Up&Up Reviews

3.65 Rating 26 Reviews
65 %
of reviewers recommend Up&Up
Read Up&Up Reviews

About Up&Up:

Friends helping friends

That's the spirit from which up&up was born. Four years ago, my friend came to me to chat about renewing his apartment lease. He was fed up with how much rent he had paid ($1,000/m over 5 years is $60K!) and that he wasn't able to benefit from the rise in home prices. He was approved for a mortgage but still couldn't buy a home because he couldn't afford the down payment.

I offered to help and we partnered to buy his home together. We split the down payment, split the mortgage payments and he paid me a percentage of what the house would rent for on the share I owned. Because our splits were based on our down payments and rents were obvious from the market, we both knew this was a fair deal amongst friends.

We quickly realized this was a product that could help many Americans who want to stop paying rent and get into their first homes sooner. The vision is powerful but simple - let's build a business on the premise of making fair partnerships, the same type as we did with friends and family, and help as many people achieve homeownership as possible.

Visit Website

Phone:

6468383165

Email:

contact@upandup.co

Location:

243 Canal St, FL 6, New York, NY 10013

Write Your review

Tell us how Up&Up made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Very happy with our home. Any issues that have needed fixing concerning the house have been addressed in a timely manner with a satisfying outcome.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
There have been occasional situations that require me to speak with an associate from Up and Up, and I have had a good experience with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Stephanie, thank you for the wonderful review! We're so glad that you've enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for being an awesome partner renter! :)
Posted 3 months ago
Unprofessional, invasive, and impolite. After I enquired, and was urged to 'act quickly', I immediately planned a "self tour". Problem with the lockbox, never got in to the house. The following day was informed the house was off the market, then the day after back on. I have been called several times and told my application is incomplete. All this to view a crummy rental?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi M - Thank you so much for taking the time to bring this our attention. We're so sorry that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations. Our homes do move very quickly so we encourage all interested individuals to complete their applications as soon as possible! If you are open to sharing more details about your experience, we'd love to hear your feedback so that we can make sure you have a wonderful experience working with us next time. Please reach out to us at success@upandup.co at any time. We look forward to hearing from you. Warmly, Amanda Up&Up Customer Success
Posted 3 months ago
Was asked to list my husband as my brother to avoid people from being "uncomfortable." Left this on the Facebook Review for them, and was then told if it wasn't removed I couldn't move into my house. Absolutley no regard for the health and well being of customers. After several attempts to get issues taken care of and being told to contact my renters insurance, I began fixing things on my own. The house should have never passed inspection. Literally pipes held together with tape which eventually led to the basement flooding. Walls would begin to crumble due to this issue as well due to this same issue. We've also had electrical issues due to bad/faulty wiring. The garage door they replaced fell on my car as I was leaving causing thousands in damage and rendering the vehicle useless. Again, nobody cared. Currently they are claiming I owe nearly $6,000 in rent. The ledger they provided is filled with mistakes. My rent is caught up, proven by bank statements. Speaking with an attorney as I have been from the beginning. Beware of this company. They are NOT one of the good guys.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Chris, Thank you for taking the time to share these concerns. We're disappointed to hear about your leasing experience. The interaction you reported does not represent our views or values as a business and we will investigate the incident thoroughly. Here at Up&Up, we see our renters as partners, and it is our top priority to ensure that our renters are treated fairly and with the utmost respect. As it pertains to the rent owed issue, our team has made several attempts to work with you on a resolution and as per our last email, are waiting on copies of the bank statements you referred to. We are surprised and sorry to hear about your maintenance concerns - based on our records, we only received one maintenance request from you in February 2020 regarding a question about your heating system. Please don't hesitate to report the additional issues you have identified so that we can address them promptly. We will continue to try to reach you to address these concerns and hope that you'll make the choice to work with us. Warmly, Up&Up Customer Success
Posted 3 months ago
I have been physically in the house I am renting for about 45 days. I had to threaten to move out if the (undone work, that should had been completed, before I had moved into this house). They fixed the problems. I don't recommend renting from this company, I moved from Virginia and had no one to check this house for me. I moved in on a blind hope. I also moved out of a 2 story and the electricity bill is higher here and I believe the HVAC unit is too small for this house. This company is definitely all about stuffing their pockets and screwing the unsuspecting tenants.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
