Santander Reviews

1.54 Rating 206 Reviews
13 %
of reviewers recommend Santander

Write Your review

Tell us how Santander made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I’d put 0 star if possible. A staff and I couldn’t agree on the fee over the phone, and after talking for awhile, the staff hang up on me without sorting out the problem. Very unprofessional!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Appalling waiting time on the phone. Appalling on line chat. Very difficult to contact if you have an issue. I been waiting on the phone to cancel a credit account for 40+ minutes and still waiting.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
For 3 months my buyer has been arranging a mortgage with this company and the valuation completed in June. For the last 6 weeks we have been promised a decision. Every week and every day rolls by and never changes. Apparently it was escalated to fast track with a decision to be made in 5 days and 4 hours!!! Yes very specific but still 2 weeks later no change. Our upper chain are good to exchange and we are now at risk of us loosing our house. Peoples emotions and wellbeing are being strained because of this appalling service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Avoid avoid...whole management team needs to be changed specially mortgage departments. We have been told that we can get that amount of mortgage at the beginning and go and find the property. We found the property and then took it out from marker as been told by mortgage advisor. After few weeks they have changed the amounts for 4 times different numbers. The worst bank ever and took 2 month and disappointed. At the end we done with barclays only took 1 week. Management teams are so unprofessional and no customer service. They are not responsible even for their own mistake. Please avoid this bank as they just drag you. I wish I could rate them minus. Don't trust them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I rate santander as minus 10! What I don't understand is how come FCA regulators not investigating santander's conduct???? they don't have written process on how to change a joint account to a sole account. Also they treat their customers like a "Shit". I needed to change my joint account (with my daughter) to sole account. when I asked them for the process, they informed to complete a form and take it to the local branch to sort out the change. However, when I took the signed application form from both account holders, they told me to make an appointment, which will take 2 weeks. When I refused to wait because they failed to inform the right process in the first place. They then made up a rule to provide both joint account holder original identity to their branch. They failed to show me the rule in written documentations they hold, instead showed me their privacy notice under GDPR, which was condescending and wrong on so many level. If a branch manager don't have a clue where to find the process and making it up she went along, HOW COULD ANYONE TRUST THEM WITH THEIR MONEY????And they refused to change my account to sole account when they took copies of my identification on 9 Aug and my daughter provided her passport to Kensington High Street branch, who took copy of her passport for the file, when she picked up the application to withdraw her name from the joint account. On 9 Aug, bracknell branch manager harassed, dismissed, shouted and discriminated me for full hour and refused to accept my application on the basis that my daughter has to go to her local santander branch to show her original identification again, so they can take a copy and fax a copy to bracknell branch. Only then they will consider changing my account to sole account. ONE THING IS PUZZLING ME, I OPENED MY ACCOUNT ONLINE WITHOUT GOING TO ANY SANTANDER BRANCH TO PROVIDE IDENTIFICATION OR ANY OTHER PROOF. MY ACCOUNT WAS ACCEPTED ONLINE. HOWEVER, TO CHANGE MY ACCOUNT TO SOLE ACCOUNT MY DAUGHTER HAS TO GO TO A BRANCH TWICE AND SO DO I. THIS IS A HARASSMENT TO MY DAUGHTER AS WELL, WHO IS DOCTOR IN LONDON HOSPITAL. I wonder if they will ask us both to stand on our heads and walk before santander, FCA, FSCA and Prudential regulation committee before they can let me change my bank account and access my money. This bank is worse than dictatorship and it doesn't sounds right to DISCRIMINATE a customer and making it impossible to change my account.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
If there's option for zero star 🌟 I will not give it to you because you don't deserve it absolutely useless unprofessional and they do not help with anything the worst bank worst customer Service ever
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I wish I could give them less than one star because the customer service has been horrible. Someone stole the foreign currency cheque in my name that I mailed and cashed it out. Several weeks of back and fourth haven't gotten the problem resolved at all. About £300 down the drain because Santander couldn't care less. Will be switching to another bank as soon as possible!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
joined here from another bank and learned it was a huge mistake... long lines...long waits...must sit with a banker to do anything... fees and costs for everything....charges on top of charges and zero interest....... leaving now
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
They made me take a personal loan in order to apply for a mortgage. Then they said my property hadn't risen in value in the past 2 years when every other property in the area rose 10 percent. i lost 700 dollars. suddenly after many low ball offers to buy the property suddenly came in. This is really corupt.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have never met such levels of incompetence. The customer "Services" team are unable to give any information other than "It's with our admin team" and I'm regularly on hold for circa 2.5-3hrs at a time. Faxes were sent to my legal team with no other methodology for communication provided. My legal team respond with a fax to be told 4 days later "Sorry. We don't accept faxes. Documents need to be emailed over". My legal team email respond immediately to be told "It will now be 15 days before we're able to look at this". IF YOU NEED A MORTGAGE YOU'D BE BETTER SEEING HONEST JOHN AND BORROW FROM HIM! The whole debacle has taken 9 weeks so far with 4 seperate mortgage offers being sent out each being wrong. How can they send a wrong offer out 4 times? The first was referred back because the offer had the wrong address listed. Not simply the wrong house number or street address. No! The wrong address ffs!!! The second was referred because the underwriter entered the wrong loan amount The third was referred due special considerations being imposed that had already been authorised The fourth was referred AGAIN because an incorrect amount was shown on the offer Incredible! Genuinely. Regardless of how good your credit rating is, how good the offer "seems" to be from Santander, save yourself a monumental amount of grief and under NO circumstances borrow money from Santander!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I'm purchasing a new house but am self-employed with a perfect credit track record for myself and the business. Santander have been swinging me along over the past 7 weeks asking for more and more information, including accountants reports which cost me £££'s. Supplied everything they requested, only to be told at the very last minute they were not going to offer a mortgage because of COVID and my business being affected. They could have said this more than a month ago, that they simply didn't have the appetite for businesses affected by COVID. There was no need to ask for the accountants report which purely verified the figures I had given were the truth. This has left me in a very difficult situation having never had any money problems in the past. Really appalling behaviour. They have dragged their feet and had all the information to make this decision a long time ago. Very very poor bank, absolutely disgusted at the cost they've put me to and continually stringing me along.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
