Modernize Reviews

4.63 Rating 4,860 Reviews
89% of reviewers recommend Modernize

About Modernize: A matchmaker between homeowners and contractors.

Visit Website
Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how Modernize made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service, Own Driver, Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
99%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 80%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.13 out of 5
"Tuesday, November 27, 2018, I was contacted by Emmanuel, who identified himself as President of Moctezuma Roofing with his business card. We met at mobile home park premises. He reviewed my approved State of California DUHD approved engineering schematics and permit. He informed me his license approves him to complete the work needed to replace ALL dry rotted wooden trusses in the roof of my mobile home. All engineering plans were provided for his review. He refused to provide me an estimate for the work at this time but he verbally stated he would do the work. Due to inclement weather for the next several weeks, the work could not be completed. He did say the work would be completed within 2 days and verbally agreed to a total cost of $4500.00 Friday, 1/4/19, I contacted Emmanuel, via cell phone call, and he stated he would be at my premises to begin work on Monday 1/7/19. He stated that he would send a contract via E-mail. Monday, 1/7/19, approximately 0800 hours, I received a phone call from Emmanuel stating he would not be at my premises because he had another job in Pittsburgh, Cal. I never received an E-mail from him. Thereafter, for a few weeks, it was raining. No work could be done due to heavy rains. Monday, 1/21/19, Emmanuel text me approximately 0630 hours stating he is on the way to my premises to begin work. Emmanuel and 2 crewmen arrived at 0800. I was just waking to read his text. I met Emmanuel at the back door of my home. I specifically informed him to wait for me that I need to shower. My wife was home visiting the neighbor. My wife observed Emmanuel and one crewman lean a grey metal ladder along the right side of my home and climb onto my roof. My wife and neighbor observed Emmanuel and his crewman fall from the ladder coming down with both of them on the ladder at the same time. When I came outside a few minutes later, Emmanuel and the crewman that fell were gone. His 3rd crewman informed me of the fall and that no work would be done today. I still received no contract. I took photo of broken right ladder leg as 3rd contractor drove away. 1/23/19, I spoke with Emmanuel, via my cell phone, and via text that I have saved, to get an update regarding his health and the status of my roof work. Emmanuel informed me that he did not know that I needed all dry rot trusses replaced and that the cost was now $9000. Emmanuel informed me that his crew would begin work Friday 1/26/19 and would work Saturday 1/27/19 and Monday 1/29/19. He never showed up. For the next week or so, it was raining. 2/12/19, I contacted Emmanuel via text which I have saved. I informed him the weather is clear beginning Saturday 2/16/19 through Saturday 2/23/19. He stated he would be there. He never showed up. Emmanuel sent 2 crew-man to open my roof with my permission to compile a material list after we spoke via cell phone on 2/12/19. Thursday, 2/14/19, Emmanuel and I spoke via cell phone. He agreed to begin truss work Monday 2/18/19. Trusting what Emmanuel had promised to me to begin Monday, 2/18/19, I contacted the State of Cal DUHD inspector and scheduled the inspection for Wednesday 2/20/19. I did this because my Sears new roof financing agreement expired on 2/23/19 after six months. I also set up with the Sears roofing contractor to complete the final install of my new roof beginning Friday 2/22/19. Monday, 2/18/19, Moctezuma owner nor crew showed up. I notified Emmanuel, via text 2/18/19 at 0834, that I cancelled the inspector visit for Wednesday as Emmanuel did not show up. I informed Emmanuel I would be responding to the Email I received from Jamie from Modernize with an update. I had informed Emmanuel of Jamie from Modernize E-mail on Tuesday 2/12/19. 2/18/19, at 1130 AM, Emmanuel finally sent a contract, via Email for the work cost of $9000. I responded back, via text, in a professional manner, how disappointed I was with his integrity and how my family trusted him to keep his word and that I needed him. Emmanuel replied stating he would, "Try to start tomorrow." (which is Tuesday 2/19/19) I informed Emmanuel how very unhappy my wife is. Emmanuel showed up at my premise on 2/18/19 at 1600 hours. He stated he could finance the new roof since Sears financial agreement is expiring 2/23/19. I replied that he hasn't fulfilled his first promise to complete the truss work and how can my family trust him with anything more. Emmanuel left my premises with a promise to begin my roof work tomorrow at 0900 on 2/19//19. 