Santander Reviews

1.4 Rating 475 Reviews
8 %
of reviewers recommend Santander

Write Your review

Tell us how Santander made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Santander 1 star review on 18th April 2024
DKM
Santander 1 star review on 10th August 2022
Anonymous
Santander 1 star review on 24th June 2021
Gius
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Never had a problem with Santander. I made my payments on time for 11 months and then paid it off. They promptly released the Electronic Lien on the title in 1 week. I had no issues dealing with them. If fact some were quite nice.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Called on 6/28/24 to get copy of cancelled check from January 2023. Was told it would be emailed within 3 business days. Called 7/3/24 to check on status of my request but now being told it's "under review" for a "resolution". Was not allowed to speak to supervisor and was told I'd have to wait an add'l 5-7 business days before the "back ofc" could reach a "resolution". This is the ABSOLUTE WORST Bank to deal with especially if you live in a State where they have no branch offices. This is not an isolated problem. It is systematic of the way they do business. After almost 10 years of trying to deal with them I AM DONE !!!!!!! The telephone representatives were kind & apologetic but useless.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The new mobile banking app is horrendous. It is so complicated and convoluted. I can’t work out what payments/transfers are and who they are from. It takes forever to log on, sometimes I have to turn my phone off and on to do so. If I could give it no stars i would. If i could go back to the old app I would - i cannot put into words how terrible it is.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Everything 3 occasions waited over 11 min didnt get through then when i did get through asked to wiit 2 weeks for anappointment better to change account !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
My husband and myself attended the Rhyl branch on Saturday 29/6/24. Vanessa went above and beyond and helped us with our Edge account. I Would also like to say every time we go to this branch all the staff are very polite & helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I had 3 direct debits declined when there were sufficient funds in my account. Tried the chat function which was less than useless. Called and waited around 40 minutes before speaking to someone who told me I needed to go into the bank - there are none locally as my card had been blocked. I hadn't blocked it. It is my business account and services will be stopped or I will have to pay from personal account which will mess up my accounts. I have been waiting for another 30 minutes whilst they try and sort it out and have now been cut off. Have been with them for ages but this is truly the WORST customer service and as a freelancer a lot of time and hassle which equals £££
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Upon opening an Edge account, Santander locked my existing linked account, as well as the new one. I went in to the branch in person and spent over an hour getting it unblocked. A few weeks later I moved some money into and out of the account and they locked my account. After a long episode on the phone they removed the lock. A week later my card is declined for online payments. After waiting on the phone they tell me I have to go into the branch because the card is blocked. They can't tell me the reason just that I have to go into the branch. I've never had issues like this with any other bank. So what is this? I'm genuinely shocked at how bad this experience has been.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Withdrew 10,000 pesos (app. $850 CDN) from an ATM in Mexico. The ATM didn’t dispense a single peso but charged my account $850. Still waiting for the refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Absolutely pathetic compared to the old one whose ease of use has been completely lost on the dimwit designers
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I took out an investment hub account 3+ years ago (2021) depositing between 50k and up to 100k. After fees of £2000 I made a return of £340. Never achieved a return in any year of even 1%. Their investment dept have no more knowledge than my dog. Never again will I trust Santander with my money
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Warning keep away from santander, be warned
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Updated app either shuts down, doesn't start at all or is so slow it's not worth using. There was nothing wrong with the previous version. Considering changing bank because of this.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
The worst bank
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Santander are just awful. The e-document facility is no longer available for my interest tax statement and I ended up pretending to want a mortgage to get to speak someone (CHAT didn't function). They then directed me to transactional statements telling me they were the tax statements - they were not. I've been with Santander for a very long time but now have had enough and will switch to someone else. Frankly, anyone else! Not the fault of the people on the phone - I feel sorry for them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Never ever opens on time! Absolute joke! It’s not hard to just do that 1 simple thing!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
This company is the absolute worst. I had just bought a car and financed through them. When my first payment came out, they withdrew it three times. I called to get the money back and they told me it only shows payment was received so I sent my bank statement per their request. It’s now been 2 weeks since they’ve done so and I still haven’t received a refund. I’m beginning to think I won’t see that money again. When I call for an update, they hang up on me. If you’ve got a choice, do not use this bank. They’ll steal whatever they can from you.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible customer service and have stopped me making regular payments to my partner of 22yrs account which covers out household bills and has done for yrs for no valid reason other than and in his very own words 'because we can' ........ I have been with this bank for over 40 yrs and I am appalled
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I’m on holiday in Spain and I need €300 With the exchange rate @ €115 to the £1 These scummy thieves charged me £284 Instead of £254 I called them and they wasn’t interested at all I’ve closed my account Be very careful
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Santander online banking support is atrocious. Go to Discover or Amex. Their reps know what they are doing with 4 times higher interest rates.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The worst company do deal with when it comes to customer service. I have talked to a dozen people in this organization to find out about getting a payoff amount from the date of my accident, some say they can't do it at all, some say they will send me a link to obtain it, which they send but doesn't work, some say they will have it sent over by end of day. Three weeks later, still do not have it. Insurance company totaled out the van, sent a check to Santander, they said they never received it, called my insurance company and told them they had to go through a portal, then denied that they told the insurance company to do it that way. Insurance company figured out how to submit it via the portal, did so, and payment still has not posted. I called and Santander said it would be 5-7 days to post. I called again on day 5, they said it should be posted by COB that day. I called again the next day because it still had not posted and was told that it would be another 5-7 days. No worries to them as they keep collecting the daily interest that is accrued every day that this is not paid off. Two months and still trying to get this resolved. Needless to say I will NEVER use them again. I would give them ZERO stars if it was possible.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Santander is rated 1.4 based on 475 reviews