened them with an FOS complaint and amazingly, my refund was processed immediately.

The customer service rep was rude, bordering obnoxious and clearly wasn't interested in helping. "I've done everything I can" was her parting shot, before I asked to speak to her Manager. The Manager however, was helpful and polite.

In summary... yes, they're cheap... but I can imagine it'd be an absolute nightmare getting them to pay out on a policy if they drag their feet over a simple refund.

Once bitten...
Posted 1 year ago
A group of scamsters masquerading as an insurance company. They come across as very professional & helpful when enquiring to buy insurance but if you ever need to alter/cancel/claim your policy you will face a wall of ignorance. Avoid at all costs and go with the main companies who are more regulated.
Posted 1 year ago
Lancaster Insurance is rated 1.98 based on 188 reviews