SANTANDER.CO.UK I called them - yes, you cannot write them about problems like that, they will refuse to deal with it, you have to call them and the phone number is not even free - because there were some amounts of "money out" with this label: "CARD PAYMENT TO CIS INSURANCE M". Never made such payments, I do not even know who they are and if you search for "CIS INSURANCE M" on the internet https://whocallsme.com/Phone-Number.aspx/08448712300/2 is the sole result you will get, a web-page in which "cis insurance m" is described as scammer! What? What kind of bank is the one which make payments to unknown entities? In short, they told me they would investigate, they refunded me the money and today, some days after, I see there are other amounts of money taken from "CIS INSURANCE M", with the label "REFUND AT CIS INSURANCE M". How is it possible? Basically, someone stole my money, I have been refunded and today there are other steals linked to the same entity, "CIS INSURANCE M"? What? Why SANTANDER.CO.UK did not tell me? They did not phone me, they did not send me an e-mail, nor a message through their internal message system. Really disappointed! They should actually care more, be more attentive, do not charge me and offer the possibility to discuss such issues via e-mail instead of sending me their advertisements to invest with them or to tell me how much they value my safety.. yes, I have seen! Last time I had to waste my time and pay a 7-pound phone call to remedy this, why they just do not 'block' payments towards this "CIS INSURANCE M"? By the way, they told me they would block immediately my card, but someone is still stealing my money. SANTANDER.CO.UK, just do your job and do not help scammers!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have for many years held a Visa Debit Card with Santander. They have just renewed my card & changed to a MasterCard Debit Card. I am mostly in Australia & have shopped no differently with my new mastercard. I have been charged an OUTRAGEOUS amount for conversion fee. I have just spoken with compliant department & as usual the same regurgitated BS.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Staff is useless simple letter cant send by email making only troubles. Every Staff member telling different things worst bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I took out a personal installment loan with Santander Bank 1.5 years ago. the repayment process method is antiquated and communication is a nightmare. It doesn't allow for payments to be made through my online account (why on earth not??) so have to make it through my bank account which sends a check and takes 10-12 days. They changed their mailing address and announced it within a paper bill, who looks at paper bills? No email notification, nothing, so they returned the check, $35 from my bank, another $35 from Santander. Called and was transferred four times and still wasn't connected with a rep that could even look at my account, let alone help me. While waiting for the last transfer, 40 minutes later, I went onto my credit card accounts, found a zero balance transfer offer and paid it off. I'll never do business with them again. And don't even get me started on the fees - $3 paper statements, $25 checking, $30 new card, $2 ATM balance inquiry for members- to check how much of your money they have? outrageous ATM fees for non-members...No thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Do not bother with this INEFFICIENT bank! Clueless agents who are unprofessional and have NO clue as to what they're doing! Fraud team is USELESS!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I have been a loyal customer for years and yet again have let me down they no about my disabilities and I can not cope with any change and if I have to deal with any change i need time to sort it out but yesterday something happened so I called this company and I was promised a call back from them yesterday and I have heard nothing from them and also I have heard nothing back from them today either even after I contacted them and I was promised a call back but nothing has happend and I even told them that I would switch if the issue does not get sorted
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I am completely shocked with Santander and am now stuck on an exploitative mortgage contract for 5 years. Unbelievable that my extortionately high early repayment charge of £15,800 would remain the same whether it's my first day of the contract or the last day of my 5th year. Absolutely appalling that the early repayment charge remains the same throughout the 5 years and shocking that a so called reputable High St bank would have such a product on their books. All other financial contracts reputable organisations offer seem to have reasonable and sliding early repayment charges (decreases closer to the end of your contract) e.g. loans, credit cards and mobile and broadband contracts. They really screwed me over and the customer service team were not helpful and refused to explain why their terms and conditions are akin to that of pay day loan companies/adverse loan companies. I would think twice about taking products from them
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Bank teller stole my £100. 00 didn't include it with rest of money and he never gave back the paying book, which had to be collected the next day, just the savings book which he entered the entry, which I was told later they no longer use the book only by paying book. I complained to the fraud department and was later told to speak with the teller, he denied it so I have now closed my account with them after being a member for 32 years, there no longer a good bank and waiting times are very long, moreover my 2 brother 's who both have the same initials whom also bank with them, they have mixed up their account number 's with the other on letter's. It was reported twice and few months later it was back to the same again. The staff is incompetent. What sort of bank does that ?????
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
There are no words to describe what a scam Santander is. They out of the blue closed our business account without explaining why and then they are holding to our money and won't write a cheque unless it is in business name. but we only have one business account and opening a new one has been really challenging given the current circumstances. it has been 3 months and the business has gone bankrupt. so even 1 star is too much for them really.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Santander is rated 1.54 based on 206 reviews