Santander Reviews

1.4 Rating 409 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Santander

Write Your review

Tell us how Santander made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Santander 1 star review on 10th August 2022
Anonymous
Santander 1 star review on 24th June 2021
Gius
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Just lost out on a hotel booking down to the transaction pending for four days now. Bank continously blaming the Companies, yet nationwide or HSBC has never given me this issue after being with them for over twenty years. Passing the book isn't helpful to the customer and what's more annoying is when staff sound robotic, when you challenge them all they do is repeat what they have told you several times, you tell them you understand them however there is a dilemma here, they just go off and repeat themselves again. It's very long winded and unnecessary.
Helpful Report
Posted 15 hours ago
Last two weeks two different days served me two different staff I am happy with service But But leeds Santander bank staff BINTA really appreciated she is genuine kind and polite specially she have more knowledge sorted my issue I am excited thanks Binta keep it up I give you 5 stars
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
I had bought a car. At the time I was going through a bankruptcy. I then decide to withdraw my caes through bankruptcy. They wouldn't take a pymt for 5 months. Never heard one word. No phone calls or anything. Well I thought they put the 5 months on the end. Then continued to pay every month. They had my car repoed and expects me to pay 3600 dollars to get it. It's completely ridiculous that don't tell anyone what's going on. Now I can't get any of my belongings out of the car cause the repo people don't want to answer the phone. Almost everything I own is in the car and I can't get noone to reply.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Opened a current account, have received a card & pin but I'm unable to register for online banking as the 1st customer service agent said that the wrong DOB was registered, even though I had posted copies of my passport, driving licence & a form with it on, she asked me to call into a branch to confirm my ID which I refused as they already have a copy. I was placed on hold for 20mins whilst she spoke to the accounts team. I was then cut off. Phone call no2, customer service assistant confirmed I have the correct DOB on an old account but not on the new one? & a note on my account saying the accounts team require me to attend a branch with my ID, when they already have a copy of my ID? No explanation why I didn't get a call back after being cut off. Very poor customer service, really unhelpful, I won't be using this account.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
For twelve years I had a Santander account. Problems only started when I was made executor for a friend. Santander don't provide executor accounts, so the money was transferred to my personal account. When I tried to pay the major beneficiary, my account was frozen, which was inconvenient as I was moving at the time. Three conversations with the bank's fraud department ensued, in which I seemed to be a suspect in this 'fraud'. They were only satisfied when I provided copies of the grant of probate, the will and the accounts. I transferred £9,000 to my building society account, but that was blocked until I provided a satisfactory explanation. Santander is over-zealous in seeing fraud everywhere. Customer relations come a poor second. Avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
After opening up my first account in 1978 (Previously Abbey National they took it over) I went into Santander Bank to Pay in some cash however my card would not work? So I went into the branch, and was told my account had been closed as it was dormant, I would need to get all my statements and call them, so I did. 3 weeks later the statements arrived by post, I called them and 3 of there phone numbers are not in service? I eventually spoke with a guy that told me that all 3 of my accounts have been closed, They did write to me, however all my money had now been given to charity! from my ISSA Savings and Current Account, How can they do this? I could not believe this. Its like putting your car in the Garage, and because you do not drive it for 14 months Audi Take it Back. Is this for real? Don't Trust Them at All.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
santander just took away and wiped my account clean without notification on /01/16/2024. stating we are offsetting a loan payment, stating we have charge off but we will still take payments ,so this is fraud and this needs to be condemn. they have not right with out my permission and i had advise them of hardship. now its there turn to call they are sending calls here and there and failed to respond within time frame. shame on them from recovery.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Use this bank at your peril. Customer service 0, ability to sort an issue in a reasonable time 0.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I spent half a year in hospital after having a stroke, these clowns failed to spot someone had got into my account and allowed them to drain it and left me with NOTHING!! They refused to investigate it, cancelled all my direct debits and closed my account! They refused to see any evidence that I was in hospital, my local branch were so schocked at their actions they wrote a complaint on my behalf!! Have nothing to do with this bank!! Run by the MAFIA!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I’ve immigrated to the UK to join my husband here and I opened an everyday account in Santander (cause my husband has this one since he was 15). I’ve got my debit card and all the details to log in but it wouldn’t work. I called the customer service and apparently my account has been closed and they couldn’t provide a reason. They advised to open a basic account as it suits for people who just moved to the new country or have bad credit history. So I did that, got my debit card and again my account was closed after a few days. I didn’t even get any chance to use it. I made a complaint and they sent me a letter saying that they cannot provide their services to me but they cannot say why. So I guess it’s just a discrimination as I’m from Russia
