Modernize Reviews

4.63 Rating 4,861 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend Modernize
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service, Own Driver, Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
98%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 80%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.13 out of 5
Read Modernize Reviews

About Modernize:

A matchmaker between homeowners and contractors.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Modernize made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
I was just looking for a quote for my daughter in another state.
Helpful Report
Request a lot of information but no matches in my area not discounts or offered anything to accommodate.
Helpful Report
Would love to get a quote asap
Helpful Report
Can't give me a quote right away
Helpful Report
I went through all this just to get a they're not accepting any more appointments what the heck
Helpful Report
just need repire
Helpful Report
Only offered one contractor match. The one match had no appointments available.
Helpful Report
put in all information accurately, you couldn't match me with any roofing contractors in my area, funny tho, I found multiples on Google, some that are coming out in appointments for estimates this week...
Helpful Report
I could use the $500 gift card & find someone to install windows.
Helpful Report
Hdhdjdnsnsnhdhdje
Helpful Report
They were not able to recommend a contractor to replace my roof ( much less 3 ) as they claim.
Helpful Report
They were not able to find any contractors to replace a roof on my home !!!
Helpful Report
lousey sucks and nothing to with that
Helpful Report
Can't help me in my area.. Bummer
Helpful Report
Tuesday, November 27, 2018, I was contacted by Emmanuel, who identified himself as President of Moctezuma Roofing with his business card. We met at mobile home park premises. He reviewed my approved State of California DUHD approved engineering schematics and permit. He informed me his license approves him to complete the work needed to replace ALL dry rotted wooden trusses in the roof of my mobile home. All engineering plans were provided for his review. He refused to provide me an estimate for the work at this time but he verbally stated he would do the work. Due to inclement weather for the next several weeks, the work could not be completed. He did say the work would be completed within 2 days and verbally agreed to a total cost of $4500.00 Friday, 1/4/19, I contacted Emmanuel, via cell phone call, and he stated he would be at my premises to begin work on Monday 1/7/19. He stated that he would send a contract via E-mail. Monday, 1/7/19, approximately 0800 hours, I received a phone call from Emmanuel stating he would not be at my premises because he had another job in Pittsburgh, Cal. I never received an E-mail from him. Thereafter, for a few weeks, it was raining. No work could be done due to heavy rains. Monday, 1/21/19, Emmanuel text me approximately 0630 hours stating he is on the way to my premises to begin work. Emmanuel and 2 crewmen arrived at 0800. I was just waking to read his text. I met Emmanuel at the back door of my home. I specifically informed him to wait for me that I need to shower. My wife was home visiting the neighbor. My wife observed Emmanuel and one crewman lean a grey metal ladder along the right side of my home and climb onto my roof. My wife and neighbor observed Emmanuel and his crewman fall from the ladder coming down with both of them on the ladder at the same time. When I came outside a few minutes later, Emmanuel and the crewman that fell were gone. His 3rd crewman informed me of the fall and that no work would be done today. I still received no contract. I took photo of broken right ladder leg as 3rd contractor drove away. 1/23/19, I spoke with Emmanuel, via my cell phone, and via text that I have saved, to get an update regarding his health and the status of my roof work. Emmanuel informed me that he did not know that I needed all dry rot trusses replaced and that the cost was now $9000. Emmanuel informed me that his crew would begin work Friday 1/26/19 and would work Saturday 1/27/19 and Monday 1/29/19. He never showed up. For the next week or so, it was raining. 2/12/19, I contacted Emmanuel via text which I have saved. I informed him the weather is clear beginning Saturday 2/16/19 through Saturday 2/23/19. He stated he would be there. He never showed up. Emmanuel sent 2 crew-man to open my roof with my permission to compile a material list after we spoke via cell phone on 2/12/19. Thursday, 2/14/19, Emmanuel and I spoke via cell phone. He agreed to begin truss work Monday 2/18/19. Trusting what Emmanuel had promised to me to begin Monday, 2/18/19, I contacted the State of Cal DUHD inspector and scheduled the inspection for Wednesday 2/20/19. I did this because my Sears new roof financing agreement expired on 2/23/19 after six months. I also set up with the Sears roofing contractor to complete the final install of my new roof beginning Friday 2/22/19. Monday, 2/18/19, Moctezuma owner nor crew showed up. I notified Emmanuel, via text 2/18/19 at 0834, that I cancelled the inspector visit for Wednesday as Emmanuel did not show up. I informed Emmanuel I would be responding to the Email I received from Jamie from Modernize with an update. I had informed Emmanuel of Jamie from Modernize E-mail on Tuesday 2/12/19. 