Lancaster Insurance Reviews

1.96 Rating 199 Reviews
23 %
of reviewers recommend Lancaster Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Lancaster Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
2 months into paying for a new car policy I rang them to change my policy details, after purchasing a new car. They charged me a £30 alteration fee and £43.68 extra to cover the new vehicle, which was exactly the same make and model as the old car but with a smaller engine. When I asked them how much I would get back if I cancelled the original policy, they told me that it would be 10 pence. In addition, because this sum was less than £10, they wouldn't make any refund. With 10 months left on my original policy, my refund would therefore be absolutely nothing. I will, however, have the last laugh on these thieving ba----ds when it time to renew. AVOID THIS DISREPUTABLE COMPANY
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I had to cancel my insurance due to outrageous charge for changing my vehicle, it was cheaper to get a new policy even though I had over six months left and to add insult Anne Marie the call person said “sorry we don’t give refunds” atrocious service .......AVOID WITH ALL YOUR MIGHT!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Beware of this company, their charges are verging on criminal. I took a policy with them after going via an online comparison site. Not taking too much notice of the all the paperwork, they send loads (perhaps in order that some get overlooked) I should have gone through it all thoroughly, but after having countless car insurance policies over the years thought it would be a standard policy and agreement, plus none of these fees were explained or made plain when taking the policy out at quotation stage. Only after the policy is taken. SO CHECK ALL THE PAPERWORK Fees they charge £70 arrangement fee! 44.38 APR for paying monthly via direct debit. And a £30 fee for changing vehicle details midterm. I cancelled the policy when I sold the car, more fees!! Then as I did not pay within a few days I received a letter threatening legal action and passing onto a collection agency! My advice do not use them and go direct to insurers cut out these comparison sites. I recently took out a new car insurance direct with a company and it was cheaper and had more cover then any listed on the comparison sites.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
For a simple change of address a charge of £30. No way. Totally out of order. People be aware.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Shocking company. Totally messed up a new Classic car policy that I took with them. Very poor responce. Go elsewhere for your insurance!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Went to cancel my car insurance with Lancaster Insurance Services after being insured for 3 months. THE COST TO CANCEL MY POLICY is £187.11 (£50 cancelation charge, and the 100.77 is what Lancaster say the insurance company charge. plus they still take next months direct debit of £36). After a lengthy call I managed to get £50 cancelation charge written off. So still ended up paying £100.77 plus £36 to cancel my policy. I had paid my policy on time, every month by direct debit. DON'T GET CAUGHT ON MASSIVE UNFAIR CHARGES from Lancaster Insurance Services!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very poor insurance company who will rip you off Do not use .........
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
put a private plate on my car they charged me £30 to change the number
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
A ridiculously company run by childish idiots.if you like a never ending line of hoops to jump through and agonisingly boring contact tennis give em a call.this is one lancaster that should have never got off the ground
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Robbing b######s don't use them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Took out car insurance for £113 had it for a month phine to cancel insurance as sold car was asked why I sold it which is none of their business then told I will not get anything refunded as it’s like a mobile phone contract. How can you compare a car insurance with a mobile phone their are robbing customers NEVER USE god for bid you have a accident they will never pay you out you will have to pay them NEVER USE /NEVER RECOMMEND
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I made a very bad decision and arranged a policy with Lacaster insurance which I thought was good value, the operator explained only basic details. After I had paid my initial deposit because I chose instalments.i had made a big mistake and had given over my Bank details,I phoned back after a mammoth wait on the phone,and discovered I only had day time cover no night cover, I asked to cancel the insurance which I thought would be OK has I had 14 days cooling off period, however I was told I would have to pay the total policy in full, .but was told I could avoid this cost and use the car in the evenings by paying an extra £50 pounds, but they were adamant they would take the total payment if I cancelled, anyway I thought I would carry on with the policy. I continued the Insurance for 3 months, but then sold the car and needed to cancel, trying to get through to their customer service department was unbelievable, then surprise, surprise they wanted £150 pounds to cancel, also I had a change of number plate so another £30 pounds added on, I discussed the situation to the operator but they insisted they wanted tha extra 9 months paid in full after a wait of nearly 30 minutes on the phone they reduced the cancellation to £122 pounds which I have paid to end the drama!! Buyer Beware. I cannot imagine how a claim would be dealt with? MyAdvise is choose a major company e.g Direct Line, Saga, or Churchill, they answer the phone no hidden charges and no number plate fee for a private transfer plate and everything explained, Remember buy cheap, pay twice, avoid this company at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
AVOID AT ALL COSTS These brokers have extortionate charges for new business renewed business and cancellation all hidden within their reams of paperwork.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They are hassle due my Deafness ,secondly they not providing their surname as I suspect this company could be scam due horrific communication system example many times for last 6 weeks never answer my questions on emails plus I spend almost six weeks trying to contact them on their several telephone numbers same story almost everyday pick up saying please hold on for several hours that cost my phone bill over hundreds pounds personal I will NEVER USE that company again it’s rotten horrible customers team services Raymond
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This company is an absolute joke, STAY WELL CLEAR! If you need to contact them, then you will be better off using a pigeon, would be quicker and easier too. As for cancellations... It cost me £175 for a year's insurance, but I sold the vehicle within a month of the cover starting, but NO refund so it cost me £175 for less then one MONTH of cover, worse bit is, I would have cancelled within 14 days but I couldn't get thru to them as they never answer the bloody phone!!! I must have waited for at least 6hrs over multiple attempts to contact them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very difficult to contact customer service. Make sure you read the reviews for the insurance providers they are offering.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Never go with this company I moved home and they refused to insure me pathetic then said I had to till midnight to re insure my car great thanks for that it’s stressful enough moving but my other insurance company I have been with for years insured the other car and even halved my deposit for me better than this stupid company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Appalling company they cancelled my insurance because I moved and did not have a garage they then said I had to pay £200 cancellation fee I was one the phone 1hr trying to get through offer to pay £10 a month what I could afford they refused this I have never been with a disgraceful insurance company do not use these jokers they are apalling
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I Cancelled insurance 7 months into the policy as I had sold the car and was not replacing it. I took advantage of their monthly payments and had paid seven months premiums. They charged me for the remaining five months when I cancelled so I ended up paying the full years premium with no refund. AVOID this company and never pay in instalments! Appalling service!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible company, had 14 days cooling off period, didn’t buy the car, managed to get through after 9 days, gave me less than half my policy back, what a joke, stay well away from this company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Lancaster Insurance is rated 1.96 based on 199 reviews