SheltaPod Reviews

4.32 Rating 222 Reviews
79 %
of reviewers recommend SheltaPod
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
On-time Delivery
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read SheltaPod Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

07791 337 937

Email:

hannah@sheltapod.com

Write Your review

Tell us how SheltaPod made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Takes a long time to erect properly compared to our full size airbeam awning and, to be honest, offered little storage space when we toured France for a few weeks last year - available for someone to buy secondhand!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mike, sorry to hear that SheltaPod did not meet your needs.
Posted 1 year ago
We have found it to be a fair weather piece of equipment. Our experience based on 5 separate occasions is it doesn’t work well in wet n windy conditions. Whilst the video shows it to be easy to erect, which I guess was based on repetitive practise we found the reality to be different. The pins that fit into the poles are fiddly, the tent does not easily slide over the poles especially when wet. All in all a impulse purchased which has its place, just not for us.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Great design with numerous options for how much to "build". Well made. Not the quickest to erect despite practise, especially if windy. Plastic windows collect condensation. Great improvement if there was a zip between the roof panel connecting to the van and the rest of the pod - this would enable the roof panel to form a simple awning as a further option.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review, Richard. A new feature was introduced with the 2020 model so now there is a zip-close front to replace the clip in front door panel. If you haven't seen it already, you may find our set up video helpfull: https://youtu.be/Sv-fOk9VdRo
Posted 9 months ago
Hello Sheltapod! I have only put up my lovely green pod a couple of times as camping was so reduced this year - I struggle on my own with the poles but I saw the video again so leaning one end against the tires of my van will help next time! Loads of room for post-Covid socialising and/or putting up guests but for the time being the pod provides welcome shade and privacy - superb invention. I put a little row of cotton bunting up in the entrance :) I wonder if Sheltapod could ever be manufactured in UK? The many oil miles by cargo ship from China made me wince... Best regards Sally
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sally, thanks for your review and feedback. It's great to hear you have been getting some use out of the SheltaPod this year. UK manufacture could be a possibility one day, we want to move SheltaPod forward in the most environmentally conscious way we can.
Posted 1 year ago
I found the Shelterpod very well made. It can be fiddly too put up by your self. But with practice it gets easier.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for leaving a review. If you haven't seen it already, watch our set up video which should help. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sv-fOk9VdRo&feature=emb_title
Posted 1 year ago
Excellent product, delivered bang on time. Easy to put up, but let down slightly by rapid product evolution meaning that some aspects didn't match the instructions. Some manufacturing oversights meant that I had to make some minor modifications in order to get it put up (some crucial eyelets were not fitted, fortunately we had some to hand)
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Stephen, and for being so resourceful! We hope you enjoy camping with your SheltaPod. Your feedback has been noted for future production.
Posted 1 year ago
Takes quite a deal of time to set up. The system works well in anything but wind, but the bag is very large with all the components. The biggest disappointment is the bag itself, which has already been shredded, and replaced with a higher quality canvas. Honestly on a $400 tent they should be able to figure out a decent bag to stuff it in.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The poles, no matter which way fitted, left the whole thing sitting lopsided; the tent appeared to have been stitched lopsided. We used the sheltapod twice. The first time, no wind, and other than lopsided, it was ok. The second time out, Pembrokeshire, a little wind - not gales - and the whole thing flapped around madly, even after we moved our truck and resited it - twice! At 3am we gave up and took it down - no one else on the site had any problems. It was very unsatisfactory, so we sold it when we came back from Wales.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Jon, we're very sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with SheltaPod. If there was a manufacturing fault with the stitching and we had known at the time, we would have been able to offer you an exchange.
Posted 1 year ago
Sheltapod has been a great addition to my VW Campervan. The fact it packs up so small but provides great sun/wind/rain protection as it connects neatly to the channel on the side of the van. Further more when I go on trips with two other adults it has provided such a spacious sleeping compartment to relive space in the camper (also very handy as it is used by the one that has a tendency to snore!!)
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Fantastic review, thanks Susan!
Posted 1 year ago
This shelter/tent combo is well made, gives me lots of options, and I can set it up solo!! I use it with my VW bus and my Honda Ridgeline, works great with both. Well designed, roomy, and makes me happy with the bright blue color. Have used it in early Spring (windy rain) and stayed dry and warm. Set it up to connect to your vehicle, but easy to disconnect, button up and drive off with no worries. I love my SheltaPod.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for the fantastic review, Kimberly!
Posted 1 year ago
We have used our Sheltapod on a few occasions with our camper. It is easy to put up and once pegged down , is very sturdy even in strong winds. We believe that it is very good value for the money and makes a great additional room for sleeping or cooking.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for reviewing, Paul. It's great to hear you are happy with your pod :)
Posted 1 year ago
I have used my Sheltapod for two years in places as diverse as Devon and Sweden. It has been brilliant - easy to put up and down on my own and the perfect extension to my small campervan. I think I have even perfected the placement for reattaching after driving away. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for an awning for their campervan.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Fab review, thanks Kathryn :)
Posted 1 year ago
This looks fantastic and is a fantastic idea, but we had issues from the start with broken poles and ripped peg loops. We took it with out VW in summer 2018 to CampBestival, the weather was horrendous but the awning leaked constantly through the seams and every morning we was left with a soggy sleeping bag.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry to hear that you had problems with your SheltaPod, we have made significant improvements to the design and materials over the last few years to make the SheltaPod more durable. Thanks for taking the time to review.
Posted 1 year ago
I bought this as I thought I could put it up on my own but unfortunately in spite of the video I really struggled with it. I only used it a couple of times. I wasn’t that impressed so I sold it
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We're sorry to hear you had difficulties with the SheltaPod. We have made significant improvements to the SheltaPod since the 2017 model so hopefully any of those problems you were having with it have been ironed out.
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely, versatile pod. Used as a tent attached to our little Portafold caravan. The only criticism was that the side’s didn’t meet with the edge of the caravan so when the wind rose we had to leave the pod as a separate tent otherwise the material would have been ripped to shreds, (this was at the Great Dorset Steam Fair in August 2018). Sadly not suitable for camping in high winds.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for the review. We wouldn't advise leaving the SheltaPod set up in very high winds. It has been tested in 50mph winds but if it looks like it might be damaged then detaching it is a good idea. Hope you have otherwise enjoyed camping with SheltaPod :)
Posted 1 year ago
Excellent piece of kit, very versatile, it didn't leak a drop in heavy rain on our tour of France. My advice to anyone thinking of buying one is, buy one!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you, Paul! You might be interested in our Affiliate Scheme so you can earn some cash by recommending SheltaPod - https://sheltapod.com/pages/join-our-affiliate-scheme
Posted 1 year ago
Not as useful as hoped, looking to sell it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry to hear that Sheltapod didn't meet your needs. Thanks for taking the time to review.
Posted 1 year ago
SheltaPod is rated 4.32 based on 222 reviews