2/18/19, 753 PM, Emmanuel text me stating he had to push back my truss work scheduled for 2/19/19 at 0800. My wife and I responded, via text on morning of 2/19/19, informing him that most all residents in the mobile-home park where we reside are aware of his poor faith business practices and that his attempt to manipulate my families Sears financial agreement to his own benefit was not welcomed. We informed him to stay out of our business. Emmanuel replied, via text, denying his conversation with me to manipulate the Sears financial contract on 2/18/19 at 1600. I replied back, via text, that Emmanuel was home safety video recorded trying to manipulate the Sears financial agreement, that we are well connected in law enforcement with countless co-workers following his actions and they were standing by to comment at his website Moctezuma website reviews to include that if he did not show up as promised, we all would write negative reviews. (FYI; There are 24/7 neighborhood watch street cameras and cameras from all sides of many of our homes. I have lived here 30 years and know everyone) We then informed Emmanuel, via text, not to show at our premises and to no longer contact us if he did not begin the truss work on 2/20/19, as he had verbally promised, and complete the work on 2/22/19 which he needed to write into the written contract. I requested to speak with owner Jacob. Emmanuel replied, via text, he denies my request to speak with Jacob, that he is not obligated to complete the truss work regardless of his promise, and would be breaking his verbal promise to complete the work because he stated he felt threatened. I informed him the texts from me were no threats but only promises to write negative reviews at his company site and to the Better Business Bureau unless he followed through. I have record of all conversations, via text, since November 2018. Emmanuel Mendoza, President of Moctezuma Roofing, is not to be trusted. Perhaps, his record with other people have been acceptable. With me, I regret trusting and meeting Emmanuel. Moctezuma Roofing has no integrity. Mobile-home park neighbors are aware of everything that's happened. The State of Cal inspector DUHD is aware of Emmanuel of Moctezuma Roofing in Oakland and San Jose, California, and all what has happened. All I have needed was a responsible dedicated to quality customer service contractor with integrity to complete my work. Instead, I believed a childish con artist who intended to play games instead of completing work after he contacted me November 2018. Note: I received an E-mail from Modernize in February 6, 2019, requesting and update regarding their referral of Moctezuma Roofing. I replied back on 2/19/19 with the complete update that I have written here. Jamie Smith, who identified herself as Director of Homeowner Communications in Austin, Texas, replied back on 2/20/19. She asked if Sears was aware and asked if I had a homeowners roof claim. I replied Sears have been aware of their referred contractor since November 2018 and no o had no roof insurance claim. 2/21/19, Jamie replied via Email stating she is working to find a contractor for the roof truss work and would get back with me Friday, 2/22/19. I have heard nothing since."
2 Helpful Report
Visit Website
"Just did Happy happy save $$$$"
1 Helpful Report
"Within a few minutes I had three contractors set to give me an estimates. I was able to pick a great contractor to install my windows. Great service!"
1 Helpful Report
"Great service. Very efficient and impressed with how quickly I received multiple quotes from different window contractors."
1 Helpful Report
"Amazing service! I found a great contractor."
1 Helpful Report
"Fast, efficient, and great contractors! Thank you Modernize."
1 Helpful Report
"Happy about the product"
1 Helpful Report
"I had a great experience overall. Finding a contractor by yourself can be tough. Modernize helped connect me with local contractors who were all very professional, knowledgeable and eager to help me with my home improvement projects. They came to my house and I was able to get free estimates and ultimately signed a contract to get new windows! So excited!!"
1 Helpful Report
"Had a great experience getting 3 quotes on my windows project. They connected me with there certified contractors who were very competative."
1 Helpful Report
"Wow, really impressed the process and how fast I was matched with contractors who were really competitive."
1 Helpful Report
"Helped me find a contractor for my roofing project and get multiple quotes."
1 Helpful Report
"I got connected to a contractor quickly and they gave me a good quote."
1 Helpful Report
"Everybody seemed so helpful and pleasant"
1 Helpful Report
"I filled out their form and got a call from Home Depot within a few minutes. After that, I received a call from 2 other roofing companies here in town. I have appointments set with each company and will report back after they come to my house to give me a quote. So far, so good."
1 Helpful Report
"I've used Modernize twice to hire contractors to work at my house. Both times I had an appointment lined up within minutes. The second time the appointment was set up for the same afternoon. Modernize pulled all of the hassle and guesswork out of the hiring process by bringing the contractors to me. I will definitely use their service again."
1 Helpful Report
Modernize is rated 4.63 based on 4,860 reviews