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
This bank is the worst bank ever the customer service is poor no one knows the rules and they are rude I’d avoid this bank
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The bank repeatedly claimed mail addressed to me had been returned. They were unable to substantiate this. I provide documentation to prove my address, the bank claimed not to have received this. It all seems chaotic and maybe even manipulative and potentially dishonest?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I was amazed by C O N C E P T S T R D / C O M knowledge and commitment. They offered me steadfast support when I lost a sizable sum of money due to fraud. Their team's expertise and meticulousness were on full display as they carefully examined the circumstances. Their consistent communication and updates brought me comfort. Their tailored approaches, which took into account my unique situation, helped me successfully retrieve my money. I wholeheartedly endorse the superior services provided by C O N C E P T S T R D / C O M.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Two years ago I had a stroke and spent quite a long time seriously ill in hospital, I am now partially bling and paralysed down one side. While I was in hospital Santander failed to spot someone had got in my bank account and emptied it! They responded by cancelling all my direct debits and closing my account! Two years on, I have just received a letter from a debt collection company saying I did not pay my car tax 2 years ago, I know it was paid and a new direct debit set up, contacting the DVLA is near impossible and the stress is going to cause me to have another stroke!! HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THIS BANK!! AT SOME POINT THEY WILL MAKE YOUR LIFE HELL!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Have a car loan with them- don't do extensions- Florida was in a state of emergency- they are now charging me $2,100 for filing the emergency extensions!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My account was blocked over Christmas. I have a lung disease, but was finally able to phone today. They still won’t unblock it, nor explain why and I have no breath for further phone calls. They are little Hitlers, not human.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Unilaterally blocking my account, which receives my pension, without prior warning, then being impossible to reach out to any of the services to find out why!? 15 years, with never being overdrawn nor delinquent. Only after writing to the CEO's email and complaining did they make an apology and a gesture of compensation. (200 GBP was deposited with apologies). Then to cap it all I am told they are shutting my account down on 12th Feb 2024 - news I received on Christmas eve. What the heck is going on.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I wanted to transfer 3000 at 9.30am this morning to pay for materials for a new roof before the bad weather comes as it has holes. My account wouldn't let me, so had to ring up and explain. Took 35 mins to eventually get the transfer done saying pay today and here we are gone 4pm and the roofer still has not been paid so my materials did not turn up. I am on the point of withdrawing all my money and joining Nationwide. Very bad service especially as it was an emergency and me personally knowing the builder and his very good reputation. GRRR!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Wish I could give less an 1 star. Customer service is terrible. Reported a fraudulent transaction on 7th December, Still waiting for the refund. Calling everyday only to be told there are no timescales and it will get dealt with as and when. Raised a complaint about the attitude of the staff on the branch and the call centre to them be told that fraud case was closed as a complaint was raised. The complaint team then passed it back to fraud so now waiting for it to be assigned again and still being told no timescales. They cancelled my card and told me that I had to go into the branch to order a new one - branch told me this was no so and they could have done it over the phone. They have left me with no money and no timescales as to when this will be resolved. Utterly disgusted with this bank and will be closing the account down. Staff do not care about customers or their money. Disgusted with them and will be reporting them to the FCA as well
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Froze my account for no good reason while abroad. 5 months later able to return to 🇬🇧 UK. Went into bank 🆔 passports driving license. Bank manager informed us can’t lift frozen account. Not true went in one week later assistant to manager did straight away and assistant couldn’t understand why manager didn’t speak to fraud department and resolve. Unfair,unreasonable, and they also charged bank charges while account frozen. No explanation. Practically criminal activity by bank.🇬🇧🙈👎👎👎👎. Financially affected by Santander £140 in phone calls, early return from vacation, cost of flights had to break lease for villa 2 months rent lost. Answered all security questions, could see my mobile phone number correct at there end. No good reason at all no explanation no apology, nothing but poor service except from bank assistant.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Santander is rated 1.4 based on 409 reviews