Rent North East Reviews

2.8 Rating 13 Reviews
31 %
of reviewers recommend Rent North East
2.8
Based on 13 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read Rent North East Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01913037778

Email:

accounts@rentnortheast.co.uk

Location:

412, Aidan House BusinessCenter,
Gateshead
NE8 3HU

Write Your review

Tell us how Rent North East made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We lived in this flat for 4 years, and we had a couple of complications over the first few years but nothing worth reviewing. Within the last 14 months however, one of our showers fell through because of the mould we had been mentioning for about a year before hand. This took 6 months to fix, leaving us with only one shower for the flat. Once the shower was replaced, we mentioned that a crack in the pipe was letting water underneath one of our rooms, causing the floor to slowly get more and more damp. This was yet again ignored, and over the last 5 months of us living in the flat (this was also the reason we had to leave), literal mushrooms started to grow on the floor of my bedroom, causing me to have to sleep on the sofa in the lounge for the last 3 months of living there. On top of all of this, when we finally left, they decided to not refund us a large chunk of our deposit because of damage to the flat. The mould had caused a lot of the wall paper to fall off in certain parts, and destroy the carpet. They chose to ignore us for months, let us live in these horrendous conditions, and then dare try and charge us for the damage they were too ignorant to acknowledge. The week before we left a contractor came over to look at the leak we had been mentioning for months, clearly because they needed it fixed for the next tenant. Absolutely abysmal. Do not rent through this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent managing agent and someone we have worked with successfully for many years. Diligent, responsive and professional. Highly recommended
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
It was good to work with Jack, they are professional and quick response for my property.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
They are professional management company, friendly and efficiency
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
If I could select zero stars I would. I would NEVER recommend anyone going through this company. From start to finish it was nothing but hassle. I thought an estate agent was suppose do the work for you? All we got from Jack was “I’m out of office can you send this or that” and to top it off he rejected us from a property then kept our deposit. From the reviews I have seen this isn’t the first time and won’t be the last. We submitted all the relevant information and still got rejected. And have now been accepted for a more expensive property how does that work?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Kennedy, I have worked very hard to try to make this work for you, but unfortunately, the application has been rejected due to the factors already outlined to you via email. Significant undisclosed debts were incurred by both applicants, and incorrect information was provided by both applicants. I am not sure how the application rejection is our fault, given that all the factors were completely out of our control. This is not a case of one debt that could arguably be forgotten about, this is many defaults and significant outstanding debt. We carry out due diligence checks required to satisfy landlord, lender and insurer requirements. I have already explained what you can do to seek redress, which is a step most agents wouldn't take, given the clear law around holding deposits. The policies are set out by law, and we are very clear about terms before any holding deposits are paid. Here is the info that you did not disclose: Capital One - £286 (limit £300) - 3 months late in 2022 Vodafone - doesnt appear to be active, but entered into arrangement to pay in 2020 Closed accounts (only noted accounts that are a concern) Moneybarn Hire Purchase - £259 Monthly for 5 yrs - was 2 months late, but has now been closed. Santander - (defaulted on 01/08/2017 owing £1,014). 2 credit agencies still showing account as "in default" Court Judgment in April 2020 for £185 - Settled. At least £718PCM to service loans that are being actively paid.
Posted 1 year ago
I have had ups and down with this company. I once wrote a negative review for them, but there are clear reasons for me to take back some of them having seen the great improvements and their response to my feedback. Here is my reflection on my updated experience with this company: 1) They followed up the points mentioned in my review; expressed their sadness and were apologetic. They replaced the Oven/ gas which was a very good sign of positive cooperation and realising their promises. 2) With some exceptions, they have had a very good telephone manner which was a different experience for me. They have a Whatsapp group which deals with requests quickly. 3) The most important one for me has been that they do not, as I am told, manage properties in Middlesbrough from Gatehead due to the distance and not being local there. This was really impressive news. The three-star reflects my overall experience; otherwise, this issue in itself, I believe, deserves a five star! 4) They were very helpful and appeared really trustworthy in returning the deposit. Most agencies I had worked with previously in the UK treated me unfairly in this regard, but I had a very good experience in this regard here.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Worst place I've ever moved in. Waiting three years with no elec or heat or hot water and mild and damp in most rooms and now my baby has breathing problems from fungus spores I'm the lungs that will be with him for the rest of his like. It's not the company as much as the ls land lord. That won't even give me his contact number(the agency need his permission)but they didn't ask my permission to hand my number out to several ppl and busines. Steer clear or do a lot of research,,and don't believe a word your told.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I have found Rent NorthEast extremely professional and helpful in my pursuit of moving home.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Didn't find the on line form with all the downloads very easy..couldn't pay the fee because it said I could only use a credit card and not debit. By the time the staff dealt with my e-mail when they got in on Monday the house I wanted had already been reserved with another agency.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Good morning, Thank you for providing your feedback. We are so sorry that your experience was not positive. We are unable to replicate the issue with the credit/debit card unfortunately. Could this be something to do with the card that you were trying to use? Unfortunately, we do operate a "first come first served" policy when it comes to reserving properties. We are sorry that you missed out on the property that you wanted to rent. Please do get in touch with our lettings team on 0191 303 7778 to see if there are any other properties that you may be interested in. As always, please do not hesitate to get in touch if you think that we may be able to be of any further assistance. Kindest Regards, Rent North East
