SheltaPod Reviews

4.32 Rating 222 Reviews
79 %
of reviewers recommend SheltaPod
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
On-time Delivery
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read SheltaPod Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

07791 337 937

Email:

hannah@sheltapod.com

Write Your review

Tell us how SheltaPod made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Really really easy to put up on my own. Nice and lite to carry. My only recommendation would be stronger zips, or gentler hands !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for the review, Sally, Your feedback is noted.
Posted 1 year ago
I have only used the pod twice each time on a weekend stay the pod is good used the rear of the car to cook out of with the canopy from the pod to the car tailgate good for keeping the rain off you. not so good for the wind though used the side canopy these are ok but do not go to the top of the canopy. it would be absolutely fantastic if there was an option to have a full cover on the sides to fully enclose to the rear of the car tailgate along with a sheet between the rear of the car boot to the ground then we could get some real use out of the pod. We comprised with a plastic sheet and tie wraps The pod is good for what it is a touring tent easy to pitch up the options are all good for the different configurations I haven't used the different configuration set ups as I just wanted a pitch up and go ideal for that however I did notice the last time I packed the pod away the fly sheet had a small hole in it would have been nice to have a patch kit supplied with the pod all poles are durable pegs are good quality overall good quality product. We use fishing camp beds to sleep on & there is plenty of room for two I would image a tight fit for four I have since purchased another tent that is more suitable for the British weather and longer pitch times
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Chris While we don't currently have plans to increase the side coverage, some customers have found that bringing the pod closer to the vehicle with the awning material reaching over the top sufficiently narrows the gap for them. You can use the webbing straps to make sure it is secure. We will have a patch kit sent out to you for that hole in the fly sheet :) Thank you for the review and feedback.
Posted 1 year ago
Very well designed and easy to put up.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for the review!
Posted 1 year ago
The outer shelter is very good, we will continue to use this part of the system as a light weight awning. Unfortunately we find the inner tent to saggy, this encroaches on the useable space within the tent. We have gone back to using a small tent and canopy when travelling with our teenage son.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for the review, Brian. Your feedback has been noted with the team.
Posted 1 year ago
Pretty good,
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you!
Posted 2 years ago
Only used once but very impressed
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for reviewing, Timothy!
Posted 2 years ago
Great bit of kit overall. Easy to put up and attach to our campervan. It looks great and is very versatile. There are a few things in hindsight I didnt consider... We live and do a lot of our camping in Scotland. Midges are sometimes unwelcome guests and as sheltapod isn't a closed system you can't lock them out! Also when it rains the bit under the canopy doesn't stay dry (rain is often not vertical) whereas another model you get a whole dry area. On the whole ok, but maybe not ideal for our needs.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for the review. It's true that SheltaPod doesn't have full coverage between pod and van to always keep it dry in rainy weather but it does offer a open space (to varying degrees with use of the privacy panels) which campers enjoy for keeping the views in better weather conditions. With the regards to the Scottish midges, we would suggest using some deet/insect repellent fabric spray as added protection.
Posted 2 years ago
Bit of a faff to get squared up to start with but talked to other owners for there tips and tricks
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Glad you got there in the end and it will get easier once you have the knack. Thanks for the review!
Posted 2 years ago
Its a great concept at a really good price and you get so much with it which would be additionally (and irritatingly) charged as accessories. Its been a great base-camp for drive-away multi-day camping. The only thing I would like it to be is a little taller so you didn't have to stoop at times. But all round for price and practicality its a great bit of kit.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for the review, James. We hope you have lots more trips with SheltaPod ahead in 2020!
Posted 2 years ago
Since purchasing the sheltapod we have had so much fun out of it. We took it to the North East of England on holiday. People on campsites were all asking what is that? Where did you get it? We always gave your number out. All in all a fabulous buy
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks Clive! We really appreciate you spreading the word! We've just launched an Affiliate Scheme so check out the website and you could even make a little extra money while you're on the campsite! :) https://sheltapod.com/pages/join-our-affiliate-scheme
Posted 2 years ago
Forward thinking design and has proved to be very useful. But fabric and joins could be stronger. Confusing and too many parts to put up. Poles and for between tent and van not very good quality.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for taking the time to review. We have had a few model upgrades since the early 2018 SheltaPod so the quality has significantly improved. If we can help with setting up in future, please get in touch, we'd be happy to help and advise.
Posted 2 years ago
Nice lightweight shelter, quite stable in the wind when the porch is down
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for reviewing!
Posted 2 years ago
I love many things about SheltaPod, especially its looks and the way the "tent" is separated from the van by the sun canopy, creating a living space and a sleeping space. However it's not as easy to put up solo as you claim...very hard to get the front pole vertical. I have never managed to pitch it in less than an hour . My other reservation is its vulnerability in wind and heavy rain. I like to camp on the west coast of Ireland and Scotland...it's very often windy there. It can't be pitched in wind and there's too much risk of the weather kicking up in the night. I think it's fair weather kit, when I need all weather kit, so it doesn't really meet my needs.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Anne, thanks for taking the time to review. We are here to help and will send you some tips on getting that front pole straight. SheltaPod can withstand high winds of 50mph but like any awning, it is not advisable to set up in these conditions.
Posted 2 years ago
Worked fine, but getting the van back to exactly the same spot after a day away is necessary for reattaching to the strip; impossible, so we used the alternative straps and all was well!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Graham, glad you managed to reattach with the webbing straps! We always recommend marking out where the tyres are before driving away so you can line it up again when you return for easy reattachment. Good luck for next time :)
Posted 2 years ago
We really like our SheltaPod. My only suggestion for improvement would be that it could do with having a slightly smaller footprint in terms of space it takes up from van connection to the end of the awning. It's too large for most campsite pitches so sometimes attracts complaints from campsite managers. Other than that we love it and it's the best awning we've found to date.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for the review, great to hear you're loving your SheltaPod! We will email you now with details of a workaround to reduce your footprint and bring the pod closer to the tent.
Posted 2 years ago
SheltaPod is rated 4.32 based on 222 reviews