Natwest Reviews

1.6 Rating 366 Reviews
13 %
of reviewers recommend Natwest

Write Your review

Tell us how Natwest made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Natwest 1 star review on 28th April 2022
Amanda
Natwest 1 star review on 12th April 2022
Anonymous
Natwest 1 star review on 13th December 2021
Elizabeth Lowes
Natwest 1 star review on 28th November 2021
Mrs Elizabeth Lowes
Natwest 1 star review on 28th November 2021
Mrs Elizabeth Lowes
Natwest 1 star review on 28th November 2021
Mrs Elizabeth Lowes
Natwest 1 star review on 26th November 2021
Mrs Elizabeth Lowes
4
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Reverted back to my maiden name and was told my bank card (only received this week) would remain active until new one arrives. Next day card declined. Nat west said its been destroyed. Go to local branch. My local branch is a 30 mile round trip as is Tesco. 6 hours later after numerous ridiculous suggestions from Nat West some bright spark realises my old card is active. Good job I hadn't cut it up. Appalling customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Honestly a joke of a bank, getting my first bank account with them has been a nighmare and now I’m having to close the account completely because of the mess
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Opening current account online. All well until asked to download ID. I can't do this on my computer. Chat line for ages .. given a charged tel no. No reply. Went into bank. Gave me another no. Rang that and they said half an hour to complete and start again. They we'd theneed send me forms to take to bank. In the end I applied online to Barclays. . Took 5 mins and already sending details. Sorry Natwest but you did not inspire me with confidence
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
It took a few working days to open my business bank account with Natwest. It has been 3rd bank I tried doing it with and I was surprised how quickly and smoothly it went. The other banks were useless - nightmare to work with . I think it helped that I already was a customer with them, but still - 3 days is a very good outcome
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Do not buse NatWest. They steal your money. I paid off my loan and still took out a direct deposit. Rather than saying sorry and Putin the money back, I'm getting the run around. Worst bank ever.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Discraceful service from there berevement department. A family member has been waiting four months to receive funds from her late husbands account. All other companies have swiftly dealt with organising relevent payments and transfers but NatWest have shown little compassion and willingness to transfer any funds. Full of excuses and promises of payment but nothing happens when they promise to transfer funds. Our only option is to contact the ombudsman for help all of which is added stress at a time of breavement.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Nat West facilitates serious financial abuse. My ex-boyfriend (unemployed) raised debts, taking out loans on my house. I had NO knowledge, NO meeting or phone conversations with anybody from Nat West. My signature is not on the letters to Nat West either. I am the injured party. - these second mortgages being taken out in my name we’re dine secretly. Nat West did not protect my right. Didn’t have any loyalty or obligation by seeking my consent to a loan which was more than my mortgage. I was denied a right to say no. Over the years I have asked for the paperwork regarding my 30-40K My mortgage was 27K - doubled my mortgage ! Last year Nat West found the paperwork ....yippee However the lie kicked in about it being lost & missing again . Nobody like lies & deceit, if a bank messes up why not put things right ? Nat West Bank is involved in shady business practices. Real customer of Nat West for 25 years True story
Natwest 1 star review on 28th April 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Absolutely love the on line app. Very quick efficient and easy to use. Absolutely hate that they keep changing the design once you are in the app!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I was on the phone for 20minutes waiting someone to answer and when a lady answered she was rude and told me to call on monday and hung up the phone while i told her i want it sorted now. Very unprofessional.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Blocked a payment that I tried to do with asda.com.( for deck shoes, etc). Blocked the debit card. Kept on typing in details on portal. Yet all they were interested in: "Will you complete a short survey". They seemingly had no interest in UNBLOCKING THE DEBIT CARD- just like juniors seeking brownie points,or approval or something!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
This excuse of a bank decided to suspend my account for no apparent reason. After 4 months of countless phone calls, emails and branch visits someone told me i was going to receive a letter that never arrived. After an official complain i finally got the release form via email. Now they want me to pay £100 for a notary certified copy of my passport to release my money. UNBELIEVABLE
