Spark energy Reviews

1.21 Rating 19 Reviews
5 %
of reviewers recommend Spark energy

Write Your review

Tell us how Spark energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (Optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
When I rented the house, Spark Energy was the provider the estate agent moved me onto. I did not want them so changed to my old energy provider. Several separate bills came through for gas and electric, with wildly incorrect meter readings. I supplied the correct reading to Rebecca on 12/03/2020. I was told a new bill would be sent out. After 2 weeks I received a text to say my bill was overdue. I had still not received the updated bill. I was allowing extra time due to the Covid-19 outbreak as I suspected companies, including the mail delivery were now struggling with staff numbers. However, I used the link in the text to pay the bill. The following day I received a text from a debt collection agency saying I need to call them! Wow!! The updated bill had (and still has not) arrived. Yet after two weeks (2 weeks!) they passed my bill to a debt collection agency. I am still trying to get to the bottom of if this has affected my credit rating. If it has I will take this further. I asked for confirmation the account is closed. I still have received nothing. Mickey Mouse company, and expensive as well. Disgusting behaviour.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 hours ago
Spark supplied my gas only when I first moved into my property in June 2019. The customer service was good initially so I asked them to supply my electricity on the 11/12/2019. When my first bill came, I also got a bill from my previous electricity provider (Utilita). When I queried with utilita who was providing my electricity, they confirmed the national database stated it was still them. I got back to spark who said they had the wrong meter on their system which was creating charges. I provided evidence of the correct meter twice and also did a burns test to confirm that they have the wrong meter. They have since stopped charging me for electricity but have not deducted the electricity charges from my bill and have given no written correspondance about what they are doing to resolve the complaint. I have wasted hours of my time when they only need to do simple maths and communicate with me. Absolutely horrendous service!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Not even worth a star! Worst company, worst switch already switching within 2 months. Charging 3 times the amount for 2 bed house and not giving me any sort of explanation at all and refuse to investigate. Robbing company!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I changed over to spark at the end of last year with the promise of cheaper energy and that I would still be using my prepayment meter, meaning I can control my top ups. However, when I was switched over I was told that I would be required to pay £80 a month which was more than double what I was paying with my current provider and they had also switched me from my top up meter without my permission. I immediately switched back to my old supplier but this took a month, so I was charged by spark for that month. I set up a direct debit with them over a few months to pay this amount back, however after the first payment went out they began chasing me for the rest saying it was overdue and that they would be transferring it over to a debt collection agency, even though I had a direct debit set up with them. I contacted them and they said that the direct debit had been cancelled for some unknown reason. So, I set up a new one to go out over a 3 month period. The first payment went out fine and the exact same thing happened again. They passed the debt over to a debt collection agency despite me having a direct debit set up and two further payments planned. When it came to the second direct debit due date, no money went out of my account. I contacted spark to find out what on earth was going on and they couldn't even be bothered to reply and in the meantime I'm getting emails from a debt collecting agency demanding payment. So, I assume for the second time that they cancelled the direct debit for no reason, didn't notify me and passed over the debt, causing me an enormous amount of stress. I therefore paid off the remaining amount by borrowing money from someone, as I couldn't be bothered to deal with the incompetent company that is spark. This is not my only bad experience with them as at a different property they demanded nearly £200 saying that I owed them this despite not living in the property for weeks. I argued for weeks with them, stating that actually I was probably owed money back. I eventually caved and just paid the money. What a surprise, when I few months later I checked my old account randomly, to find that I was due a refund of more than I had been forced to pay a few months earlier. I received no notification of this and I'm sure they would have happily closed the account without notifying me, keeping my money. Do not use this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The worst energy company in the world. We had 6 months of hell with them. We moved supplier a year ago and we’re still having problems with Spark... Customer service is a shambles, they way over charge on your direct debits, they install ‘smart meters’ which cause issues with your bills, they change your account information without informing you, they scare people into paying money which they do not owe, the list could go on. Honestly I have never dealt with such an awful company, I would not trust these 5 star reviews. Just check out the comments on their twitter page and you will get a feel for this company...
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
The worst energy company in the world. We had 6 months of hell with them. We moved supplier a year ago and we’re still having problems with Spark... Customer service is a shambles, they way over charge on your direct debits, they install ‘smart meters’ which cause issues with your bills, they change your account information without informing you, they scare people into paying money which they do not owe, the list could go on. Honestly I have never dealt with such an awful company, I would not trust these 5 star reviews. Just check out the comments on their twitter page and you will get a feel for this company...