2/18/19, at 1130 AM, Emmanuel finally sent a contract, via Email for the work cost of $9000. I responded back, via text, in a professional manner, how disappointed I was with his integrity and how my family trusted him to keep his word and that I needed him. Emmanuel replied stating he would, "Try to start tomorrow." (which is Tuesday 2/19/19) I informed Emmanuel how very unhappy my wife is. Emmanuel showed up at my premise on 2/18/19 at 1600 hours. He stated he could finance the new roof since Sears financial agreement is expiring 2/23/19. I replied that he hasn't fulfilled his first promise to complete the truss work and how can my family trust him with anything more. Emmanuel left my premises with a promise to begin my roof work tomorrow at 0900 on 2/19//19. 2/18/19, 753 PM, Emmanuel text me stating he had to push back my truss work scheduled for 2/19/19 at 0800. My wife and I responded, via text on morning of 2/19/19, informing him that most all residents in the mobile-home park where we reside are aware of his poor faith business practices and that his attempt to manipulate my families Sears financial agreement to his own benefit was not welcomed. We informed him to stay out of our business. Emmanuel replied, via text, denying his conversation with me to manipulate the Sears financial contract on 2/18/19 at 1600. I replied back, via text, that Emmanuel was home safety video recorded trying to manipulate the Sears financial agreement, that we are well connected in law enforcement with countless co-workers following his actions and they were standing by to comment at his website Moctezuma website reviews to include that if he did not show up as promised, we all would write negative reviews. (FYI; There are 24/7 neighborhood watch street cameras and cameras from all sides of many of our homes. I have lived here 30 years and know everyone) We then informed Emmanuel, via text, not to show at our premises and to no longer contact us if he did not begin the truss work on 2/20/19, as he had verbally promised, and complete the work on 2/22/19 which he needed to write into the written contract. I requested to speak with owner Jacob. Emmanuel replied, via text, he denies my request to speak with Jacob, that he is not obligated to complete the truss work regardless of his promise, and would be breaking his verbal promise to complete the work because he stated he felt threatened. I informed him the texts from me were no threats but only promises to write negative reviews at his company site and to the Better Business Bureau unless he followed through. I have record of all conversations, via text, since November 2018. Emmanuel Mendoza, President of Moctezuma Roofing, is not to be trusted. Perhaps, his record with other people have been acceptable. With me, I regret trusting and meeting Emmanuel. Moctezuma Roofing has no integrity. Mobile-home park neighbors are aware of everything that's happened. The State of Cal inspector DUHD is aware of Emmanuel of Moctezuma Roofing in Oakland and San Jose, California, and all what has happened. All I have needed was a responsible dedicated to quality customer service contractor with integrity to complete my work. Instead, I believed a childish con artist who intended to play games instead of completing work after he contacted me November 2018. Note: I received an E-mail from Modernize in February 6, 2019, requesting and update regarding their referral of Moctezuma Roofing. I replied back on 2/19/19 with the complete update that I have written here. Jamie Smith, who identified herself as Director of Homeowner Communications in Austin, Texas, replied back on 2/20/19. She asked if Sears was aware and asked if I had a homeowners roof claim. I replied Sears have been aware of their referred contractor since November 2018 and no o had no roof insurance claim. 2/21/19, Jamie replied via Email stating she is working to find a contractor for the roof truss work and would get back with me Friday, 2/22/19. I have heard nothing since.
2 Helpful Report
So I got 4 leads so far and 0 have answered phone or email request. One was even a number that was disconnected. FEELS LIKE I SIGNED UP WITH HOME ADVISOR. Not happy at all.
Helpful Report
I was under under the understanding so the windows would be replaced free
Helpful Report
I am a missionary and need many people home repairs with new windows. I will be happy to work with this company to do the job. I work for God!!!!! If anyone needs new windows please contact me at 337-251-0465 Thank you!!!!!
Helpful Report
My house is in really bad condition and needs many repairs
Helpful Report
In order to be in a drawing for a gift card to buy windows from them I must first write a review. This makes zero sense since I haven't bought the windows. They get 1 star because who knows how many fake reviews they have due to this scheme.
Helpful Report
Modernize is rated 4.63 based on 4,861 reviews