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
1 hour and 10 minutes on the phone and still waiting , good thing I had my dinner while watching a movie while on the phone , thinking of hanging up
Natwest 1 star review on 12th April 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Totally wasting time, avoid!!! Mathew Little the morgage advisor messed up and forgot our appointments times. requested more documents 2 hours before appointments TWICE after all the documents submitted to system (conformed). During the telephone appointments, questions asked like trial criminals, rude and impatient.... We missed the stamp duty benefit because of him!!!!! Push us to online application, but, never trust Natwest online application, the system is rubbish, documents submitted 4 times (with successful confirmations) , waited weeks, no one get in tough. Had to call help online 3 times a day with 30 minutes waiting time. After 3 months chasing, gave up! Treasure life, avoiding NatWest
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
This morning my husband and I received 1st class customer service from Kirsty Cloke at Natwest Dover branch. We could not have managed all the additions and alterations to our accounts without her help. She explained everything and gave us good advise concerning our accounts and future needs. Thank you so much Kirsty we really appreciated your help. Angela & Gregory Crepin
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
No reason no warning, they just embargoed my account, refuse to give me an explanation,stay away at all costs. I think they are trying to recover the money they lost through laundering by robbing people's accounts
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The worst bank ever. Don’t even try to open account. Thief’s this is what they are. Stole £2k and it takes ages to get them back. No any number to call, only email. Rubbish Avoid !!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I decided to switch accounts to Natwest and gave up as the online process was a total mess. After going round and round in circles and struggling to find out how to progress it appears impossible to open a joint account. Awful awful process design.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Tried to close my bank account. I live abroad, and went back to UK to close ACC in branch. Was told they didn't do that there and that the account would be closed automatically by bank March 7th ref Brexit rules. Mrch 7th , ACC still open! Went online to try to close account. Impossible. Went on to Cora chat, spoke to woman, who said I had to write an old fashioned letter to Manchester! I did this. Bank account STILL OPEN! Rang local branch where I banked in Uk, told to close account on App on phone! Never had App, so would have to open one up, with face recognition!? Not doing that. Now on phone to another number to escalate to complaint! Utterly useless. It should be a simple process. I had another bank account with a different bank. I closed that in the UK within 5 mins! Very angry with the cost of phone calls and the waste of my time trying to deal with what should be a simple process!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Tried to set up an online account. Would not accept my id online. Went to the Barry branch and the manager took my id. Phoned later to say he needed me to sign the application, and he would post it out that afternoon first class. One week on it has not arrived, so tried to do it online again. Apparently it resent the last rejected attempt without allowing me to send a better copy.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
NatWest have a lot of bad reviews on here, but my experience so far has mostly been a good one and I've been a customer 7+ years. I'm both a personal and business customer. NatWest have a decent online/app system that is fast, simple and secure. I can jump in and out very quickly to get what I need done. Competing banks like HSBC are terrible in this respect. I have a healthy line of credit with NatWest, and customer service always sorts out my problems quickly. Setting up a company bank account was completed in a matter of days with 18 months free... very nice. I was also refunded for a scam a few months ago. I did not have to push them to make this decision, which was great. If this happens to you and they are resistant, just mention you'll take it up with the Ombudsman (this will often lead them to issuing a scam refund). Are NatWest perfect? Not at all, and certain services depend on your local branch. I had a mortgage in principle last year from a local branch and when it came to securing a property, the bank had quoted me about £30,000 too much because the Manager had done the maths wrong... so I couldn't go ahead with the house purchase which was a bit devastating. Their excuse was that my outgoings had changed, but this was in fact a minimal change that should have only made a £2k-3k difference. If it wasn't for this experience I'd be giving a 5 stars. I'll mostly be sticking to NatWest's online services rather than in-branch, because I think that's where they shine the most.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Natwest is rated 1.58 based on 366 reviews