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Absolute joke of a company!! Had nothing but problems from day one! Endless emails no reply. Can never help or understand my complaint very time I call. Don’t use this company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Very very disappointed with this supplier came bill last month to pay about £800 then they recalculated to nearly £400 when we been paying without delays every month since we moved in and didn't pay higher when £85. Saying that we had £150 discount which we didn't had only £60.Changing my energy supplier. Worst costumer service with the lady I spoke on phone was loosing her temper end of it she hang up on me.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Had a email telling me I owe money and that my direct debit is going up from 30 a month to 90! Tried to call, cant get through. Requested a call back, 2 days later, still haven't heard anything. I was told on the phone they dont offer pay as u go, this was a lie. Will be changing supplier this month
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolute jokers, 4 days with no gas, small children in the house, can’t cook or stay warm
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Spark energy have to be the worst energy supplier you could ever wish to have. However, If you’re looking to have your direct debit jump from £28 to £148 a month with no communication to alert you of this change - go with them. If you want three separate promises of £119 back into your account as a result of the increased direct debit but would like to wait two and a half months to receive this money - go with them. If you want a sarcastic and contumelious phone call to ask you why you’re switching supplier and then to be told that you’re prudent for taking a rate at almost half that of Spark’s - go with them. If you’re looking for the highest energy rates and the lowest level of customer service, then I urge you to look no further - they are the company for you.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
One star is a over statement, the worst and most disgusting company I have ever had the displeasure of using. When they went bankrupt they should of stayed that way fingers crossed they end as soon as possible.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
NO option for a minus as then would have been givin minus 1,000,000. Without doubt the most moronically inept company I have had the misfortune to have to deal with. we unfortunately Inherited this pathetic outfit when we rented a house, its now like trying to clean dog excrement from your shoe. inundated with texts, phone calls etc about money we do not even owe them!!! when trying to switch supplier they constantly block saying we owe money when we dont. then get phone calls begging us to stay with them, when we did not want to be with them in the first place. avoid so unprofessional and send out incorrect bills, wont answer complaints etc. bunch of Muppets avoid like the plaque
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Horrendous, awful communication. Major flaws in customer service and issue handling.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
This company is the worst. Utter cowboys. I gone from owing them nothing to owing them £1000 in 2 months after they went bust. My orginal account in my name has disappeared. And they have opened up a completely different account in my partners name in Dec/jan for some reason. But somehow kept my bank details off the account that disappeared. This all happened in the months after they went into administration. For the record they got my Partners name from the landlord. I have been trying to sort this out for 7 months now. They have gone from totally contradicting themselves to completely lying to me. Treating me like im stupid. Putting me on hold for 5 minutes then hanging up when im still there. I live in a 2 up 2 down town house and there trying to say i use £250 a month is ridiculous. Ive been recording my usage for months now and its not even close. The most being £85 a month. But now there saying i used all the electric up in 2 months before the issue. This company is a complete joke and should be a avoided at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
SPARK (OVO energy ltd) has sold a fake… SPARK (OVO energy ltd) has sold a fake debt to Opos Limited. They require. I announced it Financial Ombutsman. (Korruption) Don't use it !!! There will be a problem!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This company has THE WORST customer service. I have had an ongoing problem with them attempting to over charge me since I joined them after moving house. I have an old unused electric meter in my house which is making them estimate my usage from a meter that isn't even connected to anything. They keep estimating my bills to be way over £400 per month when actually it is around £35. The problem has escalated to the point of them assigning a debt collection agency to me and have sent countless threatening letters demanding I pay money to them that I don't actually owe. Each time I have rang to complain I get passed over to numerous different people before finally getting through to someone who appears able to solve the problem with my bills. Each time they have assured me that the unused and disconnected meter will not appear on my next bill... but each bill STILL has the unused meter on it. After my last complaint they gave me a personal contact with an email address who, again, assured me that the meter wouldn't appear on the bill and that I should email them with any more concerns. I have emailed her 3 times WITHOUT RESPONSE. Not only do I feel threatened by the letters that keep appearing demanding payment, I am extremely worried that my credit score will be affected by the debt collection notice. DO NOT CHOOSE THIS COMPANY to supply your energy!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
After final bill settled, then hassled me with what they believed was an outstanding amount. Communication very poor indeed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Spark energy is rated 1.21 based on 19 reviews