Posted 7 years ago
Very eager to make sure their renters are satisfied.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Place had faulty electrics reported in december I moved out in February with them still not fixed leaking roofs with water coming through the light fittings never fixed and I have already mentioned the electrics which I'm sure this would be adding to the problem - house was subsiding showing signs of severe cracking movement to the point a bedroom door fell off on my son again nothing was done not only that the house has been relet or under viewings without any of the problems being rectified
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Hi Beverley, Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences as a tenant of Rent North East. I hope you are settling into your new home! We take all complaints very seriously, and I have therefore checked the events on your account to see if there was anything that we could highlight to improve based on your feedback. I have found, however, that the issues that you have reported were all attended to within our specified timeframes, and following correct procedures, as per the following: (Locked records of the following are logged on our maintenance system, and are accessible to the DPS and PRS.) Roof: This was repaired by the landlord before we took over the management of the property. Further issues were instructed to our roofer to be attended to, however he was unable to arrange access with you, despite attempting on various occasions. Electrical issues: You requested that we rearrange the initial appointment to repair, due to personal issues, and you then asked that we wait until you move out to attend as you were busy packing. Cracks in walls: The previous managing agents had two independent surveys carried out, both of which confirmed that there is no subsidence at this property. We did ask you to nevertheless keep us updated as to any further concerns that you may have had, which you were happy to do. We have indeed let the property with works in progress to be completed before the new tenant moves in. In summary, I have been unable to pinpoint any mistakes or misconduct at our end. We are always grateful for feedback which helps us to improve our service, and I would therefore be grateful for your clarification of the comments above. Kindest Regards, Jack Rent North East
Posted 8 years ago
Made my original viewing on a flat then they changed it last minute (I was already on my way) to a time that wasn't convenient to me. But they told me it HAD to be then, so I rearranged my plans to get there. When I arrived for the rearranged viewing, no one showed up. I had to phone them and then they made me stand for 45 minutes in the pouring rain while they got there, and was then rushed around the place. Then when I said I'd take the flat they rang me at 9:30pm asking for the admin fees straight away. They tried to charge me £100 over the advertised fee and I had to argue it with them. Then they told me I didn't need a guarantor on the flat, and I agreed to pay a bond, then they told me actually I DID need one so I had to convince someone to help me out with it (not easy, very stressful). Then when they sent me my tenancy agreement to sign, all the details were wrong in it. When I queried it they again tried to charge me money I didn't owe them. Then they sent me texts at 5am on a Sunday morning asking for money I didn't owe them. I've been dealing with them for nearly two months and in that time they've not got a single thing right. Massively unimpressed. I'm glad I hadn't signed anything and could back out of the deal.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Hi Kathryn, Thank you for taking the time to review the service that you received from us. We are so sorry! As you have pointed out, a series of mistakes occurred during the tenancy application process. Renting a new home should be an exciting experience, but for you it has been stressful and frustrating. We have implemented the following changes to our procedures to try to ensure that these issues do not occur again: Changes made to viewing calendar system to ensure better synchronizations (this was implemented further to your viewing, and has been very successful for over 130 viewings to date.) Pre agreement terms now signed by tenant and landlord prior to application being processed to avoid any confusion and miscommunication. We usually provide a great service, but we seem to have failed this time. We are so sorry about that, and await your email as discussed this morning to arrange your refund. At Rent North East, we pride ourselves in our honest and open attitude, and in our constant striving to improve our services. We think that we have addressed all the issues that you have raised, but please let us know if you feel that we have more work to do. Best wishes, Jack Rent North East
Posted 8 years ago
I find getting hold of anyone incredibly frustrating, as you can often wait on the line (on the main number) and not have your call answered whereupon you have to leave a message or hang up. If you do get through to someone, the answer is always the same, Jack will call you back. Reporting problems, although simple, through the automated front end, is ultimately frustrating, as everything is done by email, which just adds to delays. There is no sense of urgency to repair problems, often requiring me to chase and chase until things start moving, which in turn just strains tenant/management relations, and when jewish/public holidays take place, there is no contingency to help tenants out, as the out of hours team just take messages. i reported a boiler fault, which left me with no heating or hot water for 2 days, but was told someone would call me back....i'm still waiting 2 days later.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Dear Phil, Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of a few issues that you experienced. You experienced difficulties in contacting us when some of our staff were on annual leave, as you had to wait on the phone for a while, and when your call was answered then you were not assisted as you should have been. We are very sorry about this. We do have an emergency and out of hours contractor, whom I can see that you tried to call, but they did not answer your call We have now replaced this contractor with a national provider to prevent this from happening to you or to anybody else in the future. Our relationship with our tenants is very important to us, we specifically ensure that we always have somebody on call for out of hours repairs, and that we have an easy to use maintenance reporting system for non-urgent repairs. This does not mitigate what happened in your case, and we have therefore added £75 credit to your account, as our very small way of showing you how sorry we are about this. This was not intentional, and we promise that we have done our best to ensure that it doesn’t happen again. We look forward to providing a great service to you for the duration of your tenancy. Kindest Regards, Jack Barnett Director, Rent North East
Posted 8 years ago
Rent North East is rated 2.8 based on 13 reviews