A complete waste of time and energy. They constantly have you fill out applications on homes they have no intentions buying. This company should be reported because there is definitely some shadiness going on here. False advertisement at it’s finest.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Paige, Thank you so much for taking the time to bring this our attention. We're so sorry that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations. It's our goal to help each one of our prospective renters find the perfect home. Each time a renter completes an application, we submit a bid on the home they applied for. Unfortunately, we don't always win every bid that we submit. The markets we operate in are highly competitive, but we make every best effort to acquire the homes that our renters are interested in leasing. Upon reviewing your experience with us, we realized that we failed to communicate effectively with you about the status of the bids we made. It was our responsibility to keep you up to date on the outcome of those bids, and we apologize for the gaps in communication. Going forward, we're working on ways to make sure that this doesn't happen again! If you are open to sharing more details about your experience, we'd love to hear your feedback so that we can make sure you have a wonderful experience with us next time. Please reach out to us at success@upandup.co at any time. We look forward to hearing from you. Warmly, Up&Up Customer Success
Posted 6 months ago
Every single time I inquired about a home all of a sudden it was no longer available. Mind you this happened literally 8 times. But then the company would constantly send you information on the homes you’re not interested in. Then I was told that the owner of a home accepted their offer and congratulated me on my “new home” to only be told days later that the home wasn’t worth the price they were willing to pay. This company is beyond sketchy. Please don’t allow this company to waste your time like they did mine.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Super sketchy. The home I wanted was "bought out" and the other homes were really bad alternatives. They keep buying up the homes in the area but these homes sit on the market and no one takes them. Wasteful.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
This company is horrible, they told me I had 2 evictions, several collections and 2 criminal charges on my credit report so they couldn't help me but was able to send me to the credit Bureau. I submit a request for my credit report and disputed the Up & Up decision. Nothing, nothing, nothing on my credit report and had a credit score of 694 she told me it was 619 no evictions, criminal charges nor collections. This company wouldn't respond back and kept me running around for 2 weeks. They are horrible. Please make sure that you know exactly what your credit is before working with them and make sure you have all your T's and I's crossed and dotted before they pull your information.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
This company will put really nice homes for rent that they have no intentions of renting out. You show interest in the really nice home and they have you apply to see it. They continue to say they’re waiting for the place to be cleaned or say it’s not ready yet to look at until a certain date. Which is cool, fine. But the day before you’re about to go look at it, it’s already magically rented, even though the home wasn’t even “ready to show yet” then they offer you some crappy other properties to look at that they have for rent. I’m sure the homes are nice but the company is crooked. Do with this information what you want
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
It was great!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The house is nice but feel a bit let down in some of the service areas.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you Dan. We apologize for any mishaps on our end with servicing. Please don't hesitate to reach out to Charlie at "charlie@upandup.co" or our main servicing line at 314.266.3639
Posted 1 year ago
It’s been good so far!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you Eduardo -- hope you and your family are doing well and staying safe!
Posted 1 year ago
Everyone has been very kind and attentive! I've communicated with Rachel quite a bit and she's very responsive and always able to help. I really appreciate it!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the kind words Emily! We've loved having the opportunity to work with you to this point, please don't hesitate to reach out!
Posted 1 year ago
Staff is very helpful and resourceful. During the time our family was relocating a lot of businesses we temporarily closed due to covid-19, Up&up walked us threw every step and found a great home for our family. Moving to a area that we have never been before made me nervous, but with the help From Up&up we moved to a great and family oriented, quiet neighborhood with nice schools.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you Trista. We're thrilled that we had the opportunity to help you and your family move to the area, and it's been a pleasure to get to know you guys up to this point. Please don't hesitate to reach out if anything comes up, we're happy to help in any way we can!
Posted 1 year ago
They have been so easy to work with! Very professional and always there to answer any questions we have.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the kind words Sami. We're glad we've been a valuable resource for you folks to this point, and we're always a phone call or email away if anything comes up. Take care!
Posted 1 year ago
This company has done a lot for us to be sure that problems are solved correctly, and they continue to follow up with us and answer any questions that we have. We will use them in the future and will recommend them to friends
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We greatly appreciate the kind words Rachel. We're always around should something come up or if you have questions about the program. Have a great day!
Posted 1 year ago
Everyone I have spoken with from this company has been genuinely kind and has always been prompt with services of any sort.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the kind words Laura. We're glad to hear everyone is doing well and staying safe, and we're always a phone call away if anything comes up!
Posted 1 year ago
great team with great benefits. very receptive to any question or concern.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We greatly appreciate the kind words Mat. We're always a phone call or text away if needed!
Posted 1 year ago
Up&Up is THE BEST company to work with for renting to own. They are friendly and always have their customers best interest in mind.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We love the feedback Brian, and we're glad we have been a good resource for you guys up to this point. Please don't hesitate should you have any other questions!
Posted 1 year ago
Up&Up is rated 3.65 based